DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “when the lug is located in the second slot point, the fixed buckle does not contact with the first buckle” as mentioned in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the slot” in line 4 of claim 1 should read as “the at least one slot”
“converge” in line 4 of claim 5 should read as “converges”
“the fixing buckle” in line 2 of claim 7 should read as “the fixed buckle”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “triggering module” in claim 1.
“Triggering module” is interpreted as “a fixed buckle corresponding to the first buckle” as mentioned in [0008] of the PGPUB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 4, 6, and 7 are further rejected due to their dependency to claim 3.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the first buckle slot” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “First buckle slot” was not previously recited and it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. Clarification is requested.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the contact surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “Contact surface” was not previously recited. However, “surface contact” was previously recited in claims 4 and 5. It is unclear if “the contact surface” should be amended to read as “the surface contact.” Clarification is requested.
The term “close” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure does not provide a definition as to what it means for a structure to be “close” to something. It is unclear what range in distance is considered “close.” Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang ‘759 (US Pub No. 2016/0157759).
Regarding claim 1, Yang ‘759 teaches an installation unit of analyte detection device (Abstract, [0012]), which comprises:
a housing (Figs. 3, 5 inserter 122 and [0115]), provided with at least one slot (see Fig. 5) and a first buckle (Figs. 3, 5 second fastener unit 12212 and [0118]), wherein the slot comprises a first slot point (bottom of slot in Fig. 5) and a second slot point (top of slot in Fig. 5), the first slot point is closer to a near end of the second slot point (The bottom of inserter 122 is interpreted as a near end.);
a parallel slider module (Fig. 6 support mount 121 and [0116]) comprising a second buckle (Fig. 6 first fastener unit 1212 and [0118]) corresponding to the first buckle, wherein the second buckle is coupled with the first buckle ([0118]; “…the second fastener 12212…can form a fastened structure with the first fastener unit 1212.”);
an analyte detection device (Fig. 1 analyte sensing system 1 and [0105]) arranged at a front end of the parallel slider module (), wherein the analyte detection device comprises a shell (Fig. 16 sensor probe shell 125 and [0131]), a transmitter ([0107]; transmitter 13), a sensor (Fig. 2 sensor probe 11 and [0107]) and an internal circuit ([0029]) arranged in the shell and electrically coupled with the sensor (), and the shell connects the parallel slider module releasably ([0132]);
an auxiliary-needle module used to pierce the sensor under a skin (Fig. 9 puncture needle 12225 and [0126]);
a triggering module ([0120]) provided with a lug corresponding to the slot, wherein before an implementation of an installation action, the lug is located in the first slot point, when the triggering module moves towards a far end relative to the housing, the lug enters into the second slot point, the installation action is implemented ([0120]); and
an elastic module used to provide an elastic force required to implement the installation action (Fig. 9 outer spring 12224 and [0125]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein the triggering module also comprises a fixed buckle corresponding to the first buckle (Fig. 6 first fastener unit 1212 and [0118]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein the lug is located in the first buckle slot, the fixed buckle is in contact with first buckle (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein a contact between the fixed buckle and the first buckle is one of a point contact, a line contact or a surface contact ([0118] mentions that these structures are in contact with each other.).
Regarding claim 5, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein the fixed buckle and the first buckle is the surface contact ([0118]), the contact surface is at a fixed angle with a horizontal plane and converge at a proximal end (First fastener unit 1212 and second fastener unit 12212 contact at a fixed angle and converge.).
Regarding claim 8, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein the triggering module also comprises an outer ring (see Figs. 4 and 7) which connects the lug and the fixed buckle into an integral whole (When inserter 122 is attached to the support mount 121, the lug and fixed buckled are connected as an integral whole, as seen in Fig. 7.).
Regarding claim 9, Yang ‘278 teaches wherein the outer ring is close to the near end (The support mount 121 is close to the near end.).
Regarding claim 11, Yang ‘759 teaches wherein the front end of the analyte detection device also comprises an adhesive tape for fixing the analyte detection device on the skin (Fig. 3 medical adhesive tape 124 and [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘759 in view of Rao et al. ‘520 (US Pub No. 2018/0235520).
Regarding claim 10, Yang ‘759 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the at least one slot comprises three slots, the slots are symmetrically distributed on the housing.
Rao et al. ‘520 teaches one or more slots (Figs. 8F, 8G one or more inner sheath ribs 6425) that interface with one or more corresponding rib notches 6519 ([0110]). It is noted that Figs. 8F-8H show that there are three slots that are symmetrically distributed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the three slots of Rao et al. ‘520 for the one slot of Yang ‘759 as Rao et al. ‘520 teaches that having one or more inner sheath ribs, or slots, would obtain the predictable result of maintaining axial alignment ([0110]).
Conclusion
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791