DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2024, 8/7/2024, 12/2/2024, 12/17/2024, and 3/5/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment of disclosure filed on 3/25/2024 has been entered. Accordingly, the amended disclosure is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pulleys of Claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that the Specification states, “a plurality of pulleys (not labeled but shown in FIG. 2)”, however it is unclear as to what elements of Fig. 2 correspond to said pulleys.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruggiero et al. (US 2017/0313339, hereinafter Ruggiero).
In regards to claim 1, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, a child carrier (100), comprising: a frame (102); a seat support member (134) configured to support a seat (200); and a handle (110) pivotally connected to the frame (at 112), wherein the handle (110) is capable of rotating relative to the frame (via 112) to drive the seat support member (134) to move relative to the frame (102) from a first position to a second position (see Figs. 5-7, Par. [0038]).
In regards to claim 2, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, the frame (102) comprises a support rod (106), the seat support member (134) is slidably connected to the support rod (106, Par. [0038]), and the handle (110) is capable of rotating to drive the seat support member to move along the support rod (see Figs. 5-7, Par. [0038]).
In regards to claim 3, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, the support rod (106) is arranged along a first direction (down and to the right as oriented in Fig. 5), the handle (110) is capable of rotating relative to the frame (102) to change a moving direction of the frame from the first direction (down and to the right) to a second direction (substantially to the right as oriented in Fig. 7), and to drive the seat support member (134) to move relative to the frame from the first direction to the second direction (see movement from Fig. 5 to Fig. 7), the second position is located in the first direction of the first position (the second position is located down and to the right of the first position, see Figs. 5 and 7 for illustration).
In regards to claim 4, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, a first linkage assembly (140), wherein the handle (110) drives the seat support member (134) to move along the support rod (106) through the first linkage assembly (Par. [0032]).
In regards to claim 9, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, the seat support member (134) is slidably sleeved on the support rod (106, Par. [0038]).
In regards to claim 12, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, a second linkage assembly (second instance of 140), wherein the frame comprises a support rod (106), the seat support member (134) is connected to the support rod (106) through the second linkage assembly (see Figs 1-2 and 5-7), and the handle (110) is capable of rotating to drive the seat support member (134) to move relative to the support rod (106, Par. [0032, 0038]).
In regards to claim 13, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, the support rod (106) is arranged along a first direction (down and to the right as oriented in Fig. 5), the handle (110) is capable of rotating relative to the frame (102) to change a moving direction of the frame from the first direction (down and to the right) to a second direction (substantially to the right as oriented in Fig. 7), and to drive the seat support member (134) to move relative to the frame from the first direction to the second direction (see movement from Fig. 5 to Fig. 7), the second position is located in the first direction of the first position (the second position is located down and to the right of the first position, see Figs. 5 and 7 for illustration).
In regards to claim 14, Ruggiero discloses in Figures 1-3 and 5-7, the support rod (106) is arranged along a first direction (down and to the right as oriented in Fig. 5), and the second position is located above or below the first position (the second position is located below the first position, see Figs. 5 and 7 for illustration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruggiero.
Ruggiero fails to disclose or fairly suggest a plurality of pulleys located in the seat support member and abutting against the support rod.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize pulleys in the seat support member of Ruggiero in order to reduce the force needed to collapse and/or expand the stroller of Ruggiero. A pulley is a notoriously well-known simple machine commonly used to reduce the tension/force needed to transfer weight; using such a simple machine (or plurality thereof) would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 11, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, including that which is listed on the attached PTO-892, notably Ruggiero as discussed above, Fey (DE 102005029448 A1), Tao (CN 111409683 A), Tang (CN 214267743 U), and Lin (EP 3590789 A1), while either alone or in combination teaching a child carrier with frame, seat support, support rod, and linkage assemblies as detailed in the rejection above, fails to disclose or render obvious in particular the first linkage assembly comprises a rotating member and a driving member, one end of the rotating member is connected to the handle, another end of the rotating member is pivotally connected to one end of the driving member, and another end of the driving member is pivotally connected to the seat support member as recited and called for in the claimed combination of dependent claim 5, Claims 6-8 and 11 allowable due to their dependence thereto, and the second linkage assembly comprises a first linkage rod and a second linkage rod, one end of the first linkage rod is fixed to the handle, another end of the first linkage rod is pivotally connected to one end of the seat support member, another end of the seat support member is pivotally connected to one end of the second linkage rod, and another end of the second linkage rod is pivotally connected to the support rod; and wherein the first linkage rod, the seat support member, the second linkage rod, and the support rod are connected in sequence to form a deformable quadrilateral structure as recited and called for in the claimed combination of dependent claim 15, Claims 16-17 allowable due to their dependence thereto.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER K GARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896