DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/24, 3/20/25 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of "(FIG. 1)". Applicant is recommended to remove the phrase. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-12, 16-17, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posin (2017/0354878) in view of Vincent et al. (2020/0061463).
Re Claim 1,
Posin discloses a method for controlling a cloud game, performed on a terminal device or a server (¶¶0002, 0144-0145), and comprising:
obtaining an operation instruction input by a first game client, and converting the operation instruction into a game instruction (Fig 8, ¶¶0014-0015, 0063, 0088; input data received at the client device from one or more client input devices, wherein the input data is processed to generate commands for the cloud video game);
wherein a type of the operation instruction is determined according to a game platform corresponding to the first game client, a type of the game instruction is a type of an instruction to be received by a cloud game server (¶¶0014-0016, 0083, 0087, 0090; a type of the browser of the client device is identified, the one or more client input devices are selected from the group consisting of a keyboard, a mouse, a touchpad, a touch-sensitive display, a game controller, or a motion controller), and
the game instruction is configured to indicate a game operation to be performed, sending the game instruction to the cloud game server (¶¶0014, 0027, 0083, 0087, 0090; the input data is processed to generate commands for the cloud video game).
Posin does not explicitly disclose controlling a game virtual object to perform the game operation according to the game instruction. However, Vincent teaches a cloud game that can be used with different devices to control a game virtual object to perform the game operation according to the game instruction (Fig 6-9, ¶¶0019-0020, 0034-0035; for example, the user presses a button which would direct a character on the screen to move to the right, the game program would then create a sequence of video images showing the character moving to the right). Vincent further teaches such a configuration provides the perception to the user that the controlled application is responding instantly (¶0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Vincent into the cloud game of Posin in order to enhance the gameplay by providing the perception to the player that the controlled application is responding instantly.
Re Claims 4, 19, 21,
Posin discloses obtaining an instruction mapping rule between the operation instruction and the game instruction, and converting the operation instruction into the game instruction according to the instruction mapping rule (¶¶0069, 0088).
Re Claim 5,
Posin discloses generating a back-transmission game instruction in response to determining that the cloud game server transmits back to the first game client for the game instruction, wherein a type of the back-transmission game instruction is the same as the type of the game instruction; and converting the back-transmission game instruction into an operation instruction corresponding to a game platform of the first game client through the instruction conversion interface (Fig 6, ¶¶0090-0091).
Re Claim 6,
Posin discloses obtaining a game screen corresponding to the game, and displaying the game screen on a display component of the first game client (¶¶0025, 0027, 0067-0068, 0072).
Re Claim 7,
Posin discloses obtaining screen information by encoding the game screen, and sending the screen information to the first game client; and obtaining the game screen by decoding the screen information on the first game client, and displaying the game screen on the display component of the first game client (¶¶0067-0068, 0070, 0072).
Re Claims 9, 10,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Re Claim 11,
Posin discloses the type of the operation instruction comprises at least one of: a touch input type, wherein the game platform corresponding to the first game client is a mobile phone platform; a handle input type, wherein the game platform corresponding to the first game client is a game machine platform; or a keyboard and mouse input type, wherein the game platform corresponding to the first game client is a computer platform (Fig 8, ¶¶0014-0016).
Re Claim 12,
Posin discloses configuring a conversion tool for converting the operation instruction into the game instruction in a software development kit (SDK); and converting the operation instruction into the game instruction through the SDK (¶¶0069, 0088).
Re Claim 16,
Posin discloses converting the operation instruction to the game instruction in the instruction processing middleware. (¶¶0069, 0088).
Re Claim 17,
Posin discloses encoding the game screen through at least one of entropy encoding, predictive encoding, transform encoding or hybrid encoding (¶¶0024-0025, 0067-0068).
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posin (2017/0354878) in view of Vincent et al. (2020/0061463), further in view of Benedetto et al. (2019/0291010).
Re Claims 2, 18, 20,
Posin as modified by Vincent discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on transferring an operation permission of the first game client to a second game client in response to a permission transfer operation; and obtaining an operation instruction input by the second game client, and converting the operation instruction into the game instruction. However, Benedetto teaches transferring an operation permission of the first game client to a second game client in response to a permission transfer operation; and obtaining an operation instruction input by the second game client, and converting the operation instruction into the game instruction (¶¶0104-0105, 0126-0128). Benedetto further teaches such a configuration provides real-time assistance during game play of the player (¶0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Benedetto into the cloud game of Posin as modified by Vincent in order to provide real-time assistance during game play of the player.
Re Claim 3,
Posin discloses sending the game instruction received by the first game client to the cloud game server (¶¶0014-0015, 0063, 0088).
Re Claim 13,
Posin as modified by Vincent discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the permission transfer operation comprises at least one of a key operation, a touch operation or a voice control. However, Benedetto teaches the permission transfer operation comprises at least one of a key operation, a touch operation or a voice control (¶¶0104-0105, 0126-0128). See claim 2 for motivation.
Re Claim 14,
Posin as modified by Vincent discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the at least one of: transferring the operation permission of the first game client to the second game client through one permission transfer operation; or transferring the operation permission of the first game client to the second game client through a plurality of permission transfer operations. However, Benedetto teaches at least one of: transferring the operation permission of the first game client to the second game client through one permission transfer operation; or transferring the operation permission of the first game client to the second game client through a plurality of permission transfer operations (¶¶0104-0105, 0126-0128). See claim 2 for motivation.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posin (2017/0354878) in view of Vincent et al. (2020/0061463), further in view of Sirilux et al. (2013/0130800).
Re Claim 15,
Posin as modified by Vincent discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on an instruction mapping table, and the instruction mapping table comprises a mapping relationship between the operation instruction and the game instruction. However, Sirilux teaches an instruction mapping table, and the instruction mapping table comprises a mapping relationship between the operation instruction and the game instruction (¶¶0015-0016). Sirilux further teaches such a configuration allows the controller to easily operate in different modes (¶0013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sirilux into the cloud game of Posin as modified by Vincent in order to allow the input device to easily operate in different modes.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715