DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al. (WO 2021/117880), wherein US Serial No. 2023/0037488 is used as the English equivalent for purpose of citation.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 19; Hirata et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, an active energy ray curable composition comprising 5 wt% of a polymerizable photoinitiator (C-7) having one benzophenone group, acrylamide unsaturation, and four urethane groups [0108] and 90 wt% of polymerizable compound (H-1 dimethylacrylamide, H-2 isobornyl acrylate, H-3 polyethylene glycol diacrylate, and H-4 urethane acrylate) [Table2, Ex11].
Hirata et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a content of components having a molecular weight of less than 1000 in a cured product of the active energy ray curable composition is less than 10%. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a content of components having a MW of less than 1000 in a cured product of the composition is less than 10%, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claims 6-16; The Examiner makes note that the limitations of the claims are directed to the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; see MPEP §2111.02, 7.37.09.
Hirata et al. teaches the photopolymerization initiator compositions can be suitably used as photocurable ink compositions, photocurable inkjet ink compositions, photocurable nail cosmetic compositions, photocurable pressure-sensitive adhesive compositions, photocurable adhesives compositions, photocurable caulking agent (sealing) compositions, photocurable coating agent compositions, photocurable resin compositions for decorative sheets, photocurable resin compositions for self-healing materials, photocurable elastomer compositions, photocurable resin compositions for stereo shaping, photocurable vehicular coating agent compositions, dental hygiene materials, etc [0002, 0132].
Regarding claim 20; Hirata et al. teaches curability at 358 nm and 405 nm wavelengths [0124].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al. (WO 2021/117880), wherein US Serial No. 2023/0037488 is used as the English equivalent for purpose of citation.
Regarding claim 17; Hirata et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, an active energy ray curable composition comprising 5 wt% of a polymerizable photoinitiator (C-7) having one benzophenone group, acrylamide unsaturation, and four urethane groups (Mn=1700) [0108] and 90 wt% of polymerizable compound (20 wt% H-1 dimethylacrylamide, MW=99; 30 wt% H-2 isobornyl acrylate, MW=208; 20 wt% I-1 polyethylene glycol diacrylate, MW=400; and 20 wt% I-2 urethane acrylate, MW=1500) [Table2, Ex11]. Hirata et al. teaches components having an molecular weight of less than 1000 in the composition is 70 wt% [Table2; Ex11]
Hirata et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a content of components having a molecular weight of less than 1000 in a cured product of the active energy ray curable composition is less than 10%. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a content of components having a MW of less than 1000 in a cured product of the composition is less than 10%, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I & II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (WO 2021/117880), wherein US Serial No. 2023/0037488 is used as the English equivalent for purpose of citation.
Regarding claim 18; Hirata et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, an active energy ray curable composition comprising 5 wt% of a polymerizable photoinitiator (C-7) having one benzophenone group, acrylamide unsaturation, and four urethane groups (Mn=1700) [0108] and 90 wt% of polymerizable compounds [Table2, Ex11]. Although Hirata et al. teaches the Mn for the polymerizable photoinitiator is 1700, a larger range is contemplated of from 200 to 1000 [0027]. Hirata et al. further teaches the Mn of the polyfunctional unsaturated compound is preferably 100-20000 [0070]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ a polymerizable photoinitiator having a MW of, for example 200, and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a polymerization initiator having one or more ethylenic groups, as suggested by Hirata et al. [0027], in other words, to achieve a photoinitiator having a desired number of ethylenically unsaturated groups.
Hirata et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a content of components having a molecular weight of less than 1000 in a cured product of the active energy ray curable composition is less than 10%. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a content of components having a MW of less than 1000 in a cured product of the composition is less than 10%, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I & II.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767