DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 6/5/2026, amended claims 1 and 6-7 are acknowledged. Claims 1-10 remain pending. The following new and reiterated grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranski et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0255944 A1) (previously cited), further in view of Wang et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0338721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baranski et al. discloses a wearable device, comprising:
a device body (104, 300) and a strap body (108, 302, 304);
a detection sensor (310) provided on at least one of the device body and the
strap body, the detection sensor being configured to at least obtain a user's blood
pressure data (see [0124] - "In other embodiments, the wearable electronic device 100
can include one or more sensors (not shown) positioned on a bottom surface of the
housing 104. Sensors utilized by the wearable electronic device 100 can vary from
embodiment to embodiment. Suitable sensors can include temperature sensors,
electrodermal sensors, blood pressure sensors, heart rate sensors, respiration rate
sensors, oxygen saturation sensors, plethysmographic sensors, activity sensors,
pedometers, blood glucose sensors, body weight sensors, body fat sensors, blood
alcohol sensors, dietary sensors, and so on");
a shape memory alloy component (406, 408, 506, 508, 1606, 1608, 1706) connected between the device body and the strap body, and configured to pull the strap
body to move toward the device body (see [0082] - "In some examples, a tensioner
associated with and/or coupled to the wearable electronic device can also be coupled to
a portion of the band that is configured to compress in response to an electrical signal.
For example, a shape memory wire such as Nitinol can be formed in a longitudinal
serpentine pattern within one or more portions of a band. The tensioner can increase a
current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the
tightness of the band or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in
response to an instruction to decrease the tightness of the band. In response to the
increase or decrease in the length of the longitudinal and serpentine Nitinol, the band
can experience an increase or decrease in length which, in turn, can cause an increase
or decrease the tightness of the fit of the band" and [0181] - "In the illustrated example,
the first actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed in a longitudinal
serpentine pattern and can be configured to contract or expand in response to an
electrical signal from the tensioner. For example, in some embodiments, the first
actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed from a shape memory wire
such as Nitinol. In these embodiments, the tensioner can increase a current (or voltage)
applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the tightness of the band
or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction
to decrease the tightness of the band. In many cases, an increase in current applied to
the Nitinol can cause the temperature of the Nitinol to increase, which can cause the
Nitinol to contract");
a driving component (324) configured to supply power to the shape memory alloy component according to a target current magnitude (see [0169] - "The one or more
processing devices 306 can be implemented as any electronic device capable of
processing, receiving, or transmitting data or instructions. For example, the processing
device(s) 306 can each be a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), an
application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), or
combinations of such devices. As described herein, the term "processing device" is
meant to encompass a single processor or processing unit, multiple processors,
multiple processing units, or other suitably configured computing element or elements"
and [0176] - "As noted above, the wearable electronic device 300 can include a
tensioner 324. In many cases, a tensioner can be an analog, digital, or integrated circuit
configured to apply an electrical signal to cause tension (either directly or indirectly) to
be applied to, or relieved form, the first band 302 and the second band 304"), and the shape memory alloy component is contracted (see [0181] – “In the illustrated example, the first actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed in a longitudinal serpentine pattern and can be configured to contract or expand in response to an electrical signal from the tensioner. For example, in some embodiments, the first actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed from a shape memory wire such as Nitinol. In these embodiments, the tensioner can increase a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the tightness of the band or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to decrease the tightness of the band. In many cases, an increase in current applied to the Nitinol can cause the temperature of the Nitinol to increase, which can cause the Nitinol to contract”); and
a main controller (306) configured to send a detection instruction to the driving
component and obtain detection data from the detection sensor (see [0169] - "The one
or more processing devices 306 can be implemented as any electronic device capable
of processing, receiving, or transmitting data or instructions. For example, the
processing device(s) 306 can each be a microprocessor, a central processing unit
(CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP),
or combinations of such devices. As described herein, the term "processing device" is
meant to encompass a single processor or processing unit, multiple processors,
multiple processing units, or other suitably configured computing element or
elements"), the main controller is configured to control the driving component to gradually reduce a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored (see [0181] – “In the illustrated example, the first actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed in a longitudinal serpentine pattern and can be configured to contract or expand in response to an electrical signal from the tensioner. For example, in some embodiments, the first actuator 406 and the second actuator 408 can be formed from a shape memory wire such as Nitinol. In these embodiments, the tensioner can increase a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the tightness of the band or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to decrease the tightness of the band. In many cases, an increase in current applied to the Nitinol can cause the temperature of the Nitinol to increase, which can cause the Nitinol to contract”).
It is noted Baranski et al. does not specifically teach the main controller is configured to determine whether a detection condition is met based on the detection data detected by the detection sensor, wherein when the detection condition is met, the main controller is configured to control the driving component to gradually reduce a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored. However, Wang et al. teaches the main controller (14) is configured to determine whether a detection condition is met based on the detection data detected by the detection sensor (10) (see [0041] – “The invention thus enables the tightness to be adjusted during measurement intervals to ensure signal quality (and avoid excessive discomfort), and during non-measurement intervals to meet aesthetic needs (as well as comfort). Automatic mechanical actuation is provided to adjust the distance to the skin, and/or the contact pressure with the skin, based on the determined measurement quality of the sensor signals when in the measurement mode. In this way, a balance between measurement quality, comfort and aesthetics is provided” and [0048] – “The system is controlled by a controller 14. The controller 14 assesses the quality of the sensor signals. It can then control a strap adjustment system 16 in response to the quality of the sensor signals. The strap adjustment system comprises actuators for actuating the device strap”; see also [0009] and [0115], which note that the detection sensor senses blood pressure), wherein when the detection condition is met, the main controller is configured to control the driving component (16, 60) to gradually reduce a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored (see [0073] – “The actuation signal for example comprises one of three control signals: loosen, tighten and no change. A loosen command is made when the non-measurement mode starts or when previous over-tightening is indicated. Conversely, a tighten command is made when a measurement mode is in place, and signal deterioration is detected, or else an environmental disturbance is sensed. No change is needed if the measurement quality is stable during the measurement mode”, [0084] – “For a system which implements periodic measurement modes, once a measurement interval ends, the measurement control module may then send a ‘loosen all actuators’ signal to the actuation control module”, [0092] - FIG. 6 shows an example based on a shape memory alloy (SMA). The strap 22 includes SMA wire actuators 60 embedded in the electrically insulating flexible strap 22. The actuators are heated by direct current driving, for example to a maximum temperature of around 70 degrees”, and [0093] – “The strap further includes springs 62 which are used to provide a detwinning force to return the strap to its original shape after cooling. In this way a reversible actuation is enabled. The required spring function may instead be generated by the material of an elastic strap without requiring additional returning spring”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baranski et al. to include the main controller is configured to determine whether a detection condition is met based on the detection data detected by the detection sensor, wherein when the detection condition is met, the main controller is configured to control the driving component to gradually reduce a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored, as disclosed in Wang et al., so as to enable the tightness to be adjusted during measurement intervals to ensure signal quality while providing a comfortable fit during non-measurement intervals (see Wang et al.: [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Baranski et al. discloses the driving component comprises a driver circuit and a driver controller, the driver controller is configured to obtain the target current magnitude and control the driver circuit to supply power to the shape memory alloy component according to the target current magnitude (see [0082] – “The tensioner can increase a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the tightness of the band or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to decrease the tightness of the band”, [0169] – “The one or more processing devices 306 can be implemented as any electronic device capable of processing, receiving, or transmitting data or instructions. For example, the processing device(s) 306 can each be a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), or combinations of such devices. As described herein, the term “processing device” is meant to encompass a single processor or processing unit, multiple processors, multiple processing units, or other suitably configured computing element or elements”, and [0176] – “As noted above, the wearable electronic device 300 can include a tensioner 324. In many cases, a tensioner can be an analog, digital, or integrated circuit configured to apply an electrical signal to cause tension (either directly or indirectly) to be applied to, or relieved form, the first band 302 and the second band 304”).
Regarding claim 3, Baranski et al. discloses the driving component further comprises a blood pressure controller configured to calculate the target current magnitude according to a preset contraction rate of the shape memory alloy component (see [0082] – “The tensioner can increase a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to increase the tightness of the band or can decrease a current (or voltage) applied to the Nitinol in response to an instruction to decrease the tightness of the band”, [0169] – “The one or more processing devices 306 can be implemented as any electronic device capable of processing, receiving, or transmitting data or instructions. For example, the processing device(s) 306 can each be a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), or combinations of such devices. As described herein, the term “processing device” is meant to encompass a single processor or processing unit, multiple processors, multiple processing units, or other suitably configured computing element or elements”, and [0176] – “As noted above, the wearable electronic device 300 can include a tensioner 324. In many cases, a tensioner can be an analog, digital, or integrated circuit configured to apply an electrical signal to cause tension (either directly or indirectly) to be applied to, or relieved form, the first band 302 and the second band 304”).
Regarding claim 4, Baranski et al. discloses the shape memory alloy component comprises at least one shape memory alloy spring (1706) (see Figure 17 and [0264] – “In the illustrated embodiment, an actuator 1706 can be formed as spring can be coupled between the first band 1702 and the second band 1704 through the housing of the wearable electronic device 1700. In some embodiments, the spring can be a passive spring. In other embodiments, the spring can be an active spring. For example, the spring can be made from a shape-memory material such as Nitinol. In such an embodiment, the tightness of a fit of the wearable electronic device 1700 can be maintained by the tensioner by applying an electrical current to the Nitinol”).
Regarding claim 6, Baranski et al. discloses a connecting piece (510, 512) is fixed on one side of the strap body close to the device body, and the shape memory alloy component (506, 508) comprises one end installed on the connecting piece and the other end installed on the device body (see Figures 5A-B and [0197] – “In another embodiment, the tensioner can be connected to a coupling that joins the first band 502 and the second band 504 at one or more points to the housing of the wearable electronic device 500. In some examples, such as that depicted in FIG. 5B, the coupling can be a first lug 510 and a second lug 512, associated with the first band 502 and the second band 504 respectively, that each extend from the housing of the wearable electronic device 500. In such an embodiment, the tensioner can withdraw the first lug 510 and a second lug 512 into the housing of the wearable electronic device 500 by applying an electrical signal to the first actuator 506 and the second actuator 508 (shown in FIG. 5A)”).
Regarding claim 7, Baranski et al. discloses the device body is provided with a limiting guide groove having a notch provided with a limiting boss that limits the strap body, and the limiting boss is configured to be engaged with the connecting piece (see Figures 5A-B and [0197] – “In another embodiment, the tensioner can be connected to a coupling that joins the first band 502 and the second band 504 at one or more points to the housing of the wearable electronic device 500. In some examples, such as that depicted in FIG. 5B, the coupling can be a first lug 510 and a second lug 512, associated with the first band 502 and the second band 504 respectively, that each extend from the housing of the wearable electronic device 500. In such an embodiment, the tensioner can withdraw the first lug 510 and a second lug 512 into the housing of the wearable electronic device 500 by applying an electrical signal to the first actuator 506 and the second actuator 508 (shown in FIG. 5A)”).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranski et al. and Wang et al., further in view of Saponas et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0287103 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted neither Baranski et al. nor Wang et al. specifically teach a cable provided between the device body and the strap body, wherein the cable comprises a transmission line connected between the detection sensor and the main controller and a power line connected between the driving component and the shape memory alloy component. However, Saponas et al. teaches a cable (630) provided between the device body and the strap body, wherein the cable comprises a transmission line connected between the detection sensor and the main controller and a power line connected between the driving component and the shape memory alloy component (see Figure 6B and [0053] – “One or both of power and data may be transferred via wires and/or wirelessly” and [0057] – “As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, first strap 610 may include a central ribbon cable 630, which may connect to primary device 601 at first end 611 and to satellite device 605 at second end 612. Central ribbon cable 630, or another suitable conductor, may be configured to form an inductive or conductive electrical connection between primary device 601 and satellite device 605. In some implementations, the central ribbon cable 630 may be pierced and/or sandwiched by complementarily configured contacts and/or inductive clamps”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baranski et al. and Wang et al. to include a cable provided between the device body and the strap body, wherein the cable comprises a transmission line connected between the detection sensor and the main controller and a power line connected between the driving component and the shape memory alloy component, as disclosed in Saponas et al., so as to transfer power and/or data between the different device components (see Saponas et al.: [0053]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranski et al. and Wang et al., further in view of Harrison-Noonan et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0086742 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, it is noted neither Baranski et al. nor Wang et al. specifically teach a distance sensor configured to obtain a distance between the connecting piece and the device body, wherein the main controller is configured to inform indicating information to the user when the distance acquired by the distance sensor is less than a preset distance. However, Harrison-Noonan et al. teaches a distance sensor (204) configured to obtain a distance between the connecting piece (103A) and the device body (101), wherein the main controller is configured to inform indicating information to the user when the distance acquired by the distance sensor is less than a preset distance (see [0036] – “Attaching the housing 101 to a user's body part may exert force on the first band segment 103A related to elongation of the first band segment 103A and/or the entire band 102. This force may strain the strain gauge 204 and the processing unit 207 may receive one or more signals from the strain gauge 204 accordingly. The strain data included in such a signal or signals may be analyzed by the processing unit 207 and correlated to a tightness of the band 102” and [0041] – “In some implementations, the processing unit 207 may determine the tightness of the band 102 and provide output directing the user to adjust the first band segment 103A to improve operation of the health sensor 209 if the tightness is outside a range of tightness values. The range of tightness values may represent tightnesses in which the health sensor 209 accurately, or more accurately, operates. Such output may be a visual output via a display component included in the housing 101, an audio output via a speaker or other acoustic component included in the housing 101, a haptic output via a vibration device or other actuator included in the housing 101, a combination of various outputs, and so on”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baranski et al. and Wang et al. to include a distance sensor configured to obtain a distance between the connecting piece and the device body, wherein the main controller is configured to inform indicating information to the user when the distance acquired by the distance sensor is less than a preset distance, as disclosed in Harrison-Noonan et al., so as to direct the user to adjust the tightness of the band to improve operation of the health sensor if the tightness is outside a range of tightness values (see Harrison-Noonan et al.: [0041]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranski et al. and Wang et al., further in view of Just et al. (US Patent No. 11,129,572 B2) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Baranski et al. teaches the device body is further provided with a heart rate sensor (see [0124]) but does not specifically teach the main controller is further configured to send the detection instruction to the driving component when a real-time heart rate data obtained by the heart rate sensor is higher than preset heart rate data. However, Just et al. teaches the device body is further provided with a heart rate sensor, and the main controller is further configured to send the detection instruction to the driving component when a real-time heart rate data obtained by the heart rate sensor is higher than preset heart rate data (see col. 17, lines 14-30 – “The initiation of a blood pressure reading (or other biometric reading) may be via user input (manual) or autonomous. In some cases, the initiation of a biometric measurement may be triggered by a processor 204 and/or analysis platform 210 determining that the user is in an elevated stress state. For example, an elevated heart rate or an elevated heart rate in absence of substantial physical activity may be indicative of a high risk of a cardiac event. Sensor readings for a PPG sensor 202, for example, may be processed to determine the subject's heart rate, and sensor readings from an inertial sensor 202 (such as an accelerometer) may be processed to determine if the subject is active or at rest. The processor(s) 204 and/or analysis platform 210 may process the PPG sensor information and inertial sensor information to determine whether the user is in an elevated stress state, and this may trigger the actuator(s) to begin an autonomous blood pressure reading as previously described”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baranski et al. and Wang et al. to include the main controller is further configured to send the detection instruction to the driving component when a real-time heart rate data obtained by the heart rate sensor is higher than preset heart rate data, as disclosed in Just et al., so as to initiate a blood pressure measurement when it is detected that the user is in an elevated stress state or at a high risk of a cardiac event (see Just et al.: col. 17, lines 16-21).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranski et al. and Wang et al., further in view of Ciecko (US Publication No. 2017/0143219 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, it is noted neither Baranski et al. nor Wang et al. specifically teach an alarm component, the main controller being configured to control the alarm component to send an alarm signal when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than a preset health data; and a signal transmitting component, the main controller being configured to control the signal transmitting component to send preset information or real-time location information to a target device when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than the preset health data. However, Ciecko teaches an alarm component, the main controller being configured to control the alarm component to send an alarm signal when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than a preset health data; and a signal transmitting component, the main controller being configured to control the signal transmitting component to send preset information or real-time location information to a target device when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than the preset health data (see [0019] – “The logic 410 monitors the blood pressure and the heart rate of the wearer via the first sensor 408A and the second sensor 408B, respectively. If either of the aforementioned physiological parameters of the wearer fall outside a tolerance range, then the logic 410 determines that the wearer is potentially suffering from an emergency medical condition and initiates the transmission of the notification and the location of the wearable 401 to the emergency medical service via the transceiver 404. In one embodiment, the tolerance range for each of the physiological parameters is a static value that is either preset by the user or by the manufacturer of the wearable 401. In another embodiment, the tolerance range for each of the physiological parameters is instead determined by the wearable 401 itself by, e.g., taking a moving average of each particular physiological parameter. In this embodiment, deviations from the moving average of a physiological parameter by a preset factor trigger the logic 410 to determine that the user is potentially suffering from an emergency medical condition”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baranski et al. to include an alarm component, the main controller being configured to control the alarm component to send an alarm signal when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than a preset health data; and a signal transmitting component, the main controller being configured to control the signal transmitting component to send preset information or real-time location information to a target device when the detection data detected by the detection sensor is higher than the preset health data, as disclosed in Ciecko, so as to notify any individual in the vicinity of the wearer and the appropriate authorities that the wearer is potentially suffering from an emergency medical condition and requires assistance (see Ciecko: Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Baranski merely describes a sensor that includes a blood pressure sensor but does not describe a combination of the blood pressure sensor with the shape memory alloy component. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Baranski describes multiple sensors, including a blood pressure sensor, positioned on a bottom surface of the housing (104) (see [0124]), and the tensioner, which comprises the shape memory wire (see [0131]), being included within or coupled to either or both of the housing (104) and the band (108) (see [0129]).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Baranski does not teach or suggest “a driving component configured to supply power to the shape memory alloy component according to a target current magnitude, and the shape memory alloy component is contracted”, the Examiner notes that Baranski describes a tensioner that applies an electrical current or voltage to an element, such as a shape memory wire, that contracts or expands in the presence of an electrical current (see [0131]). The tensioner can increase a current applied to the shape memory component to increase the tightness of the band (i.e. cause the shape memory alloy component to contract) or decrease a current applied to the shape memory component to decrease the tightness of the band (i.e. the driving component gradually reduces a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored) (see [0181]).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Baranski does not teach or suggest “a main controller configured to send a detection instruction to the driving component and obtain detection data from the detection sensor”, the Examiner notes that Baranski describes a processing device (306) that controls or coordinates some or all of the operations of the wearable electronic device, including processing, receiving, and transmitting data and instructions (see [0168]-[0169]). The instructions include instructing the driving component to increase or decrease the tightness of the band (see [0181] and steps 2404, 2406, and 2410 in Figure 24 and [0280]) (i.e. “send a detection instruction to the driving component”) and the processing device also obtains the biometric data from the detection sensor (see steps 2402 and 2408 in Figure 24 and [0280]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitation “a main controller configured to determine whether a detection condition is met based on the detection data detected by the detection sensor, wherein when the detection condition is met, the main controller is configured to control the driving component to gradually reduce a current to the shape memory alloy component, and the shape memory alloy component is to be gradually restored” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Instead, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the newly added subject matter of the amended claims, which is addressed in the new grounds of rejection as outlined above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN B HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791