Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 13 of claim 1, there should be a comma following “a is 2, 3, or 4”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 requires the polyarylorganosiloxane polymer or silicone copolymer of claim 1 to be linear, branched, or cyclic. However, any of the polyarylorganosiloxane polymer or silicone copolymers of claim 1 will fall within one of these groups. Claim 4 therefore fails to further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dimitrova (WO 2019/190775 A1).
In paragraphs 48-49 Dimitrova discloses a two-part curing composition comprising a base part and a curing agent which can be a catalyst package. The catalyst package comprises an alkyl-terminated diorganopolysiloxane, a cross-linker, a tin-based catalyst, and can also comprise a primary aminosilane.
In paragraph 9 Dimitrova discloses that the polydiorganosiloxane comprises a plurality of (R1ySiO(4-y)/2)) groups, where 97% of the groups have y=2, in which case the groups are (R12SiO) groups. In paragraphs 14 Dimitrova discloses that the R1 groups can be aromatic groups, for example phenyl groups, meeting the limitations of both the monovalent substituent comprising an aromatic group R4 of component (i) of claim 1 and the monovalent organic group R5 of component (i) of claim 1, are among the most preferred R groups. In paragraph 14 Dimitrova also discloses other suitable R1 alkyl groups meeting the limitations of the monovalent organic group R5 of component (i) of claim 1. When the polydiorganosiloxane of Dimitrova comprises groups where at least one of the R substituents is phenyl it meets the limitations of component (i) of claim 1.
In paragraph 52 Dimitrova discloses that the catalyst package can additionally comprise a polydialkylsiloxane which also comprises a plurality of (R22SiO) units, where the R2 groups can be phenyl groups, also meeting the limitations of component (i) of claim 1.
In paragraph 22 Dimitrova discloses numerous suitable cross-linkers meeting the limitations of the cross-linker of component (ii) of claim 1. For example, ethyltrimethoxysilane meets the limitations of component (ii) of claim 1 where a is 3, R7 is a methoxy group (alkoxy group having 1 carbon), and R6 is an ethyl group, which is a non-hydrolysable organic group as acknowledged on page 9 lines 33-35 of the current specification. The aminosilane disclosed in paragraph 49 of Dimitrova meets the limitations of component (iii) of claim 1, and the tin-based catalyst disclosed in paragraphs 37 and 49 of Dimitrova meets the limitations of component (iv) of claim 1. In paragraph 53 Dimitrova discloses that the catalyst package can comprise filler or have no filler depending on the concentration ratio of the base composition and the catalyst package.
The composition and catalyst package of Dimitrova therefore meets the limitations of claim 1 for both the case where the optional filler of component (v) of claim 1 is present and the case where it is not present. Claim 5 is also met for the case where component (i) is the polyarylorganosiloxane rather than the silicone copolymer.
As discussed above, Dimitrova discloses that the group corresponding to the R4 group of component (i) of claim 1 can be a phenyl group, meeting the limitations of claim 3. The polydiorganosiloxane and the polydialkylsiloxane of Dimitrova must be linear, branched, or cyclic, meeting the limitations of claim 4. In paragraph 14 Dimitrova indicates that the polydiorganosiloxane can have some branching, and in paragraph 52 Dimitrova discloses that the polydialkylsiloxane can be linear or branched.
In paragraph 53 Dimitrova discloses that the base composition and catalyst package are mixed in a weight ratio of 15:1 to 1:1, as recited in claim 6. In paragraphs 29-30 and 33-34 Dimitrova discloses that the reinforcing filler can be a precipitated calcium carbonate, precipitated silica, or fumed silica, as recited in claim 7. In paragraphs 39-47 Dimitrova discloses that the composition can comprise the additional additives recited in claim 8.
In Table 2b (paragraph 62) Dimitrova discloses a catalyst package (curing agent) comprising a siloxane polymer (carrier fluid), cross-linker, and tin-based catalyst in amounts within the range recited in claim 10. The sample composition does not include the specific siloxane polymer recited in component (i) of claims 1 and 10, but as discussed above Dimitrova discloses that siloxane polymers meeting the limitations of component (i) can also be used in the catalyst package. The catalyst package of Table 2b of Dimitrova further comprises 25% by weight of an adhesion promoter, and in paragraph 41 Dimitrova discloses that the adhesion promoter can be an aminoalkylmethoxysilane meeting the limitations of the aminosilane of component (iii) of claim 10. The catalyst package also comprises 0.90% by weight of silica, which is a reinforcing filler meeting the limitations of component (v) of claim 10. Claim 10 is therefore anticipated by Dimitrova.
In paragraphs 50-51 Dimitrova discloses that the base component comprises 50 to 90% by weight of a siloxane polymer, 10 to 50% by weight of a reinforcing filler, and 0 to 20% by weight of non-reinforcing filler, meeting the limitations of the base part of claim 9.
In paragraph 1 and throughout the reference, Dimitrova discloses a sealant prepared from the composition, meeting the limitations of the caulking of claim 11.
In light of the above, claims 1 and 3-11 are anticipated by Dimitrova.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimitrova.
The discussion of Dimitrova in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference. Dimitrova discloses a composition meeting the limitations of claim 1, where the base part of the composition comprises a siloxane polymer, a reinforcing filler, and optionally non-reinforcing fillers. In paragraph 49 Dimitrova discloses that the siloxane polymer in the base composition can be silanol-terminated, in which case the polymer has hydroxyl terminal groups, as recited in component (a) of claim 2. In paragraph 9 Dimitrova discloses that the siloxanes used in the composition have at least two hydroxyl (-OH) or hydrolysable groups per molecule.
Dimitrova does not specifically disclose the viscosity of the siloxane polymer in the base composition. However, given the broad range for the number of repeat units (200 to 5000) disclosed in paragraph 9 of Dimitrova, the broad viscosity range recited for component (a) of claim 2, and the relationship recited in paragraph 17 of Dimitrova, the viscosity of the siloxane polymer in the base composition of Dimitrova will at least overlap the range recited for component (a) of claim 2. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claim 2 is therefore rendered obvious by Dimitrova.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dimitrova (WO 2019/190776 A1) is cumulative to the Dimitrova reference cited in the above rejection. Zhang (CN 106978132 A), cited as an X reference in the International Search Report, discloses a two-part composition similar to the claimed composition, but the aminosilane is disclosed as a coupling agent present in the base part rather than the catalyst package.
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771