DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nilsson et al. (US 2024/0348310 A1). Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, 13, Nilsson et al. discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining information indicating a restricted beam which cannot be used for transmission or reception by a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node connected to the base station (Para 50 and Para 236-237 teaches of determining restricted IAB-DU beams ) ; and transmitting, to the IAB node, a message comprising the information indicating the restricted beam (Para 236 teaches “the parent IAB-DU indicates a number of restricted IAB-DU beams by signaling reference signal indices (e.g., SSBRI, CRI, SRI, for SSB, CSI-RS and SRS beams, respectively) or TCI state IDs to the IAB-DU (e.g., IAB node 16), where each reference signal index or TCI state ID is associated to an IAB-DU beam.“). Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, , Nilsson et al. discloses a method, wherein the message further comprises information on a beam to be used for data transmission or reception by a mobile termination (MT) of the IAB node. (Para 104 teaches “the child IAB node can dynamically report to the parent IAB node a set of recommended beams, not-preferred beams, or both recommended and not-preferred beams of the IAB-MT of the child IAB node.”). Regarding claims 3, 7, 11, 14, Nilsson et al. discloses a method, wherein the information indicating the restricted beam comprises at least one of identification information on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or identification information on a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Para 236 teaches “the parent IAB-DU indicates a number of restricted IAB-DU beams by signaling reference signal indices (e.g., SSBRI, CRI, SRI, for SSB, CSI-RS and SRS beams, respectively) or TCI state IDs to the IAB-DU (e.g., IAB node 16), where each reference signal index or TCI state ID is associated to an IAB-DU beam.“)., wherein the information indicating the restricted beam is applied in case that the IAB mode operates in a non-time division multiplexing (TDM) mode (Para 236 teaches of operating in (spatial division multiplexing ) SDM mode “ The indicated IAB-DU beams may be restricted for use when the IAB node 16 is operating in SDM mode (but can still be used when operating in TDM mode).”), and wherein the message comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Para 115 and 128 teaches of using MAC CE for messages). Regarding claims 4, 8, 12, 15, Nilsson et al. discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, from the IAB node, information indicating a recommended beam of the IAB node(Para 104 teaches “the child IAB node can dynamically report to the parent IAB node a set of recommended beams, not-preferred beams, or both recommended and not-preferred beams of the IAB-MT of the child IAB node.”)., wherein the information indicating the recommended beam comprises at least one of identification information on a channel state information reference signal (CSI- RS), identification information on a synchronization signal block (SSB), a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID), or a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI). (Para 236 teaches “the parent IAB-DU indicates a number of restricted IAB-DU beams by signaling reference signal indices (e.g., SSBRI, CRI, SRI, for SSB, CSI-RS and SRS beams, respectively) or TCI state IDs to the IAB-DU (e.g., IAB node 16), where each reference signal index or TCI state ID is associated to an IAB-DU beam.“ These same indices could be used to recommend preferred spatial beams ).
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467