DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,797,317) as cited in IDS dated 11/3/25.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a positive electrode active material (claim 1) comprising: a lithium transition metal oxide which is in a form of a single particle(Col. 4, lines 64-67 to Col. 5, lines 1-2), wherein the single particle has a surface part and a core(claim 1); and a coating part which is formed on the surface part(claim 1), wherein the coating part contains cobalt(claim 1), wherein the surface part has a layered (R-3m) structure (claim 1), and nickel included in the surface part has an average oxidation number of +2.00 to + 3.00 (Col. 4, lines 33-44 and lines 52-57) which overlaps the claim range of +2.36 to +3.00, thus reading on the limitation.
Cho is explicitly silent to the claim range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the surface part is a region from an outermost surface of the lithium transition metal oxide in the form of a single particle to a depth of 5 nm to about 10 nm (claim 5) which is within the claim range of 1 nm to 50 nm toward a center, thus reading on the limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses a content of the cobalt compound in the coating layer is about 0.5 parts to about 5.0 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the composite cathode active material (claim 7), when the content of the cobalt compound is within this range, Ni3+ ions or Co4+ present in a large amount in a transition metal layer may be reduced into Ni2+ or Co3+/2+, or both of these ions may be reduced at the same time, during a synthesis process of the composite cathode active material, so that interfacial reactivity between the composite cathode active material and liquid electrolyte may be reduced (Col. 6, lines 18-25).
Cho discloses a Ni content in the lithium transition metal oxide may be about 5 mol % to about 10 mol % with respect to 100 mol % of the lithium transition metal oxide and when the Ni content is within this range, the composite cathode active material may have improved stability, reversible capacity, and lifetime characteristics (Col. 5, lines 44-49) but does not explicitly disclose the cobalt and the nickel satisfy a Co/Ni ratio (mol/mol) of 0.10 to 0.80 based on an entirety of the surface part and the coating part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the positive electrode active material of Cho with the cobalt and the nickel satisfy a Co/Ni ratio (mol/mol) of 0.10 to 0.80 based on an entirety of the surface part and the coating part in order to balance interfacial reactivity and lifetime characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the coating part is formed on about 90% or less or about 10% or less (Col. 6, lines 4-13) which overlaps the claim range of 10% to 100% of the outer surface of the surface part based on a total area of the outer surface of the surface part of the lithium transition metal oxide, thus reading on the limitation.
Cho is explicitly silent to the claim range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the coating part is positioned in a form of islands on the outer surface of the surface part(Col. 6, lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the coating part comprises LiCoO₂ (Col. 5, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the lithium transition metal oxide comprises at most 50 crystalline grains(Col. 22, lines 23-30).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses the surface part comprises a layered structure of nickel cobalt manganese oxide converted from a NiO layer(Col. 18, lines 66-67 to Col. 19, lines 1-3). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the surface port is formed: by converting from a NiO layer. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide comprising nickel, cobalt, and manganese (Col. 4, lines 16-29).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses a method for producing the positive electrode active material of claim 1, comprising: 1) mixing lithium transition metal oxide particles in a form of a single particle with a cobalt source to form a mixture(Examples 6 and 9); and 2) heat-treating the mixture(Examples 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses in the mixing, an additional metal source is further mixed (Col. 7, lines 44-51, Col. 9, lines 54-67).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses the heat-treating is performed at about 700°C to about 950°C (claim 17) which overlaps the claim range from 500 to 800 °C, thus reading on the limitation.
Cho is explicitly silent to the claim range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
6. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,797,317) as cited in IDS dated 11/3/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Celasun et al. (US 2021/0119204) as cited in IDS dated 8/5/25.
Regarding claim 10, Cho does not explicitly disclose the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1 below: [Formula 1]
LiaNixCoyM¹zM²₁-x-y-zO₂ where, M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Mn and Al, M² is at least one selected from the group consisting of B, Ba, Ce, Cr, F, Mg, V, Ti, Fe, Zr, Zn, Si, Y, Nb, Ga, Sn, Mo, W, P, S, Sr, Ta, La, and Hf, 1.0≤a≤1.3, 0.6≤x<1.0, 0≤y≤0.4, and 0≤z≤0.4.
Celasun teaches a positive electrode active material for a lithium ion battery, comprising a lithium transition metal-based oxide powder, the powder comprising single crystal monolithic particles comprising Ni and Co and having a general formula Li1+a ((Niz (Ni1/2 Mn1/2)y Cox)1-kAk)1-a O2, wherein A is a dopant, −0.02<a≤0.06, 0.10≤x≤0.35, 0≤z≤0.90, x+y+z=1 and k≤0.01, the particles having a cobalt concentration gradient wherein the particle surface has a higher Co content than the particle center(abstract). Celsun teaches the positive electrode material enhances the battery performances, such as capacity, cycle stability and rate capability([0001]). Celasun teaches the material can be used in solid state lithium ion batteries or non-aqueous lithium ion batteries at a high voltage due to its special morphology([0001]). Celasun teaches the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1, LiaNixCoyM¹zM²₁-x-y-zO₂ where, M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Mn, a=1.0, x=0.625, y=0.200, and z=0.175([0105], Example 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode active material of Cho with teaches the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1, LiaNixCoyM¹zM²₁-x-y-z O₂ where, M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Mn, a=1.0, x=0.625, y=0.200, and z=0.175 as taught by Celasun in order to enhance battery performances.
7. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,797,317) as cited in IDS dated 11/3/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2018/0145322) as cited in IDS dated 3/25/24.
Regarding claim 11, Cho does not explicitly disclose the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 2 below: LiaNibCocMndM1eO2 [Formula 2] where, M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Al, Zr, B, W, Mo, Cr, Nb, Mg, Hf, Ta, La, Ti, Sr, Ba, Cc, Sn, Y, Zn, F, P, and S, 0.9≤a≤1.1, 0.8≤b<1, 0<c<0.2, 0<d<0.2, 0≤e<0.1, and b+c+d+e=1.
Choi teaches a composite cathode active material includes a first cathode active material including a core including a first lithium transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1 and having a first layered crystalline phase that belongs to a R-3m space group; and a coating layer disposed on the core and including a second lithium transition metal oxide having a plurality of layered crystalline phases, wherein each layered crystalline phase of the plurality of layered crystalline phases has a different composition: LiaMO2 Formula 1, wherein, in Formula 1, 1.0≤a≤1.03; and M includes nickel and an element including a Group 4 element to a Group 13 element other than nickel(abstract). Choi teaches the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 2 below: LiaNibM2cM3dO2 [Formula 2] where, 1.0≤a≤1.03, 0.4<b<1, 0<c<0.3, 0<d<0.4, and b+c+d=1, and M2 and M3 are different from each other and are each any one selected from among manganese and cobalt (claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode active material of Cho with the lithium transition metal oxide is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 2 below: LiaNibM2cM3dO2 [Formula 2] where, 1.0≤a≤1.03, 0.4<b<1, 0<c<0.3, 0<d<0.4, and b+c+d=1, and M2 and M3 are different from each other and are each any one selected from among manganese and cobalt as taught by Choi as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/864,388 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant independent claim 1 recites a positive electrode active material that is similar in structure and composition to the positive electrode active material recited in claims 1-4 of the copending application. Instant claims 12-14 recite the limitations for producing the positive electrode active material similar to claims 11-13 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724