DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 9 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 4, 5, 7, and 10) in the reply filed on 6/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuwa et al (JP 2021127455, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4:
Fuwa teaches the adsorbent comprising a polyarylene sulfide resin having a zeta potential measured at a pH of 7.8 to 8.2 through a streaming potential method of -50 mV or more (zeta potential po -30 mV or more) (see pg. 10, 4th paragraph) and water (zeta potential of dispersion with water) (see pg. 10, 4th paragraph, pg. 14 3rd paragraph), wherein an amount of water mixed is within a range of 10 to 150 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the polyarylene sulfide resin (537 g PAS to 500 g water is 93 parts water to 100 parts polyarylene sulfide) (see pg. 16, 5th paragraph: Example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuwa et al (JP 2021127455, English machine translation provided) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kumagai et al (WO 2021200332, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5:
Fuwa teaches the adsorbent according to claim 4.
Fuwa is silent as to the specific surface area.
Kumagai teaches a specific surface area of polyarylene sulfide resin is within a range of 10 to 300 m2/g (preferably 10m2/g or more and 50m2/g or less) (see pg. 14, 1st paragraph).
Fuwa and Kumagai are analogous inventions in the art of polyarylene sulfide resins. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a specific surface area of 10 to 50 m2/g, as disclosed by Kumagai for the polyarylene resin of Fuwa because it is within a range that makes removing contaminants from the resin easier (see Kumagai pg. 14, is paragraph). Further, through routine experimentation one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to select a specific surface area from a known workable range and between 10 and 300 m3/g is known to be a surface area for polyarylene sulfide resins. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not
inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuwa et al (JP 2021127455, English machine translation provided) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Reeve et al (KR 20210005026, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 7:
Fuwa teaches the adsorbent according to claim 4.
Fuwa does not teach a column filed with the adsorbent.
Reeve teaches a column filled with a resin adsorbent (see pg. 5, last paragraph, pg. 6 1st paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place the adsorbent of Fuwa into a column, as disclosed by Reeve because it is known in the art to place resins in columns in order to separate materials (see Reeve pg. 5 last paragraph, pg. 6 1st paragraph). Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuwa et al (JP 2021127455, English machine translation provided) and Kumagai et al (WO 2021200332, English machine translation provided) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Reeve et al (KR 20210005026, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 10:
Fuwa teaches the adsorbent according to claim 5.
Fuwa does not teach a column filed with the adsorbent.
Reeve teaches a column filled with a resin adsorbent (see pg. 5, last paragraph, pg. 6 1st paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place the adsorbent of Fuwa into a column, as disclosed by Reeve because it is known in the art to place resins in columns in order to separate materials (see Reeve pg. 5 last paragraph, pg. 6 1st paragraph). Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al, the article “An efficient and health-friendly adsorbent N-[4-morpholinecarboximidamidoyl]carboximidamidoylmethylated polyphenylene sulfide for removing heavy metal ions from water” (cited in IDS) which teaches that sulfide resins are known to be used as adsorbents for heavy metal separation from water.
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 6/17/2026