DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 03/25/2024. Claims 4-5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19-20, 22, 25, and 29 are as currently amended. Claims 10, 21, and 33-41 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 6, 12, 14, 16, 18, 23-24, 26-28, and 30-32 are as previously presented. As such, claims 1-9, 11-20, and 22-32 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 12, 19, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 (lines 1-2) and all further recitations: “each facemask holder” should read “each of the at least one facemask holder” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 4, line 3: “a facemask” should read “the air filtration facemask” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 5, lines 2-3: “a facemask’s peripheral edge” should read “a peripheral edge of the air filtration facemask” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 12, line 1: “the holding component” should read “the addition holding component” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 19, lines 6-7: “available on-hand inventory of one of more different types of air filtration devices” should read “the available on-hand inventory of the one or more different types of air filtration devices” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 29, line 2: “comprising an extension flange” should read “further comprising an extension flange” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 11-14, 20, 26, 28-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fecteau et al. (US 6497232 B2; hereinafter “Fecteau”).
Regarding claim 1, Fecteau discloses an interchangeable filter system (interchangeable cartridge shells can be received by first and second cartridge/filter retainers; Figs. 1-2, 11, and 15; col. 6, lines 24-29; col. 7, lines 19-25 and lines 57-62) for a respirator (Fig. 1; Abstract), said system comprising a support frame (22; Fig. 2), an air intake opening therein (76, 78; Fig. 2), a plurality of interchangeable filter holders each configured for selective mounting thereof to the support frame (28, 30, 172, 196; Figs. 1-2, 11, 15, 17; col. 4, lines 1-7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are detachably connected to first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82), and each configured to receive and hold a different respective type of air filtration device (sorbent filter in sorbent cartridge shells 28 and 30, see col. 3, lines 33-34, see Fig. 2; filter cartridge in standalone filter cartridge shell 172, see col. 7, lines 18-19, see Fig. 15; disc filter in disc filter base 196, see col. 7, lines 56-57, see Fig. 17) in a working position of operable relationship to said air intake opening to filter incoming ambient air (Figs. 1-2; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 connect to 80 and/or 82, hence each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are in a working position of operable relationship to air intake openings 76 and/or 78), whereby the plurality of interchangeable filter holders enable customization of the system according to available on-hand inventory of one of more different types of air filtration devices (Fecteau discloses a plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) that are selectively connected to a support frame (22), where each of the interchangeable filter holders are capable of receiving and holding various filter types and materials (see above); thus, the interchangeable filter holders receive and hold filters and/or filter materials that are available, and the filter holders themselves are connected to the support frame when the filter holders are available; hence, the interchangeable filter holders disclosed by Fecteau inherently enable the customization of the interchangeable filter system of Fecteau according to the filter types and materials that are available).
Regarding claim 7, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein said plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) include a cartridge holder (172; Fig. 15) configured to receive and hold a cartridge filter in operable relation to the air intake opening (172 is capable of holding various filter types and materials, see col. 7, lines 36-39; see claim 1 above, where 172 is arranged in a working position of operable relation to air intake openings 76 and/or 78, hence cartridge filter held within 172 is arranged in operable relation to air intake openings 76 and/or 78).
Regarding claim 9, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein said plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) includes a pad holder (196) composed of at least one perforated cover for overlying a respective face of a filter pad (212 with plurality of openings 220, see Fig. 18; col. 8, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 11, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, comprising an addition holding component (84; Fig. 2) matable with the support frame (col. 4, lines 1-5) and compatible with at least a subset of the interchangeable filter holders to hold a selected one thereof in place when mated to the support frame (see claim 1 above, where 28, 30, 172, and 196 connect with 84 via 80 and/or 82; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 11, wherein the holding component (84) comprises a holding collar (80,82; Fig. 2) matable with a collar support wall found on the support frame in surrounding relation to the air intake opening (col. 3, lines 65-67, where the inner walls of openings 76 and 78 respectively mate with 80 and 82, see Annotated Fig. 2 below).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 13, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, further comprising a holding collar (collar openings 140 of 28 are located in, see Fig. 11; collar openings 176 of 172 are located in, see Fig. 15; collar recessed portions 200 of 196 are located on, see Fig. 17) configured for selective mating thereof with a collar support on the support frame that spans around the air intake opening (each of 140, 176, and 200 selectively mate with 86 first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82 via a simple twisting motion; col. 3, lines 65-67, where the inner walls of openings 76 and 78 respectively mate with 80 and 82, see Annotated Fig. 2 above), in a position operable to hold one of said filter holders in place between the holding collar and the collar support when mated together (col. 6, lines 25-30; col. 7, lines 19-25; col. 7, lines 57-62; Examiner’s note: Interpreting – to hold one of said filter holders in place between the holding collar and the collar support when mated together – as – the cooperation and interaction between the holding collar and the collar support when mated together holds one of said filter holders in place – based on pg. 19, line 24 to pg. 20, line 10 of Applicant’s specification and Applicant’s Figures 3-4 and 6).
Regarding claim 14, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 13, wherein said holding collar has bayonet coupling features thereon (collar openings 140 of 28 are located in, see Fig. 11; collar openings 176 of 172 are located in, see Fig. 15; collar recessed portions 200 of 196 are located on, see Fig. 17) for bayonet-like slide-and-turn connection of the holding collar to the collar support (each of 140, 176, and 200 engage and disengage with 86 via a simple twisting motion, see claim 13 above).
Regarding claim 20, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the support frame (22) is embodied in a reusable face-worn respirator (22 is facepiece of respirator 10, see Figs. 1-2) having at least one inhalation port (76, 78; Fig. 2) therein at which the plurality of interchangeable filter holders are selectively and interchangeably couplable to the reusable face-worn respirator (28, 30, 172, 196; Figs. 1-2, 11, 15, 17; col. 4, lines 1-7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are detachably connected to respirator 10 via first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82).
Regarding claim 26, Fecteau discloses a respirator (10; Fig. 1) comprising: a support frame (22; Figs. 1-2), an air intake opening therein (76, 78; Fig. 2), and a collar support of surrounding relationship to said air intake opening (80, 82; Fig. 2; col. 3, lines 65-67, where the inner walls of openings 76 and 78 respectively mate with 80 and 82, see Annotated Fig. 2 below); a holding collar (collar openings 140 of 28 are located in, see Fig. 11; collar openings 176 of 172 are located in, see Fig. 15; collar recessed portions 200 of 196 are located on, see Fig. 17) configured for selective installation thereof on the collar support (each of 140, 176, and 200 selectively mate with 86 first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82 via a simple twisting motion; col. 3, lines 65-67, where the inner walls of openings 76 and 78 respectively mate with 80 and 82, see Annotated Fig. 2 below); and at least one filter holder (28, 30, 172, 196; Figs. 1-2, 11, 15, and 17) configured for held securement by said holding collar when installed on the collar support (col. 6, lines 25-30; col. 7, lines 19-25; col. 7, lines 57-62), and said filter holder also being configured to, in-turn, hold an air filtration device (sorbent filter, see col. 3, lines 33-34; filter cartridge, see col. 7, lines 18-19; disc filter, see col. 7, lines 56-57) in a working position of operable relationship to said air intake opening to filter incoming ambient air (Figs. 1-2; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 connect to 80 and/or 82, hence each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are in a working position of operable relationship to air intake openings 76 and/or 78).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 28, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 26, wherein the respirator is a reusable face-worn respirator (10, see Fig. 1) having an inhalation port therein at which the air intake opening is embodied (76, 78; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 26, comprising an extension flange (142, 178, 202; Figs. 11, 15, and 17) detachably matable with the inhalation port at an exterior of the face-worn respirator (142 detachably mates to 76 and/or 78 via 140, see col. 6, lines 31-35; 178 detachably mates to 76 and/or 79 via 176, see col. 7, lines 27-31; 202 detachably mates to 76 and/or 78 via 200, see col. 7, lines 64 to col. 8, line 1; Figs. 11, 15, and 17) to effectively enlarge an air intake area of the inhalation port (see Figs. 11, 15, and 17).
Regarding claim 30, Fecteau discloses a respirator (10; Fig. 1) comprising: a support frame (22; Figs. 1-2) having an air intake opening (76, 78; Fig. 2); and at least one filter holder (28, 30, 172, 196; Figs. 1-2, 11, 15, 17) that: is configured for selective mounting thereof to the support frame (Figs. 1-2, 11, 15, 17; col. 4, lines 1-7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are detachably connected to first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82) in a manner modifying an effective profile of the air intake opening (col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 connect to 80 and/or 82, hence each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are positioned such that the profile of 76 and/or 78 is modified when at least one of 28, 30, 172, and 196 is connected to 80 and/or 82, see Figs. 1-2); and is also configured to hold a separate air filtration device of conforming size and shape to the modified effective profile of the air intake opening (sorbent filter in sorbent cartridge shells 28 and 30, see col. 3, lines 33-34, see Fig. 2; filter cartridge in standalone filter cartridge shell 172, see col. 7, lines 18-19, see Fig. 15; disc filter in disc filter base 196, see col. 7, lines 56-57, see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 32, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 30, wherein the respirator is a reusable face-worn respirator (10, see Fig. 1) having an inhalation port therein at which the air intake opening is embodied (76, 78; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Hubbard et al. (US 20210322796 A1; hereinafter “Hubbard”).
Regarding claim 2, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but fails to disclose the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) include at least one facemask holder configured to receive and hold an air filtration facemask in operable relation to the air intake opening.
However, Hubbard teaches at least one facemask device (100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201; Figs. 1, 8, 12, 17, 19, and 21) to receive and hold differently shaped facemasks ([0064], lines 18-22 and lines 25-32) via various attachment features, including a frame (110, 210; Figs. 1 and 12) with a two-piece clamshell construction ([0064], line 32 to end of paragraph), and arrange the differently shaped facemasks operable in relation to a user’s mouth and nose (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fecteau to include the at least one facemask device (100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201), as taught by Hubbard above, such that plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196; Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201; Hubbard Figs. 1, 8, 12, 17, 19, and 21) include at least one facemask holder (Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201) configured to receive and hold an air filtration facemask (Hubbard [0064], lines 25-32) in operable relation to the air intake opening (see Hubbard Fig. 5, where 180 is held in operable relation to the user’s mouth and nose, thus it would be well-understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that Hubbard’s facemask device and Hubbard’s filtration facemask are arranged in operable relation to Fecteau 76 and 78) to increase access to PPE for the general public (Hubbard [0003], line 19 to the end of the paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein said at least one facemask holder (Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201) comprises multiple facemask holders (Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201), each configured to receive and hold a differently shaped facemask (Hubbard [0064], lines 25-32).
Regarding claim 4, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein each facemask holder (Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201) is of annular form and has a center opening therein (see Hubbard Figs. 1, 8, 12, 17, 19, and 21) whose shape profile conforms to an outer shape profile of a facemask at a peripheral edge region thereof (Hubbard [0064], lines 18-22).
Regarding claim 5, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein each facemask holder (Hubbard 100, 101, 102, 103, 200, 201) comprises a pair of gaskets (Hubbard [0064], line 32 to end of paragraph, where each piece of the two-piece construction of 110 is a gasket and each piece of the two-piece construction of 210 is a gasket) shaped for receipt of a facemask's peripheral edge between said pair of gaskets (see Hubbard Fig. 5; Hubbard [0064], line 32 to end of paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 5, wherein said pair of gaskets (Hubbard [0064], line 32 to end of paragraph, where each piece of the two-piece construction of 110 is a gasket and each piece of the two-piece construction of 210 is a gasket) are hinged together in clamshell fashion for movement between an open position enabling placement of the facemasks' peripheral edge between said gaskets, and a closed position sealing the facemask's peripheral edge between said gaskets (last sentence of Hubbard [0064]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Gerson & Brunell (US 20080156329 A1; hereinafter “Gerson”).
Regarding claim 8, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 7. Fecteau further discloses the cartridge holder (172) includes recessed portions (176; Fig. 15) to receive raised portions (86; Fig. 2) of the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2), such that the standalone filter cartridge shell (172) can be quickly installed on and removed from the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) via a simple twisting motion (col. 7, lines 19-31). Fecteau fails to explicitly disclose the cartridge holder (172) comprises a male bayonet connector thereon for mating with a female bayonet connector of said cartridge filter.
However, Gerson teaches an analogous filter cartridge (100B; Fig. 11) with a female bayonet connector (110; Fig. 16) that receives a corresponding male bayonet connector associated with the inhalation port (40; Fig. 2) of a mask (10; Fig. 2; see [0053]), where the filter cartridge (100B) further includes a male bayonet connector (240; Fig. 17) to connect to a corresponding female bayonet connector (90; Fig. 3b) of a quick-connect particle filter (80; Figs. 3a-3b; [0053]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cartridge holder (172) and cartridge filter (filter and/or filter material held by 172, see claim 7 above) taught by Fecteau with the filter cartridge (100B) and quick-connect filter (80; Figs. 3a-3b), as taught by Gerson above, such that the cartridge holder (Gerson 100B) comprises a male bayonet connector thereon (Gerson 240; Gerson Fig. 17) for mating with a female bayonet connector of said cartridge filter (Gerson 90 of Gerson 80; Gerson Figs. 3a-3b; Gerson [0053]-[0054]) to allow the user to quickly and easily connect, or disconnect, the filter from the filter holder (Gerson [0038], lines 7-14).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Virr et al. (US 10188880 B2; hereinafter “Virr”).
Regarding claim 15, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 13, but is silent to a coupling confirmation indicator configured for automatic activation thereof upon proper and full mating of the holding collar on the collar support.
However, Virr teaches an analogous breathing assembly (40; Figs. 3A-3B) with a removable and replaceable filtration system (13,15; Fig. 3B; col. 3, lines 40-43), where the breathing assembly (40) includes an indicator (33; Fig. 3B) in communication with a sensor (31; Fig. 3B) that detects a filter element (15) is attached to a filter frame (14; Fig. 3B) and emits a visual signal, such as the illumination of an LED, in response to the detected connection (col. 4, lines 12-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator (10; Fig. 1), taught by Fecteau, with the sensor and corresponding indicator, as taught by Virr above, such that an indicator LED (Virr 33; Virr Fig. 3B) is illuminated when a connection between the holding collar (140, 176, 200) and the collar support (80, 82) is detected (Virr 31; Virr col. 4, lines 12-28) to improve user safety and health by confirming if the connection between the holding collar and collar support was successful (Virr col. 1, lines 55-67; Virr col. 2, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 16, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 15, wherein said coupling confirmation indicator (Virr 33) comprises an indicator light configured to illuminate upon said proper and full mating of the holding collar on the collar support (Virr col. 4, lines 12-28; see claim 15 above).
Regarding claim 17, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but is silent to a confirmation indicator configured for automatic activation thereof upon full and proper securement of any one of said filter holders to the support frame.
However, Virr teaches an analogous breathing assembly (40; Figs. 3A-3B) with a removable and replaceable filtration system (13,15; Fig. 3B; col. 3, lines 40-43), where the breathing assembly (40) includes an indicator (33; Fig. 3B) in communication with a sensor (31; Fig. 3B) that detects a filter element (15) is attached to a filter frame (14; Fig. 3B) and emits a visual signal, such as the illumination of an LED, in response to the detected connection (col. 4, lines 12-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator (10; Fig. 1), taught by Fecteau, with the sensor and corresponding indicator, as taught by Virr above, such that an indicator LED (Virr 33; Virr Fig. 3B) is illuminated when a full and proper connection between any one of the filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) and the support frame (22; col. 4, lines 1-7, where each of 28, 30, 172, and 196 are detachably connected to first and second cartridge/filter retainers 80 and 82) is detected (Virr 31; Virr col. 4, lines 12-28) to improve user safety and health by confirming if the connection between the holding collar and collar support was successful (Virr col. 1, lines 55-67; Virr col. 2, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 18, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 17, wherein said coupling confirmation indicator (Virr 33) comprises an indicator light (Virr 33 is an LED, see claim 17 above) configured to illuminate upon said full and proper securement of any one of said filter holders to the support frame (Virr col. 4, lines 12-28; see claim 17 above).
Claims 19, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Rössler (DE 102018125228 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. Fecteau is silent to said support frame and air intake opening are embodied in a fan unit of a powered air purifying respirator that comprises a fan operable to draw air through said intake opening and convey said air onwardly to a headspace of said powered air purifying respirator, whereby the plurality of interchangeable filter holders enable customization of the fan unit according to available on-hand inventory of one of more different types of air filtration devices.
However, Rössler teaches an analogous mask (10; Figs. 3a-3c) with a base body (20; Fig. 1) having hollow cylindrical receptacles (34 of outer interface 26; Figs. 1-2) that extend through an outer cover (14; Figs. 1 and 3a), where the hollow cylindrical receptacles (34) have an inner receiving space (40; Fig. 2) to receive and hold an inlet ventilation element (90; Figs. 3a-3c), which is an axial blower ([0080], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fecteau, with the blowers (Rössler 90; Rössler Figs. 3a-3c), as taught by Rössler (Rössler Figs. 2-3c; Rössler [0080], see provided translation) such that Fecteau’s first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) receive and hold Rössler’s blower (Rössler 90; Rössler [0080], see provided translation), where the blower (Rössler 90) draws in air through the intake openings (76, 78; Fig. 2; Rössler Figs. 2-3c) and provide said air as breathing air to a user (Rössler [0080], see provided translation) to improve the quality of air being provided to the user (Rössler [0016], see provided translation).
As such, it would be readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) enable customization of the fan unit according to available on-hand inventory of one of more different types of air filtration devices as Fecteau in combination with Rössler (see above) teaches the selective connection of the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) to the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82), where the blower (Rössler 90) is received and held by the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (Rössler [0080], see provided translation), and the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) enables the customization of the system according to available on-hand inventory of one or more different types of air filtration devices (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 27, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 26, but is silent to said respirator is a powered air purifying respirator having a fan unit that embodies the support frame and the air intake opening, and that comprises a fan operable to draw air through said intake opening and convey said air onwardly to a headspace fed by said powered air purifying respirator.
However, Rössler teaches an analogous respirator (10; Figs. 1 and 3a-3c; [0015]-[0016] and [0052], see provided translation) with a base body (20; Fig. 1) having hollow cylindrical receptacles (34 of outer interface 26; Figs. 1-2) that extend through an outer cover (14; Figs. 1 and 3a), where the hollow cylindrical receptacles (34) have an inner receiving space (40; Fig. 2) to receive and hold an inlet ventilation element (90; Figs. 3a-3c), which is an axial blower ([0080], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fecteau, with the blowers (Rössler 90; Rössler Figs. 3a-3c), as taught by Rössler (Rössler Figs. 2-3c; Rössler [0080], see provided translation) such that Fecteau’s first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) receive and hold Rössler’s blower (Rössler 90; Rössler [0080], see provided translation), where the blower (Rössler 90) draws in air through the intake openings (76, 78; Fig. 2; Rössler Figs. 2-3c) and provide said air as breathing air to a user (Rössler [0080], see provided translation) to improve the quality of air being provided to the user (Rössler [0016], see provided translation).
Regarding claim 31, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 30, but is silent to wherein said respirator is a powered air purifying respirator having a fan unit that embodies the support frame and the air intake opening, and that comprises a fan operable to draw air through said intake opening and convey said air onwardly to a headspace fed by said powered air purifying respirator.
However, Rössler teaches an analogous respirator (10; Figs. 1 and 3a-3c; [0015]-[0016] and [0052], see provided translation) with a base body (20; Fig. 1) having hollow cylindrical receptacles (34 of outer interface 26; Figs. 1-2) that extend through an outer cover (14; Figs. 1 and 3a), where the hollow cylindrical receptacles (34) have an inner receiving space (40; Fig. 2) to receive and hold an inlet ventilation element (90; Figs. 3a-3c), which is an axial blower ([0080], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fecteau, with the blowers (Rössler 90; Rössler Figs. 3a-3c), as taught by Rössler (Rössler Figs. 2-3c; Rössler [0080], see provided translation) such that Fecteau’s first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) receive and hold Rössler’s blower (Rössler 90; Rössler [0080], see provided translation), where the blower (Rössler 90) draws in air through the intake openings (76, 78; Fig. 2; Rössler Figs. 2-3c) and provide said air as breathing air to a user (Rössler [0080], see provided translation) to improve the quality of air being provided to the user (Rössler [0016], see provided translation).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Becker et al. (US 7288223 B2; hereinafter “Becker”).
Regarding claim 22, Fecteau discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. While Fecteau does disclose the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) directly mate with the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) arranged on the support frame (22; Fig. 2; see claim 1 above) to secure an air filtration device in place (see claim 1 above), Fecteau is silent to at least one filter holder of non-matable relation to said feature of the support frame and requiring an intermediary adapter to secure an air filtration device in place.
However, Becker teaches an analogous filter holder (1; Fig. 1) that detachably connects to an intermediary adapter (4; Fig. 1) to secure an air filtration device (2; Fig. 1; col. 2, lines 15-19) in place on a respiratory mask (6; Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 42-43; col. 2, lines 54-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the interchangeable filter system, as taught by Fecteau, to include an adapter and corresponding filter, as taught by Becker, such that the adapter (Becker 4) is able to provide a connection between the mask (10; Figs. 1-2) and a filter holder that is not directly matable to the first and second cartridge/filter retainers (80, 82; Fig. 2) arranged on the support frame (22; Fig. 2) to improve the versatility of the interchangeable filtration system while maintaining a gastight connection between the filter holder, adapter, and mask (Becker col. 2, lines 45-50).
Fecteau as modified by Becker above fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of interchangeable filter holders includes differently sized filter holders, including a smaller filter holder matable directly to a feature of the support frame, and at least one larger filter holder of non-matable relation to said feature of the support frame.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the size and/or proportion of the filter holder (Becker 1) taught by Becker above, such that the Becker filter holder (Becker 1) is larger than the Fecteau filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196) as Becker further teaches an adapter (Becker 4) to facilitate the connection of a filter holder to a mask (Becker Fig. 1; Becker col. 2, lines 45-47), where the filter holder (Becker 1) is unable to directly connect to a mask (see MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). As such, it would be well-understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that Fecteau as modified (see above) teaches the plurality of interchangeable filter holders (28, 30, 172, 196; Becker 1) includes differently sized filter holders (Becker 1 is larger than 28, 30, 172, and 196, see above), including a smaller filter holder (28, 30, 172, 196) matable directly to a feature of the support frame (28, 30, 172, 196 matable directly to 80 and/or 82 of 22, see claim 1 above), and at least one larger filter holder (Becker 1) of non-matable relation to said feature of the support frame (Becker 1 must connect to Becker 4 to connect to mask; Becker col. 2, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 23, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 22, wherein said intermediary sizing adapter (Becker 4) comprises an extension flange (Becker 4, see Becker Fig. 1) matable to said feature of the support frame (Becker col. 2, lines 47-50, where connector at base of Becker 4 can be designed as a bayonet-type connector) to effectively enlarge the air intake opening and thereby accommodate the at least one larger filter holder (see Becker Fig. 1 where diameter at connection portion of Becker 4 is smaller than the diameter at the top of Becker 4 where Becker 1 is retained, hence the air intake opening is enlarged by Becker 4; Becker 1 is larger than 28, 30, 172, and 196, see claim 22 above).
Regarding claim 24, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 23, wherein the at least one larger filter holder (Becker 1) comprises a plurality of larger filter holders (Becker col. 2, lines 57-60, hence, there is a plurality of Becker 1), and said extension flange (Becker 4, see Becker Fig. 1) is a shared extension flange compatible with each of said plurality of larger filter holders (Becker col. 2, lines 57-60, hence, one Becker 4 is compatible with each Becker 1 of the plurality of Becker 1).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fecteau (US 6497232 B2) in view of Becker (US 7288223 B2) as applied to claims 22-23 above, and further in view of Ho (US 6435184 B1).
Regarding claim 25, Fecteau as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach a large holding collar configured for selective mating thereof with the extension flange, wherein the at least one larger filter holder is configured to be held in place between the large holding collar and the extension flange when mated together.
However, Ho teaches an analogous filter adapter (3; Fig. 2) with a ring-shaped cover body (32; Fig. 2) that selectively engages with a circular fixing seat (31; Fig. 2) to retain a filtering device (4; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the extension flange (Becker 4, see Becker Fig. 1) to have a threaded connection with a ring-shaped cover body (Ho 32; Ho Fig. 2), as taught by Ho, such that a large holding collar (Ho 32) configured for selective mating thereof with the extension flange (via a threaded connection between Ho 32 and Becker 4, see threaded connection between Ho 32 and Ho 31 in Ho Fig. 2), wherein the at least one larger filter holder (Becker 1) is configured to be held in place between the large holding collar and the extension flange when mated together (Becker 1 held in place between Ho 32 and Becker 4 just as Ho 4 is held in place between Ho 32 and Ho 31 as depicted in Ho Fig. 2) to ensure the at least one larger filter holder is secured in place (Ho col. 2, lines 12-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sorna et al. (US 20210379420 A1): Regarding a respirator face mask with interchangeable filters.
Solyntjes et al. (US 20050145249 A1): Regarding a personal respiratory protection device with filter cartridges that are detachable from the device via bayonet connectors.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785