DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2024, 9/18/2025, 10/3/2025, and 1/6/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/695,283 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach substantially the same invention. Claims 1 and 2 of the instant application teach an ink composition for ultraviolet-curable inkjet printing comprising polymerization components and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein the polymerization components include (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer, (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer, (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer, and (D) a polyfunctional monomer, wherein (A) the polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer comprises an acrylated amine compound having two photopolymerizable functional groups and two amino groups in a molecule, wherein (B) the nitrogen-containing monomer comprises at least one of acryloylmorpholine or vinyl caprolactam, wherein (C) the aromatic ring-containing monomer comprises benzyl acrylate and phenoxyethyl acrylate, wherein (D) the polyfunctional monomer comprises at least one of dipropylene glycol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, or ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate. While the ranges of each component may differ, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the instant claims are substantially the same as the claims set forth in U.S. application no. 18/695,283 because the claimed ranges for each of components (A) through (D) overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al. (US 2019/0062580).
Nakashima et al disclose the following claim limitations in claim 1, an ink composition for ultraviolet-curable inkjet printing comprising polymerization components and a photopolymerization initiator (abstract), wherein the polymerization components include (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer [0028] – [0031], (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer [0022] – [0023], (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer [0022] – [0023], and (D) a polyfunctional monomer [0026] – [0027], wherein (A) the polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer comprises an acrylated amine compound having two photopolymerizable functional groups and two amino groups in a molecule [0028] – [0031], wherein (B) the nitrogen-containing monomer comprises at least one of acryloylmorpholine or vinyl caprolactam [0022] – [0023], while Nakashima et al. does not specifically teach (C) the aromatic ring-containing monomer comprises benzyl acrylate and phenoxyethyl acrylate, along with N-vinyl caprolactam, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that where benzyl acrylate, phenoxyethyl acrylate, and N-vinyl caprolactam are listed as monofunctional monomers, and the reference provides that two or more types of monofunctional monomers may be combined [0022] – [0023], benzyl acrylate, phenoxyethyl acrylate and N-vinyl caprolactam could be used together in the ranges provided in the instant application), wherein (D) the polyfunctional monomer comprises at least one of dipropylene glycol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, and ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate [0026] – [0027], wherein a content of (A) the polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer is 0.8 to 11.0% by mass [0031], wherein a content of (C) the aromatic ring-containing monomer is 32.0 to 75.0% by mass [0023], and wherein a content of (D) the polyfunctional monomer is 1.5 to 14.0% by mass [0027].
Regarding claim 2, a content of (B) the nitrogen-containing monomer is 10.0% by mass to 33.0% by mass [0024].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach an ink composition for UV-curable inkjet printing with a polyfunctional amide-modified oligomer, nitrogen-containing monomer, aromatic ring-containing monomer, and polyfunctional monomer.
US 2012/0270018 (Mizutani et al.)
US 2011/0159251 (Sato et al.)
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855