DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202111131049.7, filed on 09/26/2021.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is currently amended and remains pending in the application. Claim 2 is canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 27, 2026.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a supply module configured to supply carbon dioxide” and subsequently recites “the supply assembly includes a supply connector and a push switch.” The term “the supply assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis, as no “supply assembly” was previously introduced. It is unclear whether “the supply assembly” is intended to refer to the previously recited “supply module” or to a separate component.
Claim 1 further recites that “the push switch is configured to open the carbon dioxide cylinder” and that “the push switch is configured to close the carbon dioxide cylinder.” However, “the carbon dioxide cylinder” lacks proper antecedent basis, because claim 1 does not previously introduce a carbon dioxide cylinder. Hence, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claims 3-21 are rejected because they depend directly/indirectly on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0373936 A1, December 25, 2012 (hereinafter “Song”) in view of Chantalat, U.S. Pub. No. 20050098225 A1, May 12, 2005 (hereinafter “Chantalat”) in further view of Gustavsson et al. EP 2226539 A1, October 16, 2013 (hereinafter “Gustavsson”).
Regarding claim 1, Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a sparkling-water apparatus comprising a supply module configured to supply carbon dioxide (carbon-dioxide steel cylinder 1) and the associated gas-outlet controller; and a mixing container configured to contain liquid, namely soda cylinder (2). Song further discloses gas-inlet means 3 fitted to soda cylinder 2 and a gas path by which carbon dioxide from cylinder (1) is supplied to soda cylinder 2 (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0025]-[0031]). Song discloses separate pressure communication from soda cylinder (2) through gas outlet aperture (31) to pressure-adjustment valve (14). Pressure-adjustment valve (14) includes valve housing (141), drive rod (142), gas block (144), adjustment screw rod (145), spring (147), and rotating knob (148), with gas inlet (19) and pressure-relief hole (20) providing a pressure-management flow path (Fig. 4; paragraphs [0034]-[0039]). Song expressly states that adjustment screw rod (145) adjusts spring (147) to accommodate different pressure requirements and that excessive pressure from soda bottle (2) passes through gas outlet aperture (31) and gas line (19) to move gas block (144) and relieve pressure.
However, Song fails to disclose the claimed detachable mixing-connector arrangement incorporating a three-way valve having the recited three pressure-management branches. Chantalat discloses such a detachable container interface. Carbonator assembly (14) includes cap (33), valve stem (15), air chuck (29), and adapter (27). Cap (33) is screwably attachable to the threaded mouth of container (31); valve stem (15) provides a conduit through which gas enters or exits the container; air chuck (29) detachably clamps and seals to valve stem (15); and adapter (27) connects the assembly to flexible tubing (23). Thus, carbonator assembly (14) provides a detachable, sealed mixing connector through which pressure may be communicated with the interior of the bottle (paragraph [0032]). Chantalat further discloses three-way valve (20) having three distinct ports, namely orifices (12, 16, and 18). Orifice 12 communicates with carbonator assembly (14) and container (31); orifice 16 provides a path to ambient atmosphere; and orifice 18 is the third port of the valve. Chantalat expressly teaches that valve (20) selectively connects the container-side port to another port and may also close all passages (Figs. 4A-4C; paragraphs [0034]-[0035], [0063]-[0066]).
In the proposed combination, orifice 12 corresponds to the claimed first port and is connected to Song's container pressure path; orifice 16 corresponds to the claimed second port and provides the relief-side branch; and orifice 18 corresponds to the claimed third port and is connected to Song's pressure-adjustment valve (14). Song's existing CO₂ supply path through its gas outlet controller and gas-inlet means (3) remains available to charge the soda container independently of this pressure-management branch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate Chantalat's detachable carbonator assembly and three-way pressure-routing valve into Song's soda machine. Chantalat identifies a desire to permit a consumer to easily and inexpensively carbonate or re-carbonate a beverage and teaches that its arrangement permits controlled removal of gas from the container without the cumbersome manual venting procedures of prior systems. Chantalat further expressly states that a wide variety of three-way valves are suitable for valve (20) (paragraph [0035]).
With respect to connecting the third port of the three-way valve to Song's pressure-adjustment valve (14), Song identifies a specific deficiency in existing soda machines: inability to control CO₂/water blending concentration and resulting gas waste and cost (paragraph [0004]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have had reason to employ Song's disclosed adjustable pressure-management structure on a selectable pressure branch of the Chantalat three-way valve to obtain Song's expressly stated pressure-control and gas-saving benefits. This modification uses Chantalat's known three-port valve to route the container pressure path while retaining Song's independent CO₂ charging path.
Chantalat and Song do not, however, expressly disclose the coordinated operation in which the pressure-relief switch is closed while the CO₂ supply control is actuated and opened when the CO₂ supply control is released. Gustavsson discloses CO2 bottle (6), water bottle (1), controllable gas valve (7), and push-type control means (10) or button (12). Pressing the control opens the gas valve and supplies CO2 to the bottle (fig. 1; paragraph 0009). Gustavsson discloses that when the control is released, the gas-supply connection is closed while the bottle is placed in communication with the environment through the ventilating valve, and the vent connection remains until the control is pressed again (paragraph 0003-0005). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the Song-Chantalat arrangement according to Gustavsson so that actuation of the CO2 push control closes the pressure-relief path during carbonation, and opened when carbonation is terminated, thereby maintaining pressure during carbonation and subsequently venting the container to permit safe removal.
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses that the pressure adjustment assembly comprises the flow passage defined through pressure adjustment valve (14) including gas inlet hole (19), hollow gas block seat (18), valve core chamber (16), and pressure relief hole (20) (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0034-0036). Song teaches that gas outlet aperture (31) from the soda-container gas inlet means communicates with pressure adjustment valve (14), and that gas inlet hole (19) communicates with hollow gas block seat (18) while pressure relief hole (20) is provided in the side wall of valve core chamber (16). Thus, Song teaches the claimed connection channel having a side wall with an exhaust portion communicated with the atmosphere, wherein pressure relief hole (20) constitutes the exhaust portion of the pressure-adjustment valve.
Song further discloses a pressing block located in the connection channel and configured to block the exhaust path, namely gas block (144) disposed within valve core chamber (16) and engaging hollow gas block seat (18). When container pressure exceeds the selected value, CO₂ enters through gas inlet (19) and moves gas block (144) away from valve core seat (18), thereby opening the path to pressure relief hole (20) and relieving pressure (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]). Accordingly, when seated, gas block (144) blocks communication between the inlet end of the connection channel and pressure-relief outlet (20), and when displaced permits gas to exhaust. Song discloses that the pressure of the pressing block is adjustable to adjust the pressure in the mixing container. Pressure adjustment valve (14) includes adjustment screw rod (145), spring (147), adjustment-fixing sleeve (146), and rotating knob (148), wherein adjustment screw rod (145) adjusts the elasticity/force of spring (147) to accommodate different pressure requirements. The selected spring force determines the pressure at which gas block (144) moves from valve seat (18) and permits pressure relief from soda bottle 2 (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0035], [0039]).
However, Song fails to disclose that the first end of the connection channel communicates specifically with the third port of a three-way valve. Chantalat discloses a three-way valve (20) having three respective ports/orifices and communicating a beverage-container pressure path with selected pressure-control paths (Figs. 4a-4c; paragraphs [0033]-[0035], [0063]-[0066]). Therefore, in the modified Song-Chantalat apparatus discussed with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the the time of the invention to communicate the inlet/first end of Song's pressure-adjustment valve 14 with the corresponding third port of Chantalat's three-way valve, thereby permitting the three-way valve to selectively communicate the mixing container with Song's adjustable pressure-relief assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses that the second end of the connection/adjustment channel has an internal threaded arrangement, specifically, adjustment rod channel (17) receiving adjustment-fixing sleeve (146), with the adjustment screw rod (145) threadedly engaging the adjustment-fixing sleeve (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0035]-[0039]). Song further discloses a rotating knob (148) connected to adjustment screw rod (145), wherein the threaded upper portion of adjustment screw rod (145) engages adjustment-fixing sleeve (146) disposed in adjustment channel (17) (Fig. 2; paragraph [0039]).
Song discloses a spring (147) positioned between adjustment screw rod (145) and gas block (144) (Fig. 2; paragraph [0035], [0039]). Song also teaches that rotation/adjustment of the knob changes the pressure applied to the pressing block, because adjustment screw rod (145) changes the elasticity/compression of spring (147) to accommodate different pressure requirements. The spring force acts on the gas block (144), which opens relative to valve seat (18) when the pressure in soda bottle (2) exceeds the selected pressure (Fig. 2; paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses a safety valve (12) communicating between the gas outlet controller and gas inlet means (3) associated with soda cylinder (2) (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0012]-[0014], [0031]-[0033]). Song teaches that safety valve (12) includes valve body (121), pressure spring (122), valve core (123), gas channel (1211), valve-core chamber (1212), and pressure-relief hole (1213). Gas channel (1211) communicates with valve-core chamber (1212) through a through-hole, and pressure-relief hole (1213) permits excess pressure to be discharged when the spring-loaded valve core is displaced (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses the safety valve (12) having gas channel (1211), valve-core chamber (1212), and pressure-relief hole (1213). Gas channel (1211) communicates with valve-core chamber (1212) through a through-hole, and pressure-relief hole (1213) provides the relief outlet from the valve chamber (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs [0031]-[0033]). Song further discloses a valve core (123) having conical core (1231), which engages the through-hole between gas channel (1211) and valve-core chamber (1212). Pressure spring (122) biases valve core (123) toward the through-hole, thereby maintaining the gas passage sealed from pressure-relief hole (1213) under normal pressure conditions (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]). Song further teaches that the sealing block is movable away from the vent/flow restriction when pressure reaches a predetermined level, because the valve core is spring-loaded by pressure spring (122). Thus, when gas pressure acting on the valve core overcomes the spring force, valve core (123) is displaced from the through-hole and gas is permitted to vent through pressure-relief hole (1213). This spring-loaded relief arrangement is the disclosed safety-valve function of Song.
Regarding claim 7, 17, 18, and 19, Song discloses that the safety assembly comprises an end cap (base cover 124), and a compression spring positioned between the sealing block and the end cap, specifically, pressure spring (122) positioned between valve core (123) and base cover (124) (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0032]-[0033]). Song teaches that valve core (123) includes conical core (1231), base plate (1232), and spring seat (1233); the upper end of pressure spring (122) engages spring seat (1233) of valve core (123), while the lower end of pressure spring (122) engages threaded base cover (124). Base cover (124) is threaded into valve-core chamber (1212).
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses a safety assembly communicated with the mixing cavity and configured to ensure that the pressure within the mixing container is lower than a pressure that the mixing container can withstand, namely safety valve (12) communicating between the gas outlet controller and gas inlet means (3) associated with soda cylinder (2) (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs [0012]-[0014], [0031]-[0033]). Song discloses that safety valve (12) includes valve body (121), pressure spring (122), valve core (123), gas channel (1211), valve-core chamber (1212), and pressure-relief hole (1213). Song further discloses that valve core (123) is spring-biased by pressure spring (122) against the communicating through-hole, such that excessive pressure acting on the valve core causes the valve to open and discharge pressure through pressure-relief hole (1213), thereby limiting pressure within the soda-container gas circuit (Fig. 3; paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Song discloses a safety assembly communicated with the mixing cavity and configured to ensure that the pressure within the mixing container is lower than a pressure that the mixing container can withstand, namely safety valve (12) communicating with the gas flow path associated with soda cylinder (2) through gas inlet means (3) (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs [0031]-[0033]). Song expressly states that the gas inlet hole of safety valve (12) communicates with the gas outlet controller, and the gas outlet hole communicates with gas inlet means (3). Song discloses that safety valve (12) communicates with valve-core chamber (1212) through a through-hole, while spring (122) biases valve core (123) against the through-hole.
Thus, when pressure acting on valve core (123) exceeds the force established by pressure spring (122), valve core (123) is displaced to permit excess pressure to escape through pressure-relief hole (1213), thereby preventing excessive pressure from being maintained in the soda-container gas path.
Regarding claim 14, 15, and 16, Song discloses that the safety assembly comprises a safety channel communicated with the mixing cavity, namely gas channel (1211) of safety valve (12), which is in fluid communication with the gas path leading to soda cylinder (2) through gas inlet means (3). Song further discloses a vent communicated with the atmosphere, namely pressure-relief hole (1213) formed in valve-core chamber (1212) (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs [0031]-[0033]). Song further discloses a valve core (123), including conical core (1231), which engages the through-hole gas channel (1211) with valve-core chamber (1212). Pressure spring (122) biases valve core (123) toward the through-hole so that the relief path remains closed under normal operating pressure. The spring-loaded valve core (123) is responsive to gas pressure such that, when the pressure acting on the valve core overcomes the force of spring (122), the valve core is displaced from the through-hole and excess gas is permitted to vent through pressure-relief hole (1213) (paragraph [0032]).
Claims 8-10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Chantalat, and Gustavsson, as applied to claim 1, 3 and 4, in further view of Crisp et al. U. S. Pub. No. 2005/0133531, June 23, 2005 (hereinafter “Crisp”).
Regarding claim 8 and 20, Song discloses that the supply module comprises a CO2 cylinder (1) and the associated gas inlet body/valve-core-seat structure connected to the mouth of the CO₂ cylinder (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0025]-[0030]). Song teaches that valve core seat (7) engages the mouth of the CO2 cylinder and is received in the gas inlet body (4) to establish the gas connection. Chantalat discloses the carbonator assembly (14) coupled to beverage container (31) and three-way valve (20) having three ports for selectively communicating the container with the CO2 source or atmosphere (Figs. 1, 4a-4c; paragraphs [0031]-[0035], [0063]-[0066]).
Crisp discloses a beverage dispensing apparatus integrated into a refrigerator (12) including a drink supply canister holder (22) configured to hold a plurality of containers (24) within a structured housing (figs. 1-2; paragraph [0086]). The canister holder includes receptacles or slots (50a-50d) for receiving and maintaining individual containers (figs. 8-9; paragraph [0087]). These receptacles define separate storage regions within a housing, corresponding to the first and second storage bins. Crisp further discloses that the containers are removably received within the holder and engaged via connection interfaces, enabling insertion and removal of the containers (figs. 4-5; paragraph [0087]). Crisp discloses fluid communication between supply components through internal conduits and interfaces (figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to house the Song-Chantalat carbonation components within a refrigerator cabinet as taught by Crisp, and to arrange the mixing connector, three-way valve, and supply connector together in an upper equipment region with the CO2 cylinder positioned in a lower region beneath its supply connector, to provide a compact component arrangement while allowing the removable CO2 cylinder to connect directly to the overlying gas-supply connector.
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses that the exhaust portion is communicated with the connection channel, specifically, the pressure-relief hole (20) communicating with valve-core chamber (16) and gas inlet hole (19) of pressure-adjustment valve (14) (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0034]-[0039]). Song explains that CO2 from soda bottle (2) passes through gas outlet aperture (31) into gas line (19) and, when the selected pressure is exceeded, moves gas block (144) away from valve seat (18) so that pressure is relieved through pressure-relief hole (20). However, Song fails to disclose that the connection channel extends from the first storage bin into the second storage bin.
Crisp discloses arranging fluid and gas communication lines through different regions of refrigerator housing. Crisp locates portions of the beverage/carbonation system within the refrigerator, including a gas supplier connected to the carbonation system and fluid communication lines routed between different components and vertical regions of the refrigerator (Figs. 2-3; paragraphs [0101]-[0106]). Crisp further teaches fluid lines positioned between components at different elevations within the refrigerator housing, demonstrating routing of communication conduits through adjacent equipment regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, when arranging the Song-Chantalat carbonation components in the refrigerator storage arrangement of Crisp as applied to claim 8, to extend Song’s pressure communication/connection channel from the first storage region containing the valve/connector components into the second storage region containing the CO2 cylinder, to establish fluid communication between components located in the respective storage regions while maintaining a compact integrated arrangement.
Regarding claim 10, Crisp discloses a refrigerator comprising a beverage/carbonation assembly, wherein beverage dispenser (10) is mounted in refrigerator (12). Crisp explains that the beverage dispenser includes a water supplier (26) for supplying carbonated water and a gas supplier (28) for supplying CO2 used to carbonate the water, with these components preferably mounted in the refrigerator (Figs. 1-3; [0082]-[0083]). Crisp discloses that water supplier (26) includes carbonation tank (106), and that carbonation tank (106) is connected to gas supplier (28) and uses CO2 from the gas supplier to carbonate water (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0101]-[0104]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the sparkling-water mixing assembly of Song as modified by Chantalat and Gustavsson into a refrigerator as taught by Crisp, in order to provide an integrated refrigerated sparkling-water system capable of supplying chilled carbonated water.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Chantalat, and Gustavsson, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Wu CN 204218672 U, March 25, 2015 (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses a soda-water machine having a control mechanism including button (8), first control rod (6), first spring (9), and a hinged mounting of button (8) to first connector (3). The middle portion of button (8) is hinged to first connector (3), the head portion of button (8) acts on first control rod (6), and first spring (9) is disposed between the first connector and the button to return the mechanism after actuation (Figs. 1 and 3; claims 1-2; paragraph [0022]). Wu discloses first pressure-relief valve (13) and second control rod (14) located beneath the tail portion of button (8). Second control rod (14) is positioned between the tail of button (8) and pressure-relief valve (13) such that movement of the tail portion operates the pressure-relief valve. Thus, the pressure-relief actuator is positioned beneath the opposite end of the button from first control rod (6) (Figs. 1 and 3; claim 1; paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Wu also discloses the coordinated operation of the two sides of the button. During actuation, movement of button (8) drives first control rod (6) to operate the CO2 supply, while the opposite end moves relative to second control rod (14). Upon release, first spring (9) returns the button mechanism, and the tail portion acts through second control rod (14) to operate pressure-relief valve (13) (paragraphs [0014], [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have had reason to incorporate the Wu’s hinged dual-actuation control mechanism into the Song-Chantalat-Gustavsson carbonation apparatus because Wu teaches that this type of mechanism provides simplified construction and operation, timely pressure relief, and improved safety and reliability in a soda-water machine (paragraph [0008]). The modification would merely substitute Wu’s known mechanical control arrangement for the user-operated supply/relief actuation already present in the combined carbonation system, while retaining the underlying gas-supply, pressure-adjustment, and pressure-relief functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776