Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (2019/0366872, Kanamori) in view of Kelly et al.(2013/0366872, Kelly).
Regarding claim 1, Kanamori discloses a lighting system housed in a vehicular system having a power source (the power of the in-vehicle battery 301 is supplied to the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 via the contacts of the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310, respectively, para. 0423), the lighting system comprising: a wireless receiver/ controller (wireless communication is used, Para. 0213. An electronic control unit (ECU) 304, Para. 0422, Fig.27); a plurality of relays connected to the wireless receiver/ controller wherein each in the plurality of relays is independently controllable by the wireless receiver/ controller; a plurality of lights connected to the plurality of relays (the lamp control circuit shown in Fig. 27 includes a column switch 302, a hazard switch 303, an electronic control unit (ECU) 304, a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, Para. 0422); an electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller, wherein the electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector (The ECU 304 constantly monitors the states of the column switch 302 (a connector)and the hazard switch 303 (a connector), and when the column switch 302 or the hazard switch 303 is turned on, the ECU 304 controls the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310 to make the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 blink, Para. 0424. The column switch 302 and the hazard switch 303 are turned on and off by a manual operation of the driver, and generate a lighting (blinking) instruction signal of the direction indicator and the hazard lamp, para. 0431). Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle. Kelly is in the field of testing crash avoidance technologies Para. 0002) and teaches a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform (The DME 100 is a completely self-contained, un-tethered, relatively high-speed, mobile platform for the Soft Collision Partner 600 (a soft surrogate target), para. 0060); a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle (Figs. 10A and 10B is an example break-away antenna system 1000 that addresses all of these issues. In various example embodiments antenna system 1000 may include one or more antennas 1010 attached with and/or protruding from the exterior 1060 of the body of the soft car 600 so that the base station 850 and/or others may communicate with the DME 100 through the antennas 1010. The one or more antennas 1010 may include an outer break-away connection 1020 proximate the body 1060 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1022, 1024 connecting the antenna 1010 to an outer antenna wire 1026. The outer antenna wire 1026 may be connected with an inner break-away connection 1030 proximate the exterior surface 1050 of the DME 100 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1032, 1034 connecting the outer antenna wire 1026 to an inner antenna wire 1036. To protect the connector 1034 and wire 1036 in the event the DME 100 is run over by a subject vehicle 650, the connector 1034 and wire 1036 may be recessed in a cup-like or similar structure 1040 below the outer surface 1050 of the exterior of the DME 100. The connector 1034 and wire 1036 may also be left with some slack inside the cup 1040 to facilitate safe disconnection of the connectors 1032, 1034 during impact, as depicted (Fig.10B, Para. 0080). It t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, para. 0010).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors. Kelly teaches the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors (One suitable connector may be created by removing the locking bayonets from a standard BNC-type connector. In certain example embodiments connectors 1024, 1034 can be formed from either a male BNC or male TNC connector with the locking structures removed, para. 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, para. 0010).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kanamori discloses the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lights comprises at least two selected from: a left signal light, a right signal light, tail lights, brake lights and headlight/running light (a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kanamori discloses the lighting system of claim 1, wherein an electrical device is connected to one of the plurality of relays (The lamp control circuit shown in FIG. 27 includes a column switch 302 [connector/device], a hazard switch 303 (connector/device), an electronic control unit (ECU) 304, a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312., para. 0422). Regarding claim 7, Kanamori discloses a lighting system housed in a vehicular system (the power of the in-vehicle battery 301 is supplied to the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 via the contacts of the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310, respectively, para. 0423), the lighting system comprising: a wireless receiver/ controller (wireless communication is used, para. 0213. An electronic control unit (ECU) 304, para. 0422, Fig.27); a plurality of relays connected to the wireless receiver/ controller wherein each in the plurality of relays is independently controllable by the wireless receiver/controller; a plurality of lights connected to the plurality of relays; a battery electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller connector, the plurality of relays, and the plurality of lights (the lamp control circuit shown in FIG. 27 includes a column switch 302, a hazard switch 303, an electronic control unit (ECU) 304, a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422. The power of the in-vehicle battery 301 is supplied to the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 via the contacts of the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310, respectively. By periodically repeating ON/OFF of the relays 311, 312, the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 can blink, para. 0423). Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform. Kelly teaches a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform (The DME 100 is a completely self-contained, un-tethered, relatively high-speed, mobile platform for the Soft Collision Partner 600 (soft surrogate target), para. 0060. The soft car body or Soft Collision Partner 600 as shown in FIGS. 6A through 6D is removably mounted atop the DME 100, para. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Collision Partner to include a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, para. 0010).
Regarding claim 8, modified Collision Partner discloses the lighting system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of lights comprises at least two selected from: a left signal light, a right signal light, tail lights, brake lights and headlight/running light (a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422).
Regarding claim 9, Kanamori discloses a vehicle system comprising: power source (the power of the in-vehicle battery 301 is supplied to the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 via the contacts of the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310, respectively, Para. 0423); a wireless receiver/ controller )wireless communication is used, para. 0213. An electronic control unit (ECU) 304, Para. 0422, Fig.27); a plurality of relays connected to the wireless receiver/controller wherein each in the plurality of relays is independently controllable by the wireless receiver/ controller; a plurality of lights connected to the plurality of relays (The lamp control circuit shown in FIG. 27 includes a column switch 302, a hazard switch 303, an electronic control unit (ECU) 304, a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422); an electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/controller connector, the plurality of relays, and the plurality of lights, and constructed to detachably connect the power source to the lighting system; wherein the electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the power source without damage to the connector (The ECU 304 constantly monitors the states of the column switch 302 (connector)and the hazard switch 303 (another connector), and when the column switch 302 or the hazard switch 303 is turned on, the ECU 304 controls the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310 to make the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 blink, Para. 0424. The column switch 302 and the hazard switch 303 are turned on and off by a manual operation of the driver, and generate a lighting (blinking) instruction signal of the direction indicator and the hazard lamp, para. 0431); wherein either a remote controller or the mobile platform sends wireless control signals to the wireless receiver/controller, and the wireless receiver/ controller actuates the plurality of relays according to the wireless control signals (The power packet router 52 notifies the power distribution management ECU 56 of the power reception information corresponding to the payload 32 of each received power packet 300 via the power packet mixer 51, Para. 0211. The ECU 304 constantly monitors the states of the column switch 302 and the hazard switch 303, and when the column switch 302 or the hazard switch 303 is turned on, the ECU 304 controls the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310 to make the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 blink, para. 0424). Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose a vehicle test system comprising: a mobile platform comprising a power source; a soft surrogate target constructed to be detachably mounted to the mobile platform; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller connector, the plurality of relays, and the plurality of lights, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle. Kelly teaches a vehicle test system comprising: a mobile platform comprising a power source (The DME 100, examples of which are shown in Figs. 1-5, is at the heart of the GST system. The DME 100 is a completely self-contained, un-tethered, relatively high-speed, mobile platform for the Soft Collision Partner 600, Para. 0060. The construction of the DME 100 facilitates mounting, housing and protection of all system components, including for example the computer, sensors, actuators, batteries, and power supplies, Para. 0063); a soft surrogate target constructed to be detachably mounted to the mobile platform (The soft car body or Soft CP 600 as shown in FIGS. 6A through 6D is removably mounted atop the DME 100, Para. 0088); a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the test system, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the test system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the test system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle (Provided in Figs. 10A and 10B is an example break-away antenna system 1000 that addresses all of these issues. In various example embodiments antenna system 1000 may include one or more antennas 1010 attached with and/or protruding from the exterior 1060 of the body of the soft car 600 so that the base station 850 and/or others may communicate with the DME 100 through the antennas 1010. The one or more antennas 1010 may include an outer break-away connection 1020 proximate the body 1060 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1022, 1024 connecting the antenna 1010 to an outer antenna wire 1026. The outer antenna wire 1026 may be connected with an inner break-away connection 1030 proximate the exterior surface 1050 of the DME 100 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1032, 1034 connecting the outer antenna wire 1026 to an inner antenna wire 1036. To protect the connector 1034 and wire 1036 in the event the DME 100 is run over by a subject vehicle 650, the connector 1034 and wire 1036 may be recessed in a cup-like or similar structure 1040 below the outer surface 1050 of the exterior of the DME 100. The connector 1034 and wire 1036 may also be left with some slack inside the cup 1040 to facilitate safe disconnection of the connectors 1032, 1034 during impact, as depicted in Fig. 10B, Para. 0080). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include a vehicle test system comprising: a mobile platform comprising a power source; a soft surrogate target constructed to be detachably mounted to the mobile platform; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/ controller connector, the plurality of relays, and the plurality of lights, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, Para. 0010). Regarding claim 12, modified Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose the testing system of claim 9, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors. Kelly teaches the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors (One suitable connector may be created by removing the locking bayonets from a standard BNC-type connector. In certain example embodiments connectors 1024, 1034 can be formed from either a male BNC or male TNC connector with the locking structures removed, para. 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, Para. 0010).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kanamori discloses the testing system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of lights comprises at least two selected from: a left signal light, a right signal light, tail lights, brake lights and headlight/running light (a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose the testing system of claim 9, wherein the mobile platform comprises an outer surface, and the connection of the mobile platform to the breakaway connector is recessed from the outer surface. Kelly teaches the mobile platform comprises an outer surface, and the connection of the mobile platform to the breakaway connector is recessed from the outer surface (The outer antenna wire 1026 may be connected with an inner break-away connection 1030 proximate the exterior surface 1050 of the DME 100 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1032, 1034 connecting the outer antenna wire 1026 to an inner antenna wire 1036. To protect the connector 1034 and wire 1036 in the event the DME 100 is run over by a subject vehicle 650, the connector 1034 and wire 1036 may be recessed in a cup-like or similar structure 1040 below the outer surface 1050 of the exterior of the DME 100, para. 0080). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include the mobile platform comprises an outer surface, and the connection of the mobile platform to the breakaway connector is recessed from the outer surface as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to protect the connector in the event of the mobile platform being run by a subject vehicle (Kelly, para. 0060, 0080).
Regarding claim 15, Kanamori discloses a lighting system housed in a vehicular system having a power source (the power of the in-vehicle battery 301 is supplied to the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 via the contacts of the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310, respectively, para. 0423), the lighting system comprising: a wireless receiver/ controller; a relay connected to the wireless receiver/ controller; a light connected to the relays (The lamp control circuit shown in FIG. 27 includes a column switch 302, a hazard switch 303, an electronic control unit (ECU) 304, a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422); an electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/controller, and constructed to detachably connect the power source to the lighting system; wherein the electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the power source without damage to the connector (The ECU 304 constantly monitors the states of the column switch 302 (a connector) and the hazard switch 303 (another connector), and when the column switch 302 or the hazard switch 303 is turned on, the ECU 304 controls the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310 to make the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 blink, para. 0424. The column switch 302 and the hazard switch 303 are turned on and off by a manual operation of the driver, and generate a lighting (blinking) instruction signal of the direction indicator and the hazard lamp, para. 0431); wherein either a remote controller or the mobile platform sends wireless control signals to the wireless receiver/controller, and the wireless receiver/ controller actuates the plurality of relays according to the wireless control signals (The power packet router 52 notifies the power distribution management ECU 56 of the power reception information corresponding to the payload 32 of each received power packet 300 via the power packet mixer 51, para. 0211. The ECU 304 constantly monitors the states of the column switch 302 and the hazard switch 303, and when the column switch 302 or the hazard switch 303 is turned on, the ECU 304 controls the relays 311, 312 in the flasher ASSY 310 to make the side turn signal lamps 305, 306 blink, para. 0424). Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform having a power source; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle. Kelly teaches a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform having a power source (The DME 100, examples of which are shown in FIGS. 1-5, is at the heart of the GST system. The DME 100 is a completely self-contained, un-tethered, relatively high-speed, mobile platform for the Soft Collision Partner 600, Para. 0060. The construction of the DME 100 facilitates mounting, housing and protection of all system components, including for example the computer, sensors, actuators, batteries, and power supplies, para. 0063); a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle (Provided in FIGS. 10A and 10B is an example break-away antenna system 1000 that addresses all of these issues. In various example embodiments antenna system 1000 may include one or more antennas 1010 attached with and/or protruding from the exterior 1060 of the body of the soft car 600 so that the base station 850 and/or others may communicate with the DME 100 through the antennas 1010. The one or more antennas 1010 may include an outer break-away connection 1020 proximate the body 1060 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1022, 1024 connecting the antenna 1010 to an outer antenna wire 1026. The outer antenna wire 1026 may be connected with an inner break-away connection 1030 proximate the exterior surface 1050 of the DME 100 and comprising two removably-connectable connectors 1032, 1034 connecting the outer antenna wire 1026 to an inner antenna wire 1036. To protect the connector 1034 and wire 1036 in the event the DME 100 is run over by a subject vehicle 650, the connector 1034 and wire 1036 may be recessed in a cup-like or similar structure 1040 below the outer surface 1050 of the exterior of the DME 100. The connector 1034 and wire 1036 may also be left with some slack inside the cup 1040 to facilitate safe disconnection of the connectors 1032, 1034 during impact, as depicted in FIG. 10B, para. 0080). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include a soft surrogate target that is constructed to be mounted to a mobile platform having a power source; a breakaway electrical connector electrically connected to the wireless receiver/controller, and constructed to detachably connect the mobile platform's power source to the lighting system; wherein the breakaway electrical connector is adapted to disconnect the lighting system from the mobile platform's power source without damage to the connector when the surrogate target is suddenly dislodged from the mobile platform due to the surrogate target being impacted by a subject vehicle as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, para. 0010).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kanamori fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 15, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors. Kelly teaches the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors (One suitable connector may be created by removing the locking bayonets from a standard BNC-type connector. In certain example embodiments connectors 1024, 1034 can be formed from either a male BNC or male TNC connector with the locking structures removed, para. 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include the breakaway connector comprises a standard BNC-type or TNC-type connector absent the locking structures normally present on such connectors as taught by Kelly. The motivation being to provide a safe and easily reusable target for high-speed subject vehicles used to evaluate crash avoidance technologies (Kelly, Para. 0010).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kanamori discloses the lighting system of claim 15, wherein the relay is comprised of a plurality of relays, and the light is comprised of a plurality of lights (a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, Para. 0422).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kanamori discloses the lighting system of claim 19, wherein the plurality of lights comprises at least two selected from: a left signal light, a right signal light, tail lights, brake lights and headlight/running light (a flasher ASSY 310, and left and right side turn signal lamps 305, 306. The flasher ASSY 310 includes two independent relays 311, 312, para. 0422).
Claim(s) 2,10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori in view of Kelly and further in view of Breed (2006/0232052).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the breakaway connector is coaxial. Breed is in the field of reducing the amount of wire in the motor vehicle (para. 0012) and teaches the breakaway connector is coaxial (an automotive connector for use with a coaxial electrical bus for a motor vehicle, para. 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori in view of Kelly to include the breakaway connector is coaxial as taught by Breed. The motivation being to provide the bus that handles bi-directional communications to and from each module in a vehicle (Breed, para. 0022).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the testing system of claim 9, wherein the breakaway connector is coaxial. Breed teaches the breakaway connector is coaxial (an automotive connector for use with a coaxial electrical bus for a motor vehicle, para. 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori in view of Kelly to include the breakaway connector is coaxial as taught by Breed. The motivation being to provide the bus that handles bi-directional communications to and from each module in a vehicle (Breed, para. 0022).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 15, wherein the breakaway connector is coaxial. Breed teaches the breakaway connector is coaxial (an automotive connector for use with a coaxial electrical bus for a motor vehicle, para. 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori to include the breakaway connector is coaxial as taught by Breed. The motivation being to provide the bus that handles bi-directional communications to and from each module in a vehicle (Breed, para. 0022).
Claim(s) 3,11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori in view of Kelly and further in view of Keller (2021/0129932)
Regarding claim 3, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a magnet. Keller is in the field of a safety light system for collision avoidance for bicyclists and runners.(para.0006) and teaches the breakaway connector comprises a magnet (The breakaway magnet fixture is generally denoted by numeral 90, and illustrates magnets 92, and electrical connectors 94, all within a weatherproof connector body 96. A wire (not shown) keeping the light bar connected to the bicycle after breaking away, so as not to leave the light bar behind on the street., para. 0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori in view of Kelly to include the breakaway connector comprises a magnet as taught by Keller. The motivation being to provide a novel safety light that can be attached to a bicyclist or an athlete in order to define a safe distance to avoid collision by a motorist (Keller, para. 0019).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the testing system of claim 9, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a magnet. Keller teaches the breakaway connector comprises a magnet (The breakaway magnet fixture is generally denoted by numeral 90, and illustrates magnets 92, and electrical connectors 94, all within a weatherproof connector body 96. A wire (not shown) keep the light bar connected to the bicycle after breaking away, SO as not to leave the light bar behind on the street., para. 0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori in view of Kelly to include the breakaway connector comprises a magnet as taught by Keller. The motivation being to provide a novel safety light that can be attached to a bicyclist or an athlete so as to define a safe distance to avoid collision by a motorist (Keller, para. 0019).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kanamori in view of Kelly fails to explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 15, wherein the breakaway connector comprises a magnet. Keller teaches the breakaway connector comprises a magnet (The breakaway magnet fixture is generally denoted by numeral 90, and illustrates magnets 92, and electrical connectors 94, all within a weatherproof connector body 96. A wire (not shown) keep the light bar connected to the bicycle after breaking away, so as not to leave the light bar behind on the street., para. 0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamori in view of Kelly to include the breakaway connector comprises a magnet as taught by Keller. The motivation being to provide a novel safety light that can be attached to a bicyclist or an athlete so as to define a safe distance to avoid collision by a motorist (Keller, para. 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kelly et al (EP 3481684 B1)) discloses improvements to a soft collision partner (aka soft car) used in system for testing crash avoidance technologies, (figs. 1-10) .
/ANABEL TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875