Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted 03/25/2024 was received and has been examined on its merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 03/25/2024, 04/22/2025, 06/24/2025, 09/09/2025, and 04/23/2026 were received and have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the protrusion extending from one of the facing battery modules must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Battery Pack Comprising Gaps Between Modules, And Energy Storage System And Vehicle Including The Battery Pack.
Claim Interpretation
New claims 11-12 were added as a preliminary amendment, with support added to the amended specification, as no wording to support claims 11-12 were in the original specification. However, examiner believes there is ample support for the subject matter of claims 11-12 in the figures, specifically Fig. 2 (for the protrusion of the modules of claim 12) and Fig. 4 (for the gap being an empty space of claim 11). For clarity of the record and to avoid any 112(a) issues for new matter, examiner recommends amending the figures and specification with reference numerals clearly indicating the empty space of claim 11 (Fig. 4) and the battery module protrusion of claim 12 (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hisano et al. (U.S. 20150214521; referenced in IDS submitted 06/242025).
With respect to claim 1, Hisano discloses a battery pack (100) (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (10a, 10b,…10k, 10i), each battery module (10a-i) having at least one battery cell (1a-1f) and arranged side by side with each other so that at least one predetermined gap (21 – flow channel) is formed between facing battery modules of the plurality of battery modules (10a-10i) (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 2, Hisano discloses the at least one predetermined gap (21) acts as an air curtain (Fig. 3; [0031]).
The limitation which states “capable of preventing thermal runaway between the facing battery modules in the event of a thermal event” is an example of intended use. Applicant is reminded that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). Additionally, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Therefore, as Hisano discloses adjacent modules separated by a predetermined air gap, the intended use of the air gap controlling a runaway event does not differentiate the application from the prior art.
With respect to claim 3, Hisano discloses the predetermined gap (21) is formed in a stacking direction of the plurality of battery modules (10a-10i) (Figs. 1-3).
With respect to claim 4, Hisano discloses the at least one predetermined gap (21) is formed with a predetermined length along a longitudinal direction of the facing battery modules (10a-10i) (Figs. 1-3).
With respect to claim 5, Hisano discloses a width of the at least one predetermined gap (21) is 4 to 10 mm ([0071]), thus being encompassed by the claimed range of 12 mm or less with sufficient specificity.
With respect to claim 6, Hisano discloses the at least one predetermined gap (21) is a plurality of predetermined gaps (21a-c) (Fig. 3), and
wherein the plurality of predetermined gaps (21b-21c) are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance along a longitudinal direction of the plurality of battery modules (10a-10i) (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 9, Hisano discloses an energy storage system (200 – battery pack mounting container) (Fig. 4), comprising the battery pack (100) according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 10, Hisano discloses a vehicle ([0002]) comprising a battery pack (mounted battery pack; [0002]) according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 11, Hisano discloses the predetermined gap (21) is an empty space (air flow channels 21) ([0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisano et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (U.S. 20110151301).
With respect to claim 7, Hisano discloses a predetermined gap between facing battery modules (see above rejection of claim 1), but does not disclose a phase change member is provided in the gap.
Kim discloses a battery pack (10) comprising a gap (filled with absorber 400) between adjacent battery modules ([0031]) and teaches the gap is filled with a phase change member (400) ([abstract]). Kim further teaches the phase change member is preferred as it can absorb or discharge a large amount of heat without causing a change in temperature in the material, thus it may absorb heat general by the battery modules ([0079-0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to include a phase change member as taught by Kim in the predetermined gaps disclosed by Hisano as phase change material are able to absorb the heat generate by the modules without causing a change in temperature to the phase change member.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisano et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ovshinsky (U.S. 20020098414).
With respect to claim 8, Hisano discloses a predetermined gap between facing battery modules (see above rejection of claim 1), but does not disclose a cooler with a cooling channel is provided in the gap.
Ovshinsky discloses a battery pack (40) comprising a gap (occupied by channels 43) and teaches the gap comprises a cooler with cooling channel (43 – coolant flow channels through which a cooling fluid (coolant) flows (Fig. 6; [0115]). Ovshinsky further teaches that the cooling channel allows for heat transfer between the batteries and the cooling fluid (coolant) ([0115]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to include a cooler with a cooling channel provided with a cooling fluid as taught by Ovshinsky in the predetermined gap disclosed by Hisano in order to allow for heat transfer between the batteries and cooling fluid.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisano et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Temmyo (U.S. 20120263991)
With respect to claim 12, Hisano discloses a predetermined gap between facing battery modules (see above rejection of claim 1), but does not disclose the gap is formed by at least one protrusion extending from one of the facing battery modules.
Temmyo discloses a battery pack (200) comprising facing battery modules (100A-C) comprising a predetermined gap (60) (Fig. 9) and teaches the gap (60) is formed by projections (40a and 40b – joints) that are integral with modules case (30) (Figs. 8-9; [0042]). Temmyo further teaches this arrangement allows for the gap to be formed directly between side surfaces of the modules, thus requiring less space ([0056-0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to form the predetermined gap disclosed by Hisano using protrusions extending from the modules as taught by Temmyo so that the gap is formed directly between side surfaces of the module, thus requiring less space.
Conclusion
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727