DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/25 and 3/25/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SENDING AND RECEIVING MEASUREMENT GAP CONFIGURATION INFORMATION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15, 17, 18, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (Pub No: 2023/0048297) (Provisional 63260049).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a method for receiving measurement gap configuration information (Lee, Figure 6, a method for receiving gap configuration information [0089] the gap for performing measurements. See also Prov. Pg. 1 Para 3), the method being executed by user equipment and the method comprising:
sending auxiliary information to a network device of a service network, wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate at least one parameter for the user equipment to switch from the service network to a target network (Lee, Fig 6 #604 [0193] [0079][0053], the UE sends a request to the first network with information on UE for switching with assistance information being indicated. See Provisional Pg. 9 L30-40); and
receiving first measurement gap configuration information determined by the network device according to the auxiliary information (Lee, [0083][0194] Fig 6 #606, the UE receives from the first network the gap configuration information according to the assistance information. See also Provisional Pg. 9 L30 -Pg 10 Para 3).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches wherein sending the auxiliary information to the network device of the service network comprises: sending a radio resource control signaling to the network device of the service network, wherein the radio resource control signaling comprises the auxiliary information (Lee, [0081][0087], the UE sends the request via RRC signaling to the network).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches further comprising: sending second measurement gap configuration information to the network device (Lee, [0193], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap (periodic/aperiodic)(first or second time gap)), wherein receiving the first measurement gap configuration information determined by the network device according to the auxiliary information comprises: receiving the first measurement gap configuration information determined by the network device according to the auxiliary information and the second measurement gap configuration information (Lee, [0101]Table 1 [0111] receiving from the network aperiodic and periodic values and multiple GapID(s) and patterns (first and second)).
As to claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of: second information indicating a type of a measurement gap, the type being a periodic type or a non-periodic type (Lee, [0193], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap (periodic/aperiodic)
As to claim 7, Lee teaches wherein the third information for different usages corresponds to different durations of the measurement gap in the first measurement gap configuration information, in response to that the auxiliary information comprises the third information (Lee, [0118-119], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap for receiving paging information for each NWA an NWB, each with different duration of gap).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches further comprising: sending activation information for indicating that the first measurement gap configuration information is enabled to the network device, during the validity period (Lee, [0151]-[0153], sending activation information for the gapID during the period).; or sending deactivation information for indicating that the first measurement gap configuration information is not enabled to the network device, during the validity period (Lee, [0151]-[0153], sending deactivation information for the gapID during the period).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches further comprising: releasing the first measurement gap configuration information when a timer expires (Lee, [0130], releasing the gap configuration when the timer expires), wherein a start time of the timer is a moment when the first measurement gap configuration information is used for the first time (Lee, [0024], a timer is started when the first information is sent).
As to claim 10, Lee teaches further comprising: releasing the first measurement gap configuration information when the number of times the first measurement gap configuration information is used reaches a preset number of times (Lee, [0132], releasing after the gap pattern (preset)).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches a method for sending measurement gap configuration information, the method being executed by a network device (Lee, Figure 6, a method for a NW sending gap configuration information [0089] the gap for performing measurements)and the method comprising:
receiving auxiliary information sent by user equipment, wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate at least one parameter for the user equipment to switch from a service network to a target network (Lee, Fig 6 #604 [0193] [0079][0053], the NW receives a request to the first network with information on UE for switching with assistance information being indicated See Provisional Pg. 9 L30-40);
determining first measurement gap configuration information according to the auxiliary information (Lee, [0083][0194] Fig 6 #606, determining by the first network the gap configuration information according to the assistance information See also Provisional Pg. 9 L30 -Pg 10 Para 3); and
sending the first measurement gap configuration information to the user equipment (Lee, [0083][0194] Fig 6 #606, sending by the first network the gap configuration information according to the assistance information See also Provisional Pg. 9 L30 -Pg 10 Para 3).).
As to claim 12, Lee teaches wherein receiving the auxiliary information sent by the user equipment comprises: receiving a radio resource control signaling, wherein the radio resource control signaling comprises the auxiliary information sent by the user equipment (Lee, [0081][0087], the UE sends the request via RRC signaling to the network).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches further comprising: receiving second measurement gap configuration information sent by the user equipment (Lee, [0193], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap (periodic/aperiodic)(first or second time gap)), wherein determining the first measurement gap configuration information according to the auxiliary information comprises: determining the first measurement gap configuration information according to the auxiliary information and the second measurement gap configuration information (Lee, [0101]Table 1 [0111] receiving from the network aperiodic and periodic values and multiple GapID(s) and patterns (first and second)).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of: second information indicating a type of a measurement gap, the type being a periodic type or a non-periodic type (Lee, [0193], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap (periodic/aperiodic)
As to claim 17, Lee teaches wherein determining the first measurement gap configuration information according to the auxiliary information comprises: making the third information for different usages correspond to different durations of the measurement gap in the first measurement gap configuration information, in response to that the auxiliary information comprises the third information (Lee, [0118-119], the request and assistance information also includes type of time gap for receiving paging information for each NWA an NWB, each with different duration of gap).
As to claim 18, Lee teaches further comprising: receiving activation information for indicating that the first measurement gap configuration information is enabled from the user equipment, during the validity period (Lee, [0151]-[0153], sending activation information for the gapID during the period); or receiving deactivation information for indicating that the first measurement gap configuration information is not enabled from the user equipment, during the validity period (Lee, [0151]-[0153], sending deactivation information for the gapID during the period).
As to claim 21, Lee teaches user equipment, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured (Lee, Figure 6, a UE for receiving gap configuration information [0089] the gap for performing measurements) to:
send auxiliary information to a network device of a service network, wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate at least one parameter for the user equipment to switch from the service network to a target network (Lee, Fig 6 #604 [0193] [0079][0053], the UE sends a request to the first network with information on UE for switching with assistance information being indicated See Provisional Pg. 9 L30-40); and
receive first measurement gap configuration information determined by the network device according to the auxiliary information (Lee, [0083][0194] Fig 6 #606, the UE receives from the first network the gap configuration information according to the assistance information See also Provisional Pg. 9 L30 -Pg 10 Para 3).
As to claim 22, Lee teaches a network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (Lee, Fig 1 and Fig 7, a NWA 120 with processor and memory); and wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 11 (Lee, see citations for claim 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al (Pub No: 2021/0337612) [0040][0041][0097]
Cao et al (Pub No: 2023/0337035) [0026][0073]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469