DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/CN2022/143941 filed on 30 Dec. 2022, and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(a)-(d) to foreign application No. CN 202111296255.3 filed on 3 Nov. 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 Mar. 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 2-10, each of the recitation(s) of “preferably”, “more preferably”, “further preferably” and “still further preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is not clear if what follows those recitations are required limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (US 5,686,060 A; issued 11 Nov. 1997; see attached 892).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 8, and 10, Schneider et al. disclose a microbubble preparation prepared by adding 2 mL solution of diarachidoylphosphatidylcholine (DAPC) (surfactant) and dipalmitoyl-phosphatidic acid (DPPA, surface charge modifier) to 20 mL of PEG2000 solution. After mixing for 10 min at room temperature, the resulting solution was frozen during 5 min at -45oC and lyophilized during 5 h at 0.2 mbar. The powder was exposed to SF6 and then dissolved in 20 mL of distilled water. The suspension showed a bubble concentration of 5×109 bubble per mL with a medium diameter of 5.5 µm. After 10 d, the product looked as good as after its preparation and still contained 1-1.2×109 bubble per mL (example 3). Decantations were repeated 10 times in order to obtain narrow bubble size distributions and to eliminate all phospholipids which were not associated with microbubbles (example 6). (These examples read on a microbubble lyophilized preparation for ultrasonic radiography comprising polyethylene glycol and a surfactant wherein the polyethylene glycol has a percentage of a folded polymer chain of much less than 34%. In addition, these examples read on a contrast agent comprising a gas SF6 and a lyophilized preparation according to claim 1 and a preparation method charging a gas into a container filled with lyophilized preparation and a use method comprising dispersing the contrast agent in a physiologically acceptable solution to obtain a suspension of gas filled microbubbles.)
Regarding claim 4, Crude phospholipids (e.g. palmitic acid, fatty acid) were dissolved together with polyethylene glycol and the solution. The residue was suspended in water. The residues after freeze-drying were saturated with SF6 then dissolved in distilled water. See examples 5.
Regarding claims 6-7, a solution of DAPC and DPPA in hexane/ethanol was prepared and the solvent evaporated to dryness (dissolving surfactant in solvent A and drying the solution to obtain a dried product). The resulting powder and polyethylene glycol were dissolved in tert-butanol at 60oC (mixing the dried product with polyethylene glycol, dissolving the mixture in solvent B to obtain a mixed solution, dissolving the mixture in the solvent B and performing mixing at a temperature of 60oC). The solution was rapidly cooled to -45oC and lyophilized (filling the mixed solution into a container). The lyophilizate was introduced in a glass vial and the powder exposed to SF6. A 3% glycerol solution was then introduced into the vial and the lyophilizate dissolved by gentle swirling. The resulting suspension had 1.5×108 bubbles swirling (example 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US 5,686,060 A; issued 11 Nov. 1997; see attached 892).
Schneider et al. teach as discussed above. Schneider et al. teach stable microbubble suspensions comprising saturated phospholipids for ultrasound echography (see title). Schneider et al. teach that this can be done by dissolving the phospholipids in a suitable solvent together with a hydrophilic stabilizer substance like PEG and water and freeze drying…The freeze-drying technique under reduced pressure is very useful because it permits, restoration of the pressure above the dried powders with any physiologically acceptable gas (col. 6). Preferred surfactants include lecithins, etc (col.7). Schneider et al. teach fatty acids (col. 7). The isotonic agents are physiological solutions commonly used in medicine and they include aqueous saline solution (col. 7).
Scheider et al. do not expressly teach the limitations of claim 6 requiring mixing the dried product with polyethylene glycol dissolving the mixture into solvent B to obtain a mixed solution and filling the mixed solution into a container.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Scheider et al. so that the dried product containing the surfactant gets mixed with polyethylene glycol and dissolving that mixture in a solvent B such as tert-butanol and performing mixing at 60oC and filling the mixed solution into a container as taught by Scheider et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable lyophilization and subsequent exposure to SF6.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618