DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement for restriction has been vacated. Claims 1-24 were examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escobar US 2021/0027400 in view of Khodabandehloo WO 02/09047 (Khoda; cited in applicants IDS).
Escobar discloses a system for providing meal order, preparation and delivery
service, comprising:
(Re claim 1) “an order receiving unit configured to receive an order for a meal selected from a
plurality of offered meals of different types” (para 0059). “a meal storage and preservation unit configured to store and preserve the meal before preparation thereof” (20,509 figure 1, para 0073). “a meal preparation unit configured to prepare the meal” (22 figure 2, para 0073). “an output part for outputting the meal prepared with the meal preparation unit thereto” (22, 14 figure 2). “a container for containing the meal therein, configured such that the meal can be stored, preserved, prepared and dispensed by the meal storage and preservation unit, the preparation unit, the output part, respectively, while the meal is contained in the container” (51 figure 11, para 0066). “a robotic device comprising a manipulator configured to move the container, including a holding means configured to hold the container, the robotic device being arranged so that each of the meal storage and preservation unit, the meal preparation unit and the output part are within the operating range of the manipulator” (503, 53 figure 6). “a control unit, comprising: a processor communicatively coupled to the robotic device; and
a non-transitory memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing data related to the order and the meal into a database and instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to control the robotic device to successively” (‘controller’ abstract). “remove the container from the meal storage and preservation unit” (‘storage rack’ para 0062). “place the container into the meal preparation unit” (‘microwave’ para 0073). “remove the container from the meal preparation unit” (‘microwave’ para 0073). “move the container to the output part” (‘product delivery’ para 0062).
Escobar does not disclose that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part.
Khoda teaches that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part (21,31,8-11,30 figure 1, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part because it further automates the dispensing process and prevents access to the microwave systems by unwanted users.
(Re claim 2) Escobar does not disclose a measuring means including a sensor configured to measure a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after being prepared by the meal preparation unit, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the measuring means to measure the parameter before the container is moved to the output part.
Khoda teaches a measuring means including a sensor configured to measure a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after being prepared by the meal preparation unit, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the measuring means to measure the parameter before the container is moved to the output part (page 6 para 0001).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include a measuring means including a sensor configured to measure a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after being prepared by the meal preparation unit, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the measuring means to measure the parameter before the container is moved to the output part because it helps ensure the quality of the meals dispensed.
(Re claim 3) Escobar does not disclose that the measuring means comprises at least one of: a thermal camera, a photo camera, a vision camera, and a scale.
Khoda teaches that the measuring means comprises at least one of: a thermal camera, a photo camera, a vision camera, and a scale (page 6 para 0001).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that the measuring means comprises at least one of: a thermal camera, a photo camera, a vision camera, and a scale because it helps ensure the quality of the meals dispensed.
(Re claim 4) “the data related to the order and the meal comprise a desired delivery time and place at which the meal is to be delivered to a customer and a meal preparation time for preparing the meal, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the robotic device on the basis of the desired delivery time and place add the meal preparation time” (para 0109).
(Re claim 5) “wherein the container comprises on one of its outer surfaces a code and the system comprises a code reading means configured to read the code, wherein the code contains information about the meal comprising a meal reference identifying the meal inside the container, and
wherein the data comprise the information about the meal” (para 0129).
(Re claim 6) “the information about the meal further comprises at least one of: ingredients of the meal, specifics about any pre-preparation of the meal, comprising a date of pre-preparation and/or identity information of a chef who pre-prepared the meal, a supplier of ingredients, a total weight of the meal before being prepared by the meal preparation unit, and a meal storage and preservation temperature” (para 0110).
(Re claim 7) “the system is further configured to register positional information about the position of the container in the meal storage and preservation unit and store the positional information
in the memory” (‘placement and position’ para 0007).
(Re claim 10) “holding means comprise a gripper mechanism configured to grip an outer surface
of the container so as to hold the container” (‘a clamp’ para 0084).
(Re claim 11) Escobar does not disclose that the meal storage and preservation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal storage and preservation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal storage and preservation
unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the
inner space of the meal storage and preservation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal storage and preservation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal storage and preservation unit to move to its open state before the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit and to move to its closed state after the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit.
Khoda teaches that the meal storage and preservation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal storage and preservation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal storage and preservation unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the inner space of the meal storage and preservation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal storage and preservation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal storage and preservation unit to move to its open state before the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit and to move to its closed state after the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit (8-11 figure 1) The chilled areas are separate from the area with the robotic arm and would require a door or access port to be opened to allow access.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify they system of Escobar to include that the meal storage and preservation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal storage and preservation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal storage and preservation unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the inner space of the meal storage and preservation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal storage and preservation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal storage and preservation unit to move to its open state before the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit and to move to its closed state after the meal is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit because it helps maintain appropriate storage and operating temperatures for the meals and the systems.
(Re claim 12) “wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal storage and preservation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal storage and preservation unit to store and preserve the meal at a predetermined meal storage and
preservation temperature” (para 0123).
(Re claim 13) Escobar does not disclose that the meal preparation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal preparation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal preparation unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the inner space of the meal preparation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal preparation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal preparation unit to move to its open state before the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, to move to its closed state after the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, and to consecutively move to its open state again after the meal has been prepared by the meal preparation unit”.
Khoda teaches does not disclose that the meal preparation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal preparation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal preparation unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the inner space of the meal preparation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal preparation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal preparation unit to move to its open state before the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, to move to its closed state after the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, and to consecutively move to its open state again after the meal has been prepared by the meal preparation unit” (21, 31 figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that the meal preparation unit comprises a closing member configured to close an access opening of the meal preparation unit, which is movable between a closed state, in which an inner space of the meal preparation unit is closed from the environment, and an open state, in which the robot has access to the inner space of the meal preparation unit, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal preparation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal preparation unit to move to its open state before the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, to move to its closed state after the meal is placed into the meal preparation unit, and to consecutively move to its open state again after the meal has been prepared by the meal preparation unit because it helps contain the heat from preparing the meal.
(Re claim 14) Escobar does not disclose that the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal preparation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal preparation unit to prepare the meal according to a preparation technology to be used, a preparation time, a preparation temperature, a preparation intensity/power and a weight of the meal.
Khoda teaches that the processor is communicatively coupled to the meal preparation unit, and wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to control the meal preparation unit to
prepare the meal according to a preparation technology to be used, a preparation time, a preparation temperature, a preparation intensity/power and a weight of the meal (‘cooking time’, ‘weight’ page 6 para 0001).
Escobar discloses a method for providing meal order, preparation and delivery service, comprising:
(Re claim 15) “at a first location: pre-preparing a meal in a first preparation step; and
putting the meal in a container after pre-preparing the meal; transferring the container to a second location remote from the first location” (para 0015). “at the second location: providing a robotic system for autonomously preparing the meal, comprising a robotic device having a manipulator, including a holding means configured to hold the container” (53, 503, 500 figure 1,6). “placing the container in a meal storage and preservation unit configured to store and preserve the meal in the container” (‘storage rack’ para 0015). “receiving an order for the meal, and successively, in response to the order, by the robotic device: removing the container from the meal storage and preservation unit” (‘storage rack’ para 0062). “placing the container into a meal preparation unit configured to prepare the meal” (‘microwave’ para 0072). “removing the container from the meal preparation unit when the meal
preparation unit has finished preparing” (‘microwave’ para 0072). “outputting the container containing the meal prepared with the meal preparation unit delivering the dispensed container containing the meal from the second location to a customer that placed the order” (‘product delivery’ para 0062).
Escobar does not disclose that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part.
Khoda teaches that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part (21,31,8-11,30 figure 1, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that the robotic device moved the meal from the storage area to the preparation are and then to the output part because it further automates the dispensing process and prevents access to the microwave systems by unwanted users.
(Re claim 16) Escobar does not disclose that the robotic system, measuring a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal and before the step of outputting the container.
Khoda teaches that the robotic system, measuring a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal and before the step of outputting the container (page 6 para 0001).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that the robotic system, measuring a parameter indicative of a quality of meal preparation after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal and before the step of outputting the container because it helps ensure the quality of the meal dispensed.
(Re claim 17) Escobar does not disclose that after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal, by the robotic system, a least one of the following steps: measuring a temperature of the meal using a thermal camera; determining an integrity of the container, including a shape and / or a color of the container, using a photo camera and / or a vision camera; and measuring a weight of the container using a scale.
Khoda teaches that after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal, by the robotic system, a least one of the following steps: measuring a temperature of the meal using a thermal camera; determining an integrity of the container, including a shape and / or a color of the container, using a photo camera and / or a vision camera; and measuring a weight of the container using a scale.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar to include that after the meal preparation unit has finished preparing the meal, by the robotic system, a least one of the following steps: measuring a temperature of the meal using a thermal camera; determining an integrity of the container, including a shape and / or a color of the container, using a photo camera and / or a vision camera; and measuring a weight of the container using a scale because it helps ensure the quality of the meal dispensed.
(Re claim 18) “at the first location: applying a code to the container, the code containing information about the meal; and at the second location: by the robotic system, reading the information from the code using a code reading means and storing the information in a memory, wherein the information about the meal comprises a meal reference for identifying the meal inside the container, and wherein the step of reading the information from the code and storing the information in a memory comprises identifying the meal inside the container using the meal reference” (para 0129).
(Re claim 19) “wherein the information about the meal further comprises at least one of: ingredients of the meal, specifics about any pre-preparation of the meal, comprising a date of pre-preparation and/or identity information of a chef who pre-prepared the meal, a supplier of ingredients, a total weight of the meal before being prepared by the meal preparation unit, and a meal storage and preservation temperature” (para 0110).
(Re claim 20) “by the robotic system, registering positional information about the position of the
container in the meal storage and preservation unit and storing the positional information in the memory” (‘placement and position’ para 0007).
(Re claim 21) “by the robotic system, registering positional information about the position of the
container in the meal storage and preservation unit and storing the positional information in
the memory, and linking the positional information to the meal reference” (‘placement and position’ para 0007).
(Re claim 22) “before the container is removed from the meal storage and preservation unit, locating, by the robotic system, the container in the meal storage and preservation unit on the basis of
the meal reference and the positional information linked thereto” (para 0066).
Claim(s) 8,9,23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escobar/Khoda in view of Oleynik US 2017/0348854.
Escobar/Khoda discloses the system as rejected above include the use of cameras, mounted to the arm, and reading barcodes and QR codes (para 0008, 0060, 0075, 0103).
(Re claim 8) “a … camera mounted on the manipulator near the holding means of the
robotic device” (para 0075).
Escobar/Khoda does not disclose the use of a depth camera.
Oleynik teaches the use of a depth camera (‘depth sensor’, ‘3D camera’ para 0481, 0838).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar/Khoda to include the use of a depth camera because it helps to better align the arm.
(Re claim 9) “the code reading means comprises the depth camera, wherein the depth camera is configured to image the code” (para 0075). As modified above the camera is a depth camera and is used to image codes.
Escobar/Khoda discloses the system as rejected above include the use of cameras and reading barcodes and QR codes (para 0008, 0060, 0075, 0103).
(Re claim 23) Escobar/Khoda discloses that the robotic system, locating the container in the meal storage and preservation unit using a camera mounted on the manipulator near the holding means of the robotic device (para 0075).
Escobar/Khoda does not disclose the use of a depth camera.
Oleynik teaches the use of a depth camera (‘depth sensor’, ‘3D camera’ para 0481, 0838).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Escobar/Khoda to include the use of a depth camera because it helps to better align the arm.
(Re claim 24) “wherein the information about the meal is read from the code using the depth camera” (para 0075). As modified above the camera is a depth camera and is used to image codes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0051083 and US 2022/0028205 both disclose receiving and dispensing prepared foods using robotic systems.
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655