CTNF 18/695,250 CTNF 76482 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 10-2011 084 391 A1 to Feigel . Re-claim 10 , Feigel discloses a hydraulic multi-circuit power brake system, comprising: a plurality of brake circuits (I and II), each brake circuit of the plurality of brake includes at least one hydraulic wheel brake 5 and a first hydraulic power brake pressure generator 4; a second piston-cylinder unit 7a/7b is present for each brake circuit, first piston sides (adjacent chambers 51a/51b) of pistons 53a/53b of the second piston-cylinder units communicate with the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator and second piston sides (adjacent chambers 52a/52b) of the pistons of the second piston- cylinder units each communicate with one of the brake circuits. Re-claim 11 , the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator 4 includes a first piston-cylinder unit, a piston 56 is displaced in a cylinder 11 of the first piston-cylinder unit by a first electric motor via a worm gear or a rotation/ translation converter gear to generate a power brake pressure (see paragraph 65 of the translation). Re-claim 12 , a second power brake pressure generator with which a hydraulic brake pressure can be generated as an alternative to generating brake pressure with the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator. The second pressure generator is part of hydraulic control unit 25, see paragraph 72. Re-claim 13 , unit 25 is a slip control system (such as an ABS, see paragraph 72). Re-claim 14 , the brake system comprises at least a first electronic controller for the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator 4; and a second electronic controller for the second power brake pressure generator 25, see paragraphs 71 and 73. Re-claim 15 , the piston 56 of the first piston-cylinder unit 4 of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator has a larger piston surface than the pistons 53a/53b of the second piston-cylinder units that communicate with the brake circuits, see figure 1. Re-claim 16 , the second piston-cylinder units 7a/7b that communicate with the brake circuits include piston return springs (see figure 1) which act on their pistons with the effect of a lowering of pressure in the brake circuits that communicate with them . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 10, 12-14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0050739 A1 to Koepff et al . Re-claim 10 , Koepff et al. disclose a hydraulic multi-circuit power brake system, comprising: a plurality of brake circuits (such as VR and VL), each brake circuit of the plurality of brake includes at least one hydraulic wheel brake and a first hydraulic power brake pressure generator HP (from 32); a second piston-cylinder unit 300/302 is present for each brake circuit, first piston sides of pistons of the second piston-cylinder units communicate with the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator and second piston sides of the pistons of the second piston- cylinder units each communicate with one of the brake circuits, see figure 8. Re-claim 12 , a second power brake pressure generator (HP from 30) with which a hydraulic brake pressure can be generated as an alternative to generating brake pressure with the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator. Re-claim 13 , unit 30 is a slip control system (see application and dump valves). Re-claim 14 , the brake system comprises at least a first electronic controller E2 for the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator; and a second electronic controller E1 for the second power brake pressure generator (as part of 30). Re-claim 16 , the second piston-cylinder units that communicate with the brake circuits include piston return springs (see figure 8) which act on their pistons with the effect of a lowering of pressure in the brake circuits that communicate with them. Re-claim 18 , the power brake system does not include actuation by muscle power. The brake system is strictly brake-by-wire or electrohydraulic . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feigel in view of DE 10 2011 086 916 A1 to Drumm . Feigel fails to teach the piston of the first piston-cylinder unit of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator connected in a tension-resistant and pressure-resistant manner to the worm gear or rotation/translation converter gear in such a way that the piston can be displaced in the cylinder of the first piston-cylinder unit of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator by the first electric motor via the worm gear or the rotation/translation converter gear in two opposite directions. Drumm teaches a piston-cylinder unit connected in a tension-resistant and pressure-resistant manner to a worm gear or rotation/translation converter gear (see figure 1) in such a way that a piston is displaced in a cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit by a first electric motor 13 via the worm gear or the rotation/translation converter gear in two opposite directions. This arrangement allows for precise movement of the piston using the motor without external biasing force from a spring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the piston-cylinder unit of Feigel with a piston-cylinder unit having tension-resistant and pressure-resistant features of that taught by Drumm, so as to allow precise movement of the piston thus achieving a specific pressure as requested by a pedal actuation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koepff et al. in view of Drumm . Re-claims 11 and 17 , Koepff et al. fail to teach the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator HP includes a first piston-cylinder unit, a piston of is displaced in a cylinder of the first piston-cylinder unit by a first electric motor via a worm gear or a rotation/ translation converter gear to generate a power brake pressure; or the generator connected in a tension-resistant and pressure-resistant manner to the worm gear or rotation/translation converter gear in such a way that the piston can be displaced in the cylinder of the first piston-cylinder unit of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator by the first electric motor via the worm gear or the rotation/translation converter gear in two opposite directions. Drumm teaches a brake pressure generator that includes a piston-cylinder unit, a piston is displaced within cylinder using a motor via a rotation/translation converter gear arrangement, see figure 1; and further teaches the pressure generator connected in a tension-resistant and pressure-resistant manner to the rotation/translation converter gear in such a way that the piston can be displaced in the cylinder of the first piston-cylinder unit of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator by the first electric motor via the rotation/translation converter gear in two opposite directions. This type of pressure unit allows for precise pressure control in both the pressurizing direction and de-pressurizing direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided for the pressure unit of Koepff et al. a piston-cylinder unit of the type taught by Drumm, as this type of pressure unit allows for precise pressure control through movement of the piston . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koepff et al. in view of Drumm and in further view of Feigel . Koepff et al. as modified by Drumm fail to show or teach the first piston-cylinder unit of the first hydraulic power brake pressure generator having a larger piston surface than the pistons of the second piston-cylinder units that communicate with the brake circuits. Feigel shows a first piston-cylinder unit of a first hydraulic power brake pressure generator having a larger piston surface than pistons of a second piston-cylinder units that communicate with the brake circuits. This first pressure unit having the larger piston surface area allows for sufficient pressurized fluid to be used in multiple second piston-cylinder units. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Koepff et al. as modified by Drumm with a first piston-cylinder unit of a first hydraulic power brake pressure generator having a larger piston surface than pistons of a second piston-cylinder units that communicate with the brake circuits as taught by Feigel, thus providing a sufficient level of pressurized fluid for use in the plural second piston-cylinder units . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Campau, Jonner, Ganzel, Harris, Feigel and Perez each teach a multi-circuit brake system having a pressure generator communicating with a piston-cylinder unit assigned to a brake circuit having a wheel brake. Besier teaches a brake circuit having either a manual push through capability or a circuit isolated from manual actuation . Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584. TJW April 25, 2026 /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 6 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 7 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,250 Page 8 Art Unit: 3616