DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/695,148 in view of Tsuchiya et al. (# US 2009/0124720).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter except:
the ink composition comprises resin component, wherein the hydroxyl group-containing resin includes a ketone resin having a hydroxyl group and a content of the hydroxyl group-containing resin is 1.5 to 16.0% by mass.
Tsuchiya et al. teaches that to have the ink composition with uniform ejection property, the ink composition comprises resin component, wherein the hydroxyl group-containing resin includes a ketone resin having a hydroxyl group ([0010]) and a content of the hydroxyl group-containing resin is 1.5 to 16.0% by mass (8 to 20%; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of copending application (148) by the aforementioned teaching of Tsuchiya et al. in order to have the ink composition having excellent in curability, adhesiveness, extensibility, crease resistance, and surface tackiness property.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (# US 2009/0124720).
Tsuchiya et al. discloses:
1. An ink composition for ultraviolet-curable inkjet printing comprising (see Abstract) polymerization components (see Abstract; [0023]-[0040]), a resin component ([0042]-[0048]), and a photopolymerization initiator (see Abstract; [0053]-[0055]),
wherein the polymerization components include (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer ([0036]), (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer (N-viny caprolactam; [0018]; [0031]), (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer ([0024]), and (D) a polyfunctional monomer ([0019]; [0041]),
wherein the resin component includes a hydroxyl group-containing resin ([0042]-[0046]),
wherein (A) the polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer comprises an acrylated amine compound having two photopolymerizable functional groups and two amino groups in a molecule ([0036]),
wherein (B) the nitrogen-containing monomer comprises vinyl caprolactam ([0018]; [0031]),
wherein (C) the aromatic ring-containing monomer comprises benzyl acrylate ([0040]) and phenoxyethyl acrylate ([0016]),
wherein (D) the polyfunctional monomer comprises at least one of propoxylated neopentyl glycol diacrylate, dipropylene glycol diacrylate, and 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate ([0040]),
wherein a content of (A) the polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer is 0.1 to 13.0% by mass ([0041]),
wherein a content of (C) the aromatic ring-containing monomer is 35.0 to 75.0% by mass (70% or more; [0030]),
wherein a content of (D) the polyfunctional monomer is 2.0 to 16.0% by mass (1 to 10%; [0041]), and
wherein the hydroxyl group-containing resin includes a ketone resin having a hydroxyl group. ([0042]-[0043]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Tsuchiya et al. does address (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer ([0036]), (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer ([0018]; [0031]), (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer ([0024]), and (D) a polyfunctional monomer ([0019]; [0041]), it teaches a laundry list of possible (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer ([0036]), (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer ([0018]; [0031]), (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer ([0024]), and (D) a polyfunctional monomer ([0019]; [0041]). The format in which Tsuchiya et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Tsuchiya et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the (A) a polyfunctional amine-modified oligomer, (B) a nitrogen-containing monomer, (C) an aromatic ring-containing monomer, and (D) a polyfunctional monomer from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
2. The ink composition for ultraviolet-curable inkjet printing of claim 1, wherein a content of the vinyl caprolactam is 3.5 to 17.0% by mass ([0032]), and
wherein a content of the hydroxyl group-containing resin is 1.5 to 16.0% by mass (see Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Kameyama et al. (# US 2014/0212634) discloses an ink composition used in active energy ray-curable inkjet printing, which has excellent curing property, discharge property, storage stability, and compatibility with various substrates. The inkjet ink composition of the present invention includes at least two types of polymerizable compounds selected from a group consisting of (A) 2-(2-vinyloxyethoxy)ethyl acrylate, (B) N-vinyl caprolactam, and (C) at least one type of bifunctional acrylate monomer including at least a diacrylate having a molecular weight of 250 or less. (see Abstract).
(2) Nakashima et al. (# US 2021/0155813) discloses a photocurable inkjet printing ink composition that demonstrates excellent preservation stability and discharge stability, good adhesion, bending tolerance property, and tackiness, and high hardness. As a solution, a photocurable inkjet printing ink composition containing photopolymerizable compounds and photopolymerization initiator is provided, wherein the photocurable inkjet printing ink composition satisfies the requirements of A to E: A. 3,3,5-trimethyl cyclohexyl acrylate is contained by 5 to 50 percent by mass in all photopolymerizable compounds; B. multifunctional monomers and/or multifunctional oligomers of 10° C. or lower in glass transition temperature are contained by 1 to 15 percent by mass in all photopolymerizable compounds; C. monofunctional monomers are contained by a total of 40 percent by mass or more in all photopolymerizable compounds; D. amino group and/or amide group-containing monomers and/or oligomers are contained; and E. the ink composition has a viscosity of 10 mPa.Math.s or lower at 25° C (see Abstract).
(3) Engel et al. (# US 2012/0287213) discloses an UV-ink jet printing ink composition comprises: (a) difunctional (meth)acrylate monomer, (b) photoinitiator, (c) effect pigments and (d) optionally trifunctional and/or polyfunctional(meth)acrylate monomers (see Abstract).
(4) Nakashima et al. (# US 2019/0062580) discloses a photocurable inkjet printing ink composition contains a photopolymerizable compound and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein in 100 percent by mass of the photocurable inkjet printing ink composition, included are: an acrylamide-based monomer by 5.0 to 50 percent by mass; a monofunctional monomer other than acrylamide-based monomer by 15 to 70 percent by mass; a polymerizable compound having two or more functionalities by 5.0 to 30.0 percent by mass; vinyl caprolactam by 0.1 to 15 percent by mass and/or an acrylated amine compound having two photopolymerizable functional groups and two amino groups in the molecule by 0 to 10 percent by mass; and the percentage of monofunctional monomers in the photopolymerizable compound is 60 to 99.5 percent by mass (see Abstract).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853