DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ANTON (US 2017/0231280).
Anton teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a heater (120) configured to heat an aerosol-generating substance; a display (108); a button (108, 110); and a controller (smart module 100, para. 0044) configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (para. 0045); change, in response to receiving a first input at the button while the screen indicates the first state, the screen indicating the first state to a screen indicating a second state, from among the plurality of states (para. 0045); change, in response to receiving a second input at the button while the screen indicates the first state, the screen indicating the first state to a setting screen related to the first state, wherein the second input is different from the first input (para. 0047, 0048); update, in response to receiving an input at the button while the setting screen related to the first state is displayed, settings related to the first state (para. 0047-0048); and change the setting screen related to the first state to the screen indicating the first state, in response to the update of the settings related to the first state (para. 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 2, Anton teaches the first input is in response to a user pressing the button for less than a defined time period, and wherein the second input is in response to the user pressing the button for the defined time period or longer (para. 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 3, Anton teaches a memory (118) configured to store data of a usage pattern, wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data of the usage pattern stored in the memory being equal to or greater than a defined reference amount; and cause the display to display an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on a screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (para. 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Anton teaches the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal charging and is one of the plurality of states (para. 0050); and change the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input at the button while the screen indicating the fourth state is displayed (para. 0054).
Regarding claim 5, Anton teaches a method for operating an aerosol-generating device having a display (108), the method comprising displaying, on the display, a screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (para. 0045); changing, in response to receiving a first input while the screen indicates the first state , the screen indicating the first state to a screen indicating a second state, from among the plurality of states (para. 0045); changing, in response to receiving a second input while the screen indicates the first state , the screen indicating the first state to a setting screen related to the first state, wherein the second input is different from the first input; updating, in response to receiving an input while the setting screen related to the first state is displayed, settings related to the first state (para. 0047-0048); and changing the setting screen related to the first state to the screen indicating the first state, in response to the update of the settings related to the first state (para. 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 6, Anton teaches displaying, on the display, a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data on the usage pattern being equal to or greater than a defined reference amount; and displaying, on the display, an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on a screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (para. 0048).
Regarding claim 7, Anton teaches displaying, on the display, a screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal changing and is one of the plurality of states; and changing the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input while the screen indicating the fourth state is displayed (para. 0050).
Regarding claim 8, Anton teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a heater (120) configured to heat an aerosol-generating substance; a display (108); a button (107, 110); and a controller (smart module 100, para. 0044) configured to cause the display to display a first screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (para. 0045); cause the display to stop the displaying of the first screen and cause the display to display a second screen indicating a second state, in response to receiving a first input at the button while the first screen is displayed, wherein the second state is one of the plurality of states (para. 0045); cause the display to stop the displaying of the first the screen and cause the display to display a setting screen related to the first state, in response to receiving a second input at the button while the first screen is displayed, wherein the second input is different from the first input (para. 0047-0048); update settings related to the first state, in response to receiving an input at the button while the setting screen is displayed; and cause the display to display the first screen according to the updated settings(para. 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 9, Anton teaches a memory (118) configured to store data of a usage pattern, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data of the usage pattern stored in the memory being equal to or greater than a threshold amount (para. 0048); and cause the display to display an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on the third screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (para. 0048, 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Anton teaches the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a fourth screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal changing and is one of the plurality of states; and change the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input at the button while the fourth screen is displayed (para. 0050).
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAYED et al. (WO 2020/182749).
Sayed teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a heater (304 in figure 12) configured to heat an aerosol-generating substance; a display (306 in figure 12, page 10 lines 10-12); a button (112, page 8 lines 19-20); and a controller (302 in figure 12) configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-17); change, in response to receiving a first input at the button while the screen indicates the first state, the screen indicating the first state to a screen indicating a second state, from among the plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-23); change, in response to receiving a second input at the button while the screen indicates the first state, the screen indicating the first state to a setting screen related to the first state, wherein the second input is different from the first input (page 9 lines 5-14); update, in response to receiving an input at the button while the setting screen related to the first state is displayed, settings related to the first state (page 14 lines 24-32); and change the setting screen related to the first state to the screen indicating the first state, in response to the update of the settings related to the first state (page 14 lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 2, Sayed teaches the first input is in response to a user pressing the button for less than a defined time period, and wherein the second input is in response to the user pressing the button for the defined time period or longer (para. page 33 lines 22-31).
Regarding claim 3, Sayed teaches a memory (page 19 lines 21-23) configured to store data of a usage pattern, wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data of the usage pattern stored in the memory being equal to or greater than a defined reference amount; and cause the display to display an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on a screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (page 15 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 4, Sayed teaches the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal charging and is one of the plurality of states; and change the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input at the button while the screen indicating the fourth state is displayed (page 33 line 22 – page 34 line 2).
Regarding claim 5, Sayed teaches a method for operating an aerosol-generating device having a display (page 10 lines 10-12), the method comprising displaying, on the display, a screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-17); changing, in response to receiving a first input while the screen indicates the first state , the screen indicating the first state to a screen indicating a second state, from among the plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-23); changing, in response to receiving a second input while the screen indicates the first state , the screen indicating the first state to a setting screen related to the first state, wherein the second input is different from the first input; updating, in response to receiving an input while the setting screen related to the first state is displayed, settings related to the first state (page 9 lines 5-14); and changing the setting screen related to the first state to the screen indicating the first state, in response to the update of the settings related to the first state (page 8 lines 4-23, page 34 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 6, Sayed teaches displaying, on the display, a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data on the usage pattern being equal to or greater than a defined reference amount; and displaying, on the display, an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on a screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (page 34 lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 7, Sayed teaches displaying, on the display, a screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal changing and is one of the plurality of states; and changing the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input while the screen indicating the fourth state is displayed (page 34 line 23-27).
Regarding claim 8, Sayed teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a heater (304 in figure 12) configured to heat an aerosol-generating substance; a display (306 in figure 12, page 10 lines 10-12); a button (112, page 8 lines 19-20); and a controller (302 in figure 12) configured to cause the display to display a first screen indicating a first state, from among a plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-17); cause the display to stop the displaying of the first screen and cause the display to display a second screen indicating a second state, in response to receiving a first input at the button while the first screen is displayed, wherein the second state is one of the plurality of states (page 8 lines 4-23); cause the display to stop the displaying of the first the screen and cause the display to display a setting screen related to the first state, in response to receiving a second input at the button while the first screen is displayed, wherein the second input is different from the first input (page 9 lines 5-14); update settings related to the first state, in response to receiving an input at the button while the setting screen is displayed; and cause the display to display the first screen according to the updated settings(page 14 lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 9, Sayed teaches a memory (page 19 lines 21-23) configured to store data of a usage pattern, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a screen indicating completion of collection of the usage pattern, based on an amount of data of the usage pattern stored in the memory being equal to or greater than a threshold amount (para. 0048); and cause the display to display an image corresponding to the completion of collection of the usage pattern on the third screen indicating a third state, wherein the third state corresponds to the usage pattern among the plurality of states and is initially displayed after the displaying of the screen indicating the completion of collection of the usage pattern (page 15 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 10, Sayed teaches the controller is further configured to cause the display to display a fourth screen indicating a fourth state, in response to setting of a mode corresponding to normal charging, wherein the fourth state corresponds to normal changing and is one of the plurality of states; and change the mode corresponding to the normal charging to a mode corresponding to communication, in response to receiving an input at the button while the fourth screen is displayed (page 34 line 23-27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Perlman (US 2004/0001001).
Henry Jr (US 2017/0119053)
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741