DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/695,315 filed on 03/25/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (U.S 20230156583, May 18, 2023) in view of Jiang (US 20230056855, Feb. 23, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Murray discloses an apparatus comprising a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to determine a configuration of neighboring cells (page 1, par (0021), line 1-5, Cell reselection identifies the cell that the UE should camp on based on cell reselection criteria which involves measurements of the serving and neighbor cell (wherein determine a configuration of neighboring cells));
determine slice information for a serving cell and the neighboring cells (page 2, par (0056), line 1-5, determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells),
wherein the slice information comprises an identifier of a respective slice group and a set of carrier frequencies corresponding to the respective slice group (page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed, when establishing RRC connection to allow a UE quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s)(available slice group of the slices) available in a cell).
Murray discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except broadcast the slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies.
Jiang is the same field of invention teaches broadcast the slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies (page 12, par (0230), line 1-10, a list of network slices (index scheme of the slices information) supported by the frequency is indicated in carrier frequency information (CarrierFreqEUTRA), a list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information in (CarrierFreqEUTRA)).
Murray and Jiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the broadcast the slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies the teaching of Murray to include the list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information teaching of Jiang because it is providing network slice required supported by the terminal and which cause that a communication quality of the terminal cannot reaches expectations, thus improving the communication quality.
Regarding Claim 2, Murray discloses the slice information comprises an absolute priority value for each frequency in the set of carrier frequencies (page 1, par (0023), line 1-4, Inter-frequency selection is based on absolute priorities where a UE tries to camp on the highest priority frequency available).
Regarding Claim 3, Murray discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to indicate a list of carrier frequencies, wherein the indexing scheme comprises an index value of '0' to indicate a carrier frequency of the serving cell, an index value of '1' to indicate a first carrier frequency in the list of carrier frequencies, and an index value of "2" to indicate a second carrier frequency in the list of carrier frequencies.
Jiang is the same field of invention teaches the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to indicate a list of carrier frequencies, wherein the indexing scheme comprises an index value of '0' to indicate a carrier frequency of the serving cell, an index value of '1' to indicate a first carrier frequency in the list of carrier frequencies, and an index value of "2" to indicate a second carrier frequency in the list of carrier frequencies (page 12, par (0230), line 1-10, a list of network slices (index scheme of the slices information which is obvious could be value 0 I and 2 from the list to indicate the carrier frequencies) supported by the frequency is indicated in carrier frequency information (CarrierFreqEUTRA), a list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information in (CarrierFreqEUTRA)).
Regarding Claim 5, Murray discloses broadcast the slice information using the indexing scheme, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to reference an index of a predetermined table [e.g., preconfigured or defined in specification] to signal a carrier frequency, wherein an amount of bits needed to encode the index is less than a number of bits needed to encode the carrier frequency(page 4, par (0090), line 1-10, Network Slice Selection Assistance Infomiation (NSSAI) includes one or a list of S-NSSAis where a S-NSSAI is a combination of mandatory SST (Slice/Service Type) field, which identifies the slice type and includes 8 bits; and SD field, which differentiates among Slices with same SST field and include 24 bits (number of bits is less than a number of bits needed to encode the carrier frequency)).
Regarding Claim 7, Murray discloses broadcast the slice information using the indexing scheme, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to use a predetermined table to indicate a same/common frequency, a slice identifier, a slice group identifier, a cell identity, or a combination thereof(page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed, when establishing RRC connection to allow a UE quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s)(available slice group of the slices) available in a cell).
Regarding Claim 8, Murray discloses determine complete slice information from the received first slice information; and perform cell reselection using the complete slice information (page 1, par (0021), line 1-5, Cell reselection identifies the cell that the UE should camp on based on cell reselection criteria which involves measurements of the serving and neighbor cell (wherein determine a configuration of neighboring cells)).
Murray discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a User Equipment ("UE") apparatus comprising a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to receive first slice information from a mobile communication network.
Jiang is the same field of invention teaches a User Equipment ("UE") apparatus comprising a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to receive first slice information from a mobile communication network (page 12, par (0230), line 1-10, a list of network slices (index scheme of the slices information) supported by the frequency is indicated in carrier frequency information (CarrierFreqEUTRA), a list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information in (CarrierFreqEUTRA)).
Murray and Jiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the broadcast the slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies the teaching of Murray to include the list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information teaching of Jiang because it is providing network slice required supported by the terminal and which cause that a communication quality of the terminal cannot reaches expectations, thus improving the communication quality.
Regarding Claim 9, Murray discloses to receive the first slice information, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a system information block or dedicated RRC signaling comprising an identifier of a respective slice group and a set of carrier frequencies corresponding to the respective slice group, wherein the system information block or dedicated RRC signaling uses an indexing scheme to indicate at least the set of carrier frequencies(page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed, when establishing RRC connection to allow a UE quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s)(available slice group of the slices) available in a cell).
Regarding Claim 12, Murray discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to determine the complete slice information from the received first slice information, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: index a first occurrence of first new value for a particular information element type, indexing starting from integer value '0' or '1'; and store the index mapping to the actual value of a complete slice information element.
Jiang is the same field of invention teaches to determine the complete slice information from the received first slice information, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: index a first occurrence of first new value for a particular information element type, indexing starting from integer value '0' or '1'; and store the index mapping to the actual value of a complete slice information element (page 12, par (0230), line 1-10, a list of network slices (index scheme of the slices information which is obvious could be value 0 I and 2 from the list to indicate the carrier frequencies) supported by the frequency is indicated in carrier frequency information (CarrierFreqEUTRA), a list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information in (CarrierFreqEUTRA)).
Regarding Claim 13, Murray discloses determine the complete slice information from the received first slice information, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to increment an index for first occurrence of next new value for a particular information element type, and store the index mapping to the actual value of the information element(page 6, par (0124), line 1-10, the SIB(s) that includes the list of network slices supported by the cell configured such that it is only broadcast in response to an on-demand SI request for the corresponding SI message to which the SIB(s) that include the list of network slices supported by the cell are mapped).
Regarding Claim 14, Murray discloses determine the complete slice information from the received information the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to replace a pointer value for a particular information element with an actual value of the information values pointed to (page 6, par (0124), line 1-10, the SIB(s) that includes the list of network slices supported by the cell configured such
that it is only broadcast in response to an on-demand SI request for the corresponding SI message to which the SIB(s) that include the list of network slices supported by the cell are mapped, SI broadcast of slice availability for a given cell used on its own or in combination with other the methods described herein to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN).
Regarding Claim 15, Murray discloses a system comprising a Radio Access Network ("RAN") node configured to: determine a configuration of neighboring cells(page 1, par (0021), line 1-5, Cell reselection identifies the cell that the UE should camp on based on cell reselection criteria which involves measurements of the serving and neighbor cell (wherein determine a configuration of neighboring cells)); determine first slice information for a serving cell and the neighboring cells(page 2, par (0056), line 1-5, determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells), wherein the first slice information comprises an identifier of a respective slice group and a set of carrier frequencies corresponding to the respective slice group(page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed, when establishing RRC connection to allow a UE quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s)(available slice group of the slices) available in a cell);
and a User Equipment ("UE") configured to: receive the first slice information from the RAN node(page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed);
determine complete slice information from the broadcast first slice information; and perform cell reselection using the complete slice information(page 2, par (0055), line 1-10, devices perform slice based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices(respective slice group) in a cell when deciding which cell to select, a mechanism for providing the AS with an NSSAI, that is used to inform the UE of the slice(s) that will be accessed, when establishing RRC connection to allow a UE quickly and efficiently determine the slice(s)(available slice group of the slices) available in a cell).
Murray discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except broadcasting the first slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies.
Jiang is the same field of invention teaches broadcasting the first slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies (page 12, par (0230), line 1-10, a list of network slices (index scheme of the slices information) supported by the frequency is indicated in carrier frequency information (CarrierFreqEUTRA), a list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information in (CarrierFreqEUTRA)).
Murray and Jiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the broadcast the slice information in the serving cell using an indexing scheme to signal at least the set of carrier frequencies the teaching of Murray to include the list of network slices supported by the neighbor cell is indicated in neighbor cell frequency information teaching of Jiang because it is providing network slice required supported by the terminal and which cause that a communication quality of the terminal cannot reaches expectations, thus improving the communication quality.
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 4 or 6 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claims 10 is incorporated into the independent claim 20.
Claim 15 would be allowable if (i) claims 4 or 6 or 10 are incorporated into the independent claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Sheetz et al. (US 20240399175) teaches Reversal Of Senescence By Ultrasound Irradiation.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464