Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 20 July 2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued Matsumura fails to disclose DCI comprising a dynamic switching field that selects an SRS resource set for S-TRP or M-TRP PUSCH transmission as claimed. However, Examiner disagrees.
Matsumura discloses a higher layer signaling to establish a correspondence between TCIs and SRS resource sets (para. 686). A DCI indicates dynamic switching of resource sets and TRPs based on the indicated (and corresponding) TCI (paras. 69 and 258; paras. 287, 301, 453, 469, 471-476 and 688-689; fig. 6a and fig. 17; note: RRC configuration, MAC CE activation and DCI indication of a specific transmission state or states).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 10-12, 14 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0279869).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (figs. 1A-2C, 6A-6B, 10A-17, 20A-20D and 23A-25; figs. 30-31 and para. 93), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a base station, at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI), the at least one TCI indicating a single uplink (UL) TCI or two UL TCIs (para. 677; figs. 6A-6B and 11-17; note: UL TCI configured by RRC); receive, from the base station, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (paras. 680, 683 and 685) for UL multiple input multiple output (MIMO) (para. 218; note: MIMO as a spatial layer; paras. 56 and 630; TCI for a PUSCH/PUCCH spatial relation), the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set being associated with the at least one TCI (paras. 677, 680-681 and 683-689; note: UL TCI states mapped to SRS resource sets); receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling one or more uplink transmissions associated with at least one of a first transmission reception point (TRP) or a second TRP (paras. 262 and 287), wherein the DCI comprises a dynamic switching field (para. 453; para. 686; note: A DCI indicates dynamic switching of resource sets and TRPs based on the indicated (and corresponding) TCI in paras. 69 and 258, and paras. 287, 301, 453, 469, 471-476 and 688-689; note: also, fig. 6a and fig. 17 where an RRC configuration, MAC CE activation and DCI indication exist are used a specific transmission state or states) that selects one or more of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set for a single transmission reception point (S-TRP) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (paras. 453 and fig. 19A; para. 686 and fig. 24D; note: switching between TCI states for a single TRP for a PUSCH transmission, where a TCI state is associated with an SRS resource set) or a multiple transmission reception point (M-TRP) PUSCH transmission (paras. 453 and fig. 19A; para. 686 and fig. 24D; note: switching (swapping) between TCI states for two TRPs, where a TCI state is associated with an SRS resource set); and transmit the one or more uplink transmissions to the base station based on the DCI, the at least one TCI, the first SRS resource set, and the second SRS resource set (paras. 287 and 431; paras. 73 and 471-472).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one TCI indicates the single UL TCI, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: apply the single UL TCI to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (paras. 684 and 691).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one TCI indicates the single UL TCI, wherein the at least one TCI is a joint TCI or two separate TCIs (fig. 16 and para. 351; fig. 17 and paras. 401-402; fig. 20B and para. 467; fig. 20D and para. 469; paras. 218 and 248; note: interchangeable use of DL TCI and UL TCI, and PDSCH and PUSCH), and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: apply the single UL TCI to an associated SRS resource set of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set based on an association (paras. 476-477, 677, 684 and 691).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the association is based on a radio resource control (RRC) or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) from the base station (paras. 673 and 685).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: suspend a non-associated SRS resource set of the second SRS resource set or the first SRS resource set based on the association (paras. 476-477, 677, 684 and 691; note: suspend in the broadest reasonable interpretation is the SRS resource set not selected to use with the TCI; figs. 20B and 20D, and paras. 467 and 469).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one TCI indicates the two UL TCIs (fig. 16 and para. 351; fig. 17 and paras. 401-402; fig. 20B and para. 467; fig. 20D and para. 469; paras. 218 and 248; note: interchangeable use of DL TCI and UL TCI, and PDSCH and PUSCH), wherein the at least one TCI is a joint TCI or two separate TCIs, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: apply the two UL TCIs to associated SRS resource sets of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set based on an association (paras. 455, 468-469, 471-477. 683 and 686).
Regarding claim 14, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 10.
Regarding claim 27, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (figs. 30-31).
Regarding claims 28-30, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1. Further regarding claim 30, the memory (medium) stores code to execute by the processor (paras. 909-910 and 945).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Nilsson et al. (US 2024/0259950).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura fails to disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: apply a set of power control (PC) parameters associated with the single UL TCI to a PUSCH or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on the DCI being associated with the single UL TCI shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on the DCI being associated with the single UL TCI
Regarding claims 8-9 and 13, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 3.
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Davydov et al. (US 2020/0412505). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UE supports a DCI format 0_1 and a DCI format 0_2 (paras. 69, 95 and 258) with dynamic switching selecting the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set for the single S-TRP PUSCH transmission (paras. 453 and fig. 19A; para. 686 and fig. 24D; note: switching between TCI states for a single TRP for a PUSCH transmission, where a TCI state is associated with an SRS resource set).
However, Matsumura fails to disclose wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with a first precoder and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second precoder. Davydov discloses this feature (para. 27; note: different SRS sets have different precoders). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first SRS resource set is associated with a first precoder and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second precoder in the invention of Matsumura. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing proper coding and power for a transmission as is known in the art (Davydov; para. 27; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 5, Davydov discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UE supports a DCI format 0_1 and a DCI format 0_2 (paras. 69, 95 and 258) with dynamic switching selecting the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set for the M-TRP (paras. 453 and fig. 19A; para. 686 and fig. 24D; note: switching (swapping) between TCI states for two TRPs, where a TCI state is associated with an SRS resource set).
However, Matsumura fails to disclose precoder cycling associated with the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (note: in the broadest reasonable interpretation, precoder cycling is using a respective precoder for an SRS resource set where the used SRS resources sets change). Davydov discloses using different precoders for each SRS resource set (para. 27; note: different SRS sets have different precoders). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have precoder cycling associated with the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set in the invention of Matsumura. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing proper coding and power for transmissions using different SRS resource sets as is known in the art (Davydov; para. 27; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 15, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 4-5.
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura in view of Davydov teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the dynamic switching indicates an order of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set and an order of the two UL TCIs (Matsumura, figs. 10B and 12; note: codepoints 000 and 100 for TCI state order swapping; figs. 17 and 19A, and paras. 255, 402 and 453, 455; note: codepoints 10 and 11 for TCI state order swapping; paras. 218 and 248; note: interchangeable use of DL TCI and UL TCI, and PDSCH and PUSCH).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0330167 as supported by the corresponding passages of PCT/CN2020/073819).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura fails to disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein to apply the single UL TCI, the at least one processor is configured to apply at least one default SRS resource set of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. However, Chen discloses using a default (preset) SRS resource set for a TCI (paras. 159, 161 and 163). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have wherein to apply the single UL TCI, the at least one processor is configured to apply at least one default SRS resource set of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. in the invention of Matsumura. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, assigning a default or preset correspondence between a TCI state and an SRS resource set for communication as is known in the art (Chen, paras. 159, 161 and 163; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Claims 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0219246). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one TCI indicates the two UL TCIs, wherein the at least one TCI is a joint TCI or two separate TCIs (fig. 16 and para. 351; fig. 17 and paras. 401-402; fig. 20B and para. 467; fig. 20D and para. 469; paras. 218 and 248; note: interchangeable use of DL TCI and UL TCI, and PDSCH and PUSCH), but fails to disclose wherein the DCI is configured with two transmit power control (TPC) fields associated with the two UL TCIs.
However, Xu discloses this feature (fig. 26, steps at T1 and T2; para. 254). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the DCI configured with two transmit power control (TPC) fields associated with the two UL TCIs in the invention of Matsumura. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, transmitting data with an appropriate power level as is known in the art (Xu, fig. 26 and para. 254; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 18, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the two UL TCIs are associated with a same closed loop index (Xu, para. 254; paras. 230 (last two sentences) and 234; note: same transmit power for a TO; para. 232, last two sentences; note: same closed loop index), and wherein the UE is configured to apply one TPC field of the two TPC fields after one of the two UL TCIs takes effect (Xu, fig. 26, steps at T3 and T4; note: the data has an applied TPC when transmitted).
Regarding claim 19, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the UL MIMO is one of a codebook based MIMO or a non-codebook based MIMO (Xu, para. 228-229; para. 157, 213-215; note: MIMO antenna transmission with codebook or non-codebook multi-antenna precoding of data), and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: respectively apply the two UL TCIs to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Matsumura, paras. 455, 468-469, 471-477. 683 and 686).
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: switch between single transmission reception point (S-TRP) and multiple transmission reception point (M-TRP) based on a dynamic switching indicated in the DCI (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453).
Regarding claim 21, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the dynamic switching indicated in the DCI indicates the S-TRP for a PUSCH and one SRS resource set of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453).
Regarding claim 22, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the dynamic switching indicated in the DCI indicates the M-TRP for a PUSCH and an order associated with the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453).
Regarding claim 23, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the dynamic switching indicated in the DCI indicates the M-TRP for a PUSCH, and wherein a lowest identifier (ID) TCI of the two UL TCIs is used (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453).
Regarding claim 24, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: switch between S-TRP and M-TRP based on a number of TCIs indicated in the DCI (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453).
Regarding claim 25, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: switch between S-TRP and M-TRP for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453; paras. 56, 180 and 375; note: interchangeability of PUSCH and PUCCH).
Regarding claim 26, Matsumura in view of Xu teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: switch between the S-TRP and the M-TRP for the PUCCH based on a number of TCIs indicated in the DCI Matsumura, figs. 17 and 19A; paras. 26, 28, 400-402, 427 and 453; paras. 56, 180 and 375; note: interchangeability of PUSCH and PUCCH).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462