Status of Claims
Claims 114-133 are pending.
Priority
Claims 114-133 are a 371 of PCT/US22/44767 filed on September 26, 2022, which has priority to PRO 63/341,391 filed on May 12, 2022, and priority to PRO 63/248,524 filed on September 26, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on July 28, 2025, was filed before the mailing of the First Office Action on September 19, 2026. The Non-Patent Literature is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 129 and 130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or 35 U.S.C. §112(pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Nature of the Invention:
The claimed invention is directed to a therapeutic administration of an oligonucleotide to a subject for the purpose of treating or preventing a condition, disorder, or a disease.
Breadth of the Claims:
Claim 129 encompasses treating or preventing a “condition, disorder or disease in a subject” without limiting the conditions to ones associated with MECP2, R168X, or a G-to-A mutation. As written, the claim encompasses a vast range of unrelated diseases and disease mechanisms where the oligonucleotide of claim 114 would provide no therapeutic or prophylactic effect.
Amount of Direction or Guidance Presented:
The specification provides substantial guidance concerning MECP2, particularly the R168X mutation, and conditions susceptible to correction through adenosine editing [See ¶ 0006, 0027, 00932, 001013, and 001040]. However, the specification does not provide corresponding guidance for determining how an oligonucleotide of claim 114 would be used to treat or prevent the full range of conditions, disorders, and diseases contemplated by claim 129.
Presence or absence of Working Examples:
Applicants provide in vitro experiments using patient-derived MECP2-R168X cortical neurons, wherein the indicated oligonucleotide compositions were administered by gymnotic uptake and A-to-G editing was measured [¶ 001519]. These experiments demonstrate that certain disclosed oligonucleotides are capable of producing the intended molecular editing event in cultured MECP2-R168X neurons. However, Applicant provides no in vivo disease model or other working examples demonstrating that administration of the claimed oligonucleotides actually treat or prevent a condition, disorder, or disease in a subject. More importantly, no working examples demonstrate therapeutic efficacy across the broad range of unrelated conditions encompassed by the claim language.
Relative Skill of Those in the Art:
It is argued that the relative skill in the art, is that of a scientist with several years’ experience in the field, but that the Art itself is a recognition of what is understood by the Artisan, and thus, as seen below, does not make the breadth of the claims more predictable.
The Predictability or Lack Thereof in the Art:
Although Zhang et al. [US 2020 0283755 A1] is relied upon to reject claim 129 under § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated, Zhang et al. is not relied upon as establishing enablement across the full scope of claim 129. Rather, Zhang et al. teaches the elements of the oligonucleotide recited in claim 114, from which claim 129 depends, and Zhang et al. further teaches use of such oligonucleotides in connection to certain neurological disorders that fall within the broad scope of claim 129. Claim 129 broadly recites “treating or preventing a condition, disorder or disease in a subject” without limiting the claimed method to Rett syndrome, PPM-X syndrome, or Angelman syndrome, or the other limitations associated with claim 130. Vashi and Justice (Hereinafter Vashi) teach that there are nearly 600 different mutations in MECP2 have been identified [Rett syndrome is caused by mutations in methyl-CpG-binding protein 2 (MECP2), Treating Rett syndrome: from mouse models to human therapies, Mammalian Genome, 2019].
The art of therapeutic oligonucleotide-mediated RNA editing is unpredictable given successful editing is dependent upon numerous target and biological-context-specific variables that include target sequence, accessibility of the target RNA, recruitment and availability of endogenous ADAR, oligonucleotide design and chemical modification, cell type, delivery, and editing efficiency. Furthermore, the prior art demonstrates that, although ADAR-mediated RNA editing has been achieved in selected experimental systems, the ability to translate this type of editing into effective treatments and/or preventative measures across a broad range of conditions, disorders, and diseases encompassed by claim 129 is unpredictable. For example, Merkle et al. teaches that chemically modified antisense oligonucleotides could recruit endogenous adenosine deaminase acting on RNA, i.e. ADARS, to induce site-directed adenosine-to-inosine editing of selected endogenous transcripts [Abstract, Main ¶ 1, Precise RNA editing by recruiting endogenous ADARs with antisense oligonucleotides, Nature Biotechnology, 2019]. Merkle et al. also showed that correction of a disease associated mutation in the SERPINA1 transcript was possible [Main ¶ 14]. However, Merckle et al. did not establish that successful editing of a target transcript would result in effective treatment and/or prevention of a broad class of diseases and/or disorders in subjects. Another example is Sinnamon et al. where site-directed repair of mutant MECP2 RNA in cultured neurons using an engineered ADAR2 editing system along with a guide RNA [Abstract, Site-directed RNA repair of endogenous MECP2 RNA in neurons, PNAS, 2017]. Sinnamon et al. further showed that the efficiency of MECP2 RNA editing varies depending on the particular mutation and surrounding nucleotide sequence where different editing efficiencies were observed among the mutations evaluated [Targeting editase to heterologous expressed Mecp2 mRNA can repair Mecp2 G>A mutations]. However, Sinnamon et al. did not demonstrate treatment and/or prevention of disease in a subject. Lastly, Khosravi and Jantsch (Hereinafter Khosravi) discusses how site-directed RNA editing in general remains unpredictable technology because successful application depends on numerous interrelated variables that include guide RNA design, target RNA accessibility, ADAR availability and activity, editing efficiency, specificity, and delivery to therapeutically relevant cells and tissues [Challenges, Site-directed RNA editing: recent advances and open challenges, RNA Biology, 2021]. This further demonstrates RNA editing for a particular system, e.g. Applicant’s construct, would not translate into successful editing and therapeutic efficacy across a broad spectrum of diseases, conditions, or disorders. And given that claim 129 broadly encompasses treating or preventing a condition, disorder, or disease in a subject, a person of ordinary skill would be required to determine for the relative therapeutic indications whether the claimed oligonucleotide achieve sufficient editing in appropriate tissues and whether such editing would produce an effective therapeutic effect that would alleviate, treat, and/or prevent the respective condition, disorder, or disease. And based on the teachings of Khosravi, a person of ordinary skill would have to engage in determining stability and durability given the low stability of RNA, immunogenicity given that unmodified RNAs are known to trigger the innate immune system, the limitation of RNA editing enzymes being specific to A to I and C to U deaminations, determining the optimal delivery given that not all cell types and/or tissues can be targeted, and assessing off-target editing.
Conclusion:
Based on the above factors, the specification fails to provide sufficient disclosure to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention as it pertains to claim 129 without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 114-118, 121-122, and 126-129 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. [US 2020 283755 A1].
Regarding claim 114, Zhang et al. teaches an oligonucleotide comprising [Para starting with “In particular embodiments of the methods of the present invention, the adenosine deaminase protein…”]: a first domain; and a second domain [Para starting with “In some embodiments, the guide sequence is an RNA sequence of between 10 to 50 nt in length…”], wherein: the first domain comprises one or more 2’-F modifications; the second domain comprises one or more sugars that do not have a 2’-F modification [Para starting with “in some embodiments, the modification to the guide is a chemical modification , an insertion, a deletion, or a split.”]; about or at least about 10% of all sugars are 2’-F modified sugars [Para starting with “In certain embodiments, the guide molecule comprise non-naturally occurring nucleic acids and/or non-naturally occurring nucleotides”]; and the oligonucleotide can hybridize to a characteristic portion of a MECP2 transcript comprising a target adenosine [Para starting with “the term “AD-functionalized CRISPR system” as used here refers” and “in some embodiments, a Cpf1 guide RNA having a canonical length”].
For claim 115, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 114, wherein the oligonucleotide has a length of about 10-200 nucleobases [Para starting with “In some embodiments, the guide sequence is an RNA sequence of between 10 to 50 nt in length…”].
For claim 116, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 114, wherein the base sequence of the oligonucleotide is complementary to a characteristic portion of a MECP2 transcript comprising the target adenosine with 0-5 mismatches which are not Watson-Crick base pairs [Para starting with “in some embodiments, a Cpf1 guide RNA having a canonical length (e.g. about 24 nt for AsCpf1)” and Table A].
For claim 117, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 116, wherein the complementary is 100% except at a nucleoside opposite to a target adenosine [Para starting with “The term “AD-functionalized CRISPR system” as used herein” and “In some embodiments, the methods, systems, and compositions described herein are used to correct one or more pathogenic G-to-A”].
For claim 118, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 114, wherein the first domain has a length of about 10-25 nucleobases [Para starting with “In some embodiments, the guide sequence is an RNA sequence of between 10 to 50 nt in length…”].
For claim 119, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 114,
For claim 121, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 114, wherein the opposite nucleobase is nucleobase BA, wherein BA comprises Ring BA or a tautomer thereof, wherein Ring BA is an optionally substituted, 5-20 membered, monocyclic, bicyclic or polycyclic ring having 0-10 heteroatoms [Para starting with “the term “AD-functionalized CRISPR system” as used” and “the term “adenosine deaminase” or “adenosine deaminase protein” as used herein refers”].
For claim 122, Zhang et al. teaches the oligonucleotide of claim 121, wherein the Ring BA is…, or hypoxanthine, wherein R’ is -C(O)Ph [Para starting with “the term “adenosine deaminase” or “adenosine deaminase protein” as used herein refers”].
For claim 126, Zhang et al. teaches a method comprising contacting an oligonucleotide of claim 114 with a MECP2 transcript, wherein the target adenosine in the characteristic portion is edited [Para starting with “the term “AD-functionalized CRISPR system” as used here refers” and “in some embodiments, a Cpf1 guide RNA having a canonical length”].
For claim 127, Zhang et al. teaches a method for (i) editing a target adenosine in a MECP2 transcript in a system; (ii) editing a premature stop codon in a MECP2 transcript in a system; (iii) increasing or restoring levels or one or more activities of MECP2; and/or (iv) increasing or restoring levels of full-length MECP2, wherein the method comprises administering or delivering to the system an oligonucleotide of claim 114 [Para starting with “the term “AD-functionalized CRISPR system” as used here refers” and “in some embodiments, a Cpf1 guide RNA having a canonical length” and “Also disclosed are methods of treating an animal (a non-human animal or a human)”].
For claim 128, Zhang et al. teaches a method for preparing an oligonucleotide of claim 114, comprising utilizing a phosphoramidite [para starting with “the invention provides for the use of a stereocontrolling phosphoramidite monomer…”].
For claim 129, Zhang et al. teaches a method for treating or preventing a condition, disorder or disease in a subject, comprising administering to a subject suffering therefrom or susceptible thereto an effective amount of an oligonucleotide of claim 114 [Para starting with “for therapeutics, an animal or a human, suspected of having a disease or disorder…”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 119-120, 123, 124, 125, 130, 131, 132, and 133 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Sinnamon et al. [Site-directed RNA repair of endogenous Mecp2 RNA in neurons, PNAS, 2017], in view of Zhang et al. [US 2020 283755 A1], in view of Hansen et al. [US 2018 112217 A1], in view of Wan et al. [Rett syndrome and beyond: recurrent spontaneous and familial MECP2 mutations at CpG hotspots, Am J Hum Genet., 1999].
Regarding claim 119, Zhang et al. teaches every limitation for claims 114-118. Zhang et al. further teaches the claimed arrangement of chemically different domains that include a second domain having sugars that lack a 2’-F modification [Para starting with “In some embodiments, the guide sequence is an RNA sequence of between 10 to 50 nt in length…”]. Additionally, Zhang et al. teaches a guide sequence having a length of about 20 nucleotides and describes replacement of nucleotides at the 3’ terminus with 2’-fluoro analogues [Para starting with “in some embodiments, the modification to the guide is a chemical modification, an insertion, a deletion, or a split.”]. However, Zhang et al. does not specifically teach a second domain having a length of about 2-50 nucleobases.
For this limitation, Sinnamon teaches site-directed editing of endogenous Mecp2 RNA using an RNA guide and ADAR2 [Abstract, Introduction ¶ 3] and is being relied upon for teaching an oligonucleotide that is capable of hybridizing to a portion of a MECP2 transcript comprising a target adenosine that includes two BoxB stem-loop structures representing domain 1 and domain 2. Sinnamon et al. teaches using a guide RNA to edit the MECP2 RNA [Abstract] where the guide RNA is designed to bind to the MECP2 RNA and direct an RNA-editing enzyme, ADAR2, to a specific adenosine in the MECP2 RNA [Id.]. The guide RNA includes structural regions, including two BoxB stem-loop structures that help recruit the RNA-editing machinery where these loops are positioned relative to the adenosine being edited [Results: targeting editase to heterologously expressed MECP2 mRNA can repair MECP2 G>A mutations]. Given this, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Zhang et al. with the additional teachings of Sinnamon et al. give Sinnamon et al. teaches the use of guide oligonucleotides that contain a region for binding the MECP2 RNA and a region that recruits the RNA editing machinery to modify specific adenosine in MECP2 RNA. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Zhang et al. and Sinnamon et al. to provide an oligonucleotide having a first and second domain. Sinnamon et al. teaches a guide RNA having distinct functional regions, including a region that binds to target MECP2 and structural regions that facilitate recruitment of the RNA-editing machinery. Zhang et al. further teaches guide oligonucleotides having a distinct domains with different functions and provides the teachings regarding the length and chemical composition of those domains that include second domain having sugars that do not have a 2’-F modification allowing a skilled artisan to combine the teachings to configure a first and second domain while retaining their respective functions of targeting the MECP2 RNA and facilitating RNA editing.
In addition where claim 120 has a second domain comprising a nucleoside opposite to a target adenosine when the oligonucleotide is aligned with a target nucleic acid for complimentarity which is not specifically recited in Zhang et al., Sinnamon et al. teaches that the MECP2-targeting guide RNA contains a C mismatch at the target adenosine where the guide contains a C nucleotide opposite the target A when aligned with the target MECP2 RNA [Results: targeting editase to heterologously expressed MECP2 mRNA can repair MECP2 G>A mutations].
For claim 123 where the sugar of the opposite nucleoside is a natural DNA sugar, Zhang et al. teaches a guide molecule comprising a guide sequence configured to hybridize with a target sequence where a non-pairing cytosine is positioned opposite a target adenine [Para starting with “At least a first aspect of the invention relates to a method of modifying an adenine in a target locus”]. Zhang et al. further teaches that the guide molecule may comprise both ribonucleotides and deoxyribonucleotides that include embodiments where one or more ribonucleotides are replaced with one or more deoxyribonucleotides [The para starting with “the terms “guide molecule” and “guide RNA” are used interchangeably”]. However, Zhang et al. does not explicitly state or disclose that the nucleoside positioned opposite the target adenosine comprises a natural DNA sugar, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Zhang et al. with the additional teachings of Zhang et al. to place a deoxyribonucleoside at the nucleoside position opposite the target adenosine. Based on this, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success that the modification would have amounted to a predictable use expressly disclosed nucleotide types at a known nucleotide position where the sugar of the opposite nucleoside is a natural DNA sugar.
For claim 124, Zhang et al. teaches oligonucleotide guide molecules comprising phosphorothioate internucleotidic linkages for use in targeting a nucleic acid [Para starting with “In certain embodiments, the guide molecule comprises non-naturally occurring nucleic acids…”]. However, Zhang et al. does not teach controlling the phosphorus stereochemistry of such phosphorothioate linkages. For this limitation, Hansen et al. teaches that phosphorothioate oligonucleotides comprise stereorandom mixture of Rp and Sp linkages [Para starting with “the invention provides for a stereodefined phosphorothioate LNA oligonucleotide”] where the stereodefined oligonucleotide compositions have at least one phosphorothioate internucleotidic linkage are defined in Rp or Sp configurations in high proportion of the oligonucleotide molecules of the composition [Compositions]. In Fig. 1, Hansen et al. teaches that the parent compound has its gap-region PS linkages randomly incorporated as Rp or Sp, where compounds 1-10 have one of those linkages stereodefined as Rp. Fig. 2 also provides the corresponding Sp variants.
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Zhang et al. where phosphorothioate-containing oligonucleotides used stereocontrolled phosphoorthioate linkage techniques that were taught by Hansen et al. where Hansen et al. provided for a plurality of oligonucleotides sharing a common base sequence and the same phosphorous stereochemistry at one or more chiral internucleotidic linkages that enriches the composition where the oligonucleotides are stereochemical controlled relative to a stereo random preparation and would have resulted in a reasonable expectation of success for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine both teachings given the known stereo controlled synthesis techniques to provide the corresponding stereodefined phosphorothioate-containing guide oligonucleotides.
For claim 125, Hansen et al. further teaches the compositions comprising stereodefined oligonucleotides where a specified phosphonothioate internucleotidic linkage possesses a defined Rp or Sp configuration in at least 75% of the oligonucleotides of the relevant population [Para starting with “Typically, oligonucleotide phosphorothioates are synthesized as a random mixture of Rp and Sp…”].
For claim 130 where the condition, disorder, or disease is Rett syndrome, Sinnamon et al. discloses that Rett syndrome is a neurodevelopmental disorder due to sporadic mutations transcription factor, methyl CpG binding protein 2 (MECP2) [Introduction ¶ 1].
For claim 131 where the modulating expression and/or activity of a nucleic acid regulated by MECP2 by administering the system an oligonucleotide of claim 114, Zhang et al. discloses the oligonucleotide of claim 114 in view of Sinnamon et al. where Sinnamon et al. teaches a guide-directed editing of endogenous MECP2 transcripts for repair of mutant MECP2 RNA and restoration of MECP2 function [Significance]. Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Zhang et al. that discloses an oligonucleotide capable of hybridizing to a MECP2 transcript targeting an adenosine with the further teachings of Sinnamon et al. where the authors used a modified ADAR2 protein and an appropriate RNA guide allowed MECP2 mRNA to be repaired. Given this, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success that a person of ordinary skill would recognize the teachings of Zhang et al. and combined those teachings with Sinnamon et al. to construct an oligonucleotide capable of hybridizing to a portion of MECP2 in order to target an adenosine where the construct resulted in targeted repair of MECP2 RNA restoring function.
For claim 132 where the system comprises a premature TGA stop codon in MECP2, Wan et al. teaches a 502C-T transition in MECP2 that changes CGA codon encoding arginine to a TGA stop codon at codon 168 resulting in a premature termination of translation [Results: mutations leading to premature termination of translation (PTT)].
For claim 133 where the premature stop codon in MECP2 is R168X, Wan et al. further teaches the R168X mutation of MECP2 where a 502C-T transition changes the CGA codon encoding arginine at position 168 to a TGA stop codon which results in a premature termination codon in MECP2 [Id.]. Wan et al. further teaches R168X is a recurrent disease-associated MECP2 mutation observed in multiple individuals with Rett syndrome [Id.]. Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Zhang et al. that teaches an oligonucleotide capable of hybridizing a MECP2 transcript that contains a target adenosine with the further teachings of Wan et al. that discloses a premature stop codon such as TGA in MECP2 that would be capable of specifically targeting the R168X mutation given that Wan et al. further discloses that R168X is a known and recurrent disease-associated MECP2 nonsense mutation from conversion of the CGA codon at position 168 to a premature TGA stop codon. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination given that Sinnamon et al. demonstrates successful guide-directed adenosine editing of disease-associated mutant MECP2 transcripts, including correction of a premature stop codon, thereby establishing that mutant MECP2 transcripts were amenable to site-directed adenosine editing taught by Zhang et al. while Wan et al. identified R168X as a known MECP2 premature-stop mutation suitable for targeted correction.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631