DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 2 mm is less than 50, wherein a contact angle with water in a sheet with a thickness of 200 µm is 70 ° or less” in lines 2-5, which is indefinite because it is unclear how it limits “a thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer” that is recited in claim 1, line 1. Also, the composition of “a sheet” is unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application [0014, 0015, 0017, 0036, 0037, 0052, 0053, 0058, 0059], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 2 mm is less than 50, wherein a contact angle with water in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 200 µm is 70 ° or less”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein a change of the contact angle calculated by the following formula (1) in a sheet with a thickness of 200 µm is 40 to 60 %” in lines 3-4, which is indefinite because it is unclear how it limits “The thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” that is recited in claim 2, lines 1-2. Also, the composition of “a sheet” is unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application [0017, 0036, 0037, 0052, 0053, 0059], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein a change of the contact angle calculated by the following formula (1) in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 200 µm is 40 to 60 %”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein a tensile modulus after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is 100 MPa or less” in lines 3-4, which is indefinite because it is unclear how it limits “The thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” that is recited in claim 3, lines 1-2. Also, the composition of “a sheet” is unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application [0020, 0037, 0052, 0053, 0063], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein a tensile modulus after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 500 µm is 100 MPa or less”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein a temperature at which a loss tangent (tan δ) becomes maximum in the range of -30 to 100 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is within the range of -15 to 25 °C” in lines 3-4, which is indefinite because it is unclear how it limits “The thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” that is recited in claim 4, lines 1-2. Also, the composition of “a sheet” is unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application [0021, 0037, 0052, 0053, 0062], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein a temperature at which a loss tangent (tan δ) becomes maximum in the range of -30 to 100 °C in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 500 µm is within the range of -15 to 25 °C”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein an elongation at break in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is 500 % or more” in lines 3-4, which is indefinite because it is unclear how it limits “The thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” that is recited in claim 5, lines 1-2. Also, the composition of “a sheet” is unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application [0022, 0037, 0052, 0053, 0060, 0061], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein an elongation at break in a sheet of the thermoplastic polyurethane with a thickness of 500 µm is 500 % or more”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “A polishing layer using the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” in lines 1-2, which is indefinite because it is unclear how “A polishing layer using the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1” limits “A polishing layer”. Based on the specification of the instant application [0037], for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “A polishing layer comprising the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (WO 2020/115968 A1, cited in IDS, US 2021/0388234 A1 is English language equivalent and is used for citation, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a polyurethane for use in a polishing layer [0016], wherein the polyurethane has thermoplasticity [0027], wherein the polishing layer is a molded body of the polyurethane [0028], wherein the polishing layer has a JIS-D hardness at 23° C when immersed in warm water at 50° C for 72 hours of preferably 45 to 75 [0058], wherein the contact angle with water of the polishing layer after having been in contact with water for 15 minutes is preferably 44° or less [0059], which reads on a thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer, wherein a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water at 50 °C in a sheet with thickness of 2 mm is 45 to 75, wherein a contact angle with water in a sheet with a thickness of 200 µm is 44 ° or less.
Kato does not teach with sufficient specificity that a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 2 mm is less than 50. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the JIS-D hardness of Kato’s polishing layer at 23° C when immersed in warm water at 50° C for 72 hours to be 45 or greater and less than 50. The proposed modification would read on wherein a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 2 mm is 45 or greater and less than 50 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing planarization performance, polishing rate, and low-scratch property of Kato’s polishing layer because Kato teaches that the polishing layer has a JIS-D hardness at 23° C when immersed in warm water at 50° C for 72 hours of preferably 45 to 75 because of the particularly excellent planarization performance, polishing rate, and low-scratch property [0058].
Regarding claim 2, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kato, namely that a change of the contact angle calculated by the following formula (1) in a sheet with a thickness of 200 µm is 40 to 60 %, A/B × 100 … (1) wherein in the formula (1), A represents a contact angle 15 minutes after dropping 2.5 µL of water, and B represents a contact angle immediately after dropping 2.5 µL of water. However, Kato renders obvious all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that when the D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 *C is within the above-described preferred range, the hardness of the surface is low and the contact area is large [0015], and that by introducing a hydrophilic moiety which allow the molecular chain to move easily when it contact with water, or introducing a branched structure which is a molecular structure in which the molecular chain moves easily and which easily to swell when it contact with water, into a thermoplastic polyurethane in which a D hardness after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C is less than 50, it is possible to control so as to change from "high contact angle" which is easily to be molded by a contact with water to "low contact angle" which has high hydrophilicity [0018]. Also, Kato teaches that the polyurethane for use in a polishing layer has, at a molecular chain terminal, polyoxyalkylene [0018], that such a polyoxyalkylene bonded to a molecular chain terminal is likely to move to the surface of the polyurethane when the polyurethane comes into contact with water [0018], that accordingly, the surface of the polishing layer can be easily locally hydrophilized [0018], that the terminal group of the polyoxyalkylene sufficiently maintains the hydrophilicity [0019], that the number of repeated units of the terminal group oxyalkylene is 15 to 100 in terms of excellent balance between high hydrophilicity [0020], that the polyurethane contains 0.005 to 0.05 mmol/g of the terminal group or contains 1 to 10 mass% of the terminal group in terms of excellent balance between hydrophilicity [0021], that a polishing layer having high hydrophilicity is advantageous [0029], that with the polishing layer, the polyalkylene oxide bonded to the molecular chain terminal of the polyurethane moves, thereby making the polishing surface likely to be hydrophilized [0029], that in order to further increase the hydrophilicity of the polishing layer, a portion of the polymer polyol may be polyethylene glycol [0040], that the number of carbon atoms of the hydrocarbon group is 1 to 30 so that the hydrophilicity with an aqueous slurry is sufficient [0045], that the polyurethane is excellent in balance between hydrophilicity [0045, 0047, 0050], that the polyurethane has hydrophilicity [0046, 0052], and that the polyurethane surface is sufficiently hydrophilized [0049]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer that is rendered obvious by Kato. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 3, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kato, namely that a tensile modulus after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is 100 MPa or less. However, Kato renders obvious all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that when the tensile modulus after saturated and swollen by water of 50 °C is within the above-described preferred range, the D hardness of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer can be small [0019], and that when the change of the tensile modulus when water-saturated and swollen is within the above-described preferred range, it is possible to impart the hydrophilicity to the polishing layer while maintaining the polishing stability when it contacts with water [0020]. Also, Kato teaches that accordingly, the surface of the polishing layer can be easily locally hydrophilized [0018], that the terminal group of the polyoxyalkylene sufficiently maintains the hydrophilicity [0019], that the number of repeated units of the terminal group oxyalkylene is 15 to 100 in terms of excellent balance between high hydrophilicity [0020], that the polyurethane contains 0.005 to 0.05 mmol/g of the terminal group or contains 1 to 10 mass% of the terminal group in terms of excellent balance between hydrophilicity [0021], that a polishing layer having high hydrophilicity is advantageous [0029], that with the polishing layer, the polyalkylene oxide bonded to the molecular chain terminal of the polyurethane moves, thereby making the polishing surface likely to be hydrophilized [0029], that in order to further increase the hydrophilicity of the polishing layer, a portion of the polymer polyol may be polyethylene glycol [0040], that the number of carbon atoms of the hydrocarbon group is 1 to 30 so that the hydrophilicity with an aqueous slurry is sufficient [0045], that the polyurethane is excellent in balance between hydrophilicity [0045, 0047, 0050], that the polyurethane has hydrophilicity [0046, 0052], and that the polyurethane surface is sufficiently hydrophilized [0049]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer that is rendered obvious by Kato. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 4, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kato, namely that a temperature at which a loss tangent (tan δ) becomes maximum in the range of -30 to 100 °C in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is within the range of -15 to 25 °C. However, Kato renders obvious all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that when the temperature at which a loss tangent (tan S) becomes maximum is within the above-described preferred range, it is possible to control the D hardness of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer in the suitable range [0021]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer that is rendered obvious by Kato. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 5, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kato, namely that an elongation at break in a sheet with a thickness of 500 µm is 500 % or more. However, Kato renders obvious all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that when the elongation at break is within the above-described preferred range, the contact area can be increased [0022]. Also, Kato teaches that the contact angle with water of the polishing layer after having been in contact with water for 15 minutes is preferably 44° or less [0059]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer that is rendered obvious by Kato. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 6, Kato teaches that the polyurethane is a reaction product of an organic polyisocyanate, a polymer polyol, and a chain extender [0022], which reads on the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1, at least comprising a structural unit derived from a chain extender, a structural unit derived from polyol, and a structural unit derived from polyisocyanate as claimed. Kato teaches that it is preferably that 70 mass % or more of the polymer polyol is polytetramethylene glycol having a number-average molecular weight of 500 to 1500 because a polyurethane excellent in balance between planarization performance and scratch resistance, and having excellent optical transmission can be easily obtained [0040], and that in order to further increase the hydrophilicity of the polishing layer while maintaining the abrasion resistance thereof, a portion of the polymer polyol may be polyethylene glycol having a number-average molecular weight of 400 to 2000 [0040], which optionally reads on wherein the polyol contains 62 mol% or less of polyethylene glycol. The mol% is based on the calculation 30 g / 400 g/mol / (30 g / 400 g/mol + 70 g / 1500 g/mol) * 100% = 62 mol%.
Kato does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the polyol contains 15 mol% or more of polyethylene glycol. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Kato’s polyethylene glycol to modify a portion of Kato’s polymer polyol in Kato’s reaction product in Kato’s polyurethane, and to optimize the mol % of Kato’s polyethylene glycol in Kato’s polymer polyol to be from 15 mol % to 62 mol %. The proposed modification would read on wherein the polyol contains 15 mol% or more of polyethylene glycol as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing planarization performance, scratch resistance, optical transmission, hydrophilicity, and abrasion resistance of a polishing layer of Kato’s polyurethane and polishing layer because Kato teaches that it is preferably that 70 mass % or more of the polymer polyol is polytetramethylene glycol having a number-average molecular weight of 500 to 1500 because a polyurethane excellent in balance between planarization performance and scratch resistance, and having excellent optical transmission can be easily obtained [0040], and that in order to further increase the hydrophilicity of the polishing layer while maintaining the abrasion resistance thereof, a portion of the polymer polyol may be polyethylene glycol having a number-average molecular weight of 400 to 2000 [0040], which means that the mol % of Kato’s polyethylene glycol in Kato’s polymer polyol would have affected planarization performance, scratch resistance, optical transmission, hydrophilicity, and abrasion resistance of a polishing layer of Kato’s polyurethane and polishing layer.
Regarding claim 7, Kato teaches that the polyurethane is a reaction product of an organic polyisocyanate, a polymer polyol, and a chain extender [0022], which reads on the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1, at least comprising a structural unit derived from a chain extender, a structural unit derived from polyol, and a structural unit derived from polyisocyanate as claimed. Kato teaches that in the polyurethane, a ratio of nitrogen atoms derived from an isocyanate group of the organic polyisocyanate is 4.6 to 6.8 mass % [0024, 0051], which reads on wherein a nitrogen content ratio derived from isocyanate groups of the polyisocyanate is 4.6 to 6.8 % by mass.
Kato does not teach with sufficient specificity that a nitrogen content ratio derived from isocyanate groups of the polyisocyanate is 4.0 to 5.0 % by mass. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Kato’s ratio of nitrogen atoms derived from an isocyanate group of Kato’s organic polyisocyanate in Kato’s polyurethane to be 4.6 to 5.0 mass %. The proposed modification would read on wherein a nitrogen content ratio derived from isocyanate groups of the polyisocyanate is 4.6 to 5.0 % by mass as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing planarization performance, low-scratch property, hardness, and likeliness of Kato’s terminal group represented by a formula to move to the polyurethane surface of Kato’s polyurethane and polishing layer because Kato teaches that in the polyurethane, a ratio of nitrogen atoms derived from an isocyanate group of the organic polyisocyanate is 4.6 to 6.8 mass % [0024, 0051], more preferably 4.8 to 6.5 mass %, and particularly preferably 5.0 to 6.2 mass %, because a polishing layer particularly excellent in planarization performance and low-scratch property can be obtained [0051], that when the ratio of the nitrogen atoms is too low, the hardness tends to be reduced [0051], and that when the ratio of the nitrogen atoms is too high, there is a tendency that the terminal group represented by a formula is less likely to move to the polyurethane surface [0051].
Regarding claim 8, Kato teaches a polishing layer using the polyurethane for use in a polishing layer [0017], which reads on a polishing layer using the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer according to claim 1 as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Kato teaches that the polyurethane molded body used as the polishing layer is non-porous and non-foam [0057], wherein the polyurethane has thermoplasticity [0027], which reads on wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane for polishing layer is a non-foamed material as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Kato teaches a polishing pad including the polishing layer [0031], which reads on a polishing pad equipped with the polishing layer according to claim 8 as claimed.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767