DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2025 and 03/26/2024 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
It is appropriate for the Examiner to determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility by evaluating the claim in accordance to the Subject Matter Eligibility Test as recited in the following Steps: 1, 2A, and 2B, see MPEP 2106(III.).
Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Test: Step 1:
First, the Examiner is to establish whether the claim falls within any statutory category including a process, a machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, see MPEP 2106.03(II.) and MPEP 2106.03(I).
Claims 17, 18 are related to systems, and claim 19 is also related to a method. Claims 1-16 are related to a “non-transitory” processor readable media storing instructions. Accordingly, these claims are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Test: Step 2A- Prong One:
Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test demonstrates whether a clam is directed to a judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.04(I.). Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, where Prong One establishes the judicial exception. Regarding Prong One of Step 2A, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes, see MPEP 2106.04(II.)(A.)(1.) and 2106.04(a)(2).
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea as underlined in the following limitations. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a biological information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
obtaining biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device; and
causing a display device to display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “certain methods of organizing human activity”, more specifically managing interactions between people because the step of “display” both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information is a presentation of information to a user which is a social activity, and is thus part of the management of interactions between people.
The abstract idea recited in claims 17 and 19 are similar to that of claim 1.
Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea are deemed “additional elements” (i.e., obtainment device) and will be discussed in further detail below.
Accordingly, the claim as a whole recites at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims further define the at least one abstract idea, and thus fails to make the abstract idea any less abstract as noted below:
Claim 2 recites further abstract limitations describing the processed information as indicating a trend of change in the biological information, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 3 recites further abstract limitation describing the processed information as an image indicating an increase or decrease in value calculated, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 4 recites further abstract limitation of the displaying of the information as switching between a displayed and hidden state of the waveform indicating a time series change in the biological info, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 5 recites further abstract limitations of calculating an index value indicating a magnitude of psychological stress of the user and further displaying a waveform indicating the change in index over time, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 6 recites further abstract limitations of determining if the obtained biological info is valid and further calculating the index value of the valid info, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 7 recites further abstract limitations further describing the result of the processing as information indicating an average value of the index value, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 9 recites further abstract limitations of “displaying” the waveform of the counseling information as described, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 10 recites further abstract limitations describing the “displaying” of information as displaying an average value of the index value calculated from bio info obtain from a period of time from the counseling of the user, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 11 recites further abstract limitations of “dividing” the counselling period into sections and then further “displaying” the waveform indicating the time series change in the index value as claimed, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 12 recites further detail of the sections that are obtained by dividing the periods by scenarios, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 14 recites further abstract limitations of “displaying” the information indicating the event occurs on the waveform as claimed, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 15 recites further abstract limitation describing the “displaying” the image data obtained by capturing the user together with both the waveform indicating the time series change in the bio info and the info indicating the result of the processing using the predetermined number of pieces of the bio info, further describing the abstract idea. Claim 16 recites further abstract limitations of “displaying” a waveform indicating time series change in the bio info and info indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the bio info, further describing the abstract idea.
Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Test: Step 2A- Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrates the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exceptions into a “practical application,” see MPEP 2106.04(II.)(A.)(2.) and 2106.04(d)(I.).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
Regarding claim 1:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a biological information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising (amounts to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f)):
obtaining biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device; and (merely data gathering steps as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(g) and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc.)
causing a display device to (amounts to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation of A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a biological information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process, and use of the display device, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). [0031] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic computing device with a recording medium. [0030, 0041] recites the use of the generic display device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Regarding the additional limitation of obtaining biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device, this is merely pre-solution activity. The Examiner submits that this additional limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity of collecting data to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). [0012, 0013] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the obtainment device for obtaining the biological information. The use of the obtainment device is used to perform actions for the system including data gathering for the abstract idea, and thus recites insignificant pre-solution activities.
Claim 17 additionally recites an information processing device, comprising a processor and a memory storing one or more programs. The Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). [Figure 3, 0029] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic information processing device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Additionally, claim 19 recites a biological information processing system including an information processing device configured to communicate with a biological information obtainment device. The Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). [0048] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic information processing system with the processing device with generic communication with the generic information obtainment device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, see MPEP 2106.04(d), 2106.05(a), 2106.05(b).
The remaining dependent claim limitations not addressed above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as set below:
Claim 8 recites further detail of the obtained biological information that is obtained as being obtained for a counseling period during when the user was receiving counseling, however this detail merely explains the insignificant pre solution activity. Claim 9 recites further additional elements of storing the counseling information and the waveform information in a storage part, which recites limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components and further the storage of the obtained info which recites the insignificant pre solution activity. Claim 13 recites further insignificant pre solution activity of data gathering by receiving input text data that is included in the obtained counseling information. Claim 14 recite further insignificant pre solution activity of storing the data of the occurrence of an event during the obtained biological information. Claim 16 recites the generic use of “facial recognition” as a tool to be used for the abstract idea and recites mere computer implementation. Claim 18 recites the generic computer implementation of the info processing device that communicates with the bio info obtainment device, however these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components.
Thus, taken alone and in ordered combination, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, the independent claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, see MPEP 2106.05(II.). Further, it may need to be established, when determining whether a claim recites significantly more than a judicial exception, that the additional elements recite well understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the additional limitation of A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a biological information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process, and use of the display device, and the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). [0031] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic computing device with a recording medium. [0030, 0041] recites the use of the generic display device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and does not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding the additional limitation of obtaining biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device of claim 1, this is merely pre-solution activity. The Examiner submits that this additional limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity of collecting data to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), specifically “storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93” and “Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)”). [0012, 0013] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the obtainment device for obtaining the biological information. The use of the obtainment device is used to perform actions for the system including data gathering for the abstract idea, and thus recites insignificant pre-solution activities. [0033] of the Applicant’s Specification further recites the storage of the biological data that is retrieved, and the device sends the information to the processing device to obtain the biological information as recited in [0048]; the use of this technology recites well understood, routine, and conventional activities and does not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 17 additionally recites an information processing device, comprising a processor and a memory storing one or more programs. The Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). [Figure 3, 0029] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic information processing device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and does not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additionally, claim 19 recites a biological information processing system including an information processing device configured to communicate with a biological information obtainment device. The Examiner submits that these limitations amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer and generic computing components (see MPEP § 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), specifically “Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)”). [0048] of the Applicant’s Specification recites the use of the generic information processing system with the processing device with generic communication with the generic information obtainment device. The additional elements recite the use of generic computing components with a non-specific implementation to carry out steps of the abstract idea without showing an improvement to technology, computers or other technical fields, and thus recites mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. The communication and transmission or forwarding of biological information to the information processing device recites well understood, routine, and conventional activity and does not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
For the reasons stated, the claims fail the Subject Matter Eligibility Test and therefore claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200302825 A1 to Sachs et al. (“Sachs”):
Regarding claim 1:
Sachs teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a biological information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: ([0091]- overall system for tracking physiological data for a patient to make determinations about the stress of the patient. [0221, 0226]- overall computing system described)
obtaining biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device; and ([0086, 0104]- physiological monitoring tools connected to the system used for gathering physiological data of the user.)
causing a display device to display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information. ([0224]- use of display unit. [0087]- use of a user interface on the user’s device. [0099]- UI shows a graph of the biometric information obtained over time. [0104, 0105]- another part of the interface displays calculated cognitive state generated by the system for the user based on the obtained biometric data, such as during playback of media content (interpreted as information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the bio info). [0107]- signal acquisition (of the physiological data) is used in periods of time to monitor for stress)
Regarding claim 2:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the information indicating the result of the processing is information indicating a trend of change in the biological information. ([0125]- changes in physiological data considered when monitoring for the psychological stress.)
Regarding claim 3:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the information indicating the result of the processing is an image indicating an increase or decrease in a value calculated based on the biological information. ([0099]- Figure 5 shows a metric of a “Scene Response” as +15 of how a patient does a cognitive response to an image with the use of the sensor data, indicates an increase in a value calculated based on the bio info.)
Regarding claim 4:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises performing switching in accordance with an operation between a displayed state and a hidden state of the waveform indicating the time-series change in the biological information, or the information indicating the result of the processing using the biological information. ([0099]- Figure 5 shows 2 states of the user interface, one without the cognitive response graph, and another depiction with it, which indicates the hidden state.)
Regarding claim 5:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises calculating an index value indicating a magnitude of a psychological stress of the user, using the biological information, and ([0091, 0097]- cognitive state calculated interpreted as the index value indicating a magnitude of psychological stress of the user.)
displaying a waveform indicating change in the index value as the waveform indicating the time-series change in the biological information. ([0100]- cognitive response shown in the graph of Figure 5)
Regarding claim 6:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Sachs further teaches wherein the biological information processing program causes the computer to execute a process of process further comprises determining whether or not the obtained biological information is valid biological information, and ([0169]- confirmation of proper synchronization of signals that are time synchronized, indicating valid bio info.)
calculating the index value using the biological information determined to be valid. ([0104, 0105]- another part of the interface displays calculated cognitive state generated by the system for the user based on the obtained biometric data)
Regarding claim 7:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Sachs further teaches wherein the information indicating the result of the processing is information indicating an average value of the index value. ([0100]- average response outputted)
Regarding claim 8:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Sachs further teaches wherein the biological information is biological information obtained for a counseling period during which the user is receiving counseling. ([0086, 0099]- physiological info obtained during a session of therapy using therapy content of videos or sounds)
Regarding claim 9:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises storing counseling information in a storage part after an end of the counseling, the counseling information including the waveform indicating time-series change in the index value and the information indicating the result of the processing using the predetermined number of the pieces of the biological information, and in response to receiving a display request for the counseling information, causing the display device to display the waveform indicating the time-series change in the index value and the information indicating the result of the processing using the predetermined number of the pieces of the biological information included in the counseling information. ([0099-0104])
Regarding claim 10:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises causing the display device to further display an average value of the index value calculated from biological information obtained for a period of a most-recent prior counseling of the user. ([0100]- average)
Regarding claim 11:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises dividing the counseling period into a plurality of sections, and ([0104]- during or after the content)
causing the display device to display the information indicating the result of the processing using the biological information obtained in each of the plurality of sections together with the waveform indicating the time-series change in the index value for each of the plurality of sections. ([0100-0101])
Regarding claim 12:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Sachs further teaches wherein the plurality of sections are sections obtained by dividing the counseling period by scenarios in the counseling. ([0178]- use of certain scenarios)
Regarding claim 13:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises receiving an input of text data in association with the sections, and including information associating the text data with the sections in the counseling information. ([0087]- use of user interface to input)
Regarding claim 14:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises in response to receiving an operation indicating occurrence of an event during obtainment of the biological information, storing information indicating that the event occurs in a storage part, and displaying the information indicating that the event occurs on the waveform indicating the time-series change in the biological information. ([0098, 0161]- stores info, responses stored)
Regarding claim 15:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises causing the display device to display image data obtained by capturing the user together with both the waveform indicating the time-series change in the biological information and the information indicating the result of the processing using the predetermined number of the pieces of the biological information. ([0224]- use of display unit. [0087]- use of a user interface on the user’s device. [0099]- UI shows a graph of the biometric information obtained over time. [0104, 0105]- another part of the interface displays calculated cognitive state generated by the system for the user based on the obtained biometric data, such as during playback of media content (interpreted as information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the bio info). [0107]- signal acquisition (of the physiological data) is used in periods of time to monitor for stress.)
Regarding claim 16:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Sachs further teaches wherein the process further comprises performing facial expression recognition of the user based on the image data, and causing the display device to display a result of the facial expression recognition together with both the waveform indicating the time-series change in the biological information and the information indicating the result of the processing using the predetermined number of the pieces of the biological information. ([0125]- use of captured facial expressions)
Regarding claim 17:
Sachs teaches an information processing device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: ([0091]- overall system for tracking physiological data for a patient to make determinations about the stress of the patient. [0221, 0226]- overall computing system described)
obtain biological information of a user from a biological information obtainment device; and ([0086, 0104]- physiological monitoring tools connected to the system used for gathering physiological data of the user.)
cause a display device to display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information. ([0224]- use of display unit. [0087]- use of a user interface on the user’s device. [0099]- UI shows a graph of the biometric information obtained over time. [0104, 0105]- another part of the interface displays calculated cognitive state generated by the system for the user based on the obtained biometric data, such as during playback of media content (interpreted as information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the bio info). [0107]- signal acquisition (of the physiological data) is used in periods of time to monitor for stress.)
Regarding claim 18:
Sachs teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Sachs further teaches a biological information processing system, comprising: a biological information obtainment device; and the information processing device of claim 17 that is configured to communicate with the biological information obtainment device. ([0086]- Figure 1 shows the connection of the physiological monitoring tools (interpreted as the biological information obtainment device) with the therapy selection system (interpreted as the information processing device).)
Regarding claim 19:
Sachs teaches a biological information processing method, which is performed by a biological information processing system including a biological information obtainment device and an information processing device configured to communicate with the biological information obtainment device, ([0091]- overall system for tracking physiological data for a patient to make determinations about the stress of the patient. [0221, 0226]- overall computing system described. [0086]- Figure 1 shows the connection of the physiological monitoring tools (interpreted as the biological information obtainment device) with the therapy selection system (interpreted as the information processing device).)
the biological information processing method comprising: obtaining biological information of a user from the biological information obtainment device; and ([0086, 0104]- physiological monitoring tools connected to the system used for gathering physiological data of the user.)
causing a display device to display both a waveform indicating time-series change in the biological information and information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the biological information, ([0224]- use of display unit. [0087]- use of a user interface on the user’s device. [0099]- UI shows a graph of the biometric information obtained over time. [0104, 0105]- another part of the interface displays calculated cognitive state generated by the system for the user based on the obtained biometric data, such as during playback of media content (interpreted as information indicating a result of processing using a predetermined number of pieces of the bio info). [0107]- signal acquisition (of the physiological data) is used in periods of time to monitor for stress.)
the obtaining and the displaying being performed by the information processing device. ([0086, 0087]- use of the therapy selection system (interpreted as the information processing device) that obtains data from the physiological monitoring tools and uses a user interface for displaying the information.)
The following references have been considered as relevant, however have not been used in the above rejections:
US-20210401338-A1 to Flickinger teaches of gathering data of a user’s physical features to estimate emotional state.
WO-2021195316-A1 to Narayanan et al. teaches of a system for collecting sensor data for a user during sleep and determining the efficacy of a treatment.
NPL “Stress detection in computer users through non-invasive monitoring of physiological signals” to Zhai et al. teaches of gathering biometric data of a subject to be used as input for a machine learning model to determine correlations with the emotional state of the subject
Conclusion
/CONSTANTINE SIOZOPOULOS/
Examiner
Art Unit 3686