DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 26 June 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou) (US 2019/0373450 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10, and 16, Zhou discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (e.g., wireless device 1502) { (see Figs. 15, 17-18, 19, & 21) }, the method comprising:
receiving at least one radio resource control (RRC) message that configures at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, wherein a TCI state of the at least one TCI state is used as a reference for reception of a downlink signal, transmission of an uplink signal, or a combination thereof {{ (see pp. 23-24, [0229, 0236, 0240]) };
receiving a medium access control control element MAC CE that activates a subset of TCI states of the at least one TCI state and maps the subset of TCI states to a set of TCI codepoints of downlink control information (DCI) { (see pg. 23, [0029, lines 8-23; 0236, lines 1-7]; pg. 24, [0240]; Figs. 17-18, 19, & 21), where the system provides MAC-CE commands },
wherein an activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints corresponds to a TCI state that provides both a downlink spatial receive parameter for reception of the downlink signal and uplink spatial relation information for transmission of the uplink signal { (see pp. 23-24, [0236, 0240]), where the system provides a mapping between TCI states and TCI codepoints, and the system provides spatial parameters for downlink and uplink or joint (see pg. 23, [0029]; pg. 24, [0241]; pg. 38, [0373-0374]; Figs. 19 & 21) }; and
receiving the DCI, wherein the DCI comprises a TCI field that points to the activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints { (see pg. 23, [0029, lines 8-23; 0236, lines 1-7]; pg. 24, [0240]; Figs. 17-18, 19, & 21) }.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou) (US 2019/0373450 A1) in view of further support Yi et al. (US 2023/0308237 A1; hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10, and 16, Zhou discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 115){ (see Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }, the method comprising:
receiving at least one radio resource control (RRC) message that configures at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, wherein a TCI state of the at least one TCI state is used as a reference for reception of a downlink signal, transmission of an uplink signal, or a combination thereof { (see pg. 7, [0114]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15), where the system provides a UE with a RRC message (see pg. 6, [0107]; pg. 1, [0008]) };
receiving a medium access control control element MAC CE that activates a subset of TCI states of the at least one TCI state and maps the subset of TCI states to a set of TCI codepoints (e.g., value) of downlink control information (DCI) { (see pg. 7, [0114]; pg. 15, [0152]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15), where the system provides a MAC CE (see pg. 6, [0107]; pg. 1, [0008]), and the system provides a value (see pg. 14, 0167]; pg. 15, [0713, lines 5-9]) }; and
receiving the DCI, wherein the DCI comprises a TCI field that points to the activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints { (see pg. 7, [0114, 0109, 0112]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15), where the system provides TCI states MAC CE (see pg. 6, [0107]; pg. 1, [0008]), and the system provides a value (see pg. 14, 0167]; pg. 15, [0713, lines 5-9]) }.
Zhou does not specifically disclose having the feature(s) wherein an activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints corresponds to a TCI state that provides both a downlink spatial receive parameter for reception of the downlink signal and uplink spatial relation information for transmission of the uplink signal. However, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) wherein an activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints corresponds to a TCI state that provides both a downlink spatial receive parameter for reception of the downlink signal and uplink spatial relation information for transmission of the uplink signal was well known in the art, as taught by Yi.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses the feature(s)
wherein an activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints corresponds to a TCI state that provides both a downlink spatial receive parameter for reception of the downlink signal and uplink spatial relation information for transmission of the uplink signal { (see pp. 23-24, [0236, 0240]), where the system provides a mapping between TCI states and TCI codepoints, and the system provides spatial parameters for downlink and uplink or joint (see pg. 23, [0029]; pg. 24, [0241]; pg. 38, [0373-0374]; Figs. 19 & 21) }. As a note for alternative further support, Yi at the least further discloses the feature(s)
receiving a medium access control control element MAC CE that activates a subset of TCI states of the at least one TCI state and maps the subset of TCI states to a set of TCI codepoints of downlink control information (DCI) { (see pg. 23, [0029, lines 8-23; 0236, lines 1-7]; pg. 24, [0240]; Figs. 17-18, 19, & 21), where the system provides MAC-CE commands }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou as further supported by Yi to have the feature(s) wherein an activated TCI codepoint of the set of TCI codepoints corresponds to a TCI state that provides both a downlink spatial receive parameter for reception of the downlink signal and uplink spatial relation information for transmission of the uplink signal, in order to provide a default spatial filter determination, as taught by Yi (see title; pg. 45, [0421, lines 1-6]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 2), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the TCI state comprises a second quasi-co-location type that provides uplink spatial relation information for uplink transmission, a first quasi-co-location type that provides both downlink spatial receive parameter for downlink reception and uplink spatial relation information for uplink transmission, or a QCl-TypeD that provides a downlink spatial receive parameter for downlink reception and the second quasi-co-location type that provides uplink spatial relation information for uplink transmission { (see pg. 7, [0114]; pg. 12, [0156]; pp. 6-7, [0111, 0108]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 3), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: in response to receiving the DCI indicating a TCI including the QCL-TypeD but not the second quasi-co-location type, apply the QCL-TypeD to the downlink signal as a spatial receive parameter, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to maintain a current uplink spatial relation information for the uplink signal; in response to receiving the DCI indicating the TCI including the second quasi-co-location type, apply the second quasi-co-location type to the uplink signal as spatial relation information, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to maintain a current downlink spatial receive parameter for the downlink signal; in response to receiving the DCI indicating the TCI including the first quasi-co-location type, apply the first quasi-co-location type to the downlink signal as a spatial receive parameter, and to the uplink signal as spatial relation information; and in response to receiving the DCI indicating the TCI including a QCL-TypeD and a second quasi-co-location type, apply the QCL-TypeD to the downlink signal as the spatial receive parameter, and the second quasi-co-location type to the uplink signal as spatial relation information { (see pg. 12, [0156]; pp. 6-7, [0111, 0108]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein the downlink signal comprises a UE dedicated physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a corresponding bandwidth part (BWP), a corresponding component carrier, or a combination thereof and a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) that is not configured or signaled in the TCI state via the MAC CE { (see pg. 12, [0156]; pp. 6-7, [0111, 0108]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein the uplink signal comprises a UE dedicated physical uplink data channel and physical uplink control channel in a corresponding bandwidth part (BWP), a corresponding component carrier, or a combination thereof and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or resource set that is not configured or signaled spatial relation information via the MAC CE { (see pg. 12, [0156]; pp. 6-7, [0108]) }.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein a QCL-TypeA is included with the QCL-TypeD or the first quasi-co-location type, the QCL-TypeA is a non-zero power channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) resource with parameter trs-info, or without trs-info and without repetition, the QCL-TypeD comprises a QCL-TypeA non-zero power CSI RS resource, or a non-zero power CSI RS resource with repetition { (see pg. 12, [0156]; pp. 6-7, [0108]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein the second quasi-co-location type comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB), a non-zero power channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) { (see pp. 6-7, [0108]; pg. 12, [0156]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 3), in addition Zhou further discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the first quasi-co-location type, the QCL-TypeD, or a combination thereof comprises a non-zero power channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) { (see pp. 6-7, [0108]; pg. 12, [0156]; Figs. 1, 5, 8, &15) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yi et al. (US 2022/0361202 A1) discloses panel activation and reference signal association based on channel state information report.
Yi et al. (US 2023/0239125 A1) discloses default common beam mechanism for multiple beam scenario.
Yi et al. (US 2022/0264475 A1) discloses pathloss determination for beam management sounding reference signals.
Zhu et al. (US 2023/02765454 A1) discloses configuring uplink transmission configuration indication states.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
10 September 2026