DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the April 24, 2026 response, claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10-15, and 21 were amended, claim 3 was cancelled, and claims 22-28 were added. A restriction requirement was made and in the reply filed on August 18, 2026 Applicant elected Group I, claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 22, and 23, without traverse. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 10-15, 21, and 24-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “paediatric supplement or human milk fortifier composition” or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magliola (CA 2767960) in view of Hansen (US 6753350), Binia (WO 2019008104A1; citations are to US 2020/0305488), and Perrin (US 2013/0011377).
Magliola teaches nutritional supplement compositions for breast-fed infants, “aimed at preserving exclusive breast feeding in infants” and “for use in improving the health of breast-fed infants” (title; abstract; see entire document). In a preferred embodiment, the composition includes a mixture of docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) (p.9 lines 13-16). A daily dose of 1 ml comprises 45 mg ALA and 20 mg DHA (p.17 lines 10-19). These dosages are within the ranges in instant claim 1.
Magliola further teaches prebiotics including fucosyl oligosaccharides and other human milk oligosaccharides (p.10 lines 28-32, p.11 lines 12-16). The prebiotic dose is 0.1-7 g/day, and “more preferably 0.5 to 3 g/day” (p.12 lines 6-9), which ranges include the range of 2’-FL in claim 1 and the sum of 2’-FL in claim 1 and LNnT in claims 4, 5, and 22. Other suitable nutrients include those in instant claims 4 and 5 (p.7 lines 4-16; claims 2-3) and thiamin (claim 3).
Magliola does not specifically teach eicosapentanoic acid (EPA), 2-fucosyllactose (2’-FL), lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT), and thiamin monophosphate in claims 1, 4, 5, 22, and 23.
Hansen is drawn to a method for reducing the incidence of intraventricular hemorrhage in preterm infants, involving the administration to those infants of a combination of docosahexaenoic acid and arachidonic acid (abstract; see entire document), substantially free of EPA or “less than about 16 mg EPA/100 kcal” (col. 6 lines 31-47). Hansen teaches including “low EPA tuna fish oil” comprising about 5.6% EPA to mimic “EPA … in the range of that present in breast milk” (col. 8 lines 15-19).
Binia teaches a fortifier composition “for use to supplement the breast milk produced for an infant of up to 1 month of age by a mother who has given birth by C-section”, comprising human milk oligosaccharides among which 2’-FL and LNnT are “particularly beneficial” (para. 0011; see entire document including title; abstract; paras. 0010-14). Binia teaches including 2’-FL at 33-800 mg/L or 400-10000 mg/L, and LNnT at 0.1-43 mg/L or 22-650 mg/L (para. 0061 Table II, para. 0064 Table III). An example formulation comprises thiamin or vitamin B1 at 0.159 mg per 100 kCal (Example 4, Table XVI). Other nutrients include ALA, other polyunsaturated fatty acids in instant claims 4 and 5 (paras. 0072, 0076).
Perrin is drawn to nutritional supplement compositions comprising ALA, DHA, EPA, and vitamin B1, among others (title; abstract; paras. 0013, 0019; claims 1, 2, 24, 28). Perrin teaches vitamin B1 may be provided in a “form selected from one or more of the group consisting of thiamine, thiamine monophosphate, thiamine diphosphate,…” (para.0013). Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Magliola, Hansen, Binia, and Perrin and include ALA, DHA, EPA, 2’-FL, LNnT, and thiamin monophosphate at quantities within respective reference guidelines. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because all are drawn to infant nutritional compositions comprising LC-PUFAs, Magliola teaches including ALA and DHA (at doses within the ranges in instant claim 1), 2’-FL and other human milk oligosaccharides (at 0.1-7 g/day, and “more preferably 0.5 to 3 g/day” (p.12 lines 6-9)), and Hansen and Binia provide further dosage guidelines for EPA, 2’-FL, and LNnT. A person of ordinary skill in feeding infants would know that the feeding volume and nutrient load depend on the infant’s weight as a primary factor, and the skilled person thus could optimize within prior art guidelines. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted). Also it is noted that the claims here are drawn to “pediatric supplement or human milk fortifier”, not infant formulas or breast milk replacement as the main diet for infants. The claims recite a “daily amount” for supplementing an infant’s main diet. Moreover all of the recited nutrients are known as beneficial for human infant growth and development. Thus the fact that the dose ranges are lower than in typical infant formulas is not seen as lending patentable significance or aid in overcoming prima facie obviousness without more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9, 22, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 22, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 21, 27, and 28 of copending Application No. 18/695455 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a pediatric supplement or human milk fortifier comprising identical ingredients at identical dose ranges or amounts within the ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants states that the provisional double patenting rejection(s) is premature for a terminal disclaimer and will reconsider when claims are found allowable. (Remarks, 10, April 24, 2026.)
The provisional double patenting rejection is maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or arguments that effectively overcome the rejection(s).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614