DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 1, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejection and abstract objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of claims 1-15 and the abstract objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8-12, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230345332 A1) in view of Wu (US 20230388891 A1) further in view of Shrestha et al. (US 20220046491 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Wang teaches,
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon; and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: (Figure 11, paragraph 0126, 0127 – The device to include a UE has a processor, and executes instructions)
[while maintaining a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first base station (BS) of a first network, receive transmissions from a BS of a second network] during at least one period specified in a switch gap configuration; (Wang - paragraph 0059 - transmission from a BS of a network during a switch gap configuration)
when the second command suspends continued usage of the switch gap configuration following the completion of the handover procedure, suspend reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network following the completion of the handover procedure. (Wang paragraph 0066, figure 2, label 280’ – The terminal device may stop the TDM pattern for transmitting to the second network device after the completion of the handover procedure. Paragraph 0065, Figure 2 – This is directly linked to the second command which may release or switch the second device (label 270) prior to stopping the TDM pattern (label 280’)).
Wang fails to teach,
receive a first RRC reconfiguration message from the first BS of the first network, the first RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command [and a second command] wherein:
the first command instructs the UE to begin a handover procedure from the first BS of the first network to a second BS of the first network, and
initiate an execution of the handover procedure according to the first command; and
while maintaining a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first base station (BS) of a first network, receive transmissions from a BS of a second network [during at least one period specified in a switch gap configuration];
Wu teaches,
While maintaining a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first base station (BS) of a first network, receive transmissions from a BS of a second network [during at least one time period specified in a switch gap configuration]; (Wu - paragraph 0107, figure 3a, label 392a transmission of RRC reconfiguration from second base station)
receive a first RRC reconfiguration message from the first BS of the first network, the first RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command [and a second command], the first command instructing the UE to begin a handover procedure from the first BS of the first network to a second BS of the first network, and (Wu paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN as the first command)
initiate an execution of the handover procedure according to the first command; and (Wu paragraph 0085, figure 3A, 338A – The conditional handover is completed with the C-MN as the first command)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Wang and Wu may not explicitly teach,
the second command is generated by the second BS of the first network and configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure;
Shrestha teaches,
the second command is generated by the second BS of the first network and configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure; (Paragraphs 0064-0067 – Following completion of the handover the target BS (label 315, also the second BS of the first network) submits a second command of an RRC reconfiguration message (label 375) to the UE (label 305)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wang-Wu to incorporate the second command configuring the UE teachings of Shrestha. The purpose of doing so is to reduce latency during a time period where reconfiguration occurs (figure 3, label 395) by maintaining the connection between the UE and both source base stations and only doing reconfiguration after the target base station is connected to during label 375 RRC reconfiguration (Shrestha paragraph 0068, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message. (Wang, paragraph 0059, figure 2, label 250 – The UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message with the switch gap configuration.)
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
receive an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a switch- GapConfig information element (IE) that includes the switch gap configuration. (Wang, paragraph 0059, figure 2, label 250 – The UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message with the switch gap configuration.)
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches,
A base station (BS) of a first network, the BS comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon; and (Figure 11, paragraph 0126, 0127 – The device to include a base station has a processor, and executes instructions)
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-ex-ecutable instructions to: (Figure 11, paragraph 0126, 0127 – The device to include a base station has a processor, and executes instructions)
maintain a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a user equipment (UE) while facilitating gaps in communication with the UE according to a switch gap configuration; and (Wang, paragraph 0059, figure 2, label 250 – The UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message with the switch gap configuration.)
Wang fails to teach,
transmit, to the UE, an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, wherein:
the first command instructs the UE to begin a handover procedure from the BS of the first network to another BS of the first network, and the second command is generated by the other BS of the first network and configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure.
Wu teaches,
transmit, to the UE, an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, wherein:
the first command instructs the UE to begin a handover procedure from the BS of the first network to another BS of the first network, (Wu paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN as part of the first command. Paragraph 0085-0095 - The conditional handover may require certain numerical or empirical conditions to be met by the UE following the completion of the handover)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Wang and Wu fail to teach,
and the second command is generated by the other BS of the first network and configures the UE’s whether usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure.
Shrestha teaches,
and the second command is generated by the other BS of the first network and configures the UE’s whether usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure. (Paragraphs 0064-0067 – Following completion of the handover the target BS (label 315, also the second BS of the first network) submits a second command of an RRC reconfiguration message (label 375) to the UE (label 305)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wang-Wu to incorporate the second command configuring the UE teachings of Shrestha. The purpose of doing so is to reduce latency during a time period where reconfiguration occurs (figure 3, label 395) by maintaining the connection between the UE and both source base stations and only doing reconfiguration after the target base station is connected to during label 375 RRC reconfiguration (Shrestha paragraph 0068, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches,
Before transmitting the RRC configuration message to the UE [transmit, to the other BS of the first network, a handover request message] comprising the switch gap configuration; and (paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 306A – The first base station sends the conditional handover request to the second base station.) (Wang, paragraph 0049 – The TDM pattern is referred to as a switch gap).
[receive, from the other BS of the first network in response to the handover request message, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the first command and the] second command. (Wang, paragraph 0049 – The TDM pattern is referred to as a switch gap. Paragraphs 0053-0063 – The TDM pattern is transmitted by the first network device to the UE as part of the handover procedure as a second command).
Wang fails to teach,
The switch gap configuration,
The handover request comprising the second command.
Wu teaches,
The BS of claim 9, wherin the at least one processor further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
Before transmitting the RRC configuration message to the UE transmit, to the other BS of the first network, a handover request message comprising the [switch gap configuration]; and (paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 306A – The first base station sends the conditional handover request to the second base station.)
receive, from the other BS of the first network in response to the handover request message, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the first command [and the second command]. (Wu paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN which is the first command). (paragraph 0085, figure 3A, label 306A – The other BS sends an acknowledgment.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 11, Wang fails to teach,
The BS of claim 10, wherein the handover request message further comprises at least one of:
a throughput value indicating a data throughput between the BS and the UE; a BS buffer value indicating an amount of downlink (DL) data buffered at the BS for the UE; or a UE buffer value indicating an amount of uplink (UL) data buffered at the UE for the BS.
Wu teaches,
The BS of claim 10, wherein the handover request message further comprises at least one of:
a throughput value indicating a data throughput between the BS and the UE; a BS buffer value indicating an amount of downlink (DL) data buffered at the BS for the UE; or a UE buffer value indicating an amount of uplink (UL) data buffered at the UE for the BS. (Wu - paragraph 0089, figure 3A, label 316A – The UE sends to the BS a threshold data rate for some applications of the UE (data throughput). Examiner note: The presence of “or” indicates only one of the aspects of the claims needs to apply.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches,
The BS of claim 10, wherein the handover request acknowledgment message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message comprising the [first command] and the second command. (Wang, paragraph 0049 – The TDM pattern is referred to as a switch gap. Paragraphs 0053-0063 – The TDM pattern is transmitted by the first network device to the UE as part of the handover procedure as a second command).
Wang fails to teach,
The RRCReconfiguration message comprising the first command.
Wu teaches,
The BS of claim 10, wherein the handover request acknowledgment message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message comprising the first command and the [second command].
(Wu paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN which is the first command).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches,
the second command configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration by the UE is to following a completion of the handover procedure. (Wang, paragraph 0049 – The TDM pattern is referred to as a switch gap. Paragraphs 0053-0063 – The TDM pattern is transmitted by the first network device to the UE as part of the handover procedure as a second command).
Wang fails to teach,
receive, from another BS of the first network, a handover request message for a user equipment (UE), the handover request message comprising a switch gap configuration that specifies at least one period during which the UE receives transmissions from a BS of a second network;
generate a first Radio Resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, wherin:
the first command instructs the UE to begin a handover procedure from the other BS of the first network to the BS of the first network, and
[the second command configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure]; and
transmit, to the other BS, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the first RRC reconfiguration message.
Wu teaches,
A base station (BS) of a first network, the BS comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon; and (Figure 11, paragraph 0126, 0127 – The device to include a base station has a processor, and executes instructions)
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: (Figure 11, paragraph 0126, 0127 – The device to include a base station has a processor, and executes instructions)
receive, from another BS of the first network, a handover request message for a user equipment (UE), the handover request message comprising a switch gap configuration that specifies at least one time period during which the UE receives transmissions from a BS of a second network; (paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 306A – The first base station sends the conditional handover request to the second base station which contains a transmission from the UE.)
generate a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, wherin:
the first command instructs the UE to begin a handover procedure from the other BS of the first network to the BS of the first network, and [the second command configures the UE’s usage of the switch gap configuration following a completion of the handover procedure]; and (paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN which is the first command). (paragraph 0085, figure 3A, label 306A – The other BS sends an acknowledgment.)
transmit, to the other BS, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the first RRC reconfiguration message. (Wu paragraph 0084-0085, figure 3a, label 302a – The UE begins a conditional handover from the first to the second MN based on the first MN which is the first command).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 15, Wang fails to teach,
The BS of claim 14, the at least one processor further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
generate a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising a third command to resume usage of the switch gap configuration by the UE; and
transmit, to the UE, the second RRC reconfiguration message.
Wu teaches,
The BS of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor further is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
generate a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising a third command to resume usage the UE’s of the switch gap configuration; and (Wu paragraph 0105, Figure 3A, label 322A – The third command includes a RRC reconfiguration message from the second BS of the network)
transmit, to the UE, the second RRC reconfiguration message. (paragraph 0105 – Figure 3A, label 324A, the second RRC configuration is transmitted to the UE.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the RRC and handover procedure for switch gap teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to implement the conditional handover by initiating a reconfiguration of the UE based on the configuration requirements while allowing the UE to cancel the conditional mobility procedure if it is not necessary or not functionally working (paragraphs 0015-0017).
Claims 2-4, 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wu further in view of Shrestha and further in view of Paladuga et al. (US 20190253945 A1) hereinafter Paladuga.
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
while suspending the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network, receive a second RRC reconfiguration message from the second BS of the first network, the second RRC reconfiguration message comprising a third command to resume the reception of trans- missions from the BS of the second network; and (Wu paragraph 0105, Figure 3A, label 324A – The third command includes a RRC reconfiguration message from the second BS of the network)
Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fail to teach,
in response to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration message, resume the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network
Paladuga teaches,
in response to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration message, resume the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network. (Paladuga paragraph 0150, figure 12b, label 1244 – An additional RRC reconfiguration occurs after the second RRC reconfiguration message)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the reception of transmissions teachings of Paladuga. The purpose of doing so is to implement internal path switching for the C-CU (paragraphs 0145-0150).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
when the second command suspends the continued usage of the switch gap configuration following the completion of the handover procedure, [initiate a timer]; and (Wang paragraph 0066, figure 2, label 280’ – The terminal device may stop the TDM pattern for transmitting to the second network device after the completion of the handover procedure.)
Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fails to teach,
The initiation of a timer.
Wu teaches,
when the second command suspends the continued usage of the switch gap configuration following the completion of the handover procedure, initiate a timer; and (Wu, Paragraph 0100 – The UE starts or restarts the prohibit timer after the completion of the handover (label 320A) which is during the switch gap configuration).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the timer teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to prohibit the UE from transmitting the UE information to the base station (paragraph 0096).
Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fail to teach,
when the timer expires before receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising a third command to resume the reception of trans- missions from the BS of the second network, remove the switch gap configuration.
Paladuga teaches,
when the timer expires before receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising a third command to resume the reception of trans- missions from the BS of the second network, remove the switch gap configuration. (Paladugu - paragraph 0205-0207 – upon the timer expiring the source BS connection may be ended and the handover is completed before receiving the RRC configuration).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the resumption of transmissions upon the expiration of a timer teachings of Paladuga. The purpose of doing so is to end the transmissions after a backhaul delay period (paragraph 0223).
Regarding claim 4, Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fail to teach,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
when the second command disables the suspension of the continued usage of the switch gap configuration, continue on the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network following the completion of the handover procedure.
Paladuga teaches,
when the second command disables the suspension of the continued usage of the switch gap configuration, continue on the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network following the completion of the handover procedure. (Paladugu paragraph 0207 – The UE continues the connection with the second BS (target BS) and may be a uplink/downlink bearer following the completion of the handover. 0206 - The data may come from both the source and target in the form of redundant downlink data).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the continued reception of transmissions teachings of Paladuga. The purpose of doing so is to reduce latency and enable seamless/lossless handover of the UE (paragraph 0207).
Regarding claim 6, Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fail to teach,
The UE of claim 5, wherein the second command comprises a switch-SuspendCommand comprising an enumerated value indicating whether to suspend or resume the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network.
Paladuga teaches,
The UE of claim 5, wherein the second command comprises a switch-SuspendCommand comprising an enumerated value indicating whether to suspend or resume the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network. (Paladugu paragraph 0205 – The buffer of the source BS indicates when the target base station should resume receiving transmissions following the completion of the handover.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the enumerated value of whether to suspend transmissions teachings of Paladuga. The purpose of doing so is to keep transmitting using an RLC buffer which helps to prevent data loss in case of connection loss or errors. (paragraph 0223-0225).
Regarding claim 7, Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fails to teach,
The UE of claim 6, wherein the RRCReconfiguration message comprises an OtherConfig information element (IE) comprising the switchSuspendCommand.
Paladuga teaches,
The UE of claim 6, wherein the RRCReconfiguration message comprises an OtherConfig information element (IE) comprising the switchSuspendCommand. (Paladugu paragraph 0097 – The RRCReconfiguration message has information identifying the target BS and information regarding the handover configuration.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the IE teachings of Paladugu. The purpose of doing so is to determine the UE compatibility with the base station and exchange user data via uplink or downlink methods.
Regarding claim 13, Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa fail to teach,
The BS of claim 12, wherein the RRCReconfiguration message comprises an OtherConfig in- formation element (IE) comprising a switchSuspendCommand.
Paladuga teaches,
The BS of claim 12, wherein the RRCReconfiguration message comprises an OtherConfig in- formation element (IE) comprising a switchSuspendCommand. (Paladugu paragraph 0097 – The RRCReconfiguration message has information identifying the target BS and information regarding the handover configuration.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Wang, and Shrethsa to incorporate the IE teachings of Paladugu. The purpose of doing so is to determine the UE compatibility with the base station and exchange user data via uplink or downlink methods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
US 20200029260 A1 – Figures 4, 5, 10, 11, paragraphs 0064, 0065, 0084-0093 – Showing process for RRC reconfiguration and switching between a source and target node.
US 20240121635 A1 – Figures 2-6, paragraphs 0096-0112 – Switch gap configuration between two base stations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Ryan Crigler whose telephone number is (571)272-9376. The examiner can normally be reached 8am-5pm.
/RYAN CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472