DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 1, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to claims 5, 12, 14 being rejected under 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 5, 12, 14 under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Thubert et al. (US 20170272144 A1), hereinafter Thubert in view of Jain et al (US 20190182774 A1), hereinafter Jain, further in view of Mishra et al. (US 20200252333 A1), hereinafter Mishra.
Regarding claim 1, Thubert teaches,
utilizing the routing information of the node, indicating whether the node is designated to forward unicast packets, (Paragraph 0032-0034 – The trickle algorithm is modified to support forwarding of unicast packets for transmission and forwarding purposes).
However, Thubert fails to teach,
collecting routing information, associated with an established unicast route, the routing information indicating whether a node is designated to forward unicast packets along an established unicast route;
calculate a transmit time for the node in Trickle algorithm;
applying the transmit time in the Trickle algorithm to decide if and when to re-broadcast the message.
However, Jain teaches,
calculate a transmit time for the node, (Figure 4, label 420, paragraph 0027 – The node receives information indicating when the next packet is supposed to arrive in specific time slots, “In block 420, the node 104c determines a time for a next DIO packet based on DIO timing information in the RPL packet or beacon.”) in Trickle algorithm; (paragraph 0030 – The node uses a trickle algorithm to determine timing.)
applying the transmit time in the Trickle algorithm to decide if and when to re-broadcast the message. (Figures 8, 9, 10 – Paragraphs 0064-0065 – There are allocated slots to determine when to rebroadcast the message for instance the time slot ASN=6 indicates that the node B should transmit to node C. paragraph 0030 – The node uses a trickle algorithm to determine timing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert to incorporate the transmit time teachings of Jain. The purpose of doing so is to determine which slot to transmit taking into account the value of the trickle timer (paragraphs 0060-0062 of Jain)
Thubert and Jain fail to teach,
collecting routing information, associated with an established unicast route, the routing information indicating whether a node is designated to forward unicast packets along an established unicast route;
However, Mishra teaches,
collecting routing information, associated with an established unicast route, the routing information indicating whether a node is designated to forward unicast packets along an established unicast route; (Figure 4, labels 420, 425, paragraph 0047 - The RIB stores routing information for unicast forwarding provided by a unicast routing table or routing protocols and indicates how the route addresses are connected).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert and Jain to incorporate the routing information teachings of Mishra. The purpose of doing so is to gather information about surrounding nodes to enable uncast forwarding (paragraph 0047 of Mishra)
Regarding claim 2, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprising calculating a routable index for the node to determine if the node has previously routed a packet from the broadcast originator. (paragraph 0043, figure 4E – Repeater D is determined to not be allowed to receive a copy of the frame due to the trickle algorithm. Paragraph 0044, figure 4E – Repeater D may ignore future transmissions from repeaters B and C.)
Regarding claim 3, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprising determining a link metric of the broadcast message and applying it in the Trickle algorithm to rebroadcast the message with lower link metric. (Paragraph 0035 – Nodes closest to the destination of transmission may have smaller trickle intervals. Paragraph 0038 – Only certain number of networking device will receive and acknowledge communication depending on the distance. Paragraph 0043 – Devices further along in communication chain may ignore future communications.)
Regarding claim 4, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the node having higher redundancy constant increases the probability of broadcasting the message. (paragraphs 0037, 0038 – If the redundancy cost is greater than 1 than the node will be more likely to be able to acknowledge communication and rebroadcast.)
Regarding claim 6, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises assessing whether the node is designated as part of a constructed route for unicast packets between two other nodes. (paragraph 0038, figure 3C – AP1 repeats transmissions on the backbone of the network and can reach AP2 on the dedicated route.)
Regarding claim 8, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the unicast routing information is comprised of at least static configuration of the node as a router. (paragraph 0021 – The routers and the interconnections between them are fixed and constrained.)
Regarding claim 9, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the unicast routing information is comprised of at least the number of times the node has forwarded unicast packets. (paragraph 0048 – The device transmitting the communication keeps track of how many acknowledgments of the communication were made. Paragraph 0050, figure 5, label 525 – The device determines whether to forward the communication based on the number of acknowledgements received.)
Regarding claim 10, Thubert teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the unicast routing information is comprised of at least the number of times the node has forwarded unicast packets from the broadcast originator. (paragraph 0048 – The device transmitting the communication keeps track of how many acknowledgments of the communication were made.)
Claim 11 is a combination of claims 8 and 10 and is thus rejected.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Thubert-Jain-Mishra in view of “Multiple Redundancy Constants with Trickle”, by Coladon et al, hereinafter Coladon.
Regarding claim 7, Thubert-Jain fail to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising modifying a redundancy constant used by the Trickle algorithm based on the unicast routing information.
However, Mishra teaches,
Using unicast routing information in a trickle algorithm (Figure 4, labels 420, 425, paragraph 0047 - The RIB stores routing information for unicast forwarding provided by a unicast routing table or routing protocols and indicates how the route addresses are connected).
Mishra fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising modifying a redundancy constant used by the Trickle algorithm based on the [unicast] routing information.
However, Coladon teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising modifying a redundancy constant used by the Trickle algorithm based on the [unicast] routing information. (Page 5 of PDF – Algorithm 1, Modifying of redundancy constant K in a local manner based on the number of neighboring nodes.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert-Jain-MIshra to incorporate the modifying of redundancy constant teachings of Coladon. The purpose of doing so is to improve transmission load distribution by using a redundancy constant that depends on each nodes routing information and number of neighboring nodes (page 6, conclusion)
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thubert-Jain-Mishra in view of Vasseur et al. (US 20120155475 A1), hereinafter Vasseur.
Regarding claim 5, Thubert-Jain-Mishra fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein in a mesh routing system using the trickle algorithm based on a metric calculated using one or more of RSSI, SNR and LQI for retransmission of broadcast packets including an algorithm for routing unicast packets, modifying the trickle algorithm to include parameters from said unicast routing algorithm to improve probability of packets being forwarded from one network cluster to another.
However, Vasseur teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein in a mesh routing system using the trickle algorithm based on a metric calculated using one or more of RSSI, SNR and LQI for retransmission of broadcast packets including an algorithm for routing unicast packets, modifying the trickle algorithm to include parameters from said unicast routing algorithm to improve probability of packets being forwarded from one network cluster to another. (paragraph 0049 – The path cost change “C” determines whether to modify the existing path based on the new path being a percentage better. This is analogous to the LQI (line quality index). Paragraph 0052 – The RSSI or signal strength may be used as a factor in the initial advertised cost to the route and part of determining whether to choose a new route.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert-Jain-Mishra to incorporate the modiftication of the trickle algorithm teachings of Vasseur. The purpose of doing so is to use more accurate threshold values for the specific network application to implement a dynamic changing for the routing mechanics. (paragraph 0015).
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thubert-Jain-Mishra in view of Richard et al. (US 20070091813 A1), hereinafter Richard.
Regarding claim 12 Thubert-Jain-Mishra fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the decision of transmission time is also based on one or more of LQI and SNR.
However, Richard teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the decision of transmission time is also based on one or more of LQI and SNR.
(paragraphs 0058, 0059 – An updated channel search is performed based on the LQI falling below a value and an a current channel can be compared to a new channel to determine if it is better. Paragraph 0025 – Efficient data transmission and transmission channel techniques reduce the transmission times)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert-Jain-Mishra to incorporate the transmission time based on LQI teachings of Richard. The purpose of doing so is to alleviate transmission load and increase battery life (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 13, Thubert-Jain-Mishra may not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the decision of transmission time is also based on RSSI.
However, Richard teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the decision of transmission time is also based on RSSI. (paragraphs 0058, 0059 – An updated channel search is performed based on the RSSI falling below a value and an a current channel can be compared to a new channel to determine if it is better. Paragraph 0025 – Efficient data transmission and transmission channel techniques reduce the transmission times)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thubert-Jain-Mishra to incorporate the transmission time based on RSSI teachings of Richard. The purpose of doing so is to alleviate transmission load and increase battery life (paragraph 0025).
Claim 14 is a combination of claims 12 and 13 and is thus rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CRIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472