Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4,241,515 to Wochnowski in view of US Patent 4,492,040 to Jensen.
Regarding Claim 1
Wochnowksi discloses a method of drying wet powder using a fluidized bed dryer comprising a gas distribution plate, a gas chamber (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), and a drying chamber (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) above the gas chamber, wherein the gas chamber and the drying chamber are divided by the gas distribution plate (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), the method comprising: dividing the gas chamber into two or more compartments (As showed in Fig. 4); raising an internal temperature of the drying chamber and then supplying wet powder through an inlet on one side of the drying chamber; and supplying a fluidizing gas at different flow velocities (As showed in Fig. 4, gas is supplied to each chamber with a respective blower (338,354,377)) to the two or more compartments, respectively, utilizing an external blower (Fig. 4, 338, 354, and 377) and introducing the fluidizing gas at different flow velocities into a corresponding region of the drying chamber through the gas distribution plate to perform drying of the wet powder, wherein the drying of the wet powder is performed without dividing the drying chamber. (As showed in Fig. 4, the drying material pass through the drying chamber continuously, a gap is formed between the upper partitioning plate and the material being dried, therefore the material be dried is dried without dividing the drying chamber)
Wochnowski does not teach the distribution plate having a plurality of holes.
Jensen teaches the distribution plate (Fig. 7, 13) having a plurality of holes (Fig. 7, 31)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Jensen into the design of Wochnowski. Doing so, would result in a plurality of holes being formed on the distribution plate. Both inventions of Jensen and Wochnowski are for drying chamber with a plurality separately chambers. Jensen teaches a method of improving hot gas distribution so the drying result would be improved.
In Reference to Claim 2
Wochnowski discloses the supplying of the fluidizing gas includes supplying the fluidizing gas at different flow velocities by two or more of the external blowers (Fig. 4, 338, 354, 377) to the two or more compartments, respectively.
In Reference to Claim 4
Wochnowski discloses the two or more compartments include: a first compartment (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) corresponding to a region adjacent to the inlet of the drying chamber and a second compartment constituting a remainder of the gas chamber
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 4 does not teach the volume difference of drying chambers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claims 5 and 6
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 1 teaches drying chambers that supply heated gas at different flow rate.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 7
Wochnowski discloses a plurality of gas chambers.
Wochnowski does not teach extra heat transfer plate.
Jensen teaches a heat transfer plate (Fig. 7, 14) by circulating hot water (Col. 5, Lines 5-11)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Jensen into the design of Wochnowski. Doing so, would result in a water heater being incorporated into the dryer of Wochnowski, since Jensen teaches a design of using heat transfer plate as an additional heat sources (Col. 6, Line 5-10)
In Reference to Claims 8 and 9
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 4 teaches drying chambers supplied by heated gas at different temperature.
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen does not teach the temperature difference between blowers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 10
Wochnowski discloses dividing the second compartment to include a third compartment. (As showed in Fig. 4)
In Reference to Claim 11
Wochnowski discloses a plurality of compartment.
Wochnowski does not teach the water content drop.
According to MPEP: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In Reference to Claim 12
Wochnowski discloses a dryer.
Wochnowski does not teach the size of the material to be dried.
According to MPEP: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In Reference to Claim 13
Wochnowski discloses A fluidized bed dryer for performing the method of claim 1, the fluidized bed dryer comprising: a gas distribution plate (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) a gas chamber including two or more compartments (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), a drying chamber (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) above the gas chamber, wherein the gas chamber and the drying chamber are divided by the gas distribution plate, a wet powder inlet (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) on one side of the drying chamber, a dry powder outlet (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) on the other side of the drying chamber, and a gas and flying powder discharge pipe (Fig. 4, 343) on top of the drying chamber, wherein the two or more compartments are configured to connect to an external blower (Fig. 4, 338, 354, 337) that supplies fluidizing gas at different flow velocities, wherein the drying chamber does not comprise any partition. (As showed in Fig. 4, the drying material pass through the drying chamber continuously, a gap is formed between the upper partitioning plate and the material being dried, therefore the material be dried is dried without dividing the drying chamber)
Wochnowski does not teach a plurality of holes on the plate and the heat transfer plate.
Jensen teaches the gas distribution plate (Fig. 7, 13) having a plurality of holes (Fig. 7, 21) and a heat transfer plate (Fig. 7, 14)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Jensen into the design of Wochnowski. Doing so, would result in a plurality of holes being formed on the distribution plate. Both inventions of Jensen and Wochnowski are for drying chamber with a plurality separately chambers. Jensen teaches a method of improving hot gas distribution so the drying result would be improved.
In Reference to Claim 14
Wochnowski discloses the two or more compartments include: a first compartment (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) corresponding to a region adjacent to the inlet of the drying chamber and a second compartment constituting a remainder of the gas chamber (As showed in Fig. 4),
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 14 does not teach the volume difference of drying chambers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 15
Wochnowski discloses a third compartment (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2006/0053650 to Manak.
In Reference to Claim 3
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 1 teaches a multiple blowers supplying heated flow to respective chambers.
The combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 1 does not teach dampers.
Mansk teaches dampers (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) used in the hot gas supplying lines.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Manak into the combination of Wochnowski and Jensen as applied to Claim 3. Doing so, would result in dampers (valve) being included in the hot air suppling lines. Both inventions of Wochnowski and Manak having drying chamber supplied with heated air, Manak teaches a design of controlling individual drying chamber with a predictable result of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument is based on the amended claims. The argument is moot in terms of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 10/28/26