Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4,492,040 to Jensen in view of US Patent 4,696,115 to Spadafore.
In Reference to Claims 1, 2
Jensen discloses a method of drying wet powder using a fluidized bed dryer comprising a gas distribution plate (Fig. 7, 13) having a plurality of holes (Fig. 7, 21), a gas chamber (Fig. 7, 24), and a drying chamber (Fig. 7, 10/11) above the gas chamber, wherein the gas chamber and the drying chamber are divided by the gas distribution plate (Fig. 7, 19), the method comprising: dividing the gas chamber into two or more compartments (Fig. 7, 10/11); raising an internal temperature of the upper drying chamber (Chambers 10 and 11 are supplied with heated gas) and then supplying wet powder through an inlet (Fig. 7, 30) on one side of the drying chamber;
Jensen discloses two gas flow inlets (25 and 27), Jensen does not teach two different blower supplying gas.
Spadafore teaches supplying a fluidizing gas at different flow velocities to the two or more compartments respectively, utilizing an external blower (Fig. 1, 30/32) and introducing the fluidizing gas at different flow velocities into a corresponding region of the drying chamber through the gas distribution plate to perform drying of the wet powder. (Col. 6, Line 5-15, teaches a controller to control the blower to send the fluid gas in different flow volume)
the supplying of the fluidizing gas includes supplying the fluidizing gas at different flow velocities (Abstract) by two or more of the external blowers (Fig. 1, 30/32) to the two or more compartments respectively
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Spadafore into the design of Jensen. Doing so, would result in blowers being used to supply heated gas into the drying chamber with controlled flow volume. Both inventions of Jensen and Spadafore are in the same field of endeavor, Spadafore teaches a method of providing an improved method and apparatus for drying particulate material to obtain a uniform moisture content thereof despite variations in the moisture content of the particulate material at the onset of the drying operation. (Col. 2, Line 5-10) so the efficiency will be improved.
In Reference to Claim 4
Jensen discloses the two or more compartments include: a first compartment (Fig. 7, 10) corresponding to a region adjacent to the inlet (Fig. 7, 30) of the upper drying chamber and a second compartment (Fig. 7, 11) constituting a remainder of the gas chamber
Jensen does not teach the volume difference of drying chamber between chambers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claims 5 and 6
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to Claim 1 teaches drying chambers supplied by heated gas at different flow rate.
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore does not teach the flow rate difference between blowers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 7
Jensen discloses the raising of the internal temperature of the drying chamber includes transferring, by a heat transfer plate (Fig. 7, 14), heat from by circulating hot water. (Col. 5, Line 5-11)
In Reference to Claim 8 and 9
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to Claim 1 teaches drying chambers supplied by heated gas at different temperature.
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore does not teach the temperature difference between blowers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 10
Jensen discloses a plurality of compartment (Fig. 1)
In Reference to Claim 11
Jensen discloses the fluid bed dryer.
Jensen does not teach the water content drop.
According to MPEP: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." The Office considers that the water weight lost is a result of process.
In Reference to Claim 13
Jensen discloses a fluidized bed dryer for performing the method of wet to claim 1, the fluidized bed dryer comprising: a gas distribution plate (Fig. 7, 13) having a plurality of holes (Fig. 7, 21), a gas chamber including two or more compartments (Fig. 1, as showed chambers are divided by plates), a drying chamber (Fig. 7, 10) above the gas chamber, wherein the gas chamber and the drying chamber are divided by the gas distribution plate, a heat transfer plate (Fig. 7, 14) inside the drying chamber, a wet powder inlet (Fig. 7, 30) on one side of the upper drying chamber, a dry powder outlet (Fig. 7, 32) provided on the other side of the upper drying chamber, and a gas and flying powder discharge pipe (Fig. 7, 31) on top of the drying chamber
Jensen discloses two gas flow inlets (25 and 27), Jensen does not teach two different blower supplying gas.
Spadafore teaches supplying a fluidizing gas at different flow velocities to the two or more compartments respectively, utilizing an external blower (Fig. 1, 30/32) and introducing the fluidizing gas at different flow velocities into a corresponding region of the drying chamber through the gas distribution plate to perform drying of the wet powder. (Col. 6, Line 5-15, teaches a controller to control the blower to send the fluid gas in different flow volume)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Spadafore into the design of Jensen. Doing so, would result in blowers being used to supply heated gas into the drying chamber with controlled flow volume. Both inventions of Jensen and Spadafore are in the same field of endeavor, Spadafore teaches a method of providing an improved method and apparatus for drying particulate material to obtain a uniform moisture content thereof despite variations in the moisture content of the particulate material at the onset of the drying operation. (Col. 2, Line 5-10) so the efficiency will be improved.
In Reference to Claim 14
Jensen discloses the two or more compartments include: a first compartment (Fig. 7, 10) corresponding to a region adjacent to the inlet (Fig. 7, 30) the drying chamber and a second compartment constituting a remainder of the gas chamber (As showed),
Jensen does not teach the volume difference of drying chamber between chambers.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value.
In Reference to Claim 15
Jensen discloses a plurality of compartment (Fig. 1)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2006/0053650 to Manak.
In Reference to Claim 3
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to Claim 1 teaches multiple blowers supplying heated flow to respective chambers.
The combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to Claim 1 does not teach damps.
Manak teach dampers (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) used in the hot gas supplying lines.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Manak into the combination of Jensen and Spadafore as applied to Claim 3. Doing so, would result in damps (valve) being included in the hot air supplies. Both inventions of Manak and Jensen having drying chamber supplied with heated air. Manak teaches a design of controlling individual drying chamber with predictable result of success.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 7/10/26