DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 14, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0171040) in view of Papasakellariou (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0201726).
As per claim 1:
Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 9, paragraph [0248], disclose a terminal), comprising:
at least one memory (see Figure 9, memory 92);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see Figure 9, processor 91 coupled to memory 92) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats (see Figure 4, step 41, paragraphs [0088]-[0089], terminal receives one or more DCIs. Paragraph [0095] disclose DCI is a specific format used by PDCCH transmission. Paragraph [0108] disclose first and second DCI formats and thus plurality of DCI formats), wherein each of the DCI formats schedules at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (see paragraph [0089], the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs) … and the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (see paragraph [0094], the first DCI is configured for scheduling at least two PDSCHs. HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least two PDSCHs may be performed in the same or sub-slot, and specifically, HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in the same HARQ-ACK codebook in the same slot. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted through a PUCCH. As shown in figure 5 and paragraphs [0163]-[0165], the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to DCI formats x and y are concatenated to obtain an HARQ-ACK codebook and transmitted on the corresponding PUCCH or PUSCH in the slot n and thus the same slot);
divide the plurality of DCI formats into a first set and a second set (see paragraph [0005], grouping the one or more DCIs according to a quantity of PDSCH scheduled by each of the one or more DCIs to obtain one or more DCI groups), wherein the first set includes all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and the second set includes all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraph [0017], disclose the quantity of the one or more DCI groups may be at least two, each group corresponding to an HARQ-ACK sub-codebook. See Figure 5, paragraph [0163], DCI format x on carrier 1 as one group and DCI format y on carrier 3 as another group).
Gao does not clearly teach PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit, and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format and the second type DCI format;
generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set;
generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set;
and transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook.
Papasakellariou teaches PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE (see paragraphs [0094], [0096], disclose UL transmissions and DL receptions by the UE correspond to a BWP of serving cell)
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit (see paragraph [0115], DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE can include a DAI field. DAI field could comprise (i) one bit when the UE is configured to provide Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook or (ii) one or two bits when the UE is configured to provide a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook for TB receptions), and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format (see paragraph [0186], counter in a first DCI format used for scheduling only one PDSCH reception) and the second type DCI format (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats. The DAI field includes a counter DAI that provides an index for DCI format on a serving cell at a PDCCH monitoring occasion);
generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (see paragraph [0186], disclose using the DCI depending on the DCI format to determine the location of the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ information bits);
generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats scheduling PDSCH receptions);
and transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (see paragraph [0022], reporting using a combination of type-1 and type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the multiplexing of multiple type-1/type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks (as disclosed in Papasakellariou) into Gao as a way of mitigating the effect of incorrectly decoding an HARQ-ACK codebook by the gNB (please see paragraph [0143] of Papasakellariou).
As per claim 14:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH (Gao, see paragraph [0030], one or more DCI further include a second DCI used to indicate an SPS PDSCH release or schedule one PDSCH);
transmit HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to the SPS PDSCH in the HARQ-ACK codebook (Gao, see paragraph [0032], HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to SPS-PDSCH release scheduled by the PDSCH);
wherein a HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for the SPS PDSCH is placed at an end or beginning of the first sub-codebook or at an end or beginning of the HARQ-ACK codebook (see paragraph [0032], disclose mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI); or
wherein HARQ-ACK information bits for the SPS PDSCH are placed at an end or beginning of the second sub-codebook with a number of HARQ-ACK information bits for the SPS PDSCH aligned with a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits per second type DCI format in the second set (Note: Limitation(s) is recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
As per claim 15:
Gao teaches a base station (BS) (see Figure 10, paragraph [0272], network side device), comprising:
at least one memory (see Figure 10, memory 102); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see Figure 10, processor 101 coupled to memory 102) and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats (see Figure 4, step 41, paragraphs [0088]-[0089], terminal receives one or more DCIs. Paragraph [0095] disclose DCI is a specific format used by PDCCH transmission. Paragraph [0108] disclose first and second DCI formats and thus plurality of DCI formats), wherein each of the DCI formats schedules at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (see paragraph [0089], the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs) … and the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (see paragraph [0094], the first DCI is configured for scheduling at least two PDSCHs. HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least two PDSCHs may be performed in the same or sub-slot, and specifically, HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in the same HARQ-ACK codebook in the same slot. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted through a PUCCH. As shown in figure 5 and paragraphs [0163]-[0165], the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to DCI formats x and y are concatenated to obtain an HARQ-ACK codebook and transmitted on the corresponding PUCCH or PUSCH in the slot n and thus the same slot);
wherein the plurality of DCI formats is divided into a first set and a second set (see paragraph [0005], grouping the one or more DCIs according to a quantity of PDSCH scheduled by each of the one or more DCIs to obtain one or more DCI groups), the first set includes all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and the second set includes all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraph [0017], disclose the quantity of the one or more DCI groups may be at least two, each group corresponding to an HARQ-ACK sub-codebook. See Figure 5, paragraph [0163], DCI format x on carrier 1 as one group and DCI format y on carrier 3 as another group).
Gao does not clearly teach PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE
and receive, from the UE, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook,
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit, wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format and the second type DCI format, and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set, and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set.
Papasakellariou teaches PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE (see paragraphs [0094], [0096], disclose UL transmissions and DL receptions by the UE correspond to a BWP of serving cell)
and receive, from the UE, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (see paragraph [0022], reporting using a combination of type-1 and type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook),
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit (see paragraph [0115], DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE can include a DAI field. DAI field could comprise (i) one bit when the UE is configured to provide Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook or (ii) one or two bits when the UE is configured to provide a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook for TB receptions), wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format (see paragraph [0186], counter in a first DCI format used for scheduling only one PDSCH reception) and the second type DCI format (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats. The DAI field includes a counter DAI that provides an index for DCI format on a serving cell at a PDCCH monitoring occasion), and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (see paragraph [0186], disclose using the DCI depending on the DCI format to determine the location of the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ information bits), and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats scheduling PDSCH receptions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the multiplexing of multiple type-1/type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks (as disclosed in Papasakellariou) into Gao as a way of mitigating the effect of incorrectly decoding an HARQ-ACK codebook by the gNB (please see paragraph [0143] of Papasakellariou).
As per claim 16:
Gao teaches a processor for wireless communication (see Figure 9, paragraph [0248], disclose a terminal), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (see Figure 9, processor 91 coupled to memory 92) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats (see Figure 4, step 41, paragraphs [0088]-[0089], terminal receives one or more DCIs. Paragraph [0095] disclose DCI is a specific format used by PDCCH transmission. Paragraph [0108] disclose first and second DCI formats and thus plurality of DCI formats), wherein each of the DCI formats schedules at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (see paragraph [0089], the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs) … and the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (see paragraph [0094], the first DCI is configured for scheduling at least two PDSCHs. HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least two PDSCHs may be performed in the same or sub-slot, and specifically, HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in the same HARQ-ACK codebook in the same slot. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted through a PUCCH. As shown in figure 5 and paragraphs [0163]-[0165], the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to DCI formats x and y are concatenated to obtain an HARQ-ACK codebook and transmitted on the corresponding PUCCH or PUSCH in the slot n and thus the same slot);
divide the plurality of DCI formats into a first set and a second set (see paragraph [0005], grouping the one or more DCIs according to a quantity of PDSCH scheduled by each of the one or more DCIs to obtain one or more DCI groups), wherein the first set includes all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and the second set includes all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraph [0017], disclose the quantity of the one or more DCI groups may be at least two, each group corresponding to an HARQ-ACK sub-codebook. See Figure 5, paragraph [0163], DCI format x on carrier 1 as one group and DCI format y on carrier 3 as another group).
Gao does not clearly teach PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit, and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format and the second type DCI format;
generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set;
generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set;
and transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook.
Papasakellariou teaches PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE (see paragraphs [0094], [0096], disclose UL transmissions and DL receptions by the UE correspond to a BWP of serving cell)
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit (see paragraph [0115], DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE can include a DAI field. DAI field could comprise (i) one bit when the UE is configured to provide Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook or (ii) one or two bits when the UE is configured to provide a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook for TB receptions), and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format (see paragraph [0186], counter in a first DCI format used for scheduling only one PDSCH reception) and the second type DCI format (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats. The DAI field includes a counter DAI that provides an index for DCI format on a serving cell at a PDCCH monitoring occasion);
generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (see paragraph [0186], disclose using the DCI depending on the DCI format to determine the location of the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ information bits);
generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats scheduling PDSCH receptions);
and transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (see paragraph [0022], reporting using a combination of type-1 and type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the multiplexing of multiple type-1/type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks (as disclosed in Papasakellariou) into Gao as a way of mitigating the effect of incorrectly decoding an HARQ-ACK codebook by the gNB (please see paragraph [0143] of Papasakellariou).
As per claim 17:
Gao teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats (see Figure 4, step 41, paragraphs [0088]-[0089], terminal receives one or more DCIs. Paragraph [0095] disclose DCI is a specific format used by PDCCH transmission. Paragraph [0108] disclose first and second DCI formats and thus plurality of DCI formats), wherein each of the DCI formats schedules at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (see paragraph [0089], the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs) … and the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (see paragraph [0094], the first DCI is configured for scheduling at least two PDSCHs. HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least two PDSCHs may be performed in the same or sub-slot, and specifically, HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in the same HARQ-ACK codebook in the same slot. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted through a PUCCH. As shown in figure 5 and paragraphs [0163]-[0165], the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to DCI formats x and y are concatenated to obtain an HARQ-ACK codebook and transmitted on the corresponding PUCCH or PUSCH in the slot n and thus the same slot);
dividing the plurality of DCI formats into a first set and a second set (see paragraph [0005], grouping the one or more DCIs according to a quantity of PDSCH scheduled by each of the one or more DCIs to obtain one or more DCI groups), wherein the first set includes all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and the second set includes all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraph [0017], disclose the quantity of the one or more DCI groups may be at least two, each group corresponding to an HARQ-ACK sub-codebook. See Figure 5, paragraph [0163], DCI format x on carrier 1 as one group and DCI format y on carrier 3 as another group).
Gao does not clearly teach PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit, and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format and the second type DCI format;
generating a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set;
generating a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set;
and transmitting the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook.
Papasakellariou teaches PDSCH transmission on at least one serving cell of the UE (see paragraphs [0094], [0096], disclose UL transmissions and DL receptions by the UE correspond to a BWP of serving cell)
wherein each first type DCI format requires a single HARQ-ACK information bit and each second type DCI format requires more than one HARQ-ACK information bit (see paragraph [0115], DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE can include a DAI field. DAI field could comprise (i) one bit when the UE is configured to provide Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook or (ii) one or two bits when the UE is configured to provide a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook for TB receptions), and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) are counted independently for the first type DCI format (see paragraph [0186], counter in a first DCI format used for scheduling only one PDSCH reception) and the second type DCI format (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats. The DAI field includes a counter DAI that provides an index for DCI format on a serving cell at a PDCCH monitoring occasion);
generating a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (see paragraph [0186], disclose using the DCI depending on the DCI format to determine the location of the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ information bits);
generating a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set arranged according to DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (see paragraph [0125], type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook can be generated based on DAI field included in DCI formats scheduling PDSCH receptions);
and transmitting the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (see paragraph [0022], reporting using a combination of type-1 and type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the multiplexing of multiple type-1/type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks (as disclosed in Papasakellariou) into Gao as a way of mitigating the effect of incorrectly decoding an HARQ-ACK codebook by the gNB (please see paragraph [0143] of Papasakellariou).
3. Claim(s) 2, 3, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Papasakellariou and further in view of Yang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0049739).
As per claim 2:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the first type DCI format is from a group of DCI formats including the following:
a fallback DCI format; and
a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier not configured with a code block group (CBG) based transmission, wherein the carrier is configured with a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table with each entry indicating a single start and length indicator value (SLIV), or the carrier is configured with a TDRA table with at least one entry indicating a plurality of SLIVs and a single PDSCH is scheduled by the non-fallback DCI format, or the carrier is configured with a maximum of two transport blocks (TBs) per PDSCH and spatial bundling is applied.
Yang teaches wherein the first type DCI format is from a group of DCI formats including the following:
a fallback DCI format (see paragraph [0070], DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0 may be referred to as fallback DCI formats);
and a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier not configured with a code block group (CBG) based transmission, wherein the carrier is configured with a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table with each entry indicating a single start and length indicator value (SLIV) (see paragraph [0249], disclose CBG only for single PDSCH is applied to the cell when there is a row including single SLIV among the rows of the TDRA table), or the carrier is configured with a TDRA table with at least one entry indicating a plurality of SLIVs and a single PDSCH is scheduled by the non-fallback DCI format (see paragraph [0249], disclose TDRA table with a row indicating single SLIV or rows in the TDRA table), or the carrier is configured with a maximum of two transport blocks (TBs) per PDSCH and spatial bundling is applied (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of CBG for PDSCH operation when there are SLIV in a TDRA table (as disclosed in Yang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of bundling PDSCHs within a scheduled window (please see paragraph [0238] of Yang).
As per claim 3:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the second type DCI format is from a group of DCI formats including the following:
a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier configured with a code block group (CBG) based transmission, or a carrier configured with a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table with at least one entry indicating a plurality of start and length indicator values (SLIVs) and at least two PDSCHs are scheduled by the non-fallback DCI format, or a carrier configured with a maximum of two transport blocks (TBs) per PDSCH and no spatial bundling is applied.
Yang teaches wherein the second type DCI format is from a group of DCI formats including the following:
a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier configured with a code block group (CBG) based transmission, or a carrier configured with a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table with at least one entry indicating a plurality of start and length indicator values (SLIVs) (see paragraph [0249], disclose CBG only for single PDSCH is applied to the cell when there is a row including single SLIV among the rows of the TDRA table) and at least two PDSCHs are scheduled by the non-fallback DCI format (see paragraph [0249], disclose TDRA table with a row indicating single SLIV or rows in the TDRA table), or a carrier configured with a maximum of two transport blocks (TBs) per PDSCH and no spatial bundling is applied (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of CBG for PDSCH operation when there are SLIV in a TDRA table (as disclosed in Yang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of bundling PDSCHs within a scheduled window (please see paragraph [0238] of Yang).
Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
4. Claims 4, 5, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Papasakellariou and further in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0201724).
As per claim 4:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits per second type DCI format in the second set.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits per second type DCI format in the second set (see paragraph [0118], disclose an operation of converting values of DAI represented by different numbers of bits in different formats of DCI into values represented by a unified number of bits, and determining the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the converted values of DAI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement a unified number of bits for determining HARQ codebook (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of improving the reliability of the HARQ-ACK codebook (please see paragraph [0123] of Zhang).
As per claim 5:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou and further in view of Zhang teaches the UE of claim 4.
The combination of Gao and Papasakellariou do not teach wherein the unified number is determined based on a scaling factor, a configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format, and a configured maximum number of code block groups (CBGs) per transport block (TB); or
wherein the unified number is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling; or
wherein a value of the unified number is equal to the minimum value of a configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format and a configured maximum number of code block groups (CBGs) per transport block (TB).
Zhang teaches wherein the unified number is determined based on a scaling factor, a configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format, and a configured maximum number of code block groups (CBGs) per transport block (TB) (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art of record); or
wherein the unified number is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art of record); or
wherein a value of the unified number is equal to the minimum value of a configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format and a configured maximum number of code block groups (CBGs) per transport block (TB) (see paragraphs [0133]-[0134], converting values of DAI expressed in different numbers of bits into values of DAI expressed in the maximum number of bits according to a unified rule).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement a unified number of bits for determining HARQ codebook (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of improving the reliability of the HARQ-ACK codebook (please see paragraph [0123] of Zhang).
As per claim 6:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou and further in view of Zhang teaches the UE of claim 5.
The combination of Gao and Papasakellariou do not clearly teach wherein the value of the scaling factor is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or determined based on the configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format, or determined based on a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table associated with the second set.
Zhang teaches wherein the value of the scaling factor is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record), or determined based on the configured maximum number of PDSCHs schedulable by a DCI format (see paragraph [0154], the unified number of bits is configured according to the maximum number of bits expressing values of DAI. One PDSCH corresponds to 1-bit HARQ-information, where T=2N2), or determined based on a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table associated with the second set (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement a unified number of bits for determining HARQ codebook (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of improving the reliability of the HARQ-ACK codebook (please see paragraph [0123] of Zhang).
As per claim 20:
Gao in view of Papasakellariou teaches the processor of claim 16 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to determine a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits per second type DCI format in the second set.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to determine a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits per second type DCI format in the second set (see paragraphs [0133]-[0134], converting values of DAI expressed in different numbers of bits into values of DAI expressed in the maximum number of bits according to a unified rule).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement a unified number of bits for determining HARQ codebook (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Gao and Papasakellariou as a way of improving the reliability of the HARQ-ACK codebook (please see paragraph [0123] of Zhang).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474