DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 14-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10-12, 14-16, 19 and 20 are amended.
Claims 8, 9, and 13 are canceled.
This Action is Made Fina.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Anesbug does not teach a coupling assembly with coupling members that are removably connected to each other for adjusting the span of the coupling assembly. Although the applicant is correct that as previously mapped (coupling members to wiper assemblies 20) Anesbug does not teach this limitation, Anesbug does teach a coupling assembly (two or mode modules comprising installation plates) (see pg. 8 lines 15-29) the coupling assembly being formed from a plurality of coupling members (installation plates) removably connected to each other for adjusting the span of the coupling assembly to fit different fluid receptacles (see pg. 8 lines 15-29).
The 112 rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anesbug et al (WO 2021/010840).
Regarding Claim 1:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame for mounting at least one magnet apparatus in a fluid receptacle, the modular frame comprising: first and second engagement members (fixation means 34) for engaging the modular frame with a wall of the fluid receptacle (see pg. 13 lines 1-6, fig. 4); and a coupling assembly (series of installation plate assemblies together) (see pg. 8 lines 27-29) configured to span a part of the fluid receptacle, the coupling assembly being formed from a plurality of coupling members (installation plate assembly 30) (see pg. 8 lines 27-29, pg. 11 line 25) removably connected to each other for adjusting the span of the coupling assembly to fit different fluid receptacles, wherein at least some of the plurality of coupling member are configured to couple a magnet apparatus (magnet rod 11) of the at least one magnet apparatus to the modular frame such that the magnet apparatus is mountable in the fluid receptacle to attract and remove ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from a fluid volume in the fluid receptacle (see pg. 11 lines 15-22, fig. 3); and wherein each of the first and second engagement members are respectively removably connected to at least one coupling member of the plurality of coupling members (see pg. 12, lines 20-22, figs, 2- 4).
Regarding Claim 2:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1, wherein the fluid receptacle is a vessel, tank, fluid channel, fluid ditch, pipeline or flowline configured to receive, hold and/or contain liquid or slurry which has been removed from a wellbore (structure 40) (see pg. 13 lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 3:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1, wherein the first and second engagement members are configured to engage the modular frame with the wall of the fluid receptacle by removably securing (attached with bolts) them to the wall (see pg. 13 lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 10:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of coupling members are identical to one another (“several modules like this”) (see pg. 8 line 27-29).
Regarding Claim 11:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1 wherein the plurality of coupling members comprise an aperture, projection, groove or recess (extending recess 22) configured to engage with a corresponding aperture, projection, groove or recess (upper stop element) (see pg. 11 lines 15-22, fig. 2) on the at least one magnet apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1 wherein the plurality of coupling members comprise an aperture (slot 32) configured to receive the at least one magnet apparatus (see pg. 12 lines 20-23 fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 14:
Anesbug teaches the ferrous particle removal system comprising: a fluid receptacle for containing fluid contaminated with ferrous or magnetically attractable particles; a modular frame as claimed in claim 1; and at least one magnet apparatus (magnetic rod 11); and wherein the modular frame engages with a wall of the fluid receptacle, and wherein the at least one magnet apparatus is coupled to the modular frame such that it is mounted in the fluid receptacle to attract and remove ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from a fluid volume in the fluid receptacle (see pg. 11 lines 15-22, pg. 5, lines 19-21. fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15:
Anesbug teaches the system as according to claim 14, comprising one or more additional modular frames configured to mount additional magnet apparatus in the fluid receptacle (two or mode modules in series) (see pg. 8 lines 27-30).
Regarding Claim 16:
Anesbug teaches the method of removing ferrous particles from a fluid contaminated with ferrous or magnetically attractable particles in a system according to claim 14; the method comprising: attracting ferrous or magnetically attractable particles in the fluid to ferrous particle removal system; and removing the ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from the fluid (se pg. 5 lines 19-21).
Regarding Claim 17:
Anesbug teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein removing the ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from the fluid comprises removing the at least one magnet apparatus and attached ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from the fluid receptacle, thereby separating the ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from the fluid (see pg. 9 lines 11-21).
Regarding Claim 18:
Anesbug teaches the method according to claim 17, comprising releasing the ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from the at least one magnet apparatus at a discharge location (rods are removed, therefore there is a discharge location) (see pg. 9 lines 11-21).
Regarding Claim 19:
Anesbug teaches the method of installing a modular frame for mounting at least one magnet apparatus in a fluid receptacle, the method comprising: assembling a modular frame from a kit of parts according to claim 1 by removably connecting the first and second engagement members to at least one of the plurality of coupling members; and - locating the assembled modular frame in or on the fluid receptacle by engaging a wall of the fluid receptacle such that the at least one magnet apparatus is mountable in the fluid receptacle to attract and remove ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from a fluid volume in the fluid receptacle (see pg. 13 lines 1-6, fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 20:
Anesbug teaches the method according to claim 19, further comprising coupling the at least one magnet apparatus to the modular frame (rod assemblies are attached) such that it is mounted in the fluid receptacle to attract and remove ferrous or magnetically attractable particles from a fluid volume in the fluid receptacle (see pg. 13 lines 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Anesbug et al (WO 2021/010840) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (CN 104324802, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4:
Anesbug teaches the modular frame according to claim 1.
Anesbug does not teach the first and second engagement members comprise elongated support members, configured to extend vertically in the fluid receptacle and be removably securable to the wall of the fluid receptacle.
Wu teaches a modular frame for a magnetic assembly wherein first and second engagement members (guide rails) comprise elongated support members, configured to extend vertically in the fluid receptacle and be removably securable to the wall of the fluid receptacle (see para. 0014).
Anesbug and Wu are analogous inventions in the art of modular frames for magnetic assemblies. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the guide rails of Wu to the first and second engagement members of Anesbug, and further add the movable frame of Wu to the installation plate of Anesbug because makes mounting and dismounting very convenient (see Wu para. 0021), which is a desirable feature in Anesbug (see Anesbug pg. 9 lines 15-20).
Regarding Claim 5:
Anesbug, as modified, teaches the modular frame according to claim 4, wherein the elongated support members comprise a plurality of connection points (multiple elastic clamps) arranged over the direction of elongation, wherein the connection points are configured to enable at least one coupling member of the plurality of coupling members to be positioned at a selected vertical height in the fluid receptacle, and/or to enable the first and second engagement members to be removably secured to the wall of the fluid receptacle at a selected vertical height in the fluid receptacle (see Wu, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6:
Anesbug, as modified, teaches the modular frame according to claim 4, further comprising horizontal securing members (fixation means 34) configured to rest on an upward facing surface of the fluid receptacle (see Anesbug pg. 13 lines 1-6, fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7:
Anesbug, as modified, teaches the modular frame according to claim 1, wherein the first and second engagement members comprise horizontal securing members (fixation means 34) configured to rest on an upward facing surface or edge of the wall (see Anesbug pg. 13 lines 1-6, fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 9/28/2026