DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US. Pub. No. 2025/0008485 A1, hereinafter “LI”) in view of Xue et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0319778 A1; hereinafter “XUE”)
Regarding claim 11, LI teaches a User Equipment (UE) (see LI, fig. 1, UE 110), comprising:
a processor; and a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions (see LI, para. [0006]) that cause the processor to:
receive a parameter D and a parameter Ns from a base station (see LI, fig. 3, step a, eDRX parameter, cell DRX parameter),
determine and monitor the one PEI occasion for the UE from at least one PEI occasions associated with a PEI frame (see LI, para. [0084]), the UE being in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state (see LI, para. [0048], RRC inactive state),
wherein in response to determining that the parameter D is larger than the parameter Ns, the one PEI occasion is the first occasion in the at least one PEI occasions (see LI, para. [0066-67], network configured paging cycle),
in response to determining that the parameter D is smaller than the parameter Ns, the index of the one PEI occasion in the at least one PEI occasions is calculated by the parameter D and a parameter i_s (see LI, para. [0068,69] default paging cycle).
LI is silent to teaching that the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion, the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, XUE teaches a device wherein the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion (see XUE, para. [0095-97], paging indication, R, PO), the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE (see XUE, para. [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of LI with the teaching of XUE in order to improve energy consumption efficiency of mobile terminals (see XUE, para. [0004-5]).
Regarding claim 12, LI teaches a base station (see LI, fig. 1, BS 120), comprising:
a processor; and a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions (see LI, para. [0006]) that cause the processor to:
transmit a parameter D and a parameter Ns (see LI, fig. 3, step a, eDRX parameter, cell DRX parameter),
transmit, to a User Equipment (UE), a PEI on the one PEI occasion for the UE from at least one PEI occasions associated with a PEI frame (see LI, para. [0084]), the UE being in RRC_IDLE or RRCINACTIVE state (see LI, para. [0048], RRC inactive state),
wherein in response to determining that the parameter D is larger than the parameter Ns, the one PEI occasion is the first occasion in the at least one PEI occasions (see LI, para. [0066-67], network configured paging cycle),
in response to determining that the parameter D is smaller than the parameter Ns, the index of the one PEI occasion in the at least one PEI occasions is calculated by the parameter D and a parameter i_s (see LI, para. [0068,69] default paging cycle).
LI is silent to teaching that the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion, the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, XUE teaches a device wherein the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion (see XUE, para. [0095-97], paging indication, R, PO), the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE (see XUE, para. [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of LI with the teaching of XUE in order to improve energy consumption efficiency of mobile terminals (see XUE, para. [0004-5]).
Regarding claim 13, LI teaches A control method in a User Equipment (UE) (see LI, fig. 1, UE 110), comprising:
receiving a parameter D and a parameter Ns from a base station (see LI, fig. 3, step a, eDRX parameter, cell DRX parameter),
determining and monitoring the one PEI occasion for the UE from at least one PEI occasions associated with a PEI frame (see LI, para. [0084]), the UE being in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state (see LI, para. [0048], RRC inactive state),
wherein in response to determining that the parameter D is larger than the parameter Ns, the one PEI occasion is the first occasion in the at least one PEI occasions (see LI, para. [0066-67], network configured paging cycle),
in response to determining that the parameter D is smaller than the parameter Ns, the index of the one PEI occasion in the at least one PEI occasions is calculated by the parameter D and a parameter i_s (see LI, para. [0068,69] default paging cycle).
LI is silent to teaching that the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion, the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, XUE teaches a device wherein the parameter D being a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with one Paging Early Indication (PEI) occasion (see XUE, para. [0095-97], paging indication, R, PO), the parameter Ns being a number of POs for a Paging Frame (PF); and the parameter i_s is the index of the PO for the UE (see XUE, para. [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of LI with the teaching of XUE in order to improve energy consumption efficiency of mobile terminals (see XUE, para. [0004-5]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM (2006/0056339), Schliwa (9,398,634), FU (2020/0022105), Yang (2022/0330151) teaches paging signal monitoring systems.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648