DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1, 7, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "plurality of bumps" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Topham et al. (US Patent No. 5,044,604 herein after Topham).
Re: Claim 1, Topham discloses the claimed invention including a shut off valve, comprising:
a domed valve (7) having a valve lip (13) about an outer circumferential edge (Fig. 6);
an interior surface (14);
an exterior surface (23);
a valve stem connection (24) extending off of the interior surface (Depicted in Fig. 6); and
a projection (17) extending off of the interior surface vertically away from the valve lip,
wherein the projection has a general triangular-shaped cross-section with a vertical wall (18) extending up (Depicted in Fig. 3, three-sided shape leading to a peak) and away from the valve lip and returning walls (16) sloping back towards the interior surface from a peak (17) of the vertical wall (Depicted in Figs. 3-4).
Re: Claim 2, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the interior surface is convex (at 16) (Fig. 6).
Re: Claim 3, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the interior surface has a concave slope (at 15) (Fig. 6).
Re: Claim 4, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the projection comprises a plurality of projections extending off of the interior surface (Figs. 3-4 depict the plurality).
Re: Claim 5, Topham discloses the claimed invention including a valve stem connection extending off of the interior surface (Depicted in Fig. 3 and 6).
Re: Claim 7, Topham discloses the claimed invention including a tap dispenser, comprising: a dispensing head (1) (Fig. 1) comprising an interior space (14) (Fig. 3); a first opening (at 8) in the dispenser head; a second opening (22) in the dispenser head opposite the first opening (Fig. 1); a button (9) seated in the first opening; a shut off valve (7) seated in the second opening (Fig. 1) and having an interior surface; the shut off valve (7) having a valve lip (13) about an outer circumferential edge an interior surface of the second opening in a closed position ( Depicted in Fig. 1); a projection (17) extending off of the interior surface vertically away from the valve lip and toward the first opening (Fig. 3, vertical wall 18 extends toward first opening), wherein the projection has a general triangular-shaped cross-section with a vertical wall (18) extending up (Depicted in Fig. 3, three sided shape leading to a peak) and away from the valve lip and returning walls (16) sloping back towards the interior surface from a peak (17) of the vertical wall (Depicted in Figs. 3-4); said projection disrupting a fluid flow over the interior surface (Depicted in Fig. 2 with arrows representing flow).
Re: Claim 8, Topham discloses the claimed invention including body (4) and a throat (8), the body connected to the throat and the throat connected to the dispensing head (Depicted in Fig. 1).
Re: Claim 9, Topham discloses the claimed invention including a valve stem (6) positioned between and in communication with the button and the shut off valve (Fig. 1).
Re: Claim 13, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the at least one projection comprises a plurality of bumps on the interior surface (Fig. 4 depicts a plurality of bumps at the bottom edge of the projections).
Re: Claim 14, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the at least one projection comprises a vertical face (18, vertical wall includes the vertical face) extending parallel to a central axis of the shut off valve from the interior surface towards the button (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topham (US Patent No. 5,044,604) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Driskell et al. (US Patent No. 11,312,613 herein after Driskell).
Re: Claim 15, the rejection from claim 7 above cover the limitations recited in this claim, and further Topham teaches an inlet (2) with threads for attaching a fluid carrying device (Fig. 1, Col 4, lines 16-17, attaches to fluid carrying conduit with threading) except for expressing disclosing a container. However, Driskell teaches attaching a shutoff valve(100A) attaching to a fluid conduit (902) of a container (900) (Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a container as taught by Driskell, since Topham teaches in col. 4, lines 16-18 conventional connection means such as threading for attaching to any fluid carrying conduit, and further adding the container of is well known in the art for providing a portable fluid carrying device such that the valve thus increasing the use cased for the shut off valve device.
Re: Claim 18, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the at least one projection comprises a plurality of bumps on the interior surface (Fig. 4 depicts a plurality of bumps at the bottom edge of the projections).
Re: Claim 19, Topham discloses the claimed invention including the at least one projection comprises a vertical face (18, vertical wall includes the vertical face) extending parallel to a central axis of the shut off valve from the interior surface towards the button (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of shut off valves with unique configurations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754