DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 6/5/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-21 are canceled,
Claims 22, 24, 25, 29-33, and 35 are amended,
Claim 36 is new,
Claims 22-36 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakaoka (Japanese Patent Publication JP2021143809A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, Wakaoka discloses a vapor chamber (figs 1A, 1B) in which a working fluid is sealed, the vapor chamber comprising:
a body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below) including a first body face (see annotated fig 1B below) and a second body face (see annotated fig 1B below), the second body face being opposite from the first body face;
a first sheet (11) on the first body face of the body sheet; and
a space part (see annotated fig 1B below) comprising open spaces (see annotated fig 1A and 1B below) in the body sheet and covered by the first sheet, wherein
the body sheet includes a plurality of first land parts (50) located within the space part and extending in a first direction (see annotated fig 1a below), the plurality of first land parts being spaced apart from each other in a second direction (see annotated fig 1A below) orthogonal to the first direction by respective ones of the open spaces,
the first sheet includes a first-sheet outer face (see annotated fig 1B below) opposite from the body sheet,
the first-sheet outer face includes a first bond region (see annotated fig 1B below) and a first space region (above the first bond region and within the space part), and the first bond region overlapping each of the plurality of first land parts, the first space region overlapping only the open spaces,
wherein the vapor chamber includes a bend region (15) where the vapor chamber is bent along a bend line (see annotated fig 2 below), the bend line extending in a direction crossing the first direction in plan view (see fig 1Aa below),
a first maximum dimension is a distance in a thickness direction of the first sheet between the first bond region and the first space region (see annotated fig 1B below), and
when viewed in a direction parallel to the bend line, the first maximum dimension in the bend region is greater than the first maximum dimension in a region other than the bend region (see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 23, Wakaoka further discloses wherein the first space region (above the first bond region and within the space part) has a recessed shape (see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 24, Wakaoka further discloses wherein the first space region has a recessed shape (see annotated fig 1B below) in the bend region (15), and the first space region (above the first bond region and within the space part) has, in the region other than the bend region, a flat shape (see annotated fig 1B below) in a direction aligned with the bend line.
Regarding claim 25, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), a portion of the first space region (above the first bond region and within the space part) has a recessed shape (see annotate fig 1B above), and an other portion of the first space region has a flat shape (see annotated fig 1B above) in a direction aligned with the bend line (see annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding claim 26, Wakaoka, in a different embodiment (fig 7B), further discloses wherein the first sheet includes a plurality of first-sheet recesses (see annotated fig 7B below), the plurality of first-sheet recesses overlapping the first space region in plan view and extending into the space part (see annotated fig 7B below).
Regarding claim 27, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), the vapor chamber is bent along a bend line (see annotated fig 2 below) extending in the second direction (see annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding claim 28, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), the vapor chamber is bent along a bend line (see annotated fig 2 above) is capable of being inclined with respect to the first direction (via adjusting the bending angle).
Regarding claim 29, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), the first sheet (11) is outward relative to the body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 30, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), the first sheet (11) is inward relative to the body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 31, Wakaoka further discloses a second sheet (12) located on the second body face (see annotated fig 1B below) of the body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below),
the space part (see annotated fig 1B below) extends from the first body face (see annotated fig 1B below) to the second body face (see annotated fig 1B below), and is covered at the second body face by the second sheet,
the second sheet includes a second-sheet outer face (see annotated fig 1B below) opposite from the body sheet,
the second sheet includes a second bond region (see annotated fig 1B below) and a second space region (below the second bond region an in the space part), the second bond region overlapping each of the plurality of first land parts (50), the second space region overlapping the space part,
wherein a second maximum dimension defined between the second bond region and the second space region in a thickness direction of the second sheet is defined as a second maximum dimension (see annotated fig 1B below), and
wherein when viewed in the direction parallel to the bend line, the second maximum dimension in the bend region is greater than the second maximum dimension in the region other than the bend region (at least at the sloped part immediately adjacent to the second bond region, see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 32, Wakaoka further discloses wherein in the bend region (15), the second sheet (12) is located inward (at least at the edge shown below in annotated fig 2) relative to the body sheet (see annotated fig 1B above).
Regarding claim 33, Wakaoka further discloses wherein the body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below) includes a plurality of second land parts (16) extending in the second direction (see annotated fig 1A below),
wherein each of the plurality of second land parts is located in the region other than the bend region,
wherein each of the plurality of first land parts (50) is in the bend region, and wherein each of the plurality of first land parts is connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of second land parts (via sheets 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 34, Wakaoka further discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a housing; a device contained in the housing; and the vapor chamber according to claim 22, the vapor chamber being in thermal contact with the device (¶0011, as it is implied an electronic device would be mounted on the vapor chamber).
Regarding claim 35, Wakaoka discloses a method for manufacturing a vapor chamber (figs 1A, 1B) in which a working fluid is sealed, the method comprising:
preparing a body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below) and a first sheet (11), the body sheet including a first body face (see annotated fig 1B below) and a second body face (see annotated fig 1B below) opposite from the first body face;
placing the first sheet on the first body face of the body sheet, and bonding the first sheet and the body sheet to each other, the bonding causing a space part comprising open spaces (see annotated fig 1A and 1B below) to be formed in the body sheet, the space part being covered by the first sheet (fig 1B below); and
bending the body sheet and the first sheet to form a bend region (15) where the body sheet and the first sheet are bent, wherein the body sheet includes a plurality of first land parts (50) located within the space part and extending in a first direction (see annotate fig 1A below), the plurality of first land parts being spaced apart from each other in a second direction (see annotated fig 1B below) orthogonal to the first direction by respective ones of the open spaces,
wherein the first sheet includes a first-sheet outer face (see annotated fig 1B below) opposite from the body sheet,
wherein the first-sheet outer face includes a first bond region (see annotated fig 1B below) and a first space region (above the first bond region and within the space region), the first bond region overlapping each of the plurality of first land parts, the first space region overlapping only the open spaces,
wherein in the bend region, the vapor chamber is bent along a bend line (see annotated fig 2 below), the bend line extending in a direction crossing the first direction in plan view,
a first maximum dimension is a distance in a thickness direction of the first sheet between the first bond region and the first space region (see annotated fig 1B below), and
when viewed in a direction parallel to the bend line, the first maximum dimension in the bend region is greater than the first maximum dimension in a region other than the bend region (see annotated fig 1B below).
Regarding claim 36, Wakaoka discloses a vapor chamber (figs 1A-1C) in which a working fluid is sealed, the vapor chamber comprising:
a body sheet (see annotated fig 1B below) including a first body face and a second body face (see annotated fig 1B below), the second body face being opposite from the first body face;
a first sheet (11) on the first body face of the body sheet; and
a space part (see annotated 1B below) comprising open spaces (see annotated fig 1A and 1B below) in the body sheet and covered by the first sheet, wherein
the body sheet includes a plurality of first land parts (50) within the space part and extending in a first direction (see annotated fig 1A below), the plurality of first land parts being spaced apart from each other in a second direction (see annotated fig 1A below) orthogonal to the first direction by respective ones of the open spaces,
the first sheet includes a first-sheet outer face (see annotated fig 1B below) opposite from the body sheet,
the first-sheet outer face includes a first bond region (see annotated fig 1B below) and a first space region (above the first bond region and within the space part), the first bond region overlapping each of the plurality of first land parts, and the first space region overlapping only the open spaces,
the vapor chamber includes a bend region (15) where the vapor chamber is bent along a bend line, the bend line extending in a direction crossing the first direction in plan view, and when viewed in a direction parallel to the bend line, the first space region is recessed inward more in the bend region than the first space region is recessed inward in a region other than the bend region (see annotated fig 1C below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 8-10) that in Wakaoka at 15 (the alleged bend region), the first-sheet outer face is flat and therefore the first maximum dimension at this location is zero. It follows that the first maximum dimension in the bend region is not greater than the first maximum dimension in a region other than the bend region. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; the claim language requires when viewed in a direction parallel to the bend line, the first maximum dimension in the bend region is greater than the first maximum dimension in a region other than the bend region, which is met as shown below in annotated fig 1B below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763