DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 9 of the remarks filed 04/24/2026, Applicant argues “…that one of ordinary skill following Korkala, would only be motivated to maintain 1:1 directivity, and would find no suggestion to selectively deactivate pixels based on an AC-DC ratio threshold to segment the underlying arterial tree.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In paragraph [0060], as cited by Applicant, Korkala teaches that instead of motion the acquired motion measurement data “block 1200 is replaced by estimation of the signal quality of the measurement data received from the currently-enabled photodetectors by the processor.”
Newly found reference Tzvieli et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0318558) discloses calculating quality scores for iPPG signals extracted from windows in the images and selecting a proper subset of the iPPG signals whose quality scores reach a threshold, wherein the quality scores for the iPPG signals are proportional to the ratio AC/DC (paragraph [0587]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korkala (Pub. No.: US 2022/0007954) in view of Tzvieli et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0318558).
Consider claim 1, Korkala discloses a vital sensor, in particular pulse sensor (paragraph [0020], Fig. 1, PPG sensor used for measuring pulse oximetry and paragraph [0023], sensor may include Electromechanical Film (EMFi) pulse sensor), comprising:
- at least one pixelated emitter array (paragraph [0039], Figs. 6, LED matrix 602 disposed on the active-pixel sensor array and Figs. 3, 4, LED(s) 302) with a first and at least one second pixel, which are each configured to emit light of a wavelength range in the direction of a projection surface (Fig. 3, skin 208) (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength and a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength wherein light emitted by the emitter(s) 302 is first focused towards the skin, see paragraph [0030], Fig. 3);
- at least one optical element (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, fibre optic plate 600, representing an embodiment of the array of light guide elements and paragraph [0028], Figs. 3, 4, light guide elements 300) which is arranged between the at least one pixelated emitter array and the projection surface (Fig. 3, light guide elements 300 arranged between LED(s) 302 and skin 208) and which is configured to direct light of the first pixel onto a first region of the projection surface and light of the at least one second pixel onto a second region of the projection surface which differs from the first region (paragraph [0039], Figs. 3, 4, a first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of the PPG measurements, and a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of motion compensation or for oxygen saturation);
- at least one photodetector (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, active-pixel sensor array 604 and Fig. 3, photodetectors 304) configured to detect the light emitted by the pixels and reflected on the projection surface (paragraph [0039], Figs. 3, 4, light arriving at the array from the direction of the skin 208 is effectively directed towards the photodetectors by the light pipes of the array); and
- an evaluation unit which is configured to control the first and the at least one second pixel in a pulsed and time-sequential manner in order to determine a first reference value (paragraphs [0045], [0052], [0054], [0059], Figs. 9, 10, 11, 12, processing circuitry may comprise a controller 12 configured to control the emitter(s) 30 to emit the light according to a control sequence and measurement circuitry 14 configured to process measurement signals received from the photodetectors 32).
Korkala does not specifically disclose the first reference value comprising an AC-DC signal ratio for each of the first and the at least one second pixel;
wherein the evaluation unit is configured to selectively control these pixels of the first and the at least one second pixel for a vital parameter measurement for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value.
Tzvieli discloses the first reference value comprising an AC-DC signal ratio for each of the first and the at least one second pixel; wherein the evaluation unit is configured to selectively control these pixels of the first and the at least one second pixel for a vital parameter measurement for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value (paragraph [0587], calculating quality scores for iPPG signals extracted from windows in the images and selecting a proper subset of the iPPG signals whose quality scores reach a threshold, wherein the quality scores for the iPPG signals are proportional to the ratio AC/DC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the evaluation unit as disclosed by Korkala with the processor as taught by Tzvieli to provide for quality scores for the iPPG signals calculated using a machine learning-based approach that utilizes signal quality metrics (Tzvieli, paragraph [0587]).
Consider claim 2, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the projection surface is formed by the skin of a human wearer of the vital sensor (paragraph [0032], Figs. 3, 4, skin 208 when the sensor device is attached to the user).
Consider claim 3, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the evaluation unit is configured to control at least one of the first and the at least one second pixel for measuring a vital parameter, in particular the pulse rate, of the human wearer on the basis of the first reference value (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of the PPG measurements wherein a PPG sensor is configured to determine cardiac activity of the user 100, such as heart rate).
Consider claim 4, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the evaluation unit is configured to determine a second reference value during the measurement of the vital parameter, and to control the first and the at least one second pixel in a pulsed and time-sequential manner on the basis of the second reference value (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of motion compensation or for oxygen saturation).
Consider claim 5, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the at least one optical element comprises at least one of the following: a refractive lens, in particular a spherical lens; a Fresnel step lens; a diffractive optical element, in particular a diffractive lens; and a lens of a metamaterial (paragraph [0036], Fig. 5, light guide element may comprise an optically transparent core 502 surrounded by an optical refractive barrier 504).
Consider claim 6, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein an aperture is arranged in front of each pixel of the pixelated emitter array, which is configured to limit the cross-section of the light emitted by the pixels in particular to a light spot (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, the LED matrix 602 may be disposed on the active-pixel sensor array 604 arranged inside the casing such that the LED matrix and the active-pixel sensor array are exposed through a hole in the casing).
Consider claim 7, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the at least one optical element comprises at least one spherical lens (paragraph [0036], Fig. 5, optical barrier 504 may be arranged to surround the core 502 through the length of the light guide element).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein at least two pixels of the pixelated emitter array are associated to the at least one spherical lens (paragraph [0036], Fig. 5, optical barrier 504 may be arranged to surround the core 502 through the length of the light guide element).
Consider claim 9, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the at least one optical element comprises a number of spherical lenses corresponding to the number of pixels of the pixelated emitter array, wherein one spherical lens is associated with each pixel of the pixelated emitter array (paragraph [0036], Fig. 5, optical barrier 504 may be arranged to surround the core 502 through the length of the light guide element).
Consider claim 10, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein at least one spherical lens is arranged eccentrically with respect to at least one of the first and the at least one second pixel as seen in an emission direction of the pixelated emitter array (paragraph [0036], Fig. 5, optical barrier 504 may be arranged to surround the core 502 through the length of the light guide element).
Consider claim 13, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the first pixel is configured to emit light of a first wavelength (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength) and the second pixel is configured to emit light of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength).
Consider claim 14, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses comprising a first and at least one second pixelated emitter array, wherein pixels of the first pixelated emitter array are configured to emit light of a first wavelength (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength) and pixels of the at least one second pixelated emitter array are configured to emit light of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength).
Consider claim 15, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses at least two photodetectors which are arranged symmetrically, in particular along a circular virtual line, around the at least one pixelated emitter array (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6).
Consider claim 16, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the evaluation unit is configured to apply a current derived from the first reference value to at least one of the first and the at least one second pixel for measuring a vital parameter, in particular the pulse rate, wherein in particular the current is greater than a current for determining the first reference value (paragraph [0059], Fig. 12, If the measurement data indicates motion above the threshold, the process may proceed to block 1206 where one or more additional emitters and/or one or more additional photodetectors are enabled for the optical biometric measurements, thus enabling a new measurement channel for heart rate or oxygen saturation measurements).
Consider claim 17, Korkala discloses a method for measuring a vital parameter, in particular the pulse rate, of a human wearer of a vital sensor (paragraph [0032], Figs. 3, 4, sensor device is attached to the user skin 208), in particular a pulse sensor (paragraph [0020], Fig. 1, PPG sensor used for measuring pulse oximetry and paragraph [0023], sensor may include Electromechanical Film (EMFi) pulse sensor), comprising the steps:
- sequentially emitting pulsed light of a wavelength range by means of a first and at least one second pixel of a pixelated emitter array in the direction of the skin of the human wearer, wherein a light pulse generated by the first pixel is directed onto a first region of the skin of the human wearer and a light pulse generated by the second pixel is directed onto a second region of the skin of the human wearer which differs from the first region (Fig. 3, skin 208) (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength and a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength wherein light emitted by the emitter(s) 302 is first focused towards the skin, see paragraph [0030], Fig. 3);
- detecting the light emitted by the pixels and reflected from the skin of the human wearer by means of at least one photodetector (paragraph [0039], Figs. 3, 4, light arriving at the array from the direction of the skin 208 is effectively directed towards the photodetectors by the light pipes of the array).
Korkala does not specifically disclose determining a first reference value comprising an AC-DC signal ratio for each pixel, and selectively controlling these pixels of the first and the at least one second pixel for measuring the vital parameter for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value.
Tzvieli discloses determining a first reference value comprising an AC-DC signal ratio for each pixel, and selectively controlling these pixels of the first and the at least one second pixel for measuring the vital parameter for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value (paragraph [0587], calculating quality scores for iPPG signals extracted from windows in the images and selecting a proper subset of the iPPG signals whose quality scores reach a threshold, wherein the quality scores for the iPPG signals are proportional to the ratio AC/DC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the evaluation unit as disclosed by Korkala with the processor as taught by Tzvieli to provide for quality scores for the iPPG signals calculated using a machine learning-based approach that utilizes signal quality metrics (Tzvieli, paragraph [0587]).
Consider claim 18, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses determining a second reference value during the measurement of the vital parameter (paragraph [0052], Fig. 10, step 1008 more sample questioned answered “yes”), wherein the first reference value is determined again for each pixel if the second reference value falls below a predefined threshold value (paragraph [0052, Fig. 10, step 1004 signal level less than threshold and more samples requested for processing where first reference value is determined again).
Consider claim 19, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein for measuring the vital parameter only those pixels are controlled for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value (paragraph [0052], Fig. 10, if the signal level is above the threshold, it is determined that the light from the emitter(s) has been detected by the photodetector forming the pixel, and the sample (set) is selected for combining (step 1006) and no more samples need processing).
Consider claim 20, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein the pixels for which the first reference value exceeds a predefined threshold value are provided with a higher current for measuring the vital parameter (paragraph [0057]).
Consider claim 21, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli discloses wherein at least one optical element (paragraph [0039], Fig. 6, fibre optic plate 600, representing an embodiment of the array of light guide elements and paragraph [0028], Figs. 3, 4, light guide elements 300) is arranged between the at least one pixelated emitter array and the skin of the human wearer (Fig. 3, light guide elements 300 arranged between LED(s) 302 and skin 208), wherein the optical element is configured to direct the light pulse generated by the first pixel onto the first region of the skin of the human wearer and the light pulse generated by the second pixel onto the second region of the skin of the human wearer (paragraph [0039], Figs. 3, 4, a first set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a first wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of the PPG measurements, and a second set of one or more LEDs configured to emit light at a second wavelength, e.g. for the purpose of motion compensation or for oxygen saturation).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli in view of Bhat et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0337413).
Consider claim 11, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli does not specifically disclose wherein the first and the at least one second pixel are each formed by a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL).
Bhat discloses wherein the first and the at least one second pixel are each formed by a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) (paragraph [0046], Fig. 1, an array of pixels 11 formed by micro-LEDs 12 or other light sources, such as vertical-cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs)).
Therefore, in order to provide for different kinds of LEDs that emit different peak wavelengths of interest, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Bhat wherein the first and the at least one second pixel are each formed by a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL), see teaching found in Bhat, paragraph [0046].
Consider claim 12, the combination of Korkala and Tzvieli does not specifically disclose wherein a converter layer is arranged on at least one pixel of the pixelated emitter array, which is configured to at least partially convert the light emitted by the pixel into light of a different wavelength, in particular broadband light.
Bhat discloses wherein a converter layer is arranged on at least one pixel of the pixelated emitter array, which is configured to at least partially convert the light emitted by the pixel into light of a different wavelength, in particular broadband light (paragraph [0046], LEDs 12 may be the same kind (e.g., UV LEDs) with different phosphors to emit the different wavelengths of interest).
Therefore, in order to provide for different kinds of LEDs that emit different peak wavelengths of interest, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Bhat wherein a converter layer is arranged on at least one pixel of the pixelated emitter array, which is configured to at least partially convert the light emitted by the pixel into light of a different wavelength, in particular broadband light, see teaching found in Bhat, paragraph [0046].
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797