DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s Amendment filed April 1, 2026 (hereinafter “04/01/26 Amendment") has been entered, and fully considered. In the 04/01/26 Amendment, claims 1, 8, 11, & 12 were amended, and claim 2 was cancelled. No claims were newly added. Therefore, claims 1, & 3-12 are now pending in the application.
3. The 04/01/26 Amendment has overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 01/08/26 (“01/08/26 Action”).
4. The prior rejections under § 102 have been updated responsive to the 04/01/26 Amendment, and maintained.
5. Applicant's arguments are addressed in detail below in the “Response to Arguments” section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
I. Rejections Under § 102 based on “Wonderlife”
7. Claims 1, & 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2021-517495, published 07/26/2021, to Wonderlife Co., Ltd. (“Wonderlife”). NOTE: the citations set forth herein (below) are to the English Translation provided by Applicant with the Foreign Patent Document copy.
8. Regarding claim 1, and with reference to FIG. 7 (reproduced below), Wonderlife discloses a bioelectrode, comprising:
FIG. 7 of Wonderlife
a substrate plate [connection sheet member (210) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 4, 5, 7] having a plurality of through holes [through holes (211) - ¶[0044]; FIGS. 7, 9] spaced apart from each other [clearly shown in FIG. 7];
a plurality of electrode parts, each of the plurality of electrode parts including:
a covering layer [contact pad (230) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 4, 5, 7];
a connection terminal which is conductive [coupling terminal portion (220) including its constituent components (221), (222) - ¶’s [0042], [0043]], the connection terminal [(220)] including a protruding portion [detachable mount (221) including its constituent components (221a, 221b, 221c, 221d, 221e) - ¶’s [0048]-[0049]; FIGS. 7-9] protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer [from an upper surface of pad body (231) of contact pad (230)] [NOTE: detachable mount (221) contacts, and extends/protrudes orthogonally (in an upward/vertical direction) from, the upper surface of pad body (231) (¶[0062]) of contact pad (230), as clearly seen in FIG. 8 (excerpt provided below)], the protruding portion passing through one of the plurality of through holes [(211)] of the substrate plate [(210)] [FIGS. 7-9]; and
EXCERPT OF FIG. 8 of WONDERLIFE
a conductive layer [conductive electrode part (232) - ¶[0062]; FIGS. 8, 9] which is electrically connected to the connection terminal [¶[0064]], and is to be brought into contact with a living body [¶[0064]]; and
a fixing plate [first coupling part (110) - ¶[0030]; FIG. 7] mounted to the protruding portion [(221)] of the connection terminal [clearly seen in FIG. 8],
wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts is movable within a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate so that a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable [as broadly as claimed, the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) extending through the through hole has a diameter that is smaller than that of the through hole thereby allowing for movement of the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) therein; FIG. 7; this limitation is addressed in additional detail in the “Response to Arguments” section below], and
wherein a size of each of the plurality of through holes [(211)] of the substrate plate [(210)] allows the protruding portion of the connection terminal to be inserted therethrough [clearly shown in FIGS. 7, 9], and is smaller than a size of the fixing plate [each through hole is smaller than a size of its corresponding fixing plate (clearly shown in FIG. 7)].
9. Regarding claim 3, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the connection terminal [(220)] and the conductive layer [(232)] of the each of the plurality of electrode parts are separated from each other, and the each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes a second conductive layer [coupling wings (222c) - ¶[0070]; FIG. 7] extending between the covering layer and the conductive layer under a state in which the second conductive layer is in contact with the connection terminal and the conductive layer [FIG. 7].
10. Regarding claim 4, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 3 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes an insulating layer [pad body (231)] which is attached to the second conductive layer [via slits (234)], and which covers a conductor fitted to the connection terminal [covers wings (222c)] or an end portion of the connection terminal on a side opposite to the protruding portion in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the covering layer extends.
11. Regarding claim 5, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the connection terminal includes a male hook [broadly, protrusion (221d) - ¶’s [0048]-[0049]; FIGS. 7, 9].
12. Regarding claim 6, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein, when the protruding portion of the connection terminal is inserted through a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes [(211)] of the substrate plate [(210)] [FIG. 7], and the fixing plate [(110)] is fitted to the protruding portion, under a state in which the plurality of electrode parts are mounted to the substrate plate so as to be unremovable from the substrate plate, in plan view, 50% or more of an area of the conductive layer [(232)] is arrangeable at a position not overlapping the substrate plate [clearly shown in FIGS. 8-9].
13. Regarding claim 7, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the conductive layer includes a conductive gel layer [conductive adhesive portion (233) comprising a conductive hydrogel - ¶’s [0064]-[0067]].
14. Regarding claim 8, and with reference to FIG. 7 (reproduced below), Wonderlife discloses a set for assembling a bioelectrode, comprising:
FIG. 7 of Wonderlife
a substrate plate [connection sheet member (210) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 4, 5, 7] having a plurality of through holes [through holes (211) - ¶[0044]; FIGS. 7, 9] spaced apart from each other [clearly shown in FIG. 7];
a plurality of electrode parts mountable to and removable from the substrate plate [(210)], each of the plurality of electrode parts including:
a covering layer [contact pad (230) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 4, 5, 7];
a connection terminal which is conductive [coupling terminal portion (220) including its constituent components (221), (222) - ¶’s [0042], [0043]], the connection terminal [(220)] including a protruding portion [detachable mount (221) including its constituent components (221a, 221b, 221c, 221d, 221e) - ¶’s [0048]-[0049]; FIGS. 7-9] protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer [from an upper surface of pad body (231) of contact pad (230)] [NOTE: detachable mount (221) contacts, and extends/protrudes orthogonally (in an upward/vertical direction) from, the upper surface of pad body (231) (¶[0062]) of contact pad (230), as clearly seen in FIG. 8 (excerpt provided below)],
EXCERPT OF FIG. 8 of WONDERLIFE
a conductive layer [conductive electrode part (232) - ¶[0062]; FIGS. 8, 9] which is electrically connected to the connection terminal [¶[0064]], and is to be brought into contact with a living body [¶[0064]]; and
a fixing plate [first coupling part (110) - ¶[0030]; FIG. 7] mounted to the protruding portion [(221)] of the connection terminal [clearly seen in FIG. 8],
wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts is movable within a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate so that a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable [as broadly as claimed, the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) extending through the through hole has a diameter that is smaller than that of the through hole thereby allowing for movement of the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) therein; FIG. 7; this limitation is addressed in additional detail in the “Response to Arguments” section below], and
wherein a size of each of the plurality of through holes [(211)] of the substrate plate [(210)] allows the protruding portion of the connection terminal to be inserted therethrough [clearly shown in FIGS. 7, 9], and is smaller than a size of the fixing plate [each through hole is smaller than a size of its corresponding fixing plate (clearly shown in FIG. 7)].
15. Regarding claim 9, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes a conductor [contact pad coupling piece (222) - ¶[0048]; FIG. 7] passing through the covering layer [(230)] and fitted to the connection terminal [coupling terminal portion (220)] [FIG. 7].
16. Regarding claim 10, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the connection terminal [coupling terminal portion (220)] passes through the covering layer [(230)] [[contact pad coupling piece (222) passes through layer (230) - FIG. 7].
17. Regarding claim 11, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes a conductor [contact pad coupling piece (222) - ¶[0048]; FIG. 7] passing through the covering layer [(230)] and fitted to the connection terminal [coupling terminal portion (220)] [FIG. 7].
18. Regarding claim 12, Wonderlife discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Wonderlife further discloses wherein the connection terminal [coupling terminal portion (220)] passes through the covering layer [(230)] [contact pad coupling piece (222) passes through layer (230) - FIG. 7].
II. Rejections Under § 102 based on “Korkala”
19. Claims 1, 5, & 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0223716 to Korkala et al. (“Korkala”).
20. Regarding claim 1, and with reference to annotated FIG. 3 (provided below), Korkala discloses a bioelectrode, comprising:
Annotated FIG. 3 of Korkala
a substrate plate [substrate (20) - ¶[0026]; FIG. 3] having a plurality of through holes spaced apart from each other [clearly shown in FIG. 3];
a plurality of electrode parts, each of the plurality of electrode parts including:
a covering layer [intermediate insulation layer (22) - ¶[0029]; FIG. 3];
a connection terminal which is conductive [the portions of press stud connectors (12, 14) labelled “connection terminal” in annotated FIG. 3 above - see also ¶[0024]] and passes through the covering layer [(22)] [FIG. 3], the connection terminal including a protruding portion protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer [clearly seen in FIG. 3], the protruding portion passing through one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate [the portions of the press stud connectors (12, 14) labelled “connection terminals” in annotated FIG. 3 each protrude through (and from) the covering layer (22) and also pass through the respective through holes of substrate plate (20); see also ¶[0028] (“The connectors 12, 14 may be disposed to penetrate the flexible textile substrate 20 and any layer between the flexible textile substrate 20 and the electrode layer 30 to provide a galvanic connection between the electrodes 24, 26 and the electronics module 16 disposed on opposite sides of the flexible textile substrate 20. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the connectors 12, 14 penetrate also the electrode layer 30, e.g. each electrode 24, 26”)]; and
a conductive layer [each of the one or more electrodes (24, 26) - ¶[0028]; FIG. 3] which is electrically connected to the connection terminal [¶[0028]], and is to be brought into contact with a living body [¶[0028] (“The at least two electrodes 24, 26 may be applied on one side of the flexible textile substrate 20 and configured to be placed against (contact) the skin 32”)]; and
a fixing plate [labelled in annotated FIG. 3 above] mounted to the protruding portion of the connection terminal [FIG. 3],
wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts is movable within a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate [(20)] so that a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable [as broadly as claimed, the portion of each press stud connector (12, 14) labelled “connection terminal” in annotated FIG. 3 above has a diameter that is smaller than that of the respective through holes thereby allowing for movement of the connector therein; additionally, substrate (20) is elastic (see ¶[0026]) allowing for the distance between through holes to change as the device is stretched/relaxed; this limitation is addressed in additional detail in the “Response to Arguments” section below], and
wherein a size of each of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate [(20)] allows the protruding portion of the connection terminal to be inserted therethrough [see ¶[0028] (“The connectors 12, 14 may be disposed to penetrate the flexible textile substrate 20”); FIG. 3], and is smaller than a size of the fixing plate [each through hole is smaller than a size of its corresponding labelled “fixing plate” (clearly shown in FIG. 3), otherwise the fixing plates would fall/slip through the through holes and the connectors (12, 14) would not be able to secure the layers of the device together].
21. Regarding claim 5, Korkala discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Korkala further discloses wherein the connection terminal includes a male hook [press stud connector - ¶[0024]; FIG. 3].
22. Regarding claim 8, and with reference to annotated FIG. 3 (provided below), Korkala discloses a set for assembling a bioelectrode, comprising:
Annotated FIG. 3 of Korkala
a substrate plate [substrate (20) - ¶[0026]; FIG. 3] having a plurality of through holes spaced apart from each other [clearly shown in FIG. 3];
a plurality of electrode parts mountable to and removable from the substrate plate [(20)], each of the plurality of electrode parts including:
a covering layer [intermediate insulation layer (22) - ¶[0029]; FIG. 3];
a connection terminal which is conductive [the portions of press stud connectors (12, 14) labelled “connection terminal” in annotated FIG. 3 above - see also ¶[0024]], the connection terminal including a protruding portion protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer [FIG. 3] [the portions of the press stud connectors (12, 14) labelled “connection terminals” in annotated FIG. 3 each protrude through (and from) the covering layer (22) and also pass through the respective through holes of substrate plate (20); see also ¶[0028] (“The connectors 12, 14 may be disposed to penetrate the flexible textile substrate 20 and any layer between the flexible textile substrate 20 and the electrode layer 30 to provide a galvanic connection between the electrodes 24, 26 and the electronics module 16 disposed on opposite sides of the flexible textile substrate 20. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the connectors 12, 14 penetrate also the electrode layer 30, e.g. each electrode 24, 26”)]; and
a conductive layer [each of the one or more electrodes (24, 26) - ¶[0028]; FIG. 3] which is electrically connected to the connection terminal [¶[0028]], and is to be brought into contact with a living body [¶[0028] (“The at least two electrodes 24, 26 may be applied on one side of the flexible textile substrate 20 and configured to be placed against (contact) the skin 32”)]; and
a fixing plate [labelled in annotated FIG. 3 above] mounted to the protruding portion of the connection terminal [FIG. 3],
wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts is movable within a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate [(20)] so that a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable [as broadly as claimed, the portion of each press stud connector (12, 14) labelled “connection terminal” in annotated FIG. 3 above has a diameter that is smaller than that of the respective through holes thereby allowing for movement of the connector therein; additionally, substrate (20) is elastic (see ¶[0026]) allowing for the distance between through holes to change as the device is stretched/relaxed; this limitation is addressed in additional detail in the “Response to Arguments” section below], and
wherein a size of each of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate [(20)] allows the protruding portion of the connection terminal to be inserted therethrough [see ¶[0028] (“The connectors 12, 14 may be disposed to penetrate the flexible textile substrate 20”); FIG. 3], and is smaller than a size of the fixing plate [each through hole is smaller than a size of its corresponding labelled “fixing plate” (clearly shown in FIG. 3), otherwise the fixing plates would fall/slip through the through holes and the connectors (12, 14) would not be able to secure the layers of the device together].
23. Regarding claim 9, Korkala discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Korkala further discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes a conductor passing through the covering layer [(22)] and fitted to the connection terminal [¶’s [0024], [0028]].
24. Regarding claim 10, Korkala discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Korkala further discloses wherein the connection terminal passes through the covering layer [intermediate insulation layer (22)] [see ¶[0028]; FIG. 3].
25. Regarding claim 11, Korkala discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Korkala further discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrode parts further includes a conductor passing through the covering layer [(22)] and fitted to the connection terminal [¶’s [0024], [0028]].
26. Regarding claim 12, Korkala discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Korkala further discloses wherein the connection terminal passes through the covering layer [intermediate insulation layer (22)] [see ¶[0028]; FIG. 3].
Response to Arguments
27. As noted above, the 04/01/26 Amendment has overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the 01/08/26 Action. The prior rejections under § 102 have been updated, and maintained.
28. In the 04/01/26 Amendment, independent claim 1 was amended to include the following limitation of original dependent claim 2 (now cancelled):
wherein the each of the plurality of electrode parts is movable within a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes of the substrate plate so that a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable.
29. Independent claim 8 was likewise amended to include this limitation. Applicant argues that Wonderlife and Korkala each fail to disclose this limitation. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below.
30. Wonderlife
31. Concerning Wonderlife, Applicant attempts to distinguish the claimed invention as follows:
However, Applicant initially submits that it should be appreciated that, for example, as shown in, e.g., Applicant's Figure 2, the bioelectrode of the present invention is configured such that the diameter or length of the multiple through-holes in the base plate is greater than the diameter of the protruding portion of the connection terminal, yet smaller than the size of the fixing plate, thereby allowing the distance between the protruding portions of the connection terminals of adjacent electrode portions to be adjusted. See, e.g., Applicant's Fig. 2.
04/01/26 Amendment, pg. 9.
32. The foregoing features, however, are not recited in the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Nowhere does independent claim 1 (nor any of dependent claims 3-7, 9, & 10) include any explicit recitations concerning the relationship between the diameter or length of the multiple through-holes and similar/corresponding dimensions of the protruding portion and fixing plate. Moreover, the claim fails to even define what dimension (e.g., length, diameter, radius, etc.) is intended to be clarified (or characterized) by the broad recitation of “a range of a corresponding one of the plurality of through holes,” much less any values ascribed to the dimension.
As broadly as currently claimed, the limitation at issue is satisfied by Wonderlife’s disclosure that the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) extending through the through hole has a diameter that is smaller than that of the through hole, thereby allowing for movement of the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) therein. Stated another way, a size of the through hole (211) of the substrate plate (210) allows the protruding portion of the connection terminal to be inserted therethrough [FIGS. 7, 9]. To this end, any lateral movement of the portion of coupling terminal portion (220) extending through the through hole, no matter how slight, will change a distance between the connection terminal of an adjacent electrode part. For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
33. Applicant further alleges that Wonderlife fails to disclose the connection terminal including a protruding portion protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer, as now recited in amended independent claims 1 & 8:
That is, the allegedly analogous protruding portion of the connection terminal in WONDERLIFE (i.e., body 221c and shaft portion 221d) merely has the shaft portion 221d pass through the through hole 211 of the connecting sheet member 210 to engage with a contact pad coupling piece 222 of the contact pad 230, and therefore does not protrude orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer 230 while passing through one of the plurality of through holes 211 of the substrate plate to be mounted to the fixing plate 110, as generally required in Applicant's amended independent claim 1. See Id.
04/01/26 Amendment, pg. 11, emphasis in original.
34. This argument is without merit. Responsive to Applicant’s amendment, the rejection has been updated to establish that the connection terminal (220) includes a protruding portion [detachable mount (221) including its constituent components (221a, 221b, 221c, 221d, 221e) - ¶’s [0048]-[0049]; FIGS. 7-9] protruding orthogonally from an upper surface of the covering layer [from an upper surface of pad body (231) of contact pad (230)]. As noted in the body of the rejection above, and as clearly seen in the excerpt of FIG. 8 (provided below), detachable mount (221) contacts, and extends/protrudes orthogonally (in an upward/vertical direction) from, the upper surface of pad body (231) (¶[0062]) of contact pad (230), and passes through one of the plurality of through holes (211) of the substrate plate (210) [FIGS. 7-9].
EXCERPT OF FIG. 8 of WONDERLIFE
Further, Wonderlife discloses that the fixing plate [first coupling part (110) - ¶[0030]; FIGS. 7-8] is mounted to the protruding portion [(221)] of the connection terminal [as clearly seen in FIG. 8].
For each of the foregoing reasons, the rejection of independent claim 1 under § 102, based on Wonderlife, is maintained. The same arguments apply to independent claim 8.
35. Korkala
36. Concerning the rejection of independent claims 1 & 8 under § 102, based on Korkala, Applicant similarly focuses on the limitation of original dependent claim 2 (now cancelled):
However, Applicant again submits that it should be appreciated that, for example, as discussed above and as shown in Applicant's Figure 2, the bioelectrode of the present invention is configured such that the diameter or length of the multiple through-holes in the base plate is greater than the diameter of the protruding portion of the connection terminal, yet smaller than the size of the fixing plate, thereby allowing the distance between the protruding portions of the connection terminals of adjacent electrode portions to be adjusted. See, e.g., Applicant's Fig. 2.
04/01/26 Amendment, pg. 13.
***
… the fact that the protruding portions are inserted into the through holes in KORKALA does not then disclose, or suggest, at least that "a distance between connection terminals of adjacent electrode parts is changeable," as generally recited in Applicant's amended independent claim 1. See Id.
04/01/26 Amendment, pg. 14.
37. These arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of Wonderlife above, namely that the features touted by Applicant are not recited in the claim. As broadly as currently claimed, the limitation at issue is satisfied by Korkala’s disclosure that the portion of each press stud connector (12, 14) comprising the connection terminal has a diameter that is smaller than that of the respective through holes thereby allowing for movement of the connector therein. As such, any lateral movement of the portion of the press stud connector extending through the through hole, no matter how slight, will change a distance between the connection terminal of an adjacent electrode part. Still further, substrate (20) is elastic (see ¶[0026]) allowing for the distance between through holes to change as the device is stretched/relaxed. For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
For these reasons, the rejection of independent claims 1 & 8 under § 102, based on Korkala, is maintained.
Conclusion
38. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADFORD C. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794