DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7 and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments made to independent claim 7 for example change the scope of the claim. The limitation “wherein the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list are specific to each of the plurality of cells, and at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state indicated by the DCI among the DL TCI state list and UL TCI state list specific to each of the plurality of cells indicates a common reference signal to the plurality of cells.” changes the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0100154) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2024/0023090).
Regarding claim 7, Cirik discloses a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives ([0123], “The processing system 814 may be substantially the same as the processing system 714 illustrated in FIG. 7, including a bus interface 808, a bus 802, memory 805, a processor 804, and a computer-readable medium 806. Furthermore, the scheduled entity 800 may include a user interface 812 and a transceiver 810 substantially similar to those described above in FIG. 7.”), by RRC signaling, a list including a plurality of cells ([0058], “A base station may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells.”), a downlink transmission configuration indication (DL TCI) state list, and an uplink TCI (UL TCI) state list ([0364], “A second TCI state of one or more TCI states may be received at a time T3 2708 and/or may comprise one or more fields.” The multiple TCI states can be applied to DL or UL as stated below in [0422].), receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) activating at least one of a DL TCI state and a UL TCI state, among a plurality of DL TCI states and a plurality of UL TCI states respectively included in the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list ([0422], “A wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters for a plurality of cells of a cell group, may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery, may receive a MAC CE activation command that indicates a TCI state for a first cell of the plurality of cells of the cell group, and may apply the TCI state to one or more control channels of the cell group, wherein the one or more control channels comprise at least one of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel.”), and receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or two TCI states among the at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state ([0193], “A wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI states (e.g., 8 states) to one or more codepoints of a TCI field in DCI.”); and a processor that applies ([0123], “The processing system 814 may be substantially the same as the processing system 714 illustrated in FIG. 7, including a bus interface 808, a bus 802, memory 805, a processor 804, and a computer-readable medium 806.”), to the plurality of cells, the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI ([0423], “A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a plurality of cells grouped in a cell group comprising a cell, receiving a MAC CE activation command indicating a TCI state for the cell, and may apply the TCI state to downlink control channels of the cell group.”). Cirik does not explicitly disclose the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. Yuan discloses wherein the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list are specific to each of the plurality of cells ([0060], “In some configurations using CA in which multiple CCs are used by the UE to communicate with a set of one or more serving cells, DL TCI states (e.g., a DL TCI state list) for each particular CC (or for each serving cell) may be configured in a PDSCH-Config IE (as an example of a DL config IE) and reused for identifying a TCI state for PDCCH and/or CSI-RS for the particular CC. … Because of the different UL transmission configurations for different CCs and/or different serving cells and the different types of UL transmissions that may be exchanged over different CCs associated with different serving cells there may be a benefit to introduce a set of one or more UL TCI state configuration locations (e.g., in one or more information elements in radio resource control (RRC)), where each of the set of one or more locations can be used to configure UL TCI states (e.g., an UL TCI state list) for at least one type of UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, configured-grant PUSCH, and SRS transmissions).”), and at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state indicated by the DCI among the DL TCI state list and UL TCI state list specific to each of the plurality of cells indicates a common reference signal to the plurality of cells ([0059], “For example, a first set of reference signals associated with M TCI states may provide QCL information for at least UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH and UE-dedicated reception on all, or a subset, of CORESETs in a CC. QCL information may identify common characteristics between antenna ports. For example, QCL information may indicate similar doppler shift; doppler spread; average delay; and delay spread (type A), similar doppler shift and doppler spread (type B), similar average delay and delay spread (type C), or a similar spatial receiver parameter used to support beamforming (type D). A second set of reference signals associated with N TCI states may provide a reference for determining a common UL transmission filter (or filters) for at least dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all, or a subset, of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.”; [0064], “The different TCI indicators may identify different TCI states that, in turn, identify different reference signals and a QCL type. For example, both TCI states may identify QCL type D information to support beamforming, but one TCI state may indicate QCL with a particular SSB, while the other TCI state may indicate QCL with CSI-RS or a different SSB. The UE 402 may then use the QCL information regarding the different reference signals to perform beamforming to reach the first and second base stations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik in view of Yuan to have the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. The motivation would have been to improve communication (e.g., Yuan [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Cirik discloses a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving, by RRC signaling, a list including a plurality of cells ([0058], “A base station may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells.”), a downlink transmission configuration indication (DL TCI) state list, and an uplink TCI (UL TCI) state list ([0364], “A second TCI state of one or more TCI states may be received at a time T3 2708 and/or may comprise one or more fields.” The multiple TCI states can be applied to DL or UL as stated below in [0422].), receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) activating at least one of a DL TCI state and a UL TCI state, among a plurality of DL TCI states and a plurality of UL TCI states respectively included in the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list ([0422], “A wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters for a plurality of cells of a cell group, may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery, may receive a MAC CE activation command that indicates a TCI state for a first cell of the plurality of cells of the cell group, and may apply the TCI state to one or more control channels of the cell group, wherein the one or more control channels comprise at least one of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel.”), and receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or two TCI states among the at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state ([0193], “A wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI states (e.g., 8 states) to one or more codepoints of a TCI field in DCI.”); and applying, to the plurality of cells, the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI ([0423], “A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a plurality of cells grouped in a cell group comprising a cell, receiving a MAC CE activation command indicating a TCI state for the cell, and may apply the TCI state to downlink control channels of the cell group.”). Cirik does not explicitly disclose the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. Yuan discloses wherein the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list are specific to each of the plurality of cells ([0060], “In some configurations using CA in which multiple CCs are used by the UE to communicate with a set of one or more serving cells, DL TCI states (e.g., a DL TCI state list) for each particular CC (or for each serving cell) may be configured in a PDSCH-Config IE (as an example of a DL config IE) and reused for identifying a TCI state for PDCCH and/or CSI-RS for the particular CC. … Because of the different UL transmission configurations for different CCs and/or different serving cells and the different types of UL transmissions that may be exchanged over different CCs associated with different serving cells there may be a benefit to introduce a set of one or more UL TCI state configuration locations (e.g., in one or more information elements in radio resource control (RRC)), where each of the set of one or more locations can be used to configure UL TCI states (e.g., an UL TCI state list) for at least one type of UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, configured-grant PUSCH, and SRS transmissions).”), and at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state indicated by the DCI among the DL TCI state list and UL TCI state list specific to each of the plurality of cells indicates a common reference signal to the plurality of cells ([0059], “For example, a first set of reference signals associated with M TCI states may provide QCL information for at least UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH and UE-dedicated reception on all, or a subset, of CORESETs in a CC. QCL information may identify common characteristics between antenna ports. For example, QCL information may indicate similar doppler shift; doppler spread; average delay; and delay spread (type A), similar doppler shift and doppler spread (type B), similar average delay and delay spread (type C), or a similar spatial receiver parameter used to support beamforming (type D). A second set of reference signals associated with N TCI states may provide a reference for determining a common UL transmission filter (or filters) for at least dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all, or a subset, of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.”; [0064], “The different TCI indicators may identify different TCI states that, in turn, identify different reference signals and a QCL type. For example, both TCI states may identify QCL type D information to support beamforming, but one TCI state may indicate QCL with a particular SSB, while the other TCI state may indicate QCL with CSI-RS or a different SSB. The UE 402 may then use the QCL information regarding the different reference signals to perform beamforming to reach the first and second base stations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik in view of Yuan to have the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. The motivation would have been to improve communication (e.g., Yuan [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Cirik discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives ([0123], “The processing system 814 may be substantially the same as the processing system 714 illustrated in FIG. 7, including a bus interface 808, a bus 802, memory 805, a processor 804, and a computer-readable medium 806. Furthermore, the scheduled entity 800 may include a user interface 812 and a transceiver 810 substantially similar to those described above in FIG. 7.”), by RRC signaling, a list including a plurality of cells ([0058], “A base station may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells.”), a downlink transmission configuration indication (DL TCI) state list, and an uplink TCI (UL TCI) state list ([0364], “A second TCI state of one or more TCI states may be received at a time T3 2708 and/or may comprise one or more fields.” The multiple TCI states can be applied to DL or UL as stated below in [0422].), receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) activating at least one of a DL TCI state and a UL TCI state, among a plurality of DL TCI states and a plurality of UL TCI states respectively included in the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list ([0422], “A wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters for a plurality of cells of a cell group, may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery, may receive a MAC CE activation command that indicates a TCI state for a first cell of the plurality of cells of the cell group, and may apply the TCI state to one or more control channels of the cell group, wherein the one or more control channels comprise at least one of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel.”), and receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or two TCI states among the at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state ([0193], “A wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI states (e.g., 8 states) to one or more codepoints of a TCI field in DCI.”); and a processor that applies ([0123], “The processing system 814 may be substantially the same as the processing system 714 illustrated in FIG. 7, including a bus interface 808, a bus 802, memory 805, a processor 804, and a computer-readable medium 806.”), to the plurality of cells, the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI ([0423], “A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a plurality of cells grouped in a cell group comprising a cell, receiving a MAC CE activation command indicating a TCI state for the cell, and may apply the TCI state to downlink control channels of the cell group.”), … and the base station comprises: a transmitter ([0073], “The base station 1 120A and the wireless device 110, and/or the base station 2 120B and the wireless device 110, may be configured to send and receive transport blocks, for example, via the wireless link 330A and/or via the wireless link 330B, respectively. The wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may use at least one frequency carrier. Transceiver(s) may be used.”) that transmits the DCI ([0193], “A wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI states (e.g., 8 states) to one or more codepoints of a TCI field in DCI.”). Cirik does not explicitly disclose the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. Yuan discloses wherein the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list are specific to each of the plurality of cells ([0060], “In some configurations using CA in which multiple CCs are used by the UE to communicate with a set of one or more serving cells, DL TCI states (e.g., a DL TCI state list) for each particular CC (or for each serving cell) may be configured in a PDSCH-Config IE (as an example of a DL config IE) and reused for identifying a TCI state for PDCCH and/or CSI-RS for the particular CC. … Because of the different UL transmission configurations for different CCs and/or different serving cells and the different types of UL transmissions that may be exchanged over different CCs associated with different serving cells there may be a benefit to introduce a set of one or more UL TCI state configuration locations (e.g., in one or more information elements in radio resource control (RRC)), where each of the set of one or more locations can be used to configure UL TCI states (e.g., an UL TCI state list) for at least one type of UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, configured-grant PUSCH, and SRS transmissions).”), and at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state indicated by the DCI among the DL TCI state list and UL TCI state list specific to each of the plurality of cells indicates a common reference signal to the plurality of cells ([0059], “For example, a first set of reference signals associated with M TCI states may provide QCL information for at least UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH and UE-dedicated reception on all, or a subset, of CORESETs in a CC. QCL information may identify common characteristics between antenna ports. For example, QCL information may indicate similar doppler shift; doppler spread; average delay; and delay spread (type A), similar doppler shift and doppler spread (type B), similar average delay and delay spread (type C), or a similar spatial receiver parameter used to support beamforming (type D). A second set of reference signals associated with N TCI states may provide a reference for determining a common UL transmission filter (or filters) for at least dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all, or a subset, of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.”; [0064], “The different TCI indicators may identify different TCI states that, in turn, identify different reference signals and a QCL type. For example, both TCI states may identify QCL type D information to support beamforming, but one TCI state may indicate QCL with a particular SSB, while the other TCI state may indicate QCL with CSI-RS or a different SSB. The UE 402 may then use the QCL information regarding the different reference signals to perform beamforming to reach the first and second base stations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik in view of Yuan to have the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. The motivation would have been to improve communication (e.g., Yuan [0064]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0100154) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2024/0023090) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0051754).
Regarding claim 11, Cirik discloses a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits ([0073], “The base station 1 120A and the wireless device 110, and/or the base station 2 120B and the wireless device 110, may be configured to send and receive transport blocks, for example, via the wireless link 330A and/or via the wireless link 330B, respectively. The wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may use at least one frequency carrier. Transceiver(s) may be used.”), by RRC signaling, a list including a plurality of cells ([0058], “A base station may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells.”), a downlink transmission configuration indication (DL TCI) state list, and an uplink TCI (UL TCI) state list ([0364], “A second TCI state of one or more TCI states may be received at a time T3 2708 and/or may comprise one or more fields.” The multiple TCI states can be applied to DL or UL as stated below in [0422].), transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) activating at least one of a DL TCI state and a UL TCI state, among a plurality of DL TCI states and a plurality of UL TCI states respectively included in the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list ([0422], “A wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters for a plurality of cells of a cell group, may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery, may receive a MAC CE activation command that indicates a TCI state for a first cell of the plurality of cells of the cell group, and may apply the TCI state to one or more control channels of the cell group, wherein the one or more control channels comprise at least one of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel.”), and transmits downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or two TCI states among the at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state ([0193], “A wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI states (e.g., 8 states) to one or more codepoints of a TCI field in DCI.”); and a processor ([0055], “The base station 1, 120A, may comprise at least one communication interface 320A (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, a wired modem, and/or the like), at least one processor 321A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323A that may be stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A.”). Cirik does not explicitly disclose the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. Yuan discloses … wherein the DL TCI state list and the UL TCI state list are specific to each of the plurality of cells ([0060], “In some configurations using CA in which multiple CCs are used by the UE to communicate with a set of one or more serving cells, DL TCI states (e.g., a DL TCI state list) for each particular CC (or for each serving cell) may be configured in a PDSCH-Config IE (as an example of a DL config IE) and reused for identifying a TCI state for PDCCH and/or CSI-RS for the particular CC. … Because of the different UL transmission configurations for different CCs and/or different serving cells and the different types of UL transmissions that may be exchanged over different CCs associated with different serving cells there may be a benefit to introduce a set of one or more UL TCI state configuration locations (e.g., in one or more information elements in radio resource control (RRC)), where each of the set of one or more locations can be used to configure UL TCI states (e.g., an UL TCI state list) for at least one type of UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, configured-grant PUSCH, and SRS transmissions).”), and at least one of the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state indicated by the DCI among the DL TCI state list and UL TCI state list specific to each of the plurality of cells indicates a common reference signal to the plurality of cells ([0059], “For example, a first set of reference signals associated with M TCI states may provide QCL information for at least UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH and UE-dedicated reception on all, or a subset, of CORESETs in a CC. QCL information may identify common characteristics between antenna ports. For example, QCL information may indicate similar doppler shift; doppler spread; average delay; and delay spread (type A), similar doppler shift and doppler spread (type B), similar average delay and delay spread (type C), or a similar spatial receiver parameter used to support beamforming (type D). A second set of reference signals associated with N TCI states may provide a reference for determining a common UL transmission filter (or filters) for at least dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all, or a subset, of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.”; [0064], “The different TCI indicators may identify different TCI states that, in turn, identify different reference signals and a QCL type. For example, both TCI states may identify QCL type D information to support beamforming, but one TCI state may indicate QCL with a particular SSB, while the other TCI state may indicate QCL with CSI-RS or a different SSB. The UE 402 may then use the QCL information regarding the different reference signals to perform beamforming to reach the first and second base stations.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik in view of Yuan to have the DL and UL TCI state lists being specific to each of the plurality of cells and the indication of a common reference signal. The motivation would have been to improve communication (e.g., Yuan [0064]). Cirik in view of Yuan does not disclose the base station applying TCI states to part or all of the cells. Zhou discloses that determines that the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI are applied to the plurality of cells ([0412], “In an example, a base station may transmit an RRC message comprising parameters for a plurality of cells, BFR configuration parameters for the plurality of cells and TCI states of CORESETs for the plurality of cells. The plurality of cells may comprise a first cell, a second cell and a third cell.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik in view of Zhou to have the base station applying TCI states to part or all of the cells. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and reduce overhead (e.g., Zhou [0339]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479