NONAQUEOUS ELECTROLYTE SECONDARY BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takijri et al. (US 2017/0317380 A1) and further in view of Uchida et al. (JP 2007/141494 A).
Regarding claims 1-7, Takijiri et al. teach a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract) comprising:
a negative electrode including a negative electrode mixture (Paragraph 0049; Fig. 1, element 12);
a separator (Fig. 1, element 13);
a positive electrode opposed to the negative electrode with the separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (Paragraph 0012; Fig. 1, element 11 discloses a positive electrode opposite the negative electrode where a separator is placed in between.); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte (Paragraph 0051),
wherein the negative electrode mixture includes a negative electrode active material,
the negative electrode active material includes composite particles each including a matrix phase, and a silicon phase dispersed in the matrix phase (Paragraphs 0027-0028; 0049 discloses fine Si grains dispersed in a matrix of amorphous SiO2.), and
the non-aqueous electrolyte includes:
a fluorine-containing cyclic carbonate, a cyclic carbonate having a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond, and lithium difluorophosphate (Paragraph 0049 discloses the electrolyte can comprise 4-fluoroethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, and lithium difluorophosphate.).
While Takijiri the electrolyte can also comprise a cyclic ether (Paragraph 0041 discloses 1,3,5-trioxane.) they do not teach a heterocyclic compound represented by the following formula:
where X1, X2, and X3 are each an oxygen element or a sulfur element, and R1, R2, and R3 are each an alkyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms.
Uchida et al. teach an electrolyte for a battery (Abstract). Further, the electrolyte can comprise paraldehyde a 0.1% by mass (Paragraph 0071). Finally, the structure of paraldehyde is
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takijiri with Uchida in order to improve high temperature storage characteristics.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takijiri and Uchida et al. teach the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Takijiri et al. teach wherein a content of the composite particles in the negative electrode active material is 1 mass% or more and 10 mass% or less (Paragraph 0049 discloses 4 parts by weight.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Takijiri and Uchida et al. teach the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Further, Takijiri et al. teach wherein a concentration of the fluorine-containing cyclic carbonate in the non-aqueous electrolyte is 0.01 mass% or more (Paragraph 0049).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 July 16th, 2026