DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
MPEP § 2111.04(II) states in relevant part:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
…
See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims. In Schulhauser, both method claims and system claims recited the same contingent step. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, "[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed" (quotation omitted). Schulhauser at 10.
…
Therefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim (e.g., instances in which the electrocardiac signal data is not within the threshold electrocardiac criteria such that the condition precedent for the determining step and the remaining steps of claim 1 has not been met);" however to render the claimed system obvious, the prior art must teach the structure that performs the function of the contingent step along with the other recited claim limitations. Schulhauser at 9, 14.
Independent claim 1 recites a method. In accordance with MPEP § 2111.04(II), conditional limitations within method claims will be treated as not being required to be performed under the BRI. Regarding claim 1, fourth limitations include “on a condition that” condition, which introduce conditional limitation. Therefore, the examiner considers the BRI of independent claim 1 to include a scenario where the limitation is not performed when the condition is not met. In order to alter the conditional/optional limitation to a required limitation, examiner suggests replacing the conditional term “on a condition that” to -- in response to determining that --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9 and 11 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale et al. US 20200092808 A1, hereinafter Beale in view of Shubhi et al. US20240147368A1 (US20240147368A1 is a US filing of WO2021104615A1, which is listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report and EPO search report), hereinafter Shubhi.
Regarding claim 1, Beale teaches a method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
(Beale: Summary, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 and para. [0250] computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors)
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises information regarding a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle with a first periodicity and a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity,
(Beale: para. [0037] UEs are configured to “wakeup” and power up its receiver at each paging occasion in order to receive a paging message which may be transmitted to the UE from an eNodeB. The time at which a UE wakes up and powers up its receiver to receive a paging message from the eNodeB is referred to as a “paging occasion”. Thus as shown in FIG. 4 the UE 104 periodically powers up its receiver at the predetermined paging occasions 400. Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle. A second longer DRX cycle 1102 (corresponds to claim limitation “second DRX”), labelled wake DRX cycle. Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”), and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “second periodicity”) being less than the first periodic frequency)
monitoring for a WUS according to the first periodicity; monitoring for a paging indication according to the second periodicity;
(Beale: Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”). A second longer DRX cycle 1102 (corresponds to claim limitation “second DRX”), labelled wake DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “second periodicity”). Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency, and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency being less than the first periodic frequency)
on a condition that a WUS is not detected, monitoring for the paging indication according to the first periodicity, and receiving the paging indication; and
(Beale: Para. [0114] multiple WUSs can be missed by the UE (e.g. due to poor channel conditions or a security attack – corresponds to claimed limitation “condition that a WUS is not detected”). In such cases, the UE may not notice a toggle of the two WUSs. For example, the following case leads to the UE not noticing that it is missing WUS, since it notices a toggle between A and D, but did not notice the toggle at B and C: para. [0137] the UE stops listening to the WUS signal and always wakes up at the DRX_on/paging occasions (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”). The next time that the UE contacts the network (e.g. responds to paging or transmits an MO message), the UE can transmit its WUS receiver status to the eNodeB and the eNodeB can decide whether to take remedial action. Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”))
transmitting data over a physical random access channel (PRACH).
(Beale: Para. [0069-0071] UE counts the number of WUSs received during the second DRX cycle. In a message transmitted during the DRX_on time of the second DRX cycle, the eNodeB signals the number of WUSs it transmitted during that cycle. If there is a discrepancy in the number of WUSs, the UE signals that discrepancy to the network. The discrepancy can either be signalled in a unicast manner to the network or can be signalled by a common resource (e.g. a known PRACH preamble).
It is noted that Beale does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information comprises a time offset value (T), wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value for wake-up signal (WUS) detection, and wherein the configuration information comprises a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections.
However, Shubhi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the configuration information comprises a time offset value (T),
(Shubhi: para. [0037 & 0061] The additional power consumption depends on the WUS configuration (e.g., aggregation level (AL), bandwidth (BW), transmission power), DRX configuration (e.g., DRX offset, DRX cycle, DRX OnDuration), WUS offset)
wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value for wake-up signal (WUS) detection,
(Shubhi: para. [0068 & 0066] set the threshold value depends on the configuration)
and wherein the configuration information comprises a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections (Shubhi: para. [0099] rate of incorrectly omitting WUS monitoring occasions with transmitted WUSs should not exceed the permissible WUS missed detection rate). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shubhi in the method of Beale. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WUS statistical data to assist the UE so that the UE can actively conduct efficient procedures related to WUS monitoring and efficient responses towards WUS commands, and thus, optimize the UE power consumption and reduce network cost caused by unsuccessful WUS detection (Shubhi: para. [0008 & 0059 & 0092 & 0102 & 0104 & 0141]).
Regarding claim 2, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, Beale does not explicitly teach: further comprising: determining that the WUS is not detected by determining that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for N consecutive monitoring occasions.
However, Shubhi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining that the WUS is not detected by determining that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for N consecutive monitoring occasions. (Shubhi: para. [0054] Monitoring for a WUS in the WUS monitoring occasions – which corresponds to claimed limitation “N consecutive monitoring occasions” when the channel quality is bad may not be beneficial and waste energy. Therefore, if there is an indication that the latest channel quality (e.g., average channel condition, worst-case channel condition, etc. – which corresponds to claimed limitation “threshold value”) is not sufficient to decode the WUS given the current WUS configuration, there is a high probability that the UE 100 will need to wake-up in the next OnDuration to avoid the missed detection scenario) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shubhi in the method of Beale. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WUS statistical data to assist the UE so that the UE can actively conduct efficient procedures related to WUS monitoring and efficient responses towards WUS commands, and thus, optimize the UE power consumption and reduce network cost caused by unsuccessful WUS detection (Shubhi: para. [0008 & 0059 & 0092 & 0102 & 0104 & 0141]).
Regarding claim 3, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 2, further comprising monitoring for the paging indication according to the first periodicity (Beale: para. [0037] UEs are configured to “wakeup” and power up its receiver at each paging occasion in order to receive a paging message which may be transmitted to the UE from an eNodeB. The time at which a UE wakes up and powers up its receiver to receive a paging message from the eNodeB is referred to as a “paging occasion”. Thus as shown in FIG. 4 the UE 104 periodically powers up its receiver at the predetermined paging occasions 400. Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle. A second longer DRX cycle 1102, labelled wake DRX cycle. Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”), and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency being less than the first periodic frequency)
Beale does not explicitly teaches: after the time offset value (T) from a time of the Nth consecutive monitoring occasion.
However, Shubhi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: monitoring … after the time offset value (T) from a time of the Nth consecutive monitoring occasion (Shubhi: para. [0037 & 0061] The additional power consumption depends on the WUS configuration (e.g., aggregation level (AL), bandwidth (BW), transmission power), DRX configuration (e.g., DRX offset, DRX cycle, DRX OnDuration), WUS offset. Para. [0085] monitor the PDCCH when an offset between the WUS monitoring occasion and start of the OnDuration of the DRX cycle – corresponds to claimed limitation “time offset value (T) from a time of the Nth consecutive monitoring occasion”) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shubhi in the method of Beale. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WUS statistical data to assist the UE so that the UE can actively conduct efficient procedures related to WUS monitoring and efficient responses towards WUS commands, and thus, optimize the UE power consumption and reduce network cost caused by unsuccessful WUS detection (Shubhi: para. [0008 & 0059 & 0092 & 0102 & 0104 & 0141]).
Regarding claim 4, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the second periodicity is longer than the first periodicity. (Beale: Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle. A second longer DRX cycle 1102 (corresponds to claim limitation “second DRX”), labelled wake DRX cycle. Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”), and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “second periodicity”) being less than the first periodic frequency)
Regarding claim 5, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the WUS signal is a low power WUS. (Beale: para. [0054] WUS can also be encoded with a format that enables low power decoding (e.g. the WUS may be a narrow bandwidth signal that can be decoded with low power using a low sampling rate receiver)
Regarding claim 6, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the WTRU monitors for the WUS using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR). (Beale: para. [0054] WUS can also be encoded with a format that enables low power decoding (e.g. the WUS may be a narrow bandwidth signal that can be decoded with low power using a low sampling rate receiver).
Regarding claim 7, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the WUS has a first waveform type, wherein the first waveform type is non-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (non-OFDM). (Beale: para. [0029 & 0034 & 0262] orthogonal frequency division modulation (OFDM) based interface for the radio downlink (so-called OFDMA) and a single carrier frequency division multiple access scheme (SC-FDMA) on the radio uplink)
Regarding claim 8, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the paging indication is received via a second waveform type, wherein the second waveform type is orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM).
(Beale: para. [0029-0031 & 0262] orthogonal frequency division modulation (OFDM) based interface for the radio downlink (so-called OFDMA) and a single carrier frequency division multiple access scheme (SC-FDMA) on the radio uplink)
Regarding claim 9, Beale and Shubhi teach the m method of claim 1, wherein the WTRU monitors for the paging indication using a main transceiver.
(Beale: para. [0037] UEs are configured to “wakeup” and power up its receiver at each paging occasion in order to receive a paging message which may be transmitted to the UE from an eNodeB. The time at which a UE wakes up and powers up its receiver to receive a paging message from the eNodeB is referred to as a “paging occasion”. Thus as shown in FIG. 4 the UE 104 periodically powers up its receiver at the predetermined paging occasions 400)
Regarding claim 11, Beale teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: (Beale: Summary and para. [0067] and Fig. 12) a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) (Beale: para. [0054] WUS can also be encoded with a format that enables low power decoding (e.g. the WUS may be a narrow bandwidth signal that can be decoded with low power using a low sampling rate receiver); and a main transceiver, (Beale: para. [0067] Each of the terminal device 1010 and the infrastructure equipment 1020 comprise the transceiver (or transceiver circuitry) 1012, 1022 which in turn comprises one or both of a transmitter (or transmitter circuitry) 1016, 1026 and a receiver (or receiver circuitry) 1018, 1028, and the controller (or controller circuitry) 1014, 1024) wherein:
the main transceiver is configured to receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises information regarding a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle with a first periodicity and a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity, (Beale: para. [0037] UEs are configured to “wakeup” and power up its receiver at each paging occasion in order to receive a paging message which may be transmitted to the UE from an eNodeB. The time at which a UE wakes up and powers up its receiver to receive a paging message from the eNodeB is referred to as a “paging occasion”. Thus as shown in FIG. 4 the UE 104 periodically powers up its receiver at the predetermined paging occasions 400. Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle. A second longer DRX cycle 1102 (corresponds to claim limitation “second DRX”), labelled wake DRX cycle. Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”), and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency (corresponds to claim limitation “second periodicity”) being less than the first periodic frequency)
the WUR is configured to monitor for a WUS according to the first periodicity; (Beale: para. [0054] WUS can also be encoded with a format that enables low power decoding (e.g. the WUS may be a narrow bandwidth signal that can be decoded with low power using a low sampling rate receiver) and para. [0072-0079] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”))
the main transceiver is further configured to monitor for a paging indication according to the second periodicity; (Beale: Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 and para. [0072-0079] A first DRX cycle 1101 (corresponds to claim limitation “first DRX”), labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”). A second longer DRX cycle 1102 (corresponds to claim limitation “second DRX”), labelled wake DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “second periodicity”). Para. [0091] plurality of time periods occur periodically at a first periodic frequency, and the controller is configured to control the transceiver to attempt to receive the third signal during ones of the plurality of time periods at a second periodic frequency, the second periodic frequency being less than the first periodic frequency. Para. [0093] the network successfully contacts the UE via the WUS/paging/DRX_on mechanism)
the main transceiver is further configured to, on a condition that a WUS is not detected, monitor for the paging indication according to the first periodicity, and receive the paging indication; and (Beale: Para. [0114] multiple WUSs can be missed by the UE (e.g. due to poor channel conditions or a security attack – corresponds to claimed limitation “condition that a WUS is not detected”). In such cases, the UE may not notice a toggle of the two WUSs. For example, the following case leads to the UE not noticing that it is missing WUS, since it notices a toggle between A and D, but did not notice the toggle at B and C: para. [0137] the UE stops listening to the WUS signal and always wakes up at the DRX_on/paging occasions – corresponds to claimed limitation “monitor for the paging indication”. The next time that the UE contacts the network (e.g. responds to paging or transmits an MO message), the UE can transmit its WUS receiver status to the eNodeB and the eNodeB can decide whether to take remedial action. para. [0072-0079] A first DRX cycle 1101, labelled WUS DRX cycle. The UE only receives during the DRX_on/paging occasions if the WUS is active during this DRX cycle. A second longer DRX cycle 1102, labelled wake DRX cycle (corresponds to claim limitation “first periodicity”). )
the main transceiver is further configured to transmit data over a physical random access channel (PRACH). (Beale: Para. [0069-0071] UE counts the number of WUSs received during the second DRX cycle. In a message transmitted during the DRX_on time of the second DRX cycle, the eNodeB signals the number of WUSs it transmitted during that cycle. If there is a discrepancy in the number of WUSs, the UE signals that discrepancy to the network. The discrepancy can either be signalled in a unicast manner to the network or can be signalled by a common resource (e.g. a known PRACH preamble – which corresponds to claimed limitation “transmit data over a physical random access channel (PRACH)”).
It is noted that Beale does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information comprises a time offset value (T), wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value for wake-up signal (WUS) detection, and wherein the configuration information comprises a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections.
However, Shubhi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the configuration information comprises a time offset value (T),
(Shubhi: para. [0037 & 0061] The additional power consumption depends on the WUS configuration (e.g., aggregation level (AL), bandwidth (BW), transmission power), DRX configuration (e.g., DRX offset, DRX cycle, DRX OnDuration), WUS offset)
wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value for wake-up signal (WUS) detection,
(Shubhi: para. [0068 & 0066] set the threshold value depends on the configuration)
and wherein the configuration information comprises a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections (Shubhi: para. [0099] rate of incorrectly omitting WUS monitoring occasions with transmitted WUSs should not exceed the permissible WUS missed detection rate). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shubhi in the method of Beale. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WUS statistical data to assist the UE so that the UE can actively conduct efficient procedures related to WUS monitoring and efficient responses towards WUS commands, and thus, optimize the UE power consumption and reduce network cost caused by unsuccessful WUS detection (Shubhi: para. [0008 & 0059 & 0092 & 0102 & 0104 & 0141]).
Regarding claims 12 – 17, Beale and Shubhi teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 2 – 5 and 7 – 8, and therefore apparatus claims 12 – 17 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 10 and 18 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale and Shubhi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Liu et al. US20190150114A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D3 in PCT search report and EPO search report), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 10, Beale and Shubhi teach the method of claim 1, Beale and Shubhi do not explicitly teach: wherein the paging indication is received in a downlink control information (DCI) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the paging indication is received in a downlink control information (DCI) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (Liu: para. [0045] paging messages may be sent during paging occasions (POs) of a downlink control channel. The downlink control channel may be a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a narrowband (NB)-PDCCH). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the method of Beale and Shubhi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for network may configure the UE with a page monitoring periodicity to enable or trigger a UE to monitor paging information. The configuration may be explicitly signaled (e.g., via a SIB, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, a higher layer parameter, or the like), implicitly signaled, or may be determined based on preconfigured parameters. The configuration used for monitoring for the paging message may be referred to as a page monitor periodicity without WUS, and may enable the UE to periodically monitor for paging information according to a cycle configured by the network. For example, the base station or network may configure the UE to monitor paging information according to a cycle related to the PO periodicity, the WUS periodicity, radio resource management (RRM) measurement periodicity, or a modification period related to system information modification (Liu: para. [0049 & 0006 & 0087]).
Regarding claim 18, Beale, Shubhi and Liu teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 10, and therefore apparatus claim 18 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 19, Beale and Shubhi teach the WTRU of claim 11, Beale and Shubhi do not explicitly teach: wherein the main transceiver is further configured to perform radio resource management measurements.
Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the main transceiver is further configured to perform radio resource management measurements. (Liu: para. [0104] RRM measurements may be performed according to an RRM measurement periodicity 505 configured by the network. Para. [0106] UE 115 may include different receivers (e.g., receiver chains, antennas, antenna arrays, etc.) for detecting a WUS and performing RRM measurements. For instance, the UE 115 may use a first receiver for monitoring paging and performing RRM measurements, while the UE 115 may use a second receiver (e.g., having a lower power than the first receiver) for detecting a WUS). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the method of Beale and Shubhi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for such techniques may further serve to optimize power consumption at the UE 115, where the UE 115 may refrain from waking on additional occasions, and may instead detect paging information while performing RRM measurements. (Liu: para. [0106]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale and Shubhi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Berggren et al. US 20220394619 A1, hereinafter Berggren.
Regarding claim 20, Beale and Shubhi teach the WTRU of claim 11, Beale and Shubhi do not explicitly teach: wherein the main transceiver is configured to be in a sleep mode when the WUR is monitoring for the WUS.
Berggren from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the main transceiver is configured to be in a sleep mode when the WUR is monitoring for the WUS. (Berggren: para. [0093-0095 & 0033 & 0052 & 0096-0107] and Fig. 7 One of the PDCCH_PS decoding circuits 213 b operates with a low power consumption (for example, the circuit can operate at a lower clock rate or with a lower supply voltage - corresponds to claim limitation “WUR is monitoring for the WUS”). This circuit has a higher latency. The higher latency could be due to the circuit taking longer to decode the PDCCH_PS or could be due to the circuit operating in a lower power state, hence requiring a longer boot-up process for the main receiver (where the main receiver is used in the DRX_ON duration – corresponds to claim limitation “main transceiver is configured to be in a sleep mode”)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Berggren in the method of Beale and Shubhi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for such a low power receiver 213 b can save power by not using the full circuitry of the main NR receiver 213 a (Berggren: para. [0052]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418