DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 21-37 are pending and claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 – 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. WO 2019154027 A1 (with publication date 2019-08-15, translation provided for citation purpose), hereinafter Fu in view of Zhou et al. US20250126556A1, hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 21, Fu teaches a method for use in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
(Fu: Summary, Abstract, para. [0185] FIG. 4, a terminal is further provided, including a transceiver 410, a memory 420, a processor 400, a user interface 430, a bus interface, and is stored on the memory 420 and a computer program running on the processor 400)
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value;
(Fu: para. [0029 & 0048] listening to the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal serving the terminal, and the signal quality of the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal is less than a third predetermined threshold; [0030] the fifth predetermined threshold is a pre-configured value of the network side device. Para. [0154] predetermined threshold may be configured on the network side or may be a value specified by the protocol. The predetermined threshold may also be multiplexed with an existing threshold, such as a threshold corresponding to the cell S criterion in the multiplexed idle state, an intra-frequency measurement threshold in the idle state, or an inter-frequency measurement threshold in the idle state. Fig. 5 step 501 and para. [0219-0234])
receiving a wake-up signal (WUS) (Fu: para. [0193 & 0029] monitor a wake-up signal or a synchronization signal; when the monitoring wake-up signal or the monitoring result of the synchronization signal meets the RRM measurement trigger condition, determining to monitor the RRM measurement trigger event, triggering the RRM measurement) using a receiver; (Fu: para. [0185] FIG. 4 transceiver 410)
performing a measurement of the WUS;
(Fu: para. [0029] monitoring a target wake-up signal serving the terminal, and the difference between the signal quality of the target wake-up signal and the monitored signal quality of the wake-up signal other than the target wake-up signal is low)
and performing, based on determining that the measurement of the WUS exceeds the threshold value, radio resource management (RRM) measurements according to a second requirement, (Fu: para. [0153 & 0158-0167] If the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal is greater than a predetermined threshold, the terminal considers that it can still connect or camp on the current cell, and does not need to perform RRM measurement immediately – corresponds to claim limitation “second requirement”)
wherein the second requirement is a relaxed requirement relative to a first requirement.
(Fu: para. [0152] periodic RRM measurement (corresponds to claim limitation “first requirement”) of the terminal operation may remain unchanged and continue to run)
It is noted that Fu does not explicitly disclose: receiving a low power wake-up signal reference signal (LP-WUS RS) using a low power wake-up receiver (LR); performing a measurement of the LP-WUS RS.
However, Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receiving a low power wake-up signal reference signal (LP-WUS RS) (reference signal) using a low power wake-up receiver (LR) (low-power receiver); performing a measurement of the LP-WUS RS; (Zhou: para. [0032] In the standby mode, the UE closes (or turns off) the legacy receiver and opens (or turns on) the low-power receiver. The low-power receiver can detect a wake-up signal and can, under certain conditions and/or circumstances, run a timer and/or measure a reference signal. Para. [0139] measuring a reference signal by the low-power receiver) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 22, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, wherein the LP-WUS RS is a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB). (Fu: para. [0004] synchronization block (SS block))
Regarding claim 23, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, Fu does not explicitly disclose: wherein the measurement of the LP-WUS RS is a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurement.
However, Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the measurement of the LP-WUS RS (Zhou: para. [0032] In the standby mode, the UE closes (or turns off) the legacy receiver and opens (or turns on) the low-power receiver. The low-power receiver can detect a wake-up signal and can, under certain conditions and/or circumstances, run a timer and/or measure a reference signal. Para. [0139] measuring a reference signal by the low-power receiver) is a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurement. (Zhou: para. [0140] measuring a reference signal, which may include at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the reference signal) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 24, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, Fu does not explicitly teach: wherein the RRM measurements include neighbor cell measurements.
However, Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the RRM measurements include neighbor cell measurements. (Zhou: para. [0026] performing neighboring cell measurement and cell (re) selection) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 25, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, Fu does not explicitly teach: wherein the RRM measurements include at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurement.
However, Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the RRM measurements include at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurement. (Zhou: para. [0140] measuring a reference signal, which may include at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the reference signal) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 26, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, Fu does not explicitly teach: wherein the RRM measurements are performed using a main receiver (MR).
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the RRM measurements are performed using a main receiver (MR). (Zhou: para. [0004] monitoring a paging-related PDCCH and performing RRM measurement, after waking up from deep sleep, the UE processes one or more (such as three) synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH block, SSB) bursts. After a certain time-frequency synchronization accuracy (for example, within +200 Hz) is reached, the UE monitors the paging-related PDCCH, and performs the RRM measurement while processing the SSB burst. Para. [0005] processing the SSB burst and monitoring the PDCCH both require the use of a legacy receiver, i.e., a receiver used when the UE is in the idle state, the inactive state, or a connected state) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 27, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, wherein the second requirement permits the RRM measurements to be performed less frequently than the first requirement. (Fu: para. [0153 & 0158-0167] If the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal is greater than a predetermined threshold, the terminal considers that it can still connect or camp on the current cell, and does not need to perform RRM measurement immediately – corresponds to claim limitation “second requirement”. para. [0152] periodic RRM measurement (corresponds to claim limitation “first requirement”) of the terminal operation may remain unchanged and continue to run)
Regarding claim 28, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, wherein the first requirement is a normal RRM measurement requirement. (Fu: para. [0152] periodic RRM measurement (corresponds to claim limitation “first requirement”) of the terminal operation may remain unchanged and continue to run)
Regarding claim 29, Fu and Zhou teach the method of claim 21, wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fu: para. [0156] radio resource management measurement method of some embodiments of the present disclosure is applicable to any RRC (Radio Resource Control) state of the terminal)
Regarding claim 30, Fu teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a main receiver (MR); and a processor,
(Fu: Summary, Abstract, para. [0185] FIG. 4, a terminal is further provided, including a transceiver 410, a memory 420, a processor 400, a user interface 430, a bus interface, and is stored on the memory 420 and a computer program running on the processor 400)
wherein: the main receiver is configured to receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises a threshold value;
(Fu: para. [0029 & 0048] listening to the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal serving the terminal, and the signal quality of the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal is less than a third predetermined threshold; [0030] the fifth predetermined threshold is a pre-configured value of the network side device. Para. [0154] predetermined threshold may be configured on the network side or may be a value specified by the protocol. The predetermined threshold may also be multiplexed with an existing threshold, such as a threshold corresponding to the cell S criterion in the multiplexed idle state, an intra-frequency measurement threshold in the idle state, or an inter-frequency measurement threshold in the idle state. Fig. 5 step 501 and para. [0219-0234])
the receiver is configured to receive a wake-up signal (WUS) (Fu: para. [0193 & 0029] monitor a wake-up signal or a synchronization signal; when the monitoring wake-up signal or the monitoring result of the synchronization signal meets the RRM measurement trigger condition, determining to monitor the RRM measurement trigger event, triggering the RRM measurement) using a receiver; (Fu: para. [0185] FIG. 4 transceiver 410)
the receiver and the processor are configured to perform a measurement of the WUS; (Fu: para. [0029] monitoring a target wake-up signal serving the terminal, and the difference between the signal quality of the target wake-up signal and the monitored signal quality of the wake-up signal other than the target wake-up signal is low)
the processor is configured to determine that the measurement of the LP-WUS RS exceeds the threshold value; and the MR is configured to perform, based on the determination that the measurement of the WUS exceeds the threshold value, radio resource management (RRM) measurements according to a second requirement, (Fu: para. [0153 & 0158-0167] If the target wake-up signal or the target synchronization signal is greater than a predetermined threshold, the terminal considers that it can still connect or camp on the current cell, and does not need to perform RRM measurement immediately – corresponds to claim limitation “second requirement”) wherein the second requirement is a relaxed requirement relative to a first requirement. (Fu: para. [0152] periodic RRM measurement (corresponds to claim limitation “first requirement”) of the terminal operation may remain unchanged and continue to run)
It is noted that Fu does not explicitly disclose: a low power wake-up receiver (LR); the LR is configured to receive a low power wake-up signal reference signal (LP-WUS RS).
However, Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a main receiver (MR); (Zhou: para. [0034-0035] legacy receiver)
a low power wake-up receiver (LR); the LR (low-power receiver) is configured to receive a low power wake-up signal reference signal (LP-WUS RS) (reference signal);
(Zhou: para. [0032] In the standby mode, the UE closes (or turns off) the legacy receiver and opens (or turns on) the low-power receiver. The low-power receiver can detect a wake-up signal and can, under certain conditions and/or circumstances, run a timer and/or measure a reference signal. Para. [0139] measuring a reference signal by the low-power receiver) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for help save the power of the UE, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE (Zhou: para. [0032]).
Regarding claims 31-37, Fu and Zhou teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 22-25 and 27-29, and therefore apparatus claims 31-37 are rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418