DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “In the rejection of claim 14, the Examiner asserted that modified Batista teaches "the emitting state with the first light emitting characteristic of the LED when said at least one customized heating profile is used," but admitted that "Batista does not teach a no light emitting state." Instead, Murison is cited as teaching "an electronic vaporizer system wherein an LED is turned off in discrete mode [0049, 0265], i.e. a no light emitting state." However, the cited disclosure of Murison simply indicates that the brightness of the LEDs can be reduced in a discrete mode that enables a user to vape discretely. It has not been shown in the Action that Murison teaches or suggests a controller configured to operate in its discrete mode when a default heating profile is used. For that matter, it has not been shown that Murison considers utilizing its discrete mode in relation to any particular heating profile. Even the citation to Batista does not suggest that it relates a heating profile to a non-emitting or emitting state of its LED. Heidl is not cited in this capacity and does not cure the deficiencies of Batista or Murison. Furthermore, the proposed rationale for modifying Batista based on Murison does not consider any relationship between the discrete mode and a heating profile. The Examiner contends that "[i]t would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to include a no light emitting state as one of the operational states of Batista to allow a user to use the device discretely as suggested by Murison." Modifying the device of Batista to allow a user to operate the device discretely does not meet the language recited in amended claim 1, again because it has not been shown that a controller operates the discrete mode in relation to a particular heating profile.”
The Examiner disagrees. Murison does teach the controller operates the discrete mode in relation to a particular heating profile. Murison teaches the discrete mode involves reducing the temperature of the heating element [0114], i.e. a particular heating profile. As for which heating profile and light emitting state belongs to the default setting, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that for the same reasons suggested by Murison (vaping discretely), an initial, i.e. default, discrete mode where no light is emitted may be desirable. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista (US 2023/0225414) in view of Heidl (US 2019/0289915) and Murison (US 20160366946).
Regarding claim 1, Batista [Fig, 1-2] teaches aerosol generating device 12 configured to operate with a consumable article 14 defining an external surface [Fig. 1-2]; the aerosol generating device comprising: a housing 16; a cavity formed in the housing and configured to receive at least a part of the consumable article [0085]; a heater 32/34 arranged at least partially in the housing and configured to heat at least a part of the consumable article [0090-0091]; and an LED 40 configured to be at one operational state during a vaping session and to emit light in the operational state, the LED being arranged on the housing 16 so that the light emitted by the LED is directed inwards through translucent retaining element 38 when the LED is at said operational state [0016, 0094-0098]. Thus, in use, given the location of the light at the open end of the cavity, the light is reflected from the external surface of the consumable article 14 to be visible by a user.
Batista teaches a controller configured to control operation of the heater during a vaping session [0034]. Batista does not teach a heating profile chosen in a group of heating profiles comprising at least two different heating profiles or the controller is a controller configured to control the operational state of the LED depending on the heating profile used by the controller during said vaping session, said operational state being chosen in a group of operational states comprising at least two different operational states. Heidl teaches a vaporizer comprising a controller configured to control: operation of the heater during a vaping session according to a heating profile chosen in a group of heating profiles comprising at least two different heating profiles [0045-0047, 0055] and the operational state of the LED depending on the heating profile used by the controller during said vaping session, said operational state being chosen in a group of operational states comprising at least two different operational states, wherein said group of heating profiles comprises a default heating profile and at least one user provided (customized) heating profile [0058, 0068, 0098]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the controller of Batista for the benefit of allowing the user to select between different modes of operation and further for an indication to be provided to the user of the selected profile.
Modified Batista teaches said group of operational states comprises: an emitting state with a first light emitting characteristic [Batista 0036; Heidl 0058, 0068, 0098]. The controller is configured to cause the emitting state with a light emitting characteristic of the LED when any heating profile is used, thus the emitting state with the first light emitting characteristic of the LED when said at least one customized heating profile is used. Batista does not teach a no light emitting state. Murison teaches an electronic vaporizer system wherein an LED is turned off in discrete mode wherein the heating element temperature is reduced [0049, 0112, 0265], i.e. heating profile with a no light emitting state. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to include a heating profile with a no light emitting state as one of the operational states of Batista to allow a user to use the device discretely as suggested by Murison. As for which heating profile and light emitting state belongs to the default setting, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that for the same reasons suggested by Murison (vaping discretely), an initial, i.e. default, discrete mode where no light is emitted may be desirable and would have found it obvious to do so for this purpose. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Furthermore, given the finite number of heating profiles of modified Batista, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try any of the heating profiles as the default heating profile, e.g. the profile with a no light emitting state, to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claims 2-3, Batista teaches the housing defines an insertion opening usable to insert at least a part of the consumable article 14 in the cavity, the LED 40 being arranged adjacent to the insertion opening and the LED 40 extends at least partially around the insertion opening [0018, 0028, 0094; Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 5, as seen from Fig. 2 of Batista, as the LED 40 is arranged in a recess within the housing 16 [0094], the LED 40 is arranged to be invisible from an exterior of the housing.
Regarding claims 6-8, the consumable article is not a positively recited limitation. Thus, the limitations of claims 6-8, dependent on the configuration of the article with which the device is intended to be used, do not further limit the structure of the device itself to distinguish from the device of modified Batista. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Heidl teaches the at least one customized heating profile is uploaded by a user to the controller using a wireless data connection [0042, 0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of Batista to allow the user to create a customized heating profile remotely.
Regarding claim 12, Heidl teaches a heating profile provides a means for controlling the temperature and therefore controlling the release of the different components at each temperature within the heating profile [0045]. Thus, in Batista in view of Heidl as applied to claim 10 above, it is interpreted that the at least one customized heating profile is chosen depending on a nature of components (a substrate) contained in the consumable article.
Regarding claim 15, modified Batista teaches one or more vaporizing profiles [Heidl 0054], thus suggesting at least two different customized heating profiles. The LED indicates the selected profile [0058, 0068, 0098]. In other words, the group of operational states comprises an emitting state with a second light emitting characteristic, and the controller is configured to cause the emitting state with the first light emitting characteristic or the emitting state with the second light emitting characteristic depending on the customized heating profile used during the vaping session.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista, Heidl, and Murison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2020/0359693).
Batista does not teach a sliding cover. Lee teaches an aerosol generating apparatus comprising a sliding cover 30 arranged on the housing 10 and slidable between a closed position in which the insertion opening 18 is closed and an open position in which the insertion opening is able to receive the consumable article 7 [0073-0075; Fig. 4A-4B]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this sliding cover with the device of Batista to achieve the predictable result of reducing exposure of the cavity when the device is not in use by covering the opening.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755