Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the limitation “outer edge of the partition plate exceeds an outer edge of the first accommodating part” is unclear since a plate has a continuous “edge” and the claim fails to define what constitutes “an outer edge” nor any reference relative to a direction at all. Further it is unclear whether “the outer edge” that exceeds the second accommodating part in the laser receiving direction is the same edge portion that exceeds the first accommodating part in the laser emitting direction, a different portion of the part or the entire periphery. In addition, the laser emitting direction and the laser receiving direction are defined by the laser emitting and receiving units which are not positively claimed as part of claim 1’s structure so cannot be used to define it. Correction is required.
With respect to claim 2, the phrases “a first accommodating space” and “a second accommodating space” are unclear since they repeat phrases used in claim 1 but redefine them with the article “a” rather than “the”. It is unclear if new accommodating spaces are being referred to or if they are the same as in claim 1. Correction is required.
The balance of claims are likewise rejected for failing to correct the deficiencies in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Al-Ali et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0290120.
With respect to claim 1, Al-Ali discloses a wearable device comprising:
A window cover for laser radar (P.0302, P.0305, light barrier 630+inner lens or cover 602a, and outer lens covers 602b, 602c, 602d and surface of the module = window cover)
A light tight partition plate (P.0302, P.0306, first light barrier 620, separating emitters 604 from detectors 606)
A first accommodating part as a first side face of the partition plate, wherein the first accommodating part and the partition plate jointly form a first accommodating space, the first accommodating space is used for accommodating a laser emitting unit of the laser radar (P.0302, P.0306, inner lens cover 602a surrounding by first light barrier 620 = first accommodating part at first side, “used for accommodating a laser emitting unit of the laser radar” is intended use and not limiting)
A second accommodating part at a second side face of the partition plate, wherein the second accommodating part and the partition plate jointly form a second accommodating space, the second accommodating space is use for accommodating a laser receiving unit of the laser radar (P.0301, P.0306, first outer lens cover 602b and first light barrier 620 – second accommodating part a second side face, “is used for accommodating a laser receiving unit of the laser radar” is intended use and not limiting)
Wherein the first accommodating part is fixedly connected with the first side face of the partition plate and the second accommodating part is fixedly connected with the second side face of the partition plate (P.0303, P.0305, Figure 21C, Figure 22C, single light barrier construct 630 acts as wall for both first and second accommodating parts, inherently fixedly connected)
An outer edge of the partition plate exceeds an outer edge of the first accommodating part on the first side face in a laser emitting direction and exceeds an outer edge of the second accommodating part on the second side face in a laser receiving direction (P.0304, P.0312, first light barrier 620 protruding slightly from lens cover 602a, and outer lenses or covers 602b, 602c, g02d, and higher than outer edge of inner lens or cover 602a)
It should be noted that “for laser radar is an intended use and does not structurally distinguish the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Terefe U.S. Publication 2020/0174156.
With respect to claim 1, Terefe discloses a blockage detection with LIDAR system comprising:
A window cover for laser radar (Figure 6)
A light tight partition plate (Figure 6, light partition 16’, P.0020)
A first accommodating part fixedly connected with a first side face of the partition plate, wherein the first accommodating part and the partition plate jointly form a first accommodating space, the first accommodating space is used for accommodating a laser emitting unit of the laser radar (Figure 6, first accommodating part = window portion 18, partition 16’ and substrate 30, laser 11, “used for accommodating a laser emitting unit of the laser radar” is intended use and not limiting, wherein fixedly connected = inherent since the partition makes up the border of the accommodating part)
A second accommodating part fixedly connected with a second side face of the partition plate, wherein the second accommodating part and the partition plate jointly form a second accommodating space, the second accommodating space is use for accommodating a laser receiving unit of the laser radar (P.0006, Figure 6, second accommodating part = window portion 18’ + partition 16’ and substrate 30, “used for accommodating a laser receiving unit of the laser radar” is an intended use and not limiting, wherein fixedly connected = inherent since the partition makes up the border of the accommodating part)
An outer edge of the partition plate exceeds an outer edge of the first accommodating part on the first side face in a laser emitting direction and exceeds an outer edge of the second accommodating part on the second side face in a laser receiving direction (Figure 6, partition 16’ extends beyond internal edge of lens 18)
It should be noted that “for laser radar is an intended use and does not structurally distinguish the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 2, Terefe discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Terefe discloses:
A laser emitting unit arranged in a first accommodating space of the window cover and a laser receiving unit arranged in a second accommodating space of the window cover (Figure 6, laser emitting unit = laser 11, laser receiving unit = detector array 14)
With respect to claim 4, Terefe discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Terefe discloses:
A first distance exists between the laser emitting unit and the partition plate and a second distance exists between the laser receiving unit and the partition plate (Figure 6, laser 11 spaced from partition 16’ = first distance, detector array 14 spaced from partition 16’ = second distance)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terefe U.S. Publication 2020/0174156.
With respect to claim 3, Terefe discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Terefe discloses:
The laser emitting unit comprises a laser light source (P.0020)
The laser receiving unit comprises a photodiode detector and a converging lens (P.0020)
However, Terefe fails to disclose the laser emitting unit comprises a collimating lens and the laser receiving unit comprises an avalanche photodiode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a collimating lens with the laser of Terefe. The examiner takes Official Notice that collimating lenses for lasers are well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a collimating lens to the laser emitting unit of Terefe to produce a collimated illumination beam which improves ranging accuracy and reduces beam divergence.
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the photodiode detector of Terefe with an avalanche photodiode. The examiner take Official Notice that an avalanche photodiode is an art- recognized equivalent to a PIN photodiode for detecting return laser light in a laser radar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be to substitute an avalanche photodiode for the PIN photodiode of Terefe because an avalanche photodiode provides internal gain and thus higher sensitivity for detecting weak return signals.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terefe U.S. Publication 2020/0174156 in view of Li et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0190918.
With respect to claim 5, Terefe discloses the laser radar of claim 2 as set forth above.
However, Terefe fails to disclose that the laser radar further comprises a rotating unit used for simultaneously driving the laser emitting unit and the laser receiving unit to rotate relative to the window cover.
Li teaches a lidar system comprising:
A laser emitting system disposed in an emitting chamber and a receiving system disposed in a separate receiving chamber of a rotor (P.0162, rotor 1 with emitting chamber 13 + receiving chamber 14 = carrier for laser emitting and laser receiving unit)
The rotor rotates about a central shaft and driven by a motor whose motor rotor is connected to the rotor (P.0169, P.0203, driving apparatus 33 motor and rotor 1 = rotating unit simultaneously driving the laser emitting unit and the laser receiving unit to rotate relative to the window cover)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the laser radar of Terefe with a rotating unit that simultaneously rotates the laser emitting unit and the laser receiving unit relative to the window cover as taught by Li. Li teaches that rotating the lidar about a vertical axis while emitting and detecting the laser beams scans the beams across a horizontal field of view, so that the surroundings can be sensed by forming a point cloud during the rotation (P.0326). The modification is an application of a known technique (rotational scanning) to a known device yielding the predictable result of an enlarge horizontal field of view.
With respect to claim 6, Terefe in view of Li discloses the limitations a of claim 2 and 5 above. In addition, Terefe discloses:
An optical axis of the laser emitting unit is parallel to the partition plate and an optical axis of the laser receiving unit is parallel to the partition plate (Figure 6, both partition plate and optical axes are horizontal across page)
With respect to claim 7, Terefe in view of Li discloses the limitations a of claim 2, 5, and 6 above. However, Terefe fails to directly disclose the rotation axes of the laser emitting unit and the laser receiving unit are perpendicular to the partition plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that by combining Li’s central shaft rotating plate for the laser emitting unit and laser receiving unit with Terefe’s window and partition arrangement oriented such that the optical axes are parallel to the partition plate, the rotation of Terefe’s laser and photodiode would be perpendicular to the partition 16’. Therefore the combination of claim 5 and 6 also meets claim 7 with no further motivation statement.
Citation
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Koduri et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0189912 discloses a proximity sensor with wall baffles around the laser and detector to prevent crosstalk
Helfmann U.S. Patent #2017/0108433 discloses a sensor device for high resolution detection of target substances
CN 111670377 discloses a lidar with collimator in front the laser and rotational axis of the laser perpendicular to a partition plate
Conclusion
/REBECCA C BRYANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877