DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galphin (US 2008/0265523) in view of Ono (US 2020/0018398).
Regarding claim 1, Galphin discloses a gasket 10 Fig. 1 in an annular shape to seal a gap between a first member 14 in which an annular groove 18 is formed and a second member 16 to be overlaid on the first member to close an opening of the groove, the gasket comprising: a body portion 12 in an annular shape having a basal surface 22 to contact a bottom surface of the groove and a top surface to contact the second member and extending over an entire circumferential direction of the gasket; a first protrusion pair 24, 26 protruding from the body portion respectively toward both side surfaces in a radial direction of the groove and extending over the entire circumferential direction; and one or more second protrusion pairs 36 protruding from the first protrusion pair respectively toward both the side surfaces of the groove, wherein: respective protrusions of the second protrusion pair are disposed at a same position in the circumferential direction, and tip ends of the respective protrusions are formed in a planar shape to be along the side surfaces of the groove, and a first gasket width from a tip end of one protrusion of the first protrusion pair to a tip end of another protrusion is smaller than a groove width between both the side surfaces of the groove, and a second gasket width D1 from a tip end of one protrusion of the second protrusion pair to a tip end of another protrusion is larger than the groove width. However, Galphin fails to explicitly disclose the dimensions of the gasket having widths of the basal surface and the top surface is greater than the length in a height direction of each tip of the second protrusion pair. Ono, a gasket in an annular shape to seal gap, discloses a gasket 10 Fig. 5 having widths of the basal surface 13 and the top surface 14 is greater than the length in a height direction of each tip of the second protrusion pair 20b. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gasket of Galphin with surfaces having a greater length than the protrusions as taught by Ono in order to help prevent the gasket from tilting within the groove (Para. 0038 of Ono). Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses wherein the respective protrusions 36 of the second protrusion pair are provided at a same position in a height direction of the gasket 10.
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein: the basal surface 22 of the body portion 12 is formed in a planar shape to be along the bottom surface of the groove 18, and a length of the tip end of at least one protrusion of the second protrusion pair 36 in a height direction of the gasket is equal to or larger than a width of the basal surface.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein: the top surface 20 of the body portion 12 is formed in a planar shape to be along a surface of the second member that is to abut on the top surface, and a length D1 of the tip end of at least one protrusion of the second protrusion pair in a height direction of the gasket is equal to or larger than a width of the top surface.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein in sectional view perpendicular to the circumferential direction of the gasket 10, at least one protrusion of the first protrusion pair 24, 26 is formed in a tapered shape that enlarges as progresses toward the body portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galphin in view of Ono and further in view of Matsumoto (JP 07-018068).
Regarding claim 5, Galphin and Ono disclose the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a recessed part recessed to a body portion side is formed at the tip end of at least one protrusion of the first protrusion pair. Matsumoto, a gasket 4 Fig. 1, discloses the use of a recessed part 5 recessed to a body portion side is formed at the tip end of at least one protrusion 3 of a first protrusion pair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a recess in the protrusion of Galphin as taught by Matsumoto in order to improve stability of the gasket within the groove.
Regarding claim 6, the combination disclose the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a width direction of the gasket, a distance from a most recessed portion of the recessed part to the tip end is equal to or less than 0.5 mm. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance to any number of ranges (i.e. equal to or less than 0.5 mm) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675