DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Wipf (US 20200156813 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wipf discloses:
mobile robot (10b) for changing label rolls (12a & 12b) on a labeling assembly (40a) for labeling containers [0029], with a vehicle unit (16a) for changing locations of the robot and with a manipulator unit (14b) comprising a multi-axle manipulator (50b) with an end effector (54b) for manipulating label rolls [0046], wherein the end effector is designed to grip an outer circumference of the label rolls and emptied roll cores of label rolls so as to carry them (Fig. 6) [0032].
Regarding Claim 2, Wipf discloses:
the end effector is further designed to engage in the emptied roll cores of the label rolls in such a way that the label rolls can be carried and deposited with an internal grip (54b’) (Fig. 6) [0005 & 0046].
Regarding Claim 5, Wipf discloses:
the manipulator unit comprises a label roll magazine (18b) for receiving at least label rolls in a lying state (Fig. 4) and a deposition site (22b) for temporarily depositing a label roll during manipulation (Fig. 4) [0009 & 0032].
Regarding Claim 6, Wipf discloses:
the end effector further comprises an adhesion gripper, electrostatic gripper, or suction gripper for gripping label tape ends of the label rolls [0012 & 0030 & 0035 & 0036].
Regarding Claim 8, Wipf teaches:
sensors are arranged on the end effector, for determining a relative position of one or more of the label rolls received in each case by the end effector [0007].
Regarding Claim 9, Wipf discloses:
the manipulator unit comprises at least one interface (46b) for selective electrical energy supply of the multi-axle manipulator from the vehicle unit or from the labeling assembly [0017 & 0031 & 0044].
Regarding Claim 10, Wipf discloses:
supply system for introducing a label roll (12a & 12b) into a labeling assembly (40b) for labeling containers [0029], comprising the mobile robot according to claim 1 [see rejection of Claim 1 above] and the labeling assembly, which comprises roll plates (1002) for receiving and unwinding label rolls, and a connection unit [0012 & 0035 & 0036], by means of which a label strip of the introduced label roll can be connected to a label strip guided through the labeling assembly to the containers [0012 & 0035 & 0036].
Regarding Claim 11, Wipf discloses:
Method for changing label rolls (12a & 12B) on a labeling assembly (40b) for labeling containers [0029], wherein, by means of a multi-axle manipulator (50b) and an end effector (54b) formed thereon, a mobile robot (10b) removes at least one emptied roll core of a label roll with an external grip from the labeling assembly and introduces a label roll with an external grip there in exchange (Fig. 6) [0030 & 0032].
Regarding Claim 12, Wipf discloses:
the mobile robot receives label rolls by means of the end effector into a roll magazine carried along (18a & 18b & 20a & 20b), transports the label rolls therein to the labeling assembly [0030 & 0032], and provides them for changing label rolls [0030 & 0032].
Regarding Claim 13, Wipf discloses:
during a change of label rolls, a modular manipulator unit (14b), comprised by the mobile robot, with the multi-axle manipulator is operated on a modular vehicle unit (16b) comprised by the mobile robot (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Wipf discloses:
a starting area of a label strip present on the introduced label roll is picked up by an adhesion gripper, electrostatic gripper, or suction gripper arranged on the end effector and is transferred to a connection unit, formed on the labeling assembly, for connecting label strips [0012 & 0030 & 0035 & 0036].
Regarding Claim 16, Wipf discloses:
the multi-axle manipulator is a 6-axle articulated arm manipulator (Fig. 2) [0005 & 0030].
Regarding Claim 17, Wipf discloses:
the label roll magazine is for receiving at least four label rolls (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), and wherein the label roll magazine is for changing from an internal grip (1003) [0009] to an external grip (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Wipf discloses:
the sensor are ultrasonic sensors [0007].
Regarding Claim 19, Wipf discloses:
the interface includes a plug connection [0017 & 0031 & 0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wipf (US 20200156813 A1) in view of Yoshikuwa et al. (US 20220410399 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Wipf teaches:
the vehicle unit and the manipulator unit are designed as modules that can be coupled to one another and detached from one another by means of a lifting unit formed on the vehicle unit, in such a way that the manipulator unit can be lowered with respect to the vehicle unit for stationary parking and/or docking to the labeling assembly, and can in contrast be lifted again to change locations.
Wipf does not teach:
the vehicle unit and the manipulator unit are designed as modules that can be coupled to one another and detached from one another by means of a lifting unit formed on the vehicle unit, in such a way that the manipulator unit can be lowered with respect to the vehicle unit for stationary parking and/or docking to the labeling assembly, and can in contrast be lifted again to change locations.
Yoshikuwa teaches:
mobile robot (100) performing work on a processing line (A) (Fig. 1) [0028], with a vehicle unit (1) for changing locations of the robot and with a manipulator unit (3) comprising a multi-axle manipulator (32) with an end effector (39) for performing predetermined work [0036 & 0043], wherein the end effector is designed to perform predetermined work [0036 & 0043].
the vehicle unit and the manipulator unit are designed as modules that can be coupled to one another and detached from one another by means of a lifting unit (10 & 13) (Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) formed on the vehicle unit [0031 & 0034 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040], in such a way that the manipulator unit can be lowered with respect to the vehicle unit for stationary parking and/or docking to the processing line, and can in contrast be lifted again to change locations (Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0031 & 0034 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit taught by Wipf with the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, the vehicle unit and the manipulator unit are designed as modules that can be coupled to one another and detached from one another by means of a lifting unit formed on the vehicle unit, in such a way that the manipulator unit can be lowered with respect to the vehicle unit for stationary parking and/or docking to the labeling assembly, and can in contrast be lifted again to change locations taught by Yoshikuwa in order to provide a means of transferring a mobile robot from space to space utilizing fewer vehicle units than manipulator units in order to reduce the cost of the system while maintaining system capacity.
Regarding Claim 4, Wipf teaches:
the manipulator unit comprises a table frame (1000) and a tabletop (1001) carried by the vehicle unit (Fig. 4) and on which the multi-axle manipulator is mounted (Fig. 4).
Wipf does not explicitly teach:
the manipulator unit comprises a table frame and a tabletop, under which the vehicle unit can drive and on which the multi-axle manipulator is mounted.
Yoshikuwa teaches:
the manipulator unit comprises a table frame (35) and a tabletop (Fig. 2), under which the vehicle unit can drive (Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0034 & 0038] and on which the multi-axle manipulator is mounted (Fig. 4) [0034 & 0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, the manipulator unit comprises a table frame and a tabletop carried by the vehicle unit and on which the multi-axle manipulator is mounted taught by Wipf with the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, the manipulator unit comprises a table frame and a tabletop, under which the vehicle unit can drive and on which the multi-axle manipulator is mounted taught by Yoshikuwa in order to provide a means of transferring a mobile robot from space to space utilizing fewer vehicle units than manipulator units in order to reduce the cost of the system while maintaining system capacity.
Regarding Claim 7, Wipf teaches teach:
the end effector actuated for fixing/releasing label rolls on roll plates of labeling assemblies [0005 & 0030 & 0046].
Wipf does not teach:
a compressed air connector for providing compressed air is also arranged on the end effector in order to therewith actuate expansion valves actuating the end effector.
Yoshikuwa teaches:
a compressed air connector for providing compressed air is also arranged on the end effector in order to therewith actuate expansion valves for actuating tool features [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, the manipulator unit having an end effector actuated for fixing/releasing label rolls on roll plates of labeling assemblies taught by Wipf with the mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, the manipulator unit having an end effector having a compressed air connector for providing compressed air arranged on the end effector in order to therewith actuate expansion valves for actuating tool features taught by Yoshikuwa in order to provide a means of transferring articles in a manner that has an end effector actuation power means that is lightweight for reducing force and power demands on the manipulator.
Regarding Claim 14, Wipf does not teach:
after positioning the manipulator unit at the labeling assembly, the vehicle unit is uncoupled from the manipulator unit and, before re-coupling, drives to at least one other modular manipulator unit and temporarily forms a further mobile robot therewith.
Yoshikuwa teaches:
Method for performing work on a processing line (A) (Fig. 1) [0028], wherein, by means of a multi-axle manipulator (32) and an actuable end effector (39) positioned thereon, a mobile robot (100) performs work operations on the processing line using the actuable end effectors for performing predetermined work [0036 & 0043];
after positioning the manipulator unit at the processing line work position (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0031 & 0034 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040], the vehicle unit is uncoupled from the manipulator unit (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0031 & 0034 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040] and, before re-coupling, drives to at least one other modular manipulator unit and temporarily forms a further mobile robot therewith (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0031 & 0034 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for replacing label rolls in a labeling assembly utilizing a mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit to position the manipulator unit at the labeling assembly taught by Wipf with the method for performing work on a processing line utilizing a mobile robot system having a manipulator unit moved by a vehicle unit, where after positioning the manipulator unit at the processing line work position, the vehicle unit is uncoupled from the manipulator unit and, before re-coupling, drives to at least one other modular manipulator unit and temporarily forms a further mobile robot therewith taught by Yoshikuwa in order to provide a means of transferring a mobile robot from space to space utilizing fewer vehicle units than manipulator units in order to reduce the cost of the system while maintaining system capacity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20010045490 A1, US 5274984 A, and US 12421068 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: transfer robots for feeding material rolls to processing assemblies.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652