Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 25-38 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2023/0180199 A1; hereinafter “Jung”), in view of Farag et al. (US 2023/0299902 A1: hereinafter “Farag”), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2020/0313819 A1: hereinafter “ZHOU”).
Regarding claim 25, Jung teaches a method (FIG. 3) of a User Equipment (UE) ([0173] a user equipment), the method comprising:
triggering a Bandwidth Part (BWP) switch which is configured to switch an active BWP from a first BWP where a first Transmission Configuration Indicator state (TCI-state) applies to a second BWP where a second TCI-state applies ([0138] discloses a DCI-based BWP switch responsive to the UE receiving a BWP switching request, [0140] discloses that, upon expiration of a BWP-inactivity timer, the UE starts a BWP switch from an active BWP to a new BWP, [0142] discloses completing the BWP switch within a BWP switching delay), wherein the first TCI-state associates a first Downlink (DL) reference signal, wherein the second TCI-state associates a second DL reference signal ([0095]-[0096] disclose that the UE is provided with multiple TCI states and that one or more DL reference signals are configured by a TCI state, thereby disclosing respective DL reference signals associated with respective TCI states), and
wherein the UE is configured to perform communication with the first TCI-state before a delay in the second BWP in a case where the UE has information on the second TCI-state to perform the communication in the second BWP ([0143] discloses that when the UE does not have required TCI-state information, the UE uses old TCI-states before the BWP switch, [0144] further discloses that the UE is able to receive PDCCH and PDSCH with old TCI-states before the delay in the new BWP, thereby supporting that the UE performs communication with the first TCI-state before a delay in the second BWP when information on the second TCI-state is available).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the UE is configured to measure the second DL reference signal within the delay; and assuming, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies.
In an analogous art, Farag teaches wherein the UE is configured to measure the second DL reference signal within the delay ([0193] discloses that the second DL reference signal can be a source reference signal of a TCI state, [0200] discloses that the UE is configured with second DL reference signals and measures a DL propagation delay between the first DL reference signal and each second DL reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference signal as taught by Farag within the system Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance for system network improvement (Farag [0054]).
However, the combination of Jung and Farag does not teach assuming, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches assuming, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies ([0068] discloses that the rule applies to QCL types A-D and that when a BWP ID for a reference signal is left unspecified, the BWP ID of the reference signal is assumed to be the BWP ID of the active BWP after the BWP switch, including the second BWP, thereby directly supporting that when the second DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and no bwp-id is configured, the UE assumes the reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically Jung teaches wherein the UE is configured to perform the communication with the second TCI-state after the delay in the second BWP in a case where the UE has the information on the second TCI-state to perform the communication in the second BWP ([0145] discloses that the UE shall be able to receive PDCCH and PDSCH with new TCI-states after the delay in the new BWP, thereby supporting that the UE performs communication with the second TCI-state after the delay in the second BWP when the UE has information on the second TCI-state).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the UE is configured to apply the first TCI-state from a reference BWP ([0045], [0069] collectively discloses that a TCI state associate DL reference signals located in a DL BWP and that the BWP ID of the reference signal is maintained as a first BWP ID across BWP switching without reconfiguration, thereby applying the TCI state from a reference BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches assuming, in a case where the first DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and a bwp-id for the first DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the first TCI-state is not configured, that the first DL reference signal is configured in the first BWP where the first TCI- state applies ([0068] discloses that the rule applies to QCL types A-D and that when a BWP ID for a reference signal is left unspecified in a TCI state, the BWP ID of the reference signal is assumed to be the BWP ID of the active BWP, including that after a BWP switch the BWP ID of the reference signal is to be the corresponding BWP ID, thereby supporting that when the first DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and no bwp-id is configured, the UE assumes the reference signal is configured in the first BWP where the first TCI-state applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically Jung teaches receiving the first DL reference signal on the first BWP; and receiving the second DL reference signal on the second BWP ([0095]-[0096] disclose that one or more DL reference signals, including CSI-RS, are configured by a TCI state, [0069] further discloses synchronization signal block (SSB) as DL reference signals, [0153] the UE receives DL signals within a DL BWP and performs BWP switching among DL BWPs, thereby supporting that the UE receives a first DL reference signal on a first BWP and receives a second DL reference signal on a second BWP).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the communication includes receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ([0048] discloses that the UE is configured to decode a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for UE, thereby implying that the UE receives the PDCCH as part of communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the communication includes receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) ([0048] discloses that the UE decodes a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH, thereby directly supporting that the UE receives the PDSCH as part of communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 32, Jung teaches a User Equipment (UE) (FIG. 5 an apparatus 500) comprising:
a memory (FIG. 5 a memory 570); and
a processor (FIG. 5 a controller 520) coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to:
trigger a Bandwidth Part (BWP) switch which is configured to switch an active BWP from a first BWP where a first Transmission Configuration Indicator state (TCI-state) applies to a second BWP where a second TCI-state applies ([0138] discloses a DCI-based BWP switch responsive to the UE receiving a BWP switching request, [0140] discloses that, upon expiration of a BWP-inactivity timer, the UE starts a BWP switch from an active BWP to a new BWP, [0142] discloses completing the BWP switch within a BWP switching delay), wherein the first TCI-state associates a first Downlink (DL) reference signal, wherein the second TCI-state associates a second DL reference signal ([0095]-[0096] disclose that the UE is provided with multiple TCI states and that one or more DL reference signals are configured by a TCI state, thereby disclosing respective DL reference signals associated with respective TCI states), and
wherein the UE is configured to perform communication with the first TCI-state before a delay in the second BWP in a case where the UE has information on the second TCI- state to perform the communication in the second BWP ([0143] discloses that when the UE does not have required TCI-state information, the UE uses old TCI-states before the BWP switch, [0144] further discloses that the UE is able to receive PDCCH and PDSCH with old TCI-states before the delay in the new BWP, thereby supporting that the UE performs communication with the first TCI-state before a delay in the second BWP when information on the second TCI-state is available).
However, Jung does not teach wherein the UE is configured to measure the second DL reference signal within the delay; and assume, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies.
In an analogous art, Farag teaches wherein the UE is configured to measure the second DL reference signal within the delay ([0193] discloses that the second DL reference signal can be a source reference signal of a TCI state, [0200] discloses that the UE is configured with second DL reference signals and measures a DL propagation delay between the first DL reference signal and each second DL reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference signal as taught by Farag within the system Jung. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance for system network improvement (Farag [0054]).
However, the combination of Jung and Farag does not teach assume, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches assume, in a case where the second DL reference signal is a Quasi Co-Location Type A or D source Reference Signal (QCL Type A/D source RS) and a bwp-id for the second DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the second TCI-state is not configured, that the second DL reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies ([0068] discloses that the rule applies to QCL types A-D and that when a BWP ID for a reference signal is left unspecified, the BWP ID of the reference signal is assumed to be the BWP ID of the active BWP after the BWP switch, including the second BWP, thereby directly supporting that when the second DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and no bwp-id is configured, the UE assumes the reference signal is configured in the second BWP where the second TCI-state applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically Jung teaches wherein the UE is configured to perform the communication with the second TCI-state after the delay in the second BWP in a case where the UE has the information on the second TCI-state to perform the communication in the second BWP ([0145] discloses that the UE shall be able to receive PDCCH and PDSCH with new TCI-states after the delay in the new BWP, thereby supporting that the UE performs communication with the second TCI-state after the delay in the second BWP when the UE has information on the second TCI-state).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the UE is configured to apply the first TCI-state from a reference BWP ([0045], [0069] collectively discloses that a TCI state associate DL reference signals located in a DL BWP and that the BWP ID of the reference signal is maintained as a first BWP ID across BWP switching without reconfiguration, thereby applying the TCI state from a reference BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 6 a processor 604) is configured to: assume, in a case where the first DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and a bwp-id for the first DL reference signal in a QCL-info of the first TCI-state is not configured, that the first DL reference signal is configured in the first BWP where the first TCI- state applies ([0068] discloses that the rule applies to QCL types A-D and that when a BWP ID for a reference signal is left unspecified in a TCI state, the BWP ID of the reference signal is assumed to be the BWP ID of the active BWP, including that after a BWP switch the BWP ID of the reference signal is to be the corresponding BWP ID, thereby supporting that when the first DL reference signal is a QCL Type A/D source RS and no bwp-id is configured, the UE assumes the reference signal is configured in the first BWP where the first TCI-state applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically Jung teaches wherein the processor is configured to: receive the first DL reference signal on the first BWP, and receive the second DL reference signal on the second BWP ([0095]-[0096] disclose that one or more DL reference signals, including CSI-RS, are configured by a TCI state, [0069] further discloses synchronization signal block (SSB) as DL reference signals, [0153] the UE receives DL signals within a DL BWP and performs BWP switching among DL BWPs, thereby supporting that the UE receives a first DL reference signal on a first BWP and receives a second DL reference signal on a second BWP).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the communication includes receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ([0048] discloses that the UE is configured to decode a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for UE, thereby implying that the UE receives the PDCCH as part of communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Jung, Farag and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the communication includes receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) ([0048] discloses that the UE decodes a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH, thereby directly supporting that the UE receives the PDSCH as part of communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP as taught by ZHOU within the system Jung and Farag. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce signaling overhead and save power, thereby lowering costs (ZHOU [0004]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2014/0198680 A1 (Siomina et al.) discloses networks using different subframe configurations and related nodes and methods.
US 2019/0254013 A1 (Chang et al.) discloses methods for MulteFire (MF) and/or Narrowband (NB)-Internet of Things (IoT) operation in unlicensed spectrum.
US 2024/0430840 A1 (DUAN et al.) discloses a positioning reference signal provision method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413