Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in claim 1 that Yang's condition is fundamentally different from the Applicant's claimed elements. "VoNR unsupported by cellular coverage," describes a network-side system limitation; specifically, the cellular network in the device's vicinity does not support VoNR.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees in paragraph 0035 of Yang it discloses “in response to the cellular data being disabled and VoNR or ViNR being unsupported on the device and by a wireless network over which the device communicates”. Yang discloses the device will not be supported if VoNR is disabled.
Applicant argues that “a cellular network lacking support for VoNR is not the same as, or analogous to, a device lacking VoNR capability”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees in paragraph 0027 of Yang it discloses “as the device 150 and/or the network do not have VoNR capabilities”. Yang discloses the device does not have or lacking VoNR capabilities.
Applicant argues that independent claims 1, 9, and 17 require that the disabling of 5G SA occurs only when all three of the following conditions are met concurrently: (a) Wi-Fi is available, (b) Wi-Fi signal strength is greater than a first threshold, and (c) the electronic device does not support
VoNR. However, examiner respectfully disagrees the claims and the specification do not mention all of these conditions have to be met concurrently.
Applicant argues in claim 1 Yang describes a procedural step of completing registration in a 4G mobile communications network as a result of, and following, the disabling of 5G SA mode under the claimed conditions. As such, Yang fails to describe "completing registration in a 4G mobile communications network."
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees in paragraph 0033 Yang discloses “For example, the status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is registered over a wireless network such as a WLAN.” In paragraph 0021 Yang disclose “that may operate independently without an existing 4G LTE or 4G radio and Evolved Packet Core (EPC) infrastructure Core Network or 4G core”. Yang discloses IMS registered being over a wireless network such as WLAN, however 4G radio and Evolved Packet are core networks. Therefore, the examiner interprets this as a wireless network registered over a wireless network.
Applicant argues that in claim 3 Cao does not disclose disabling of a 5G SA mode on an electronic device, and certainly not disabling of the 5G SA mode if a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps is not a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees in Cao paragraph 0091 “In this embodiment, the target cell is in New Radio 5G Non-standalone (NR5G-NSA)”.5G SA mode in Cao paragraph 0093 “Currently, some cells are configured with a New Radio 5G standalone (NR5G-SA) device, and some cells are configured with an NR5G-NSA device”. Cao 5G SA is on a target cell and the target cell is disabling therefore, the examiner interprets disabling of the 5G SA mode if a 5G cell on which the electronic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,9,10,17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang
US 20230292231 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yang does disclose a communications method, wherein the method is applied to an electronic device, the electronic device registers in 5G standalone (SA)([0004] In some
examples, the 5G mode of the device includes a 5G New Radio Standalone (NR SA) mode.), and the method comprises:
disabling, when a Wi-Fi status changes, a 5G SA mode of the electronic device if a) Wi-Fi is available ([0023] In which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150.Thus, a signal strength of greater or better than negative 70 dBm may constitute wireless connectivity being available),
b) a Wi-Fi signal strength is greater than a first threshold([0023][0028] As an example, a threshold signal strength may be negative 70 decibel milliwatts (dBm)..),
and c) the electronic device does not support Voice over New Radio (VoNR) ([0023][0027][0028] [0035] FIGS. 2,3 Which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150If any of the following conditions are satisfied: 1) when a VoLTE (Voice Over LTE) session or alternatively, a ViLTE (Video Over LTE) or call is active and VoNR is unsupported by cellular coverage; as the device 150 and/or the network do not have VoNR capabilities. In response to the cellular data being disabled and VoNR or ViNR being unsupported on the device and by a wireless network over which the device communicates );
and completing registration in a 4G mobile communications network([0021][0033] 5G NR SA
may be differentiated from 5G NR Non-Standalone (NSA) mode, which anchors control signaling of 5G
radio networks to the existing 4G infrastructure, and supports a more limited range of services compared to 5G SA. In addition, a status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is
registered over WiFi, as described with respect to FIG. 4.).
Regarding claim 2, Yang does disclose the method wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a specific condition is met([0025] Therefore, the computing component 111 may
disable 5G NR SA in response to the aforementioned conditions being satisfied.).
Regarding claim 9, Yang does disclose an electronic device, wherein the electronic device registers in 5G standalone (SA)([0004] In some examples, the 5G mode of the device includes a 5G New Radio Standalone (NR SA) mode.), and comprises:
one or more processors([0036]FIG. 7 Hardware processor(s) 704 may be, for example, one or
more general purpose microprocessors.);
and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to be configured to([0037] The computer system 700 also includes a main memory 706, such as a random access memory (RAM), cache and/or other dynamic storage devices, coupled to bus 702 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 704.):
disable, when a Wi-Fi status changes, a 5G SA mode of the electronic device if a) Wi-Fi is available([0023] In which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150.Thus, a signal strength of greater or better than negative 70 dBm may constitute wireless connectivity being available),
b) a Wi-Fi signal strength is greater than a first threshold([0023][0028] As an example, a threshold signal strength may be negative 70 decibel milliwatts (dBm)..),
and c) the electronic device does not support Voice over New Radio (VoNR) ([0023][0027][0028] [0035] FIGS. 2,3 Which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150If any of the following conditions are satisfied: 1) when a VoLTE (Voice Over LTE) session or alternatively, a ViLTE (Video Over LTE) or call is active and VoNR is unsupported by cellular coverage. as the device 150 and/or the network do not have VoNR capabilities. In response to the cellular data being disabled and VoNR or ViNR being unsupported on the device and by a wireless network over which the device communicates);
and complete registration in a 4G mobile communications network([0021][0033] 5G NR SA
may be differentiated from 5G NR Non-Standalone (NSA) mode, which anchors control signaling of 5G
radio networks to the existing 4G infrastructure, and supports a more limited range of services
compared to 5G SA. In addition, a status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is
registered over WiFi, as described with respect to FIG. 4.).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the electronic device wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a specific condition is met ([0025] Therefore, the computing
component 111 may disable 5G NR SA in response to the aforementioned conditions being satisfied.).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device ([0037] The computer system 700 also includes a main memory 706, such as a random access memory (RAM), cache and/or other dynamic storage devices, coupled to bus 702 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 704.), cause the electronic device to be configured to:
disable, when a Wi-Fi status changes, a 5G standalone (SA) mode of the electronic device if a) Wi-Fi is available([0023] In which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150.Thus, a signal strength of greater or better than negative 70 dBm may constitute wireless connectivity being available),
b) a Wi-Fi signal strength is greater than a first threshold([0023][0028] As an example, a threshold signal strength may be negative 70 decibel milliwatts (dBm)..),
and c) the electronic device does not support Voice over New Radio (VoNR([0023][0027][0028] [0035]FIGS. 2,3 Which the computing component 111 may selectively disable 5G NR SA, for example, in order to conserve power consumption of the device 150If any of the following conditions are satisfied: 1) when a VoLTE (Voice Over LTE) session or alternatively, a ViLTE (Video Over LTE) or call is active and VoNR is unsupported by cellular coverage. As the device 150 and/or the network do not have VoNR capabilities. In response to the cellular data being disabled and VoNR or ViNR being unsupported on the device and by a wireless network over which the device communicates );
and complete registration in a 4G mobile communications network([0021][0033] 5G NR SA
may be differentiated from 5G NR Non-Standalone (NSA) mode, which anchors control signaling of 5G
radio networks to the existing 4G infrastructure, and supports a more limited range of services compared to 5G SA. In addition, a status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is registered over WiFi, as described with respect to FIG. 4.).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a specific condition is met([0025] Therefore, the computing component 111 may disable 5G NR SA in response to the
aforementioned conditions being satisfied.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al, US 20230292231 A1, in view of Cao et al, US 20240129770 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Yang does not disclose the method wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal.
However, Cao does disclose the method wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal ([0091] [0093] [0191] In this embodiment, the target cell is in New Radio 5G Non-standalone (NR5G-NSA). Currently, some cells are configured with a New Radio 5G standalone (NR5G-SA) device, and some cells are configured with an NR5G-NSA device. However, with the development of5G, especially emergence of NR5G-NSA, many 4G anchor cells that can access the Internet but have a low network speed appear (because resources are shared by 5G cells). Even if there is only a high anomaly in a few time periods but an overall index is still high, the electronic equipment disables these normal cells during an off-peak period. In this way, not only an abnormal cell is not evaded, but also user equipment may be directed from a normal cell to an abnormal cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the method wherein the specific condition is met comprises: a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal as taught by Cao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of determining whether the target cell has the first abnormal attribute (Cao, [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang does not disclose the electronic device wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal.
However, Cao does disclose the electronic device wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal ([0091] [0093] [0191] In this embodiment, the target cell is in New Radio 5G Non-standalone (NR5G-NSA). Currently, some cells are configured with a New Radio 5G standalone (NR5G-SA) device, and some cells are configured with an NR5G-NSA device. However, with the development of5G, especially emergence of NR5G-NSA, many 4G anchor cells that can access the Internet but have a low network speed appear (because resources are shared by 5G cells). Even if there is only a high anomaly in a few time periods but an overall index is still high, the electronic equipment disables these normal cells during an off-peak period. In this way, not only an abnormal cell is not evaded, but also user equipment may be directed from a normal cell to an abnormal cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the electronic device wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal as taught by Cao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of determining whether the target cell has the first abnormal attribute. (Cao, [0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang does not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal.
However, Cao does disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal ([0091] [0093] [0191] In this embodiment, the target cell is in New Radio 5G Non-standalone (NR5G-NSA). Currently, some cells are configured with a New Radio 5G standalone (NR5G-SA) device, and some cells are configured with an NR5G-NSA device. However, with the development of5G, especially emergence of NR5G-NSA, many 4G anchor cells that can access the Internet but have a low network speed appear (because resources are shared by 5G cells). Even if there is only a high anomaly in a few time periods but an overall index is still high, the electronic equipment disables these normal cells during an off-peak period. In this way, not only an abnormal cell is not evaded, but also user equipment may be directed from a normal cell to an abnormal cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the non-transitory computer-readable
storage medium wherein the specific condition comprises a 5G cell on which the electronic device
currently camps not being a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal as taught by Cao. The
motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of determining whether the target cell has the
first abnormal attribute (Cao, [0071]).
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al,
US 20230292231 A1, in view of Cao et al, US 20240129770 A1, and in further view of Nimbavikar et al,
US 20200213939 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Yang does disclose the method wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if the electronic device is in a target mode ([0035] The 5G mode may include a 5G NR SA mode, but may not include other 5G modes such as 5G NR NSA. As an example, as illustrated with respect to FIG. 2, in response to the IMS being registered over a wireless network such as a WLAN and WiFi connectivity being available, the hardware processor(s) 602 may disable the 5G mode of the device. ).
Yang and Cao do not disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers.
However, Nimbavikar does disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers ([0036-0037] These applications are relatively time insensitive, but can take advantage of the higher throughput speeds
provided by the 5G network. The registration request can comprise a SIP message requesting to be
connected to the WBS on the 5G network. In some examples, the SIP message can include additional
information (e.g., in the header) to indicate to which network the request is directed. In other examples, a separate SIP message for each network can be devised-e.g., REGISTER5G, or similar.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Cao with wherein the target mode indicate that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers as taught by Nimbavikar. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce congestion and increase performance. (Nimbavikar, [0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang does disclose the electronic device wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if the electronic device is in a target mode ([0035] The 5G mode may
include a 5G NR SA mode, but may not include other 5G modes such as 5G NR NSA. As an example, as
illustrated with respect to FIG. 2, in response to the IMS being registered over a wireless network such as a WLAN and WiFi connectivity being available, the hardware processor(s) 602 may disable the
5G mode of the device. ).
Yang and Cao do not disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers.
However, Nimbavikar does disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers([0036-0037] These
applications are relatively time insensitive, but can take advantage of the higher throughput speeds
provided by the 5G network. The registration request can comprise a SIP message requesting to be
connected to the WBS on the 5G network. In some examples, the SIP message can include additional
information (e.g., in the header) to indicate to which network the request is directed. In other examples, a separate SIP message for each network can be devised-e.g., REGISTER5G, or similar.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Cao with wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device
registers as taught by Nimbavikar. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce congestion
and increase performance. (Nimbavikar, [0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang does disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if the electronic device is in a target mode ([0035] The 5G mode may include a 5G NR SA mode, but may not include other 5G modes such as 5G NR NSA. As an example, as illustrated with respect to FIG. 2, in response to the IMS being registered
over a wireless network such as a WLAN and WiFi connectivity being available, the hardware processor(s) 602 may disable the 5G mode of the device. ),
Yang and Cao do not disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers.
However, Nimbavikar does disclose wherein the target mode indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device registers ([0036-0037] These
applications are relatively time insensitive, but can take advantage of the higher throughput speeds
provided by the 5G network. The registration request can comprise a SIP message requesting to be
connected to the WBS on the 5G network. In some examples, the SIP message can include additional information (e.g., in the header) to indicate to which network the request is directed. In other examples, a separate SIP message for each network can be devised-e.g., REGISTER5G, or similar.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Cao with wherein the target mode
indicates that a user is insensitive to a mobile communications network in which the electronic device
registers as taught by Nimbavikar. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce congestion
and increase performance. (Nimbavikar, [0015]).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al, US
20230292231 A1, in view of Cao et al, US 20240129770 A1, in view of Nimbavikar et al, US 20200213939
A1, and in further view of Zhu et al, US 20210105691 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Yang, Cao, and Nimbavikar do not disclose the method wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio (NR) signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold.
However, Zhu does disclose the method wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio (NR) signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold ([0094] [0095] In this example, the UE 106 disabled 5G SA capability in response to determining than an on-going WiFi-voice call suffers from a poor WiFi signal and is likely to be lost. UE 106 may consider
various factors when making a determination that handover of the WiFi call is likely to be lost, such as
signal strength data, packet loss data, historical data, etc. the UE 106 may disable 5G SA capability when the WiFi call is originated only for WLAN networks whose past performance falls below one or
more thresholds.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, Cao, and Nimbavikar with the method wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio NR signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold as taught by Zhu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve handover from the WLAN network to one of multiple cellular networks supported by the UE. (Zhu, [0078]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang, Cao, and Nimbavikar do not disclose the electronic device wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio (NR) signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold.
However, Zhu does disclose the electronic device wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio (NR) signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold ([0094] [0095] In this example, the UE 106 disabled 5G SA capability in response to determining than an on-going WiFi-voice call suffers from a poor WiFi signal and is likely to be lost. UE 106 may consider various factors when making a determination that handover of the WiFi call is likely
to be lost, such as signal strength data, packet loss data, historical data, etc. the UE 106 may disable 5G SA capability when the WiFi call is originated only for WLAN networks whose past performance falls below one or more thresholds.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, Cao, and Nimbavikar with the electronic device wherein the 5G SA mode of the electronic device is disabled if a new radio NR signal strength of the electronic device is less than a second threshold as taught by Zhu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve handover from the WLAN network to one of multiple cellular networks supported by the UE. (Zhu, [0078]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al, US
20230292231 A1, in view of Chinthalapudi et al, US 20220417798 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Yang does not disclose the method further comprising restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed.
However, Chinthalapudi does disclose the method further comprising restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed ([0005] [0007] [0015] To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since
deployment of4G communication systems, efforts have been made to develop an improved 5G or 5G
New Radio (NR) communication systems. Therefore, a call drop rate may become substantially high in
the existing mechanism ofestablishing the voice session/call over the 5G NR network. Furthermore, the time required to re-establish the voice session/call after the EPS FB is considerably high since Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) signaling may be re-initiated as a new call setup procedure. The media feature tag indicates that at least one of an EPS FB and the VoNR is supported by the UE and the server during an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) call registration process.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the method further comprising restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed as taught by Chinthalapudi. The motivation for doing so would be to improve call performance in a wireless network. (Chinthalapudi, [0017]).
Regarding claim 14, Yang does not disclose the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to restart the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed.
However, Chinthalapudi does disclose the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to restart the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed ([0005] [0007] [0015] To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of4G communication systems, efforts have been made to develop an improved 5G or 5G New Radio (NR) communication systems. Therefore, a call drop rate may become substantially high in the existing mechanism of establishing the voice session/call over the 5G NR network. Furthermore, the time required to re-establish the voice session/call after the EPS FB is considerably high since Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) signaling may be re-initiated as a new call setup procedure. The media feature tag indicates that at least one of an EPS FB and the VoNR is supported by the UE and the server during an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) call registration process.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the electronic device wherein when the
instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be
configured to restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device if the registration in the 4G mobile
communications network does not succeed as taught by Chinthalapudi. The motivation for doing so
would be to improve call performance in a wireless network. (Chinthalapudi, [0017]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al, US
20230292231 A1, in view of Cao et al, US 20240129770 A1, and in further view of Hsu et al, US
20170019780 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Yang does not disclose the method further comprising marking a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device camps before disabling the 5G SA mode.
However, Cao does disclose the method further comprising marking a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device camps before disabling the 5G SA mode ([0191] However, with the development of 5G, especially emergence of NR5G-NSA, many 4G anchor cells that can access the Internet but have a low network speed appear (because resources are shared by 5G cells). Even if there is only a high anomaly in a few time periods but an overall index is still high, the electronic equipment disables these normal cells during an off-peak period. In this way, not only an abnormal cell is not evaded, but also user
equipment may be directed from a normal cell to an abnormal cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the method further comprising marking a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal, wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device camps before disabling the 5G SA mode as taught by Cao. The
motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of determining whether the target cell has the
first abnormal attribute (Cao, [0071]).
Yang and Cao do not disclose if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed,
However, Hsu does disclose if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed ([0006] the UE 101 tries to perform a registration procedure with the base station 105 supporting 4G. At this moment, the base station 105 rejects the registration of the UE 101, and a network state of the UE 101 is suddenly changed to "no service".),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Cao with if the registration in the 4G
mobile communications network does not succeed as taught by Hsu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide better user experience for a wireless communication service. (Hsu, [0007]),
Regarding claim 15, Yang does not disclose mark a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal if the registration wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device camps before disabling the 5G SA mode.
However, Cao does disclose mark a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose 4G neighboring cell is abnormal if the registration wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device camps before disabling the 5G SA mode ([0191] However, with the development of 5G, especially emergence of NR5GNSA, many 4G anchor cells that can access the Internet but have a low network speed appear (because resources are shared by 5G cells). Even if there is only a high anomaly in a few time periods but an overall index is still high, the electronic equipment disables these normal cells during an off-peak period. In this way, not only an abnormal cell is not evaded, but also user equipment may be directed from a normal cell to an abnormal cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with mark a target 5G cell as a 5G cell whose
4G neighboring cell is abnormal, wherein the target 5G cell is a 5G cell on which the electronic device
camps before disabling the 5G SA mode as taught by Cao. The motivation for doing so would be to
improve accuracy of determining whether the target cell has the first abnormal attribute (Cao, [0071]).
Yang and Cao do not disclose the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed,
However, Hsu does disclose the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed ([0006] the UE 101 tries to perform a registration procedure with the base station 105 supporting 4G. At this moment, the base station 105 rejects the registration of the UE 101, and a network state of the UE 101 is suddenly changed to "no service".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Cao with the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to if the registration in the 4G mobile communications network does not succeed as taught by Hsu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide better user experience for a wireless
communication service. (Hsu, [0007])
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yang et al, US
20230292231 A1, in view of Wei et al, US 20230164727 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Yang does disclose if Wi-Fi is unavailable or the Wi-Fi signal strength is not greater than the first threshold ([0029] For example, pertaining to the scenarios illustrated in FIGS. 2-3, 5G NR SA may be enabled when the following conditions are met: and/or 2) WiFi is unavailable and
cellular data is on. ),
the method wherein after completing the registration in the 4G mobile communications network, the method further comprises ([0021][0033] 5G NR SA may be differentiated from 5G NR Non-Standalone (NSA) mode, which anchors control signaling of 5G radio networks to the existing 4G
infrastructure, and supports a more limited range of services compared to 5G SA. In addition, a status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is registered over WiFi, as described with respect to FIG. 4.).
Yang does not disclose restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device.
However, Wei does disclose restarting the 5G SA mode of the electronic device ([0350] As
shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, a user restarts the user equipment 200. After being powered on, the user equipment 200 initiates SA 5G search and registration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with restarting the 5G SA mode of the
electronic device as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to effectively improve user
experience. (Wei, [0021]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang does disclose if Wi-Fi is unavailable or the Wi-Fi signal strength is not greater than the first threshold([0029] For example, pertaining to the scenarios illustrated in FIGS. 2-3, 5G NR SA may be enabled when the following conditions are met: and/or 2) WiFi is unavailable and cellular data is on. ),
the electronic device wherein after completing the registration in the 4G mobile communications network, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to([0021][0033] 5G NR SA may be differentiated from 5G NR Non-Standalone (NSA) mode, which anchors control signaling of 5G radio networks to the existing 4G infrastructure, and supports a more limited range of services compared to 5G SA. In addition, a status of the IMS registration may include, whether the IMS is registered over WiFi, as described with respect to FIG. 4.).
Yang does not disclose restart the 5G SA mode of the electronic device
However, Wei does disclose restart the 5G SA mode of the electronic device ([0350] As shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, a user restarts the user equipment 200. After being powered on, the user
equipment 200 initiates SA 5G search and registration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with restarting the 5G SA mode of the
electronic device as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to effectively improve user
experience. (Wei, [0021])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419