DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is indefinite because the claim fails to recite a method of cleaning a media pressure vessel. Specifically, the positive steps are directed to removing one or more pipe sections and one or more septa, but fails to positively recite how the vessel is cleaned. What’s the relationship to removing the pipe sections and septa and cleaning the vessel? Claim 12 is indefinite because “the bottom” lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear what applicant means by “otherwise attached”. Specifically, “removing one or more pipe sections between the header and the vessel” reads broadly on removing all pipe sections between the header and vessel. If all of the pipe sections are removed, then how is the header still attached to the vessel? How is the septa “associated” with the one or more pipe sections? Claim 14 is indefinite because of “one or more other septa and pipe sections”. Applicant’s claim of one or more pipe sections and one or more septa reads on “other septa and pipe sections”. The examiner suggests amending to first and second pipe sections and septa. Claim 15 is indefinite for similar reasons to that of claim 14. Claim 16 is indefinite because “a pipe section” and “the pipe section” should be amended to “the one or more pipe sections” for proper antecedent basis. Claim 17 is indefinite because “the tank” lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 17 is further indefinite because it recites moving the septum sideways. It is unclear whether movement “sideways” is in reference to the vessel or the pipe section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt et al. (US3291311).
Re claim 12, in view of the indefiniteness, the claim is broadly interpreted as removing one of more pipe sections and one more septa. Pratt et al. teach an underdrain system for use with tanks. Re claim 12, Pratt et al. teach one or more pipe sections 24 between an external header 50 (col. 2, lines 55-60, col. 4, lines 35-40) and a bottom of the vessel 2 (Fig. 1), and removing one or more septa (i.e. strainers 7; fig. 1) associated with one of more pipe sections. Specifically, col. 3, lines 45-50 teaches that the strainer assembly may be inserted into or removed from the hole 6 provided in the tank, when access to the interior of the tank is limited. Col. 3, lines 45-75 and col. 4, lines 1-40 further teaches that the strainer is inserted into a central opening 118 (Fig. 6) into the bottom of the tank, followed by assembly of additional components including five T connections 122 which connect the strainer to the manifold pipe 130. In summary, Pratt teaches assembly of pipe components (i.e. 122, 130) for insertion of the strainer into the vessel. Pratt et al. teach the insertion and removal of septa from the vessel. Re claims 12-15, Pratt et al. do not removal of one of more pipe sections, and one of more septa, while keeping the header attached to the vessel. However, absent of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would have been obvious and well within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove/disassemble one or more pipe sections between the header and the bottom of the vessel, in order to remove one or more septa since Pratt et al. teach insertion of one or more septa includes insertion in the vessel and assembly of pipe components. In reference to the limitations of the header remaining otherwise attached to the vessel, absent of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would have been well within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to keep the header attached to the vessel if one septum requires removal from the interior of the vessel. The examiner takes the position that it would have been well within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to determine which pipe section (s) are in need of removal depending on the number of septa (i.e. strainers) needing to be removed from the vessel. Re claims 16-17, the limitations are directed to orienting the direction of the the pipe section and septa for removal. Absent of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, and in view of the indefiniteness, the examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the desired direction of the pipe section and septa required for proper assembly and disassembly of components.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt et al. (US3291311) in view of Rafferty (US 2647636).
Re claim 13, Pratt et al. teach an opening 6 between the strainer (i.e. septa 8) and the vessel 4 (Fig. 3). However, Pratt et al. teach the removal of solids. Rafferty teaches the removal of a strainer cup 26 from a pipe 12 (Figs. 1, 3). Col. 5 lines 1-45 teaches when it is desired to remove the strainer cup for cleaning or replacement, the strainer is slidable removed/withdrawn from nipple 15. Col. 5, lines 35-45 teaches removal of the strainer cup removes smaller particles of foreign matter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have removed solids from the septa as it is removed from the vessel of Pratt et al., since Rafferty teaches the removal of solids as the strainer cup is removed from the pipe.
Double Patenting
Claim 12 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 34 of copending Application No. 18/695715 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims 12 and 34 are directed to cleaning a media pressure vessel by removing one or more pipe sections while the header remains attached to the vessel and removing one or more septa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 12-17 in the reply filed on 12/10/2027 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art fails to teach the common features. This is not found persuasive because Craw et al. (US 10981802) teach an external header (paragraphs 16, 70), a plurality of removable pipe sections (Fig. 3) and a plurality of septa (internal filter screens, paragraph 69).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Craw et al. teach a water treatment system. Day et al. teach replacing a filter through a port. McDougald teaches a backwashing apparatus. Doupe et al. teach a cleaning mechanism. Rafferty teaches unloading heading fitter and strainer.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc