DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/23/2026. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/23/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 14, 17, 18, 21-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prasad et al. (WIPO Patent Application Publication No. 2021/207748 A2) (hereinafter Prasad).
Regarding claim 1, Prasad discloses a method for wireless communications by a first device (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP), comprising:
participating in a first training procedure to obtain a set of channel estimates corresponding to different paths between a second device and the first device involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components (Page 15, lines 7-28 disclose signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may arrive at the receiving device 404 on a transmitting device-receiving device channel (or link) hdir 412 and an IRS -receiving device channel (link) g 414 in this example. The signals may be transmitted by the transmitting device 402 directly to the receiving device 404 on the transmitting device- receiving device channel hdir 412. The signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may also arrive at the IRS 406 on a transmitting device- IRS channel h 416, which are reflected by the IRS 406 onto the receiving device 404 on the IRS-receiving device channel g 414. Thus, a communication channel between the transmitting device 402 and the receiving device 404 may include the transmitting device-receiving device channel hdir 412, the IRS receiving device channel g 414 and the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416. Note that the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416 may include multiple communications links, such as the links 326, 328, 330 as illustrated in Figure 3. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be collectively referred to as an IRS (aided) reflective channel. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be referred to as two constituent channels or two IRS channels of the IRS (aided) reflective channel. It would be desirable that the receiving device may estimate or reconstruct such a communication channel, so that transmissions from the transmitting device 402 to the receiving device 404 may be performed adaptively according to the communication channel, and the IRS 406 may be adjusted (e.g., phase shifts of IRS elements may be adjusted) to adapt to the communication channel. Embodiments of the present disclosure provide methods for estimation or reconstruction of the communication channel based on the channel model of the network 400. Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots);
participating in a second training procedure, using the set of channel estimates, to obtain a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components based on at least one objective (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy. Page 17, lines 9-12 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel); and
communicating with the second device with the RIS components configured according to the combining vector (Page 17, lines 9-13 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel and convey this choice to an IRS controller, e.g., via a low-rate side-channel (or link). The IRS controller may control to adjust the IRS phase pattern of the IRS assisting communications between the transmitter and the receiver).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Prasad further discloses wherein: the first device comprises a user equipment (UE) and the second device comprises a base station; the first device comprises a base station and the second device comprises a UE; or the first device comprises a UE and the second device comprises a UE (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the at least one objective is to combine signals reflected by the RIS components to enhance a received signal at the first device (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the combining vector is obtained using single value decomposition to select eigenvectors corresponding to highest eigenvalues (Page 19, lines 6-10 disclose Eigen decomposition of the covariance matrix may yield a set of Eigenvectors and associated Eigenvalues. Each Eigenvector may represent a beamforming direction in a signal subspace. The beamforming direction may correspond to a combination of a transmit beam of the transmitting device, a receive beam of the receiving device, and a reflective direction of the IRS).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the at least one objective is to cancel signals reflected by the RIS components to null interference at one or more other devices (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the RIS components comprise portions of a RIS surface split into sub-RISs (Figure 3 and page 14, lines 11-16 disclose The IRS 306 is configured to reflect incident signals and generate directional beams in desired directions. The IRS may include a number of tunable reflecting elements 308, which may be controlled and adjusted by an IRS controller 310, e.g., for phase pattern adjustment).
Regarding claim 17, Prasad discloses a method for wireless communications by a second device (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP), comprising:
configuring a first device to participate in a first training procedure to obtain a set of channel estimates corresponding to different paths between the second device and the first device involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components and to participate in a second training procedure, using the set of channel estimates, to obtain a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components based on at least one objective (Page 15, lines 7-28 disclose signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may arrive at the receiving device 404 on a transmitting device-receiving device channel (or link) hdir 412 and an IRS -receiving device channel (link) g 414 in this example. The signals may be transmitted by the transmitting device 402 directly to the receiving device 404 on the transmitting device- receiving device channel hdir 412. The signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may also arrive at the IRS 406 on a transmitting device- IRS channel h 416, which are reflected by the IRS 406 onto the receiving device 404 on the IRS-receiving device channel g 414. Thus, a communication channel between the transmitting device 402 and the receiving device 404 may include the transmitting device-receiving device channel hdir 412, the IRS receiving device channel g 414 and the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416. Note that the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416 may include multiple communications links, such as the links 326, 328, 330 as illustrated in Figure 3. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be collectively referred to as an IRS (aided) reflective channel. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be referred to as two constituent channels or two IRS channels of the IRS (aided) reflective channel. It would be desirable that the receiving device may estimate or reconstruct such a communication channel, so that transmissions from the transmitting device 402 to the receiving device 404 may be performed adaptively according to the communication channel, and the IRS 406 may be adjusted (e.g., phase shifts of IRS elements may be adjusted) to adapt to the communication channel. Embodiments of the present disclosure provide methods for estimation or reconstruction of the communication channel based on the channel model of the network 400. Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots. Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy);
participating, with the first device, in the first training procedure and the second training procedure (Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots. Page 17, lines 9-12 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel); and
communicating with the first device with the RIS components configured according to the combining vector (Page 17, lines 9-13 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel and convey this choice to an IRS controller, e.g., via a low-rate side-channel (or link). The IRS controller may control to adjust the IRS phase pattern of the IRS assisting communications between the transmitter and the receiver).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Prasad further discloses receiving, from the first device, information regarding the combining vector of coefficients; and communicating with one or more RIS controllers to configure the RIS components according to the information (Page 16, line 28 to page 17, line 13 disclose in the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots. In TDD systems, based on reciprocity, it may also be that the receiver of interest (i.e., a UE) transmits pilots in the uplink during the training phase and the transmitter of interest (i.e., an AP) collects received observations (i.e., received pilots) to reconstruct the downlink channel from the transmitter to the receiver. In FDD systems, the transmitter of interest (i.e., an AP) may transmit pilots, and the receiver of interest (i.e., a UE) may collect and process observations, and report quantized processed observations to the transmitter. The transmitter may use the feedback reports from the receiver to reconstruct the downlink channel from the transmitter to the receiver. In either case, the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel and convey this choice to an IRS controller, e.g., via a low-rate side-channel (or link). The IRS controller may control to adjust the IRS phase pattern of the IRS assisting communications between the transmitter and the receiver).
Regarding claim 21, Prasad discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a first device (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled with the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the first device to (Figure 13 and page 38, lines 12-19 disclose an embodiment processing system 1300 for performing methods described herein, which may be installed in a host device. The processor 1302 may be any component or collection of components adapted to perform computations and/or other processing related tasks, and the memory 1304 may be any component or collection of components adapted to store programming and/or instructions for execution by the processor 1302):
participate in a first training procedure to obtain a set of channel estimates corresponding to different paths between a second device and the first device involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components (Page 15, lines 7-28 disclose signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may arrive at the receiving device 404 on a transmitting device-receiving device channel (or link) hdir 412 and an IRS -receiving device channel (link) g 414 in this example. The signals may be transmitted by the transmitting device 402 directly to the receiving device 404 on the transmitting device- receiving device channel hdir 412. The signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may also arrive at the IRS 406 on a transmitting device- IRS channel h 416, which are reflected by the IRS 406 onto the receiving device 404 on the IRS-receiving device channel g 414. Thus, a communication channel between the transmitting device 402 and the receiving device 404 may include the transmitting device-receiving device channel hdir 412, the IRS receiving device channel g 414 and the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416. Note that the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416 may include multiple communications links, such as the links 326, 328, 330 as illustrated in Figure 3. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be collectively referred to as an IRS (aided) reflective channel. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be referred to as two constituent channels or two IRS channels of the IRS (aided) reflective channel. It would be desirable that the receiving device may estimate or reconstruct such a communication channel, so that transmissions from the transmitting device 402 to the receiving device 404 may be performed adaptively according to the communication channel, and the IRS 406 may be adjusted (e.g., phase shifts of IRS elements may be adjusted) to adapt to the communication channel. Embodiments of the present disclosure provide methods for estimation or reconstruction of the communication channel based on the channel model of the network 400. Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots);
participate in a second training procedure, using the set of channel estimates, to obtain a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components based on at least one objective (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy. Page 17, lines 9-12 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel); and
communicate with the second device with the RIS components configured according to the combining vector (Page 17, lines 9-13 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel and convey this choice to an IRS controller, e.g., via a low-rate side-channel (or link). The IRS controller may control to adjust the IRS phase pattern of the IRS assisting communications between the transmitter and the receiver).
Regarding claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, Prasad further discloses wherein: the first device comprises a user equipment (UE) and the second device comprises a base station; the first device comprises a base station and the second device comprises a UE; or the first device comprises a UE and the second device comprises a UE (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP).
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 21 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the at least one objective is to combine signals reflected by the RIS components to enhance a received signal at the first device (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy).
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the combining vector is obtained using single value decomposition to select eigenvectors corresponding to highest eigenvalues (Page 19, lines 6-10 disclose Eigen decomposition of the covariance matrix may yield a set of Eigenvectors and associated Eigenvalues. Each Eigenvector may represent a beamforming direction in a signal subspace. The beamforming direction may correspond to a combination of a transmit beam of the transmitting device, a receive beam of the receiving device, and a reflective direction of the IRS).
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 21 above, Prasad further discloses wherein the at least one objective is to cancel signals reflected by the RIS components to null interference at one or more other devices (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy).
Regarding claim 30, Prasad discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a second device (Page 15, lines 4-6 disclose as an example, the transmitting device 402 may be an AP, and the receiving device 404 may be a UE. As another example, the transmitting device 402 may be a UE, and the receiving device 404 may be an AP), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled with the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the second device to (Figure 13 and page 38, lines 12-19 disclose an embodiment processing system 1300 for performing methods described herein, which may be installed in a host device. The processor 1302 may be any component or collection of components adapted to perform computations and/or other processing related tasks, and the memory 1304 may be any component or collection of components adapted to store programming and/or instructions for execution by the processor 1302)
configure a first device to participate in a first training procedure to obtain a set of channel estimates corresponding to different paths between the second device and the first device involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components and to participate in a second training procedure, using the set of channel estimates, to obtain a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components based on at least one objective (Page 15, lines 7-28 disclose signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may arrive at the receiving device 404 on a transmitting device-receiving device channel (or link) hdir 412 and an IRS -receiving device channel (link) g 414 in this example. The signals may be transmitted by the transmitting device 402 directly to the receiving device 404 on the transmitting device- receiving device channel hdir 412. The signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may also arrive at the IRS 406 on a transmitting device- IRS channel h 416, which are reflected by the IRS 406 onto the receiving device 404 on the IRS-receiving device channel g 414. Thus, a communication channel between the transmitting device 402 and the receiving device 404 may include the transmitting device-receiving device channel hdir 412, the IRS receiving device channel g 414 and the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416. Note that the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416 may include multiple communications links, such as the links 326, 328, 330 as illustrated in Figure 3. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be collectively referred to as an IRS (aided) reflective channel. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be referred to as two constituent channels or two IRS channels of the IRS (aided) reflective channel. It would be desirable that the receiving device may estimate or reconstruct such a communication channel, so that transmissions from the transmitting device 402 to the receiving device 404 may be performed adaptively according to the communication channel, and the IRS 406 may be adjusted (e.g., phase shifts of IRS elements may be adjusted) to adapt to the communication channel. Embodiments of the present disclosure provide methods for estimation or reconstruction of the communication channel based on the channel model of the network 400. Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots. Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy);
participate, with the first device, in the first training procedure and the second training procedure (Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots. Page 17, lines 9-12 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel); and
communicate with the first device with the RIS components configured according to the combining vector (Page 17, lines 9-13 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel and convey this choice to an IRS controller, e.g., via a low-rate side-channel (or link). The IRS controller may control to adjust the IRS phase pattern of the IRS assisting communications between the transmitter and the receiver).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad in view of Yang et al. “Intelligent Reflecting Surface Meets OFDM: Protocol Design and Rate Maximization” (as cited on Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claims 7 and 27, as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, Prasad discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the combining vector comprises a set of common coefficients, wherein a common coefficient from the set is used at each RIS component.
In analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the combining vector comprises a set of common coefficients, wherein a common coefficient from the set is used at each RIS component (Figure 2 and page 4526, first paragraph disclose proposing to group the adjacent IRS elements that form a small block, as illustrated in Fig. 2, based on which we estimate the combined channel of each group and consider a common reflection coefficient in the same group).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate grouping IRS elements and using the same coefficient for the group, as described in Yang, with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements, as described in Prasad, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining grouping IRS elements and using the same coefficient for the group of Yang with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements of Prasad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Prasad and Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 27.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Prasad discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the RIS components comprise one or more individual RISs and one or more clusters of RISs.
In analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the RIS components comprise one or more individual RISs and one or more clusters of RISs (Figure 2 illustrates IRS individual elements and groups).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate IRS individual elements and groups, as described in Yang, with an IRS, as described in Prasad, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining IRS individual elements and groups of Yang with an IRS of Prasad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Prasad and Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Prasad discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the set of common coefficients includes common coefficients used across all elements of different RISs of a RIS cluster.
In analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the set of common coefficients includes common coefficients used across all elements of different RISs of a RIS cluster (Figure 2 and page 4526, first paragraph disclose proposing to group the adjacent IRS elements that form a small block, as illustrated in Fig. 2, based on which we estimate the combined channel of each group and consider a common reflection coefficient in the same group).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate grouping IRS elements and using the same coefficient for the group, as described in Yang, with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements, as described in Prasad, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining grouping IRS elements and using the same coefficient for the group of Yang with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements of Prasad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Prasad and Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claims 10 and 28, as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, Prasad discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing performing a first channel measurement based on a first reference signal received while all of the RIS components are disabled; and performing one or more other channel measurements based on one or more reference signals received while only one RIS component is enabled.
In analogous art, Yang discloses performing a first channel measurement based on a first reference signal received while all of the RIS components are disabled (Section IIIA, first paragraph discloses to resolve their individual channels, we perform channel training based on the on/off state control of the IRS reflecting elements, which requires Tp = K + 1 OFDM symbol durations as shown in Fig. 3. In the first symbol duration, all the IRS reflecting elements are switched off, i.e., φ = 0K×1); and
performing one or more other channel measurements based on one or more reference signals received while only one RIS component is enabled (Section IIIA, first paragraph discloses to resolve their individual channels, we perform channel training based on the on/off state control of the IRS reflecting elements, which requires Tp = K + 1 OFDM symbol durations as shown in Fig. 3. At the (k + 1)-th pilot symbol, k ∈ K, only the elements in the k-th group are switched on for full-reflection, while the remaining elements in other groups are switched off, i.e., φ = ek, k ∈ K).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate training with all elements switched off and training with only elements if one group switched on at a time, as described in Yang, with training IRS elements, as described in Prasad, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining training with all elements switched off and training with only elements if one group switched on at a time of Yang with training IRS elements of Prasad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Prasad and Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claims 10 and 28.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Prasad discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the first device computes the combining vector based on the first channel measurement and the one or more other channel measurements.
In analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the first device computes the combining vector based on the first channel measurement and the one or more other channel measurements (The equations in Section III, pages 4526 and 4527, disclose using the measurements to compute the vectors).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate using measurements to compute vectors, as described in Yang, with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements, as described in Prasad, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining using measurements to compute vectors of Yang with determining a phase pattern for IRS elements of Prasad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Prasad and Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20, 26, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claims 6 and 26, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the combining vector is obtained using single value decomposition to select eigenvectors corresponding to zero eigenvalues in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 6 and 26.
Considering claim 12, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the first device computes the combining vector, quantizes values of the combining vector, and transmits the quantized values to at least one of RIS controllers or the second device in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 12.
Considering claim 13, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein: the combining vector is based on a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) codebook; and the codebook is configured by the first device or the codebook is configured at least partially based on a feedback recommendation from the second device in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 13.
Considering claims 15 and 29, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of receiving signaling indicating the at least one objective on which the combining vector is based in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 15 and 29.
Considering claim 19, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the participating comprises asking the first device to compute the combining vector in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 19.
Considering claim 20, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Prasad, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the second device configures a number of precoding matrix indicators (PMIs) and receives, from the first device, an indication of one of the number of PMIs in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 20.
Claim 16 also include allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9 and 10 in the Remarks, Applicant argues that first, Prasad does not anticipate claim 1 because Prasad discloses only a single intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) and a single reflected path, not a set of channel estimates "corresponding to different paths ... involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components." Second, because Prasad has only a single IRS, it cannot disclose "a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components" obtained from a set of channel estimates corresponding to different reflection paths.
Applicant’s argument overlooks that Prasad’s IRS include a number of tunable reflecting elements (Figure 3 and page 14, lines 14 and 15). Applicant’s from different RIS components is interpreted to include Prasad’s tunable reflecting elements. Applicant’s second argument relies on the first argument. Since Applicant’s first argument fails, so does Applicant’s second argument. Prasad discloses participating in a first training procedure to obtain a set of channel estimates corresponding to different paths between a second device and the first device involving reflections from different reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) components (Page 15, lines 7-28 disclose signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may arrive at the receiving device 404 on a transmitting device-receiving device channel (or link) hdir 412 and an IRS -receiving device channel (link) g 414 in this example. The signals may be transmitted by the transmitting device 402 directly to the receiving device 404 on the transmitting device- receiving device channel hdir 412. The signals transmitted by the transmitting device 402 may also arrive at the IRS 406 on a transmitting device- IRS channel h 416, which are reflected by the IRS 406 onto the receiving device 404 on the IRS-receiving device channel g 414. Thus, a communication channel between the transmitting device 402 and the receiving device 404 may include the transmitting device-receiving device channel hdir 412, the IRS receiving device channel g 414 and the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416. Note that the transmitting device-IRS channel h 416 may include multiple communications links, such as the links 326, 328, 330 as illustrated in Figure 3. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be collectively referred to as an IRS (aided) reflective channel. Channels g 414 and h 416 may be referred to as two constituent channels or two IRS channels of the IRS (aided) reflective channel. It would be desirable that the receiving device may estimate or reconstruct such a communication channel, so that transmissions from the transmitting device 402 to the receiving device 404 may be performed adaptively according to the communication channel, and the IRS 406 may be adjusted (e.g., phase shifts of IRS elements may be adjusted) to adapt to the communication channel. Embodiments of the present disclosure provide methods for estimation or reconstruction of the communication channel based on the channel model of the network 400. Page 16, line 24 through page 17, line 1 disclose the training phase may also be referred to a measurement phase, in which measurement, estimation or reconstruction of a communication channel is performed, e.g., during a time interval (referred to as a training or measurement duration). T represents a training or measurement duration with T<J. Information about the estimated or reconstructed communication channel may be used for future communications. In the training phase, training signals, e.g., pilot signals (or referred to as pilots), may be sent by a transmitting node (or referred to as a transmitting device or a transmitter) to a receiving node (or referred to as a receiving device or a receiver), and the receiver may estimate or reconstruct, based on the received pilots, a channel from the transmitter to receiver. For example, during a training phase, an AP sends pilots to a UE, the UE may estimate or reconstruct the downlink channel based on the received pilots); and participating in a second training procedure, using the set of channel estimates, to obtain a combining vector of coefficients to configure the RIS components based on at least one objective (Page 11, lines 24-30 disclose an IRS can modulate a radio signal without using a mixer and a radio frequency (RF) chain, and real-time reconfigurable propagation environments may be achieved. Furthermore, by smartly adjusting the phase shifts of all the passive elements at the IRS, reflected signals of the IRS can sum up coherently with signals from other paths at a desired receiver to boost the received signal power, or destructively at non-intended receivers to suppress interference as well as enhancing security and privacy. Page 17, lines 9-12 disclose the transmitter may decide on the choice of an IRS phase pattern for a data communication phase based on the estimated/reconstructed channel);
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed each of Applicant’s arguments, the previous rejection is maintained and made FINAL by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642