CTNF 18/695,733 CTNF 75576 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Innami et al. (US 2006/0180365 A1) Re claim 8, Innami et al. discloses a braking device, comprising: a braking element configured to exert a force on a brake pad (14R, 14L); an asynchronous machine (16MR, 16ML – [0031], [0070]); a transmission (16CR, 16CL) configured to mechanically couple a drive shaft of the asynchronous machine to the braking element; and a control device (20) configured to control the asynchronous machine using a quasi-stationary rotor position of the asynchronous machine. Innami et al. discloses all the claimed limitations capable of performing the function of controlling the asynchronous machine using a quasi-stationary rotor position of the asynchronous machine. (Fig. 1) Re claim 9, Innami et al. discloses wherein the control device (20) is configured to receive a setpoint value for a braking force to be adjusted and to adjust a torque on the asynchronous machine using the received setpoint value for the braking force to be adjusted. ([0076]) Re claim 10, Innami et al. discloses wherein the control device (20) is configured to receive a sensor value from a rotational speed sensor which detects a rotational speed of a wheel to be braked, and the control device is configured to adjust a torque on the asynchronous machine using the received sensor value. ([0033]) Re claim 11, Innami et al. discloses wherein the control device (20) is configured to adjust electrical phase currents on the asynchronous machine using a specified torque. ([0076]) Re claim 12, Innami et al. discloses an electromechanical braking system, comprising: a braking device (16R, 16L) including: a braking element configured to exert a force on a brake pad (14R, 14L), an asynchronous machine (16MR), a transmission (16CR, 16CL) configured to mechanically couple a drive shaft of the asynchronous machine to the braking element, and a control device (20) configured to control the asynchronous machine using a quasi-stationary rotor position of the asynchronous machine; a brake disc (12R, 12L); and the brake pad, wherein the brake pad is configured to be pressed against the brake disc by the braking device. (Fig. 1) Re claim 13, Innami et al. discloses a rotational speed sensor ([0033]) configured to detect a rotational speed of the brake disc or of a wheel mechanically coupled to the brake disc, wherein the control device of the braking device is configured to control the asynchronous machine using the detected rotational speed . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 14 is allowed. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arnold, Masuda et al. and Fargier et al. teach similar braking devices. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)272-7127. The examiner can normally be reached Tuesday - Friday 7:00AM-3:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 3616 MTWApril 30, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/695,733 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,733 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,733 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/695,733 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616